Sugar Bowl Resort
Your Special Day Deserves an Extraordinary Setting.
    37 Reviews
P.O. Box 5
629 Sugar Bowl Rd
Norden, CA 95724  | map
Services: Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 500
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (37)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Christine 2 Reviews
We hosted our daughter's wedding at Sugar Bowl's Lake Mary venue. For the year leading up to the wedding, communication was easy and thorough. Meghon was extremely friendly and professional providing us lists, venue visits, and a tasting. For the rehearsal and event, Amanda took over. Amanda was a delight. She answered all our questions and managed the site with a friendly demeanor. All of the Sugarbowl employees were friendly and professional. Lake Mary is stunningly beautiful for an outdoor wedding. Many of our guests commented on the gorgeous scenery, fabulous food, and fun activities set up for the reception. My daughter and I are Tahoe locals and we looked at nearly every venue in and around Tahoe. Sugarbowl was the best price and provided the best service.
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
We used Sugar Bowl for a destination wedding weekend and Meghon and her staff were attentive, helpful, very responsive and overall wonderful. I am the mother of the groom so we hosted a Friday night welcome dinner for all guests at Lake Mary and the setting was fabulous, excellent service, and great food. In addition to the event coordination, I also worked with Meghon on the flower center pieces for the tables which were perfect for the venue. She has a wealth of knowledge, is detailed orientated and her coordination let us enjoy the event rather than worry about the details. The wedding ceremony and reception the next day was picture perfect, once again with excellent service and great food.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Flowers, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kate 1 Reviews
I have absolutely nothing bad to say about my experience with Sugar Bowl and my wedding. The staff was amazingly helpful and willing to go the extra distance everytime. I did a LOT of shopping for venues in the Tahoe/Truckee area and this is by far the beat deal available. The affordable price came with so many extra perks (like the wedding coordinator) that you just don't get at the other local venues. I wish I could get married at Lake Mary again!!
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lauren 1 Reviews
We thought Meghon and the entire Sugar Bowl staff were very friendly and helpful. The pricing seemed very fair and straightforward and the setting was incredible.
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nicole 3 Reviews
Sugarbowl is amazing. We originally chose the location because of sentimental value (my husband taught me to ski here) but were blown away at what a perfect wedding venue it turned out to be. Staff are always friendly and go above and beyond. The wedding co-ordinator Meghon was so easy to work with and always made herself available whenever we needed something. She also did our flowers for the wedding and they were gorgeous. She worked with what I wanted but added her own touch and they turned out beautifully.
Both my husband and I grew up in Canada so most of our guests had travelled quite a ways to be at our wedding. Sugarbowl was such a special place as you have the whole resort to yourself for 3 days. It was a spectacular setting to have a family reunion. Many of our family members had never been to Tahoe and were blown away. Everyone said it was the best wedding venue they had ever experienced.
We did the chairlift for cocktail hour and had drinks and appetizers at the top of the mountain. It was spectacular and worth every penny.
The food was delicious!! We were very impressed and everyone was raving about it.
The fire pit that was lit every night was also a highlight. Smores for the kids then late-night talks with our family and friends sitting in Adarondak chairs around the camp fire was a great way to cap off the evenings.
The prices were reasonable and the co-ordinator Meghon made suggestions to help us stay within our budget. There were no surprises when we saw the bill.
I would would say that Sugarbowl as the perfect wedding venue. I have no regrets and would have my wedding there again in a heartbeat. We have perfect memories of our wedding day thanks to Sugarbowl.
Wedding: 07/01/2014
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Sugar Bowl was an amazing venue to have my wedding! The venue was stunning, the chair lift was incredible, the food was great, and the Sugar Bowl staff and Meghon were so accommodating the entire weekend. Working with Meghon during my engagement really helped, she was always quick to answer emails and worked with me on things that I wanted to do a little bit differently than what their norm was.

I loved being able to have The Village lodge exclusively for the weekend. Having the rehearsal dinner there too made the weekend feel like a big family/friend reunion. I was told by many guests that my wedding was one of their favorite weddings they've been too, the chairlift really gives guests an awesome experience.

Love, Love, Love!! :)
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
WOW! What a wonderful venue for my June 21 wedding!! It was just perfect for our rustic/outdoorsy themed wedding! Even if you did not have any decorations..this venue SCREAMS rustic and woodsy. The staff were wonderful during the whole process: before, during, AND even after. Weather was great and we did not know we were marrying on the first day of summer aka the longest day of the year!

