The Carltun
Eisenhower Park
East Meadow, NY 11554  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party...
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (11)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.3/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.3/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.4/5.0)
Value:
 (4.2/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.2/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
My Husband and I had the best night of our lives at the Carltun. We worked with Caryn who was UNBELIEVABLE. She was so easy to work with and would literally respond to my emails within an hour (even on her days off!!)

John, the maitre d is amazing. he is so cool, calm and collected it took away any of the anxieties and issues that came up on our wedding day. We had planned for an outdoor ceremony and at the last minute (about 20 minutes before our ceremony was supposed to start) it began to rain! The entire staff was amazing and moved everything indoors (which was just as beautiful) so quickly!

Maryanne the bridal attendant is such a doll! She was by my side the entire night, walking around the entire property with us during pictures helping me with my dress, veil, bouquet.

The food is AMAZING, the venue is PERFECT. If you are looking for an elegant affair and stress free planning I would 1000% recommend the Carltun! We couldn't have asked for a more amazing day.
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We had an unbelievable wedding at the Carltun. We couldn’t have asked for a more picturesque setting from the immaculate and beautiful patio where we had the ceremony to the cozy drawing room where we had cocktail hour to the decadent ballroom where the reception was held.
3 highlights of the Carltun are:
Food – The food was absolutely delicious. The quality you would expect from a good NYC restaurant. My favorite entree was the Cornish hen stuffed with risotto. The cocktail hour was incredible with lots of variety and quality from a vodka and caviar bar to carving stations. We got fantastic reviews of the dessert café that was set up for us which included a pie bar and ice cream. We unfortunately missed it because we were having too much fun on the dance floor.
Décor / Quality – the décor was classic and very clean. We had our ceremony in the outdoor patio and had the backdrop of the setting sun and beautiful water fountain. The ballroom where the reception was held fit our party(170) perfectly with room to spare.
Service – The service was really top notch. There was a waiter dedicated to each table and each was attentive and professional. They really seemed to care about the service and not just there for a part time paycheck. The maître d, John was very attentive and helpful. He seemed to always be there whenever I needed anything. The bridal attendant Maryanne was awesome and made sure everything was perfect. She even helped hem one of my groomsmen pants.
Lastly the person who worked with us from beginning to end was Debbie. She was great to work with, was friendly and helped us along the whole process from selecting our food options to walking through the specifics of the whole event, she really made us feel comfortable. Debbie was very accommodating to all our requests and gave us several options. She was very responsive and answered all our questions in a timely fashion.
Thank you Debbie and the Carltun for a most memorable night.
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This venue was absolutely breathtaking. As soon as my now husband and our families took a tour we knew it was the perfect place for our May wedding. The rooms were gorgeous and had an elegant feel with lots of character. Working with Caryn was also fantastic. From day 1 she was always available to answer questions or offer advice. My fiance and I were taken care of the entire night of our wedding. Mary Ann, my Bridal attendant was very attentive without being intrusive while Jon the Maitre D made sure everything went smoothly for my now husband and all the guests. We had the ceremony outside overlooking the gorgeous grounds. My husband and I were able to take some time alone in the bridal suite after the ceremony. They had an assortment of food from the cocktail hour for us to have in private. The food was AMAZING!!!. If you are looking for a romantic and whimsical location for your wedding, book the Carltun!
Wedding: 05/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jackie 7 Reviews
After seeing venues all over the north east (literally), we decided on The Carltun. Our original vision was modern and white but when we went to The Carltun, we just knew it was for us. The atmosphere is traditional but not over done or gaudy like 98% of the wedding venues on LI. They are a super classy establishment and you can 100% trust in their services. It is EXTREMELY pricey but they are willing to work with all budgets and well worth it. MAIN ROOM/GROUNDS - The best thing about the room is that the walls are white with architecture allowing for beautiful uplighting. There is no old musty carpet but rather polished wood floors. GREAT pictures!! The room can fit any amount of people. We had 115 and although a big room, it did not look empty. The grounds are well maintained with stunning fountains and landscaping. The cocktail hour room next to the main ballroom is the perfect CT hour room, allowing for both indoor and outdoor (fountain views) with a fireplace and 2 bars. FOOD/DRINKS - I have never heard so many people tell me how amazing the food was at a wedding. 15+ passed appetizers, 5 stations, and top notch main dinner salad, meats and desert choices. People were stunned. Top shelf liquor all night. If you choose to have the cake done in-house, they do not allow for a tasting. They offer you 4 base designs that you can slightly customized but have a ton of cake/filling choices. We had red velvet and it was very good. They offer champagne with strawberries and flavored water as guests arrive, for a nice welcoming touch! SERVICE - We worked with Debbie as our planner. She is so great to work with. She went above and beyond to make our day exactly what we dreamed of and we truly thank her. The maitre d (John) was average and the bridal attendant was useless (Mary). She got more in the way than helped. She lost my bag and I did't have make-up all night. Our waitress was better but we really didn't get to eat anything all night. However, we heard from our guests that the staff was more than accommodating and professional. They also offer one waiter and one drink waiter oer table so no one is ever without a drink. Our tasting was amazing, the chef is top-notch and super friendly. They recommend an astronomical amount for tips but we did not follow that and did what we could. Overall, we could not have been more pleased and happy with how perfect our day was, with a great thanks to the Carltun. It is the little things that add up and count and they are a true master at having a class-act wedding. We 100% recommend them to any couple.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
0.3 out of 5.0
0.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

