The Florida Aquarium
Unique Weddings Under the Sea!
    80 Reviews
701 Channelside Drive
Tampa, FL 33602  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party...
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 350
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (80)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My daughter's wedding was held at The Florida Aquarium. The venue is so unique and a wonderful place to host an event. Ashley Valentine was our coordinator and she was a pleasure to work with. She was very responsive to all of our questions and changes/additions made along the way. I never doubted that everything would be taken care of. The day of the event there was not a single detail that was not attended to and if we were to do it all over again, there is not a single thing we would change. In addition, we worked with Mary Patterson in catering and the food was delicious. We have received many positive remarks on both the venue and the food. Many compliments have been received on the servers and all event staff. Thank you for making my daughter's wedding day exactly as she had envisioned it.
Wedding: 03/15/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Having our wedding here was magical! We had the ceremony in front of their huge tank, capturing great photos of fish, sharks and turtles. Amazing place for ceremony. Reception was outside on their deck, having a beautiful view of The bay. Ashley was our coordinator and was so sweet and amazing, very helpful and always there for any questions along the way. I would not have changed a thing about our wedding. It was breathtaking! I would recommend this for everyone's wedding!
Wedding: 03/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ashley is amazing. She was there for us from day 1 answering all my questions, big and small, and then answering them again when I was going crazy and forgot I asked. The aquarium is such a beautiful venue and they really make it easy planning a wedding. I am from Tampa but live in Wisconsin so I knew I needed a venue that I could trust would deliver on my needs without having to hand hold them. Because it is public facility, the aquarium was able to cater to my guests wide range of needs. If you have a large family, friends relatives with food allergies, specials needs, or children, this venue is PERFECT. (It's perfect anyway, but that stuff is a bonus). All my quests complimented the venue, service, and food. Ashley was there to help along the way and really helped out on the day of! I had no worries because I knew any issue was being addressed by her team. I had one issue with the food vendor, but we were able to quickly and professionally resolve it. Thank you supporting us on our big day and making our dream wedding a reality! - By the way, LOVE THE MERMAIDS!!!!!! XO, Darren and Susan
Wedding: 02/15/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
More than a month after our wedding, our guests can't stop gushing about how our wedding was the best, most original wedding they've ever been to. This was in large part to the amazing venue of The Florida Aquarium, which is easily one of the most unique places to get married in Tampa Bay. Where else can you get married in front a giant shark tank, and have penguins walk down the aisle? Your guests will love it.

The best part about the Aquarium is how affordable it was. For a 5 hour rental that included a ceremony in the Coral Reef Room and reception in the Main Lobby, the rental fee was $2300 (we didn't have to pay sales tax, since the Aquarium is a non-profit). That included our own personal venue coordinator (Natalie, who was amazing and helped us make our wedding absolutely perfect), as well as including the reception tables, chairs, and place settings. That's a price you absolutely cannot beat, and it allowed us to add on extras (such as the penguins, draping, fog screens, gel lighting, etc), that we wouldn't have been able to afford otherwise.

You do have to use their caterer if you get married there, but that wasn't a problem at all, as Aramark Catering provided great food at a very affordable price. Having an in house caterer actually made planning easier, as our catering manager Mary worked closely together with Natalie to make sure everything was right for our wedding. Catering also does a great job of setting up center pieces for a nominal fee, and made our fairly complex centerpiece setup look even more beautiful than we imagined.

If you do book the Aquarium, make sure that you find a photographer on their recommended list (we used the absolutely amazing Wes and Liz Weber at "Your Story By Us"). Done right, your photos will look phenomenal, but it can be a tricky venue to photograph, so experience is a must.

