The Granite Rose
Wedding Receptions & Elegant Events
    36 Reviews
22 Garland Drive
Hampstead, NH 03841  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 420
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (36)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Sheri 8 Reviews
Beautiful venue, but disappointed with the staff. Poor treatment on wedding day by venue coordinator.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were so glad that we chose The Granite Rose for our ceremony and reception. Our summer wedding we amazing in the outdoor gardens, which led to amazing pictures. The reception hall also helped make our special day perfect. The staff at the Granite rose is acceptional...they are there to answer any questions and provide whatever requests that you have. The Granite Rose is also willing to work with whatever budget and still provide exceptional service. I wish we could get married all over again and we would definitely do it at the Granite Rose!!
Wedding: 07/30/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
BEAUTIFUL AND PERFECT! I don’t even know where to start. We had our wedding here on 3/26/11and it was just perfect. I worked with nacy throughout my wedding planning and Jenna the night of my wedding and they were both wonderful and so very accomidating. All of the staff throughout the night of our event were WONDERFUL as well. Even though it was a little chilly we did a few shots outside and the grounds were perfectly maintained. The bridal wuites are magnificant. Everything from start to finish with The Granite Rose was so easy, they are THE PERFECT VENUE!!
Wedding: 03/26/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our Fall Wedding Ceremony and Reception were absolutely beautiful and unforgettable thanks to The Granite Rose! When we found The Granite Rose in search of a venue, we looked no further and we were certain that it would be the perfect venue for our Wedding! All of our expectations were exceeded! The staff was extremely helpful from the very beginning always answering our questions, being very accomodating, and recommending the absolute BEST vendors around!
We had the pleasure of working directly with Rich, Nancy, Jenna and Graham and they were all amazing to work with! The facility and grounds were absolutely gorgeous and our professional photos are stunning! Our guests were extremely satisfied with every aspect of the wedding and the food was delicious! We cannot possibly say enough great things about The Granite Rose! We highly recommend them to anyone looking for a venue for their wedding!
Wedding: 10/30/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Was a pleasure working with the Granite Rose! The place looked beautiful and the food was awesome!
Wedding: 10/01/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jenna was Great! Everything was perfect for our wedding! Staff paid attention to detail and made sure we had everything we needed- the day was very special indeed!
Wedding: 09/05/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Granite Rose was amazing!!!! Food was incredible. Service was top of the line. The wait-staff was awesome, they were there when you needed them but not intrusive of the event. All of my guests commented on how beautiful the Terrace Garden and Terrace Room was. Jenna, my coordinator, was there for from beginning to end to answer all of my questions, needs, and guided me all of the way.
I would recommend them to everyone!!!!!!
To the staff at The Granite Rose; Thanks for an incredible day!!!!
Wedding: 10/04/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jenna was awesome!! She made sure that everything was to my liking. The waitress we had, Nicole, was awesome. That girl was very quick on her feet & always knew what we wanted even before we had to ask!! The garden was beautiful. We were allowed to take pictures in the other garden since there was no other wedding going on. We drive by this place every weekend & I was very determined to have my wedding here, I am very glad that we did not look @ other places first!!!! The food was a little costly but then again we did move alot of the menu around & they were very willing & flexibly in changing the menu, but the food was well worth the cost. I am not a meat eating person & the prime rib was to die for!!!!
Wedding: 08/09/2009
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Would recommend!
Wedding: 09/06/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Excellent! This facility had great packages to chose from. Many packages included cake, centerpieces, limo and linens. In our package, we had an ice sculpture. Jenna, our wedding coordinator was fantastic. Even when I was stressed and forgetting things she was calm and helpful! Overall this is a very classy place.
Wedding: 09/05/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Granite Rose was wonderful from beginning to end. All my guests raved about the food and service they received from their attentive staff. I would Recommend them to anyone! A+++ i couldn't have been Happier with their service , they exceeded my expectations!
Wedding: 07/12/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved the Granite Rose. Our ceremony and reception were beautiful, everything that we ever dreamed of and wanted in a venue. Our Wedding Coordinator was Mike and he was awsome. He was right on top of everything, if anything went wrong that night we definatley didn't know about it. He was so energetic and polite to our guests. He stayed right on top of things and made sure that our guests were happy and satisfied. He even jumped into a picture with my husband! We were very impressed with Graham also. He was the headtables personal waiter. All night long he was ontop of anything that we need and wanted. Everytime I went to sit down he popped out of nowhere to push my seat in. My wedding party absolutely loved him. All and all we definatley recommend the Granie Rose to anyone getting married.
Wedding: 06/21/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jenna was amazing!!!!!
Wedding: 04/12/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
We were initially a bit hesitant to hold our reception at the Granite Rose, afraid that it woul be a cookie-cutter affair. In the end we were extremely happy with our choice. As a dedicated function site, the Granite Rose was a one-stop shop in many ways -- rather than having to hire separate vendors for catering, linens, etc., these aspects of our day were taken care of. In areas where we did desire more "creative license" (for example, using biodegradable confetti in our wedding colours on some of the tables), the Granite Rose was willing to work with us. We were also assigned a coordinator who was our contact person leading up to the wedding and our banquet manager at the reception itself.

