The Atrium at Meadowlark Botanical Gardens
    125 Reviews
9750 Meadowlark Gardens Court
Vienna, VA 22182  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (125)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.3/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Awesome!!!! I highly reccomend!!! The staff above and beyond :)
Wedding: 06/22/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Michelle 5 Reviews
Most beautiful location and great catering for our May wedding!
Wedding: 05/16/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This place is amazing! My husband and I were married there at the beginning of April and could not have dreamed of a better venue. The entire staff was extremely helpful and responsive to all of our questions leading up to the big day and everything the day of ran like a well oiled machine. They definitely know what they're doing and have it down to an art.

We used their in-house catering (Great Blue Heron Catering) and every guest that we talked to said it was the best food that they've ever had at a wedding. The head chef was wonderful and was personally bringing the bridal party ordourves and drinks while we were getting ready in the Lilac room. We also used the other vendors that they recommended for the guests hotel and the cake and were soooo happy with those as well.

The day of the wedding the atrium provided an event "captain" whose name I believe was Christian. He was amazing as well and completely catered to every single need or question we had...which included keeping our glasses filled with champaign the entire night! Not only Christian but the entire staff was great, worked very quickly, and were extremely polite.

My husband grew up visiting Meadowlark and was pretty set on having the wedding there so we didn't get many quotes from other venues. Because of that reason, I'm not really able to comment on the prices at this venue but I can say, that with a guest count of 160, we thought the cost was very reasonable for all the wonderful services that they provided.

I could go on and on about how wonderful this venue and staff were but there's probably not enough room so I'll just end by saying this venue and all the staff is wonderful and we would not have changed a single thing about the night.
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristen 2 Reviews
The staff, both on the venue side and the catering side, were extremely helpful and responsive. They answered our questions as they came up, and they were always ready to provide suggestions when we weren't sure about something. My husband is a chef, and he was specifically impressed that the catering chef was out at the buffet making sure everything was presented appropriately on the day of our wedding.
Wedding: 03/29/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Mary 2 Reviews
We were SO glad we chose Meadowlark as our venue. The staff was responsive, the food was delicious, and the space was absolutely beautiful. They have discounts on off-season months (for us, February) which is how we were able to afford such a nice place, and we couldn't have been happier that it worked out.
Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We just had our wedding at this venue and what an incredible place. The venue had amazing workers there that helped us out through the entire process and once we got to the venue for the reception, the venue Captain and staff were so helpful. We heard great things from our guest who were there and we couldn't be happier with the choice we made for our wedding reception.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Atrium at Meadowlark is a stunning location to hold a wedding ceremony and/or reception and my fiance and I fell in love with the place at first sight. However, what makes or breaks a location isn't just how it looks, it is your experience with the staff, especially during wedding planning which can be very stressful. Every experience we had with the staff at the Atrium was wonderful. They are responsive, professional, knowledgeable, and nice to work with. As a bride in the midst of juggling work and wedding planning, they made my life easier. And then, it got even better. The day of our wedding went so smoothly. They are so prepared and organized. The staff is lovely and attentive. My guests were amazed. We could not have chosen a better venue. Also, for future brides: our wedding was held in late November. If you are concerned with having a winter wedding at a botanical garden, don't be. It was beautiful and the indoor temperature was perfect. I was concerned with using one room for the ceremony and reception, but it went off without a hitch. Starting in mid-November, the Atrium is decorated with holiday lights and flowers which added a romantic and festive feeling to my wedding. Also, outdoors there is a winter light show on the grounds that your guests will love.
Wedding: 11/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I did not rent the atrium but had my ceremony on the lake gazebo. What a beautiful place to get the wedding photos every girl dreams of. From the beautiful trees and plants to the rolling hills. It was great and the cost was affordable if you are planning a small event. The only issue is although you reserve the gazebo for exclusive use, they do not offer a way to keep others visiting the garden from entering the gazebo. We had to constantly ask people to leave because we had it reserved for a wedding. Most people were gracious. You have to expect that in a public place. I would recommend the gazebos to everyone. Although, I had beautiful weather, have a back up plan in case mother nature interferes.
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 2 Reviews
The Atrium was the reception site for our daughter's wedding July 27, 2013. I cannot give enough praise to Liz and her team for the awesome job they did to make our reception a wonderful success. The appetizers and dinner were caterered by the in house caterer, Great Blue Heron. The food was plentiful, and incredibly tasty! We have had many compliments on the expecptional meal. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Atrium to anyone, they were the best!!
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our daughter got married on January 5, 2013. Because it was a winter wedding, we were afraid that weather would be a factor. It was a beautiful, crisp day and the Atrium was beautifully decorated with white poinsettias and silver accents. Because the venue has a lights tour open to the public on the grounds, we were treated with a beautiful background for our inside reception. From start to finish Renee and Liz attended to every detail with prompt, courteous responses and wonderful suggestions. Bryan, the executive caterer, provided our guests with outstanding appetizers as well as delicious, tender steak and moist, stuffed chicken. We had a significant glitch that evening as the pastor became ill and was not able to perform the ceremony. Bianca did an outstanding job of coordinating another officiant as well as providing a calm demeanor in organizing an alternate time line. We were very pleased with the value and beauty of this venue and can highly recommend it for your wedding and reception.
Wedding: 01/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our daughter's wedding on 10/12/2012 was all that she (and we) had hoped for at The Atrium at Meadowlark Botanical Gardens. The entire process, from initial visit through wedding ceremony & reception was 100% perfect. The entire staff was exceptional in their professionalism and execution -- care and concern that all was right was in the forefront of every detail. As for the chef and staff of Great Blue Heron catering (on-site caterers), there are no words to express how incredibly every part of the cocktail hour and dinner was prepared and presented -- by far, the most delicious food we have every experienced at an event of this nature! Will look forward to another event visit -- hopefully soon :)
Wedding: 10/12/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
f I had to describe the dream wedding venue it would probably have been the Atrium! It was gorgeous, and the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We had almost no decorations besides the floral arrangements because the venue itself was so beautiful. Our wedding was fairly small, with around 100 people so the Atrium was the perfect size, and the pictures we took around the garden were stunning! Loved it!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot rave enough about this venue. Not only is it stunningly beautiful, with large windows overlooking the gardens, pre-lit indoor trees, and even a babbling brook (!), but the staff is top-notch. Renee and Wayne were fabulous throughout the planning process (as was Liz of Great Blue Heron Catering, the in-house caterer) and always prompt in responding to email inquiries. They walked us through all the details [regarding our daughter’s wedding] at our final meeting a month prior to the event and were extremely accommodating in all ways…from placement of favors and votive candles, to helping us establish our timeline and discussing table and dance-floor placements.