We loved our aquarium wedding, and highly recommend it to couples looking for a truly unique venue.
Wedding: 01/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I highly recommend this venue. They were very friendly and accomadating. We had ashley as our coordinator and she was beyond helpful and sweet. The venue and staff were helpful to all of our wedding party and guest guest and went above and beyond to help us out. Nothing went wrong, everything was pefect!
Wedding: 12/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ashley Valentine and the entire team at The Florida Aquarium made my wedding dreams come true. From the event planners to catering to set-up, this venue knows exactly what they're doing to ensure you have the party of your dreams! Having met with several people at other venues, I cannot say enough about The Aquarium staff's expertise and professionalism, they made everything so easy for us and went out of their way on our actual wedding day to ensure we had the BEST time possible...thank you from the bottom of my heart for the best day of my life!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Looking for a truly amazing venue, some place that is exotic, unique and you wouldn't think would make sense for a venue for a wedding????? This is it! The staff was all so friendly and truly made my event wonderful. From Ashley who was the event coordinator and kept my wedding party on track, to Mikayla the catering manager who put me at ease when I came in super stressed the day of my wedding! We did our event in the coral reef room and it was simply breathtaking, we even got to have a live penguin walk down the aisle and then after the ceremony take pictures with him! My guests were impressed, I was impressed, this is definitely an A+++ venue and all in all it cost a little less then having my event at a hotel on a beach! So worth it! Oh and the food was to die for! My guests were super impressed with how fresh and flavorful it was.
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Natalie at the Florida Aquarium was a great experience, she was professional and friendly. She was available the entire time and any little thing we needed she got for us. The place looked wonderful and the night was magical thanks in part to Natalie's help. I would suggest this venue to anyone who is looking for a different kind of wedding venue. It was beautiful and peaceful, it also allows your guests a different experience.
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Tracy 5 Reviews
We had the most beautiful backdrop for our ceremony and reception in front of the coral reef tank. Our wedding at the Florida Aquarium was amazing, wonderful, beautiful,,,it was perfect. We worked with Ashley Valentine and she was fantastic. She followed every detail that we wanted. She worked with us from start to finish and guided us through the entire process as well as through the entire evening. We had the penguins walk down the aisle and that was a highlight for us and we also added the fog screens which added a special extra touch. Our guests had a great time and are still telling us what a beautiful and different wedding it was because of our venue. I cannot imagine having had the wedding anywhere else. Our Catering manager Mikayla was also wonderful, every detail was perfect and the food was excellent. The catering staff were professional, friendly and very accomodating to us and our guests. If you truly want to get married in a beautiful place this is it!!!
Wedding: 05/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ashley Valentine was such a pleasure to work with. She was helpful from the very first time I inquired about having our wedding at the Florida Aquarium to the day of our wedding. She answered all my questions promptly and everything went perfectly at our wedding. I would and already have recommended the Florida Aquarium to anyone getting married as a great venue and also a wonderful staff to work with! :)
Wedding: 02/16/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A beautiful and unique setting for an amazing wedding night. The aquarium staff was amazing in every stage of planning and execution with clear communication the entire time. Truly watching our guests enjoy the scenery and ambiance of the aquarium made us truly proud of the evening we put together.
Wedding: 02/02/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Ashley Valentine is absolutely incredible! She was so very helpful in the planning of our dream wedding. The Florida Aquarium was an extremely unique setting and we couldn't have asked for a better venue.
Wedding: 01/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The first time we walked into the Florida Aquarium we knew it was the perfect wedding venue for us. We choose to have our ceremony at the Panoramic Window and our reception in the Explorashore area outside. We worked with Ashley Valentine (she is awesome); she walked me through all the planning and answered every question throughly. I have to say, I knew my wedding would be great but the Florida Aquarium made it better than I expected. The food was delicious and there was plenty of food for all my guests. The reception was excellent, everything went as planned and the staff was very attentive and helpful. Even weeks later, all my guests keep telling us how much fun they had at our wedding. I highly recommend the Florida Aquarium for your wedding!!
Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
We chose to get married at the Aquarium because we wanted a different venue and wanted an experience for our guests. We were absolutely thrilled with how everything turned out. Our guests loved our special guests, penguins!!!! They walked down the aisle and everyone was so surprised!!!! The staff was great!! We had such a good time from the beginning of the planning through the night of our wedding. We were really happy with everything. Would 100% recommend this as a venue for anyone looking for a unique place to be married or hold an event!!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

JoAnne 4 Reviews
I loved loved loved my venue!! All of my guests were so amazed with it and thought it was so unique to have a wedding here. All of my event coordinators did a great job and were able to ease my nervousness. I could not have asked for a better venue to celebrate my big day!! I would recommend this venue to anyone. Hopefully in 10 years, I can throw a reunion wedding there!!
Wedding: 07/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I were married at the Florida Aquarium on June 24th, 2012. Our guest could not stop talking about how unique and how beautiful the coral reef room was! We decided to add the pasta bar to our choice of buffet and could not have been happier with our decision. The food was amazing! We also added the penguin promenade and our guests were thrilled to have a little entertainment durning cocktail hour! Every little detail made our night special! We worked with Ashley in the beginning of our planning process and she made everything seem so simple. She was always very responsive to all of our questions and changes durning our planning process. Due to a family reunion Ashley was no longer able to continue working with us so Natalie finished planning with us for the last 6 months. She was a huge help the day of the wedding and we could not have asked for someone better! We definitely think we had the wedding of our dreams without any hassle and we can honestly say it was worth every penny! Thank you so much Florida Aquarium Team! You made our wedding day perfect <3

Sean and Anne Borgo
Wedding: 06/24/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 813-273-4000
ext. 4288
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0