Sweet Cakes by Melissa
44 Ne Division
Gresham, OR 97030  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free, Lactose Free, Vegan
Desserts: Cheese, Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Fruit...
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (37)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.5/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.4/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.4/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jim 1 Reviews
Awesome. Praise God for those who stand against demons!
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
0.6 out of 5.0
0.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  0.5
  • Flexibility:  1.0
Cake was awful, tasted worse than a box cake. Service was rude. Advertising on website is false and misrepresents the business. Do not give your money, there are much better cakes out there.
Wedding: 01/10/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
0.5 out of 5.0
0.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
went in to order cake for once in a lifetime wedding. cake was delivered LATE to the function, and it was not the cake we ordered. The owner (the man, not the woman) said and I quote: "You already paid. Not much you can do." Needless to say, this ruined the cake part of the reception. Would have rather ordered a cake from Safeway, at least it would have been there on time.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Very clean bakery, helpful staff and heavenly cake.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Super Delishous, best cake I've ever tasted in the whole world.very professional prompt service. I would highly recommend them for all your custom cake needs.
Wedding: 12/10/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sweet Cakes by Melissa did our wedding cake, and we were thrilled with it! It was delicious, and looked exactly like we imagined it would!
Wedding: 08/25/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
the cake was great and looked exactly like we talked about. the only thing that would have been better is if they had given us cake boxes. we had nothing to take the rest of the cake home. we had to throw some of it away.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melissa and her husband were very flexible with our scheduling, and did an amazing job. We went in for our cake testing, designed a beautiful cake with Melissa's husband, and put our down payment. About 2 weeks later they worked with us to completely redesign the cake, as we had a change of heart when we had seen another cake she had made. They were very patient with us for the changes we made, and adjusted the pricing accordingly. I have no complaints, and we are both very excited for the remake of our top tier on our 1st anniversary!

Wedding: 05/26/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
In one word: DELICIOUS!!

I had a contract with another baker for my wedding cake, but when they went out of business a few weeks after I signed the contract, I started freaking out. Until I found Sweet Cakes by Melissa. Her husband interviewed with my MOH and myself, laying out the cake testing, and immediately put me at ease. The cake flavors and quality far surpassed what I had originally planned and the costs were cheaper! How's that for lucking out!

The flavors we went with were Raspberry Dream, Chocolate Heaven, and the Boston Cream Pie. I have never heard so many compliments on food in my life. Everyone was asking where we got the cake and if they were close enough that my guests could find the baker. The cakes were moist (no freezing first here!) and the frosting was sweet and light. We even had one of her cakes (Red Velvet) for my bridal shower which got my female guests salivating at the idea of getting more at the wedding.

The professionalism and service of Sweet Cakes was also fantastic. My groom couldn't make the cake tasting, so they gave me three cupcakes (and those things are BIG), one for each flavor I had chosen, so my HTB could try the flavors himself and decide if he wanted something else... all complimentary!

My sister is getting married this next summer and she is planning to use Sweet Cakes, too, based on what she had at my wedding... high praise indeed. :)
Wedding: 03/16/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Our cake tasted fabulous and turned out exactly the way we told them we wanted it to; simple but elegant. The cake all 5 tiers including a special gluten free tier tasted awesome, all of our guests were impressed with the flavor, taste and look of the cake. Our Groom's cake was not 100% what we had pictured making it hard to give 5/5 for quality but all in all would recommend them to anyone looking for good/tasty cake and excellent service. Everyone at sweet cakes was very helpful and sweet, they made sure all of our needs were met.
Wedding: 10/22/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Their location is a little sketchy, but their cake was DELICIOUS and they are very nice!
Wedding: 07/30/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I loved my cakes,I got both a wedding cake and a grooms cake from sweet cakes. They were beautiful. I did however have a problem with the cakes being frozen. They looked great, but the flavor was not so good. The next day when the cakes were defrosted they were great, but not on the day that counts. So I will recommend sweet cakes just make sure the cakes are ready to be served. Great prices, for great design.
Wedding: 07/23/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
This was a great place to go for our wedding cake. We had a very low key venue and layed back wedding. The cake was delicious and the owners were very easy to work with. They delivered on time and set up the cake which was perfect. I totally recommend Sweet cakes. I also had three weddings after mine who used Sweet Cakes as their cake and cupcake providers. Very dependable and proffessional mom and pop shop.
Wedding: 07/16/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We got our wedding cake from Sweet Cakes and it was DELICIOUS!! We got lots of compliements on the flavor of the cake. Melissa was very flexible on the design, and was happy to add my own personal ribbon that matched our decor.
Wedding: 07/09/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Made half our cake gluten free! It was delicious!
This is a wonderful couple, with a small shop. Very personal. And Melissa is quite an artist! The cake was PERFECT.
Wedding: 07/02/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I used Sweet cakes to make my grooms cake. I sent her a picture of what we wanted and she recreated it perfectly. My husband was very happy with the end product!
Wedding: 06/11/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 503-674-5400
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0