Our guests are still raving about the food (a great value)—from inventive and delicious appetizers to wonderful entrée options, garnished with perfectly-cooked vegetables and edible orchids. The head chef, Bryan, even thoughtfully arranged for a platter of fruits and cheeses to be available in the Lilac room for the bridal party prior to the event and then followed up with individually plated appetizers for the couple, so they would not miss this aspect of their meal! And he graciously acknowledged the newly-wedded couple in person during the evening, to offer his personal congratulations.

Bianca and the wait-staff the night of our event deserve special mention, too. Our daughter and her fiancé planned for the ceremony to be held on the terrace, which was elegantly arranged, complete with the facility’s own arbor. When the weather became threatening, the staff did not rush us in making the [ultimate] decision to move indoors…even setting up for the contingency, while leaving the outdoor option available until five minutes before the start of the ceremony. At that point, the staff miraculously dismantled the outdoor setting in short order, so that photos would not be impacted! Happily, we were able to enjoy cocktails on the terrace immediately following the ceremony, but the indoor service was just lovely and should not be viewed as a disappointing fallback for future brides and grooms. During dinner and thereafter, the staff remained unfailingly attentive and anticipated the needs of our guests in ways which continue to filter out a week later, as we speak with those who attended.

Thank you, Atrium, for making our first effort at throwing a wedding/reception such a great experience! Your attention to detail was noted in many ways and most probably overlooked in others, as the process flowed so effortlessly. As far as we’re concerned, there is no need for a wedding coordinator with these folks on your side!
Wedding: 07/20/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ariana 5 Reviews
We looked at so many venues for our wedding and absolutely fell in LOVE with the Atrium as soon as we walked in! It was an absolutely gorgeous setting for our summer wedding and our guests are still talking about what a great time they had! Renee and Liz were great to work with and always were available to answer our many questions and kept us calm throughout the whole process. The day of the wedding went perfectly and I didn't have to worry about a thing. We used the in-house caterer Blue Heron and the food was delicious and priced very reasonably. I highly recommend this venue!!
Wedding: 07/13/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
Meadowlark Botanical Gardens was a wonderful site to hold a wedding. The Atrium staff was a pleasure to work with, professional, friendly and flexible from the date of booking through the event itself. Though the temperature outside topped 100 degrees, the Atrium stayed properly cool throughout the evening. Wayne and Renee answered all our questions, and had great ideas on how to use the space effectively for our 150 guests; the space did not feel crowded thanks to the layout they designed. Our guests marveled at the beauty of the garden setting both inside and outside of the Atrium. Not much was needed in the way of additional decor, though we did drape the mural and up light the pillars. Many thanks to the wonderful Atrium staff for all of their gracious help!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Atrium is an absolutely beautiful venue. The event staff were responsive and happy to help whenever I had questions. Everything looked fantastic, ran smoothly, and was exactly what I had hoped for. I was thrilled with my experiece and would absolutely recommend the Atrium!
Wedding: 05/12/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 703-255-3631
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0