wedding... 5 Reviews
I had a bad experience working with the majority of the staff at the Carltun. The representative I worked with was not flexible, was rude not only to my fiance and me but also to my parents! I would truly recommend for everyone to steer clear of this catering hall unless you want to have the stress of dealing with rude people. They provide you a bridal attendant for the day of the wedding, she was disorganized, not calm, and would yell at me during the wedding. My bridesmaids can attest to this, they were shocked! The Carltun recommends that you pay a 2500 -3000 tip to the bridal attendant, truthfully the day would have been better without her present.

The Carltun is more expensive than some other places in Long Island but do not expect better treatment or more flexibility. The head chef and pastry chef did a nice job and the wedding cake was amazing. Please note that you are not permitted to taste your wedding cake until the day of your wedding, the times for the tasting dinner are not flexible unless you do not work. The Carltun representative that you are assigned to may or may not be available during our scheduled appointment. Expect a 30 minute wait time prior to each appointment. From a cost perspective, be aware of the following additional costs when the price per person dinner cost is quoted:
-The Valet is additional cost ~$850 for 200 ppl
-There is an additional 21% charge on top of your total wedding bill, even your taxes have the 21% surcharge, for employee benefits.
-The ceremony is an additional charge which is understandable.

Horrible experience, I recommend anywhere but the Carltun
Wedding: 07/04/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
The Carltun is a beautiful place to get married. The cocktail is very nice outside and also a beautiful place to take pictures. The food is delicious and the service impeccable. Unfortunately it is very expensive to get married there.
If you have the money it is a great choice. The only thing I didn't like was the flexibility in the menu as far as upgrades and the choice of the cake. You have to make sure that you have everything in writing because they will charge you for changes. I was disappointed that I had to go out and find a baker to make my cake because they did not have many options and then they wanted to charge me to serve it which was ridiculous.
Overall it is a beautiful place to have a party.
Wedding: 07/03/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Carltun Speaks for itself, so I knew I already picked one of the best places. Now, after they have done my wedding I would say they are by far the best. The place, the staff, the food, every detail was superb . Each and every single person who worked with us on planning and the day of made us feel very special . Our guests have raved for weeks about our wedding.
Wedding: 06/27/2009
Services Used: Catering
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Great food, beautiful venue. The coordinator there wasn't always reachable. She would also change up details without admitting to changes. The Carltun is expensive. It could have been a little flexible about billing.The wedding was beautiful, the cake was gorgeous and delicious. The staff on the wedding day was very helpful. overall I would highly recommend it.
Wedding: 08/24/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Carltun is simply breathtaking. With its beautiful lush grounds and lovely reception rooms, I knew immediately I wanted to have my wedding here. The food was excellent and the staff very courteous and professional. Everyone talked about our wedding for weeks and months after it was over. We are so thrilled we chose The Carltun and highly recommend to any couple looking for elegance, quality of food and service and overall excellency!

Julia and Nick M.
11/04/2007
Wedding: 11/04/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I got married in October of 2007. We got married on a sunday afternoon and it was beautiful! We had our ceremony outside with the view of the stunning grounds, the party in the ballroom and the after party in the cigar bar. This party is still talked about with rave reviews by all my guests. As a bride I fell in love with the bridal suite with the gorgeous mirror. The food was great and the day ran smoothly. I found the staff great to work with leading up to the big day and they did not disappoint on the day of the wedding. Not to mention all the beautiful photos we have. From the stairs, to the grounds, to the ballroom, the Carltun is a beautiful, magical place. They delivered one of the most beautiful, memorable days of my life.
Wedding: 10/28/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The quality of their service and food is wonderful. The site is gorgeous - everywhere you look, inside and out. I had both my ceremony and reception here and the evening had the perfect flow. Guests were greeted in the lobby, led outside to the ceremony, then to the drawing room for cocktail hour and into the grand ballroom for the reception. I really enjoyed my wedding. The wait staff and bridal attendant were so friendly. The food and dessert was to die for.
Wedding: 10/14/2007
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 516-542-0700
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3
out of 5.0