What we really appreciated was the attention to detail. When we were introduced for our first dance, a banquet hall staffer was at the ready to swoop in and collect my bouquet so I could dance; after the cake cutting, someone was right there with a damp cloth so that we could wipe our hands. Having somebody else worry about such logistics freed us up to relax and have a great time. The food was delicious and our banquet room was lovely, with large windows overlooking a garden area to which we had access.

One issue that did come up was restrictions on outside vendors. A cake is included in the Granite Rose's reception packages; before booking with the GR, however, we had already contracted with a baker. We had to jump through some hoops to have our baker approved by the Granite Rose and were not given a discount on our package for purchasing a cake elsewhere, which essentially meant that we ended up paying for two cakes but only having one. This aside, our experience was very positive and we were impressed by the professional and highly organized staff and service.

The Granite Rose is on the pricier side, but we feel they offer a great return on investment!

Wedding: 10/13/2007
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
All in all I was pretty happy with the Granite Rose prior to my wedding day. But I'm not sure they could have screwed up more the day of. To start off there were things they said they would set up and screwed up. I had no problem getting someone to do it on my own, but they said they could do it and I trusted them. At the rehearsal I left them with a huge bag of freeze dried rose petals that were to be lightly scattered on the place card table and the cake table. The rest were to be used on the aisle. For some reason they only put them on the cake table and there were more than enough petals to scatter some on the place card table with a light scattering on the aisle. Not only that, but I have no idea where the rest of the petals went because I never got the leftovers back and with the amount I gave them there were definitely extras. Also, I didn't find out that Mike, my contact at the Granite Rose, would be the DOC for the other wedding and I would have Jenna, until two days before the wedding. Not necessarily a biggie, but it would be nice to know things like that ahead of time especially after being given the impression that Mike would be our DOC.

That's not the end of the world, but what happened after the ceremony was uncalled for. After the ceremony, we opened the bottle of champagne with our parents and the bridal party, hung out for a few minutes then went out back to take pictures. We got quick pictures of us with our grandparents, parents and siblings then moved onto pictures of the groomsmen. We had been going very quickly, but the day of coordinator (DOC), the venue supplied, Jenna, didn't think we were moving fast enough, she told our photographer he had to wrap up the pictures. He told her he needed more time and moved on. She kept going. Every three minutes she was up his butt telling him there was no more time. One of my bridesmaids got stung by 2 bees while we were out there and I was stuck being the mean bride dragging her over to take pictures because our DOC was so annoying.

It went overboard when she told our photographer he had time for one more picture and he had yet to take a picture of my husband and I. Luckily, my photographer is amazing and pretty much told her he hadn't taken pictures of us yet, it was going to take more time and he was going to take all the time he needed.

