The Grande Hall at the Hofmann Ranch
    10 Reviews
448 P.R. 4742
Castroville, TX 78009  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Maximum capacity: 500
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (10)   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.3/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.1/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Noël 1 Reviews
I want to first start by telling you we didn't actually reserve Hofmann Ranch for our wedding. We went a different direction (a garden wedding) - this review is based solely from our tour alone.

Hofmann Ranch was the first location we toured and we were immediately impressed with the warmth and genuineness of the Hofmann's. We were greeted out front by Hans and their dog, Klause, who were smoothing out a driveway from the previous night's storm. We chatted with them for about 5 minutes before heading in - but it was a great greeting (we LOVE dogs and Klause was so well behaved). We made our way inside and there was Charlotte. The most welcoming and sweet spirit I've met in a while. We gabbed about nothing and everything for a good while, and my fiance and I felt immediately at ease. She was like that long-lost family member we've been missing. We just moved to San Antonio where we know no one, and Charlotte was exactly what we needed - she made us feel at home.

We toured the property and she regaled us with memories of her granddaughters' wedding. She talked us through the flow of what the evening could be like and spoke to their preferred vendors list (which is incredibly helpful for the couple who doesn't know where to start). We could see ourselves getting married here. We could imagine our guests laughing under the romantic patio lights and we could envision our family and closest friends meeting each other in line at the bar. We could see it all. They've incorporated thoughtful details throughout the property (even locked cubbies for ladies during the reception) that you will love.

Not booking Hofmann Ranch was the most difficult decision we've made so far in our wedding process. I would have jumped at the chance to work with the Hofmann's. Charlotte and Cindy (Charlotte's daughter who helped coordinate our tour) have been the most helpful throughout our whole discovery phase. If you're looking for a ranch wedding, this is the perfect place for you.
Wedding: 05/02/2015
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
The Hofmann's & Cindy were wonderful! They truly made our wedding an event to never forget!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
The most beautiful venue if your looking for a place for outdoor/indoor wedding! Charlotte the owner was wonderful and very helpful.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

atticus 8 Reviews
What a beautiful location - the grounds and buildings are wonderfully kept and are absolutely beautiful. We noticed lots of our guest took the opportunity to take pics of themselves with the gorgeous scenery and I am so happy I was able to get married at such a beautiful location. Its so different than other sites and has an understated elegance that was perfect. The wedding caterer/coordinatore, Gary (preferred caterer, own Castroville Cafe) was AMAZING!! He set up everything, did our flower arrangements, and took care of any issues. I can't put into words how much we loved him!! He kept us on schedule when needed and helped us modify it when we were running behind or caught up in the moment. He got food out REALLY fast and cut the cake super fast too! Charlotte, the owner of the ranch, is great too. Shes really responsive, nice, and professional - we live in Houston and she was great about letting us come to the ranch whenever and was very accomodating.

You can bring your own alcohol and have it served for a fee, which helps a lot with costs. Generally, they will work with you on helping you achieve your vision and find vendors. We have a charter bus bring our guests to the ranch from the riverwalk, which worked out great because people could enjoy san antonio and then not worry about driving to and from the ranch.

The ONLY thing -- I was told that I would be charged if someone wanted to stay at the B&B for the night, but that use of it for the day was INCLUDED in the amount I paid. The day of the rehearsal, I was asked to pay. Not a big deal and I wouldn't let that sway you against getting married there, I would just make sure you clarify that stuff in an email prior to the wedding. My hunch is that they didnt used to charge (like when I booked it), but decided they were going to now and didnt mention it to brides that had booked a year ago.