Meghon was sooo wonderful and absolutely responsive. After hearing all my friends current horror stories, I appreciate her fast response! When you talk/email her she felt genuine..Again my friends' current experience with their CURRENT venue planners..cringe worthy. I loved and appreciated her suggestions. We also decided to hire her for flowers. Again, it fit perfectly with what I wanted. It was also very convenient to have the food, flowers, hotel, setup all under Meghon! It helps to have someone who sees the vision the bride sees! Thank you Meghon many of my guest commented on just how wonderful you all were!

Booking Sugar Bowl meant you had the whole place to yourself. We decided to book the Disney Lift...and the ONLY complaint I have was that I wish that the person operating the lift told my guest that the bar on the ski lift came down...BOY riding the skilift during the summer is FAR different than in the winter...SCARY ISH! I had a few guest who were literally crying so be prepared. My husband and I are outdoorsy and we ski/snowboard often I did NOT expect to be THAT terrified! Other than that it was a wonderfully unique experience for our 170 guest.

Anyhoo I can't stress how wonderful this venue is. Many of my guest kept commenting on it too. The grounds are also well maintained. The grass was lush and pretty. I wish I can get married all over again! =)
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Carly 1 Reviews
In my opinion sugar bowl gets 5 stars for everything. We had our wedding there this June and it was amazing! Meghon and her team were more than accommodating and made everything so special for our big day. They were very professional but approachable and we felt like we could ask them anything and no task was too big. They even went as far as learning many of the guests names and helping some of the older guests with food etc. The wedding was a huge success, everyone had an amazing time and even our guests mentioned to us how wonderful the staff was at sugar bowl. Thank you Sugar Bowl Staff!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding at Sugar Bowl this past October and it was the best place we could have chosen. I cannot recommend this place enough. It was the first venue we saw and we booked it that day, knowing it would be perfect for us. The planning process was so easy and smooth; Meghon and Pat took care of whatever we needed, but we were able to plan and coordinate the things we wanted to. They are extremely flexible with what they will do and provide really good recommendations on timing, set up, and logistics. We showed up the day before the wedding, dropped off everything we brought and had a half hour meeting to go over set up etc. and after that we didn't have to worry about a thing. The best part was that neither we nor our guests had to lift a finger, and the whole weekend was executed perfectly and our stuff was packed back into boxes by Sunday morning ready for us to take home.

They really went above and beyond our expectations and all the little things I'd forgotten (our cake needs decoration? It's cold and we need heat lamps?) they took care of. I could go on and on about everything they did that made it perfect. A lot of our guests stayed Friday and Saturday night, and the ability to have everyone there with no stress made it perfect. I've heard and seen so many stories of brides frazzled on their wedding day trying to get everything set up right or deal with emergencies that come up. I was honestly so relaxed because I knew that even if something did go wrong it would be handled. Additionally, the place is beautiful. If you like the mountains you won't find a better venue. Now we are just hoping one of our friends gets married there so we can attend a wedding at Sugar Bowl!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Landen 4 Reviews
Sugar Bowl made our prep hassle-free and our wedding day smooth and easy. Meghon and Pat were excellent coordinators on site and their team was there to answer any questions and help make our guests feel comfortable.

Flowers - Meghon & Pat happen to be florists, so that was easy.
Catering - they have excellent chefs and menus on site, so no need to outsource. The tasting was a wonderful experience in the snow!
Photographer - they have a list of recommended vendors and we loved Chris Cooke!
Cake - we ordered apple pie from a local bakery and Meghon took care of the whole process, from the tasting to the cutting
Decorations - we went with a rustic, woodsy theme and Sugar Bowl helped out significantly by providing baskets, wooden rounds for the tables, mason jars for flowers, an archway, and shepherd's hooks for the ceremony aisles. We described our style and they created it for us - so easy! We even intended to write out table seating with chalk and Sugar Bowl staff, Riza, took care of us for us with her beautiful handwriting.
Location - up in the mountains; it's definitely a destination for most, but at only 45 minutes from the Reno Airport and about 3.5 hours for our Bay Area friends and family, we decided that a "convenient getaway" fit the bill. Keep in mind, the 20-minute drive down to Truckee is a windy mountain road, so stay away after drinking or late at night.
Lodge - the rooms are quaint and clean and fit a wide range of numbers, so we could house our relatives and groups of friends easily on site. We only wish they had more rooms to fit