We started taking pictures of my husband and I and every other picture she was telling him he needed to finish, there was no more time. I was beyond upset. I paid good money to get good service, if things take a little longer they should be able to handle it without being rude an obnoxious.

We finished up and headed back to the bridal suite. My DOC already had everyone lined up to be introduced and was telling everyone to go go go. At that point I had had enough. As brides we spend the months leading up to our weddings in a state of chaos planning and getting everything ready. As soon as you walk out to go down the aisle there should be ZERO stress. It's our day to sit back, take everything in and enjoy ourselves. I had no interest in being go go go on my wedding day and I had hit my limit. Loud enough for my DOC to hear I vented to my BM that if I was told to hurry up one more time I was going to flip. I need to take my heals off and sit down for 2 minutes before I go out there and have my first dance (scheduled to be as soon as we walked out).

My DOC heard, came over, apologized and I told her I was not to be rushed for the rest of the day. I got my few minutes, we decided to have our first dance after dinner and I was able to relax and enjoy myself for the rest of the day, but the fact that I got stressed out on the one day I had zero intention of caring about anything beyond enjoying myself would lead me to never recommend the Granite Rose.

I will say that our server, Graham, was AMAZING. He was the best thing at the Granite Rose. I always had a drink in my hand and when I was about to run out he knew what to get me and would have it waiting. I barely had to talk to him all day because he was so on the ball. My bridal party did more talking to him and they all couldn't say enough good things about him.

Edit to Add a response to the venue's ridiculous comments: After trying to get my review removed because they attempted to lie to Wedding Wire and say I didn't get married at their venue I can't say I'm shocked that they decided to place all the blame on me and not take an ounce of responsibility. If there was a feeling that things were running grossly behind it would have been very easy to touch base and discuss things with me rather than going around being rude to everyone. Calling what was done rude, obnoxious and out of line is a gross understatement. I do find it interesting that I was an hour late for my wedding. I was only allowed to show up 1 hour before the wedding, so if I was an hour late that would mean that my guests were all there and seated when I arrived. Hmm that's interesting because there was not a single guest there when I arrived. We did not arrive 1 hour before, but I was never informed that was a requirement for good service. I arrived 35 minutes before and the only thing we had to do was put me in my dress, everyone was dressed, makeup hair etc done. That certainly did not take an hour and a half to do .... that is entirely laughable. Digital photos have this funny little thing called EXIF data, the wedding started within 15 minutes of the scheduled start time. We didn't start right on the dot, but when we were told it was time to start we were ready to go within 5-10 minutes. We had a longer ceremony, which was planned, but I have a feeling they assumed it was going to be a 10 minute ceremony. There are two facts that remain, there was an appropriate way to handle things being behind the venue's schedule and a call after the wedding to apologize since you knew I was unhappy would have gone a long way. Neither of these things were done.
The Granite Rose responded with the following comments:
Although grossly overstated, these are some of the issues which arise when you show up an hour late for your own wedding. Graham quit the next day.
Wedding: 07/07/2007
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
After doing tons of research, we chose The Granite Rose for its beautiful function room with skylights and wrap around windows, the well kept grounds where we had our outdoor ceremony and the variety and quality of food offerings from which we could choose. In addition, the "one-stop-shop" made wedding planning convenient and less stressful. With the flowers and cake included (of which I won a gift certificate towards an upgrade of flowers at one of their Wedding Shows), there was less to worry about. Despite the rain which delayed the wedding ceremony and consequently delayed just about everything else, the staff did their very best to accommodate the change in schedule. One down side was that there are shared bathrooms and therefore shared "access" to the weddings when more than one is going on. We ended up having some "wedding crashers" at our reception from the next room over.
The Granite Rose responded with the following comments:
Hi Lauren, You'll be happy to hear that we resolved that issue. Come back and visit sometime and check out all of the changes. Rich
Wedding: 06/02/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 603-329-8000
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0