In general, I would DEFINITELY recommend this venue and Gary - what a great experience!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
The Grande Hall at Hoffman Ranch is an amazing wedding venue. The venue is beautiful and the Hoffmans are very helpful with a great list of vendor recommendations to help guide you to have a successful wedding. Gary, the caterer, is amazing. He can be pretty busy at times but as your wedding approaches he definitely focuses to make sure everything you envision can be done. He was very helpful helping us decide some of the items we were unsure for the wedding and he even made the cobbler for our wedding (we had that instead of cake). Gary also works very closely with you basically becoming your day of coordinator. As if that is not enough, the food he has is amazing. I am still getting compliments about the food and the beauty of the place. Worth every cent! HIGHLY recommend this place and all the wonderful vendors involved!
Wedding: 07/23/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
I recently had my wedding at the Hofmann Ranch. The venue is BEAUTIFUL, and everyone was very helpful. It is a bit hard to find, but all my guests got there. I would recommend printing maps for everyone.
Wedding: 05/29/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Bria 1 Reviews
We had our wedding here and it was beautiful. It was everything we had in mind when we began our search for the perfect place for our special day. We still have guests rave about our location. The only complaint I have is that when we took our tour, we were told the "little house" was ours for use on the day of the wedding and for an additional amount we could stay the night. We decided not to stay because we wanted that whole leaving in the limo event. The day before our wedding, during our walk thru, the owner told us that we had to pay her extra money to be able to use it for the day of the wedding and we had to have our stuff out by the time we said I DO. This was not what we were told at the time we have our tour and it was very uncomfortable to have to deal with that right after our ceremony. We have spoken with other couples who have married there and they were not required to pay and because so many guests loved our location, they decided to talk to the ranch about their own upcoming wedding only to be old the HOUSE IS INCLUDED FOR THE DAY. We did not bring it up to her because we did not want conflicts during our wedding however, we do not understand why we were charged while others before and after us have not been. We had a beautiful dream wedding, no expense spared and we just wished we had been treated fairly.

Again, the place is beautiful and I still would not have had our wedding anywhere else. The preferred caterer is awsome. We could not have done it without him and his perfect staff. They were so amazing and the food they prepared was unbeatable. They were so wonderful. I would recommend this place for your upcomming wedding just be ready for changes.
Wedding: 04/06/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The Grande Hall at Hofmann Ranch is a beautiful location for a reception! We received many compliments from our guests about how beautiful it was. The only complaints I had were that there was no contract and the owner, Charlotte, was not very friendly. Luckily, Gary, the owner of Castroville Cafe and preferred caterer for Hofmann Ranch, made up for it. To this day I am still receiving compliments from my guests about how delicious the food was! He and his staff went above and beyond to make sure everything ran smoothly for my reception. He was even at my rescue with safety pins when an under layer of my dress tore. I cannot rave enough about how awesome Gary with Castroville Cafe is!
Wedding: 08/07/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0

Somer 1 Reviews
I recently had my wedding at the Grande Hall at the Hofmann Ranch. It was a beautiful affair, but buyer beware, although the venue is perfect, the owner, Mrs. Hofmann is a very difficult to work with. Although the venue says they accommodate 600, if you want all of your guests in one place (either the hall, pavilion, or patio), 200 is more appropriate. My wedding had about 200 people in the hall, and it was VERY crowded. I can’t imagine if there were 600! This is a great place for the bride who doesn’t want to plan or worry about anything, but let Gary and Mrs. Hofmann do everything. However, if you have a special vision for your wedding, it is very difficult to convey and execute with Mrs. Hofmann. She is an older lady who prefers to do weddings EXACTLY like every other wedding she does. If you want to do something “different,” she is not accommodating, and is slightly rude about it. She should realize that each bride does NOT want her wedding like other brides. Each wants to be unique and different in her own way. This is not the case at this venue. My mother and I had to fight with Mrs. Hofmann for every little thing which was extremely stressful. Mrs. Hofmann has a “henhouse” for the bridal party to get ready in – however, we were told we had to be out of there an hour AFTER our ceremony started – it was a nightmare! Here I was about to walk down the aisle with my dad, worrying about packing up!! The bride and her party also should have a spot at a venue where they can have a restful moment and relax. I asked Mrs. Hofmann where I was supposed to put my things and she acted like it was no problem for me to put my things in my getaway car – so every time I needed to take a breather, I had to go out to my car! I asked her where to put my makeup bag (every bride needs to reapply lipstick!), and she said to put my purse on the head table – yeah right!! Instead, my MOH had to “hide” my purse in the kitchen which we had to get out every time I needed to refresh. This was a PAIN. The henhouse (which we PAID for) should have been available to the bride and her party throughout the venue. Although we did have some time for a rehearsal dinner, when my guests showed up 30 minutes early (which is normal), the gate was locked and it was a hassle for them to get Mrs. Hofmann to open it up for them because she was so rude about them being early. Many of my bridal party members tried to stay inside the hall beforehand because it was freezing cold outside. Mrs. Hofmann had another “bride” she was consulting with and was extremely rude when my MOH asked if they could stay inside until everyone arrived. When I arrived, Mrs. Hofmann immediately accosted me and told me I HAD to get the rehearsal started immediately, despite the fact that I hadn’t seen many of these people in many years. It was very awkward and weird because we were also waiting for my dad to show up. She still insisted we start rehearsing without him! Later, I was told by my vendors that on the day of the wedding, Mrs. Hofmann was very rude and acted as though they were barging in on her venue. This was their job to set up! She was overlooking their shoulders and telling one of my designer friends how dare she take down the hall’s ornaments on her Christmas trees – we were told we could decorate the trees however we wanted! Mrs. Hofmann’s “ornaments” were cheap, fake family dollar flowers stuck here and there which took 5 seconds to remove. My vendors were NOT happy to have Mrs. Hofmann breathing down their necks. We were supposed to have music playing while guests were seating for the wedding. This did not happen. Make sure you bring a CD player because they DO NOT have ANY kind of system set up outside for the ceremony and are very unhelpful for when you are trying to problem solve!! Also, my guests FROZE while seated in the pavilion. I was told there would be heaters everywhere. There were NO heaters. Some of my guests told me that they called Mrs. Hofmann for directions because it is difficult to find the place and the map on their website is not helpful. I was told by MULTIPLE people that Mrs. Hofmann was plain rude to them. WHY?!?! I am mortified by their reaction. Frankly, I think Mrs. Hofmann needs to oversee the financial side of her business, and hire someone with PR skills to deal with the brides and their friends and family. It would have made the whole planning process go MUCH smoother and relaxed. She sees any extra detail that you want to have to make your wedding unique and special as more work for her. This is sad since this is the business that she is in. The caterer Gary is wonderful on the day of the wedding. However, DO NOT rely on him as your wedding coordinator (as he says he is). He is an extremely busy person and is very difficult to reach. Even on the day of my wedding, he was in meetings with potential clients!! He is very talented with decorating and is a good person to rely on to get around Mrs. Hofmann. He keeps everything on schedule, but almost too much so. We were running early, but were rushed into dinner despite the fact that my groom and I still had not had photos with each other. My only other complaint is that at the end of the night (we wrapped up 45 minutes early), when we were still in the hall, I was standing by my head table and his staff was taking my super expensive garland decorations and were unceremoniously dumping them in trash cans right in front of me!! We still had guests and it was very uncomfortable to see this going on. Instead of being happy to leave with fanfare, I was upset that my guests couldn’t stay the extra 45 minutes (that we PAID for) without seeing everything thrown in the trash!! Gary should make sure that clean-up for decorations is done AFTER the bride and groom leave.

All in all, it was a beautiful wedding and a beautiful venue. Make sure to hire a wedding coordinator to deal with Mrs. Hofmann and tell as many people as you can what kind of attitude to expect from her. Good luck!!
Wedding: 12/17/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
The place is beautiful and the food was good. However they promised us a rehearsal the night before, booked it in their planner book, then intentionally booked a wedding on our rehearsal night after we had held the evening. They decided not to tell us until the wedding was three weeks away. They're about the dollar and not service. GET EVERYTHING IN PAPER! The venue is nice, very expensive. We paid a lot of money for them to cancel our rehearsal which was frustrating. If you decide to go with them get it in paper. Cater was slow getting out the food and didn't take care of my parent's needs.
Wedding: 11/07/2009
Services Used: Catering, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 830-931-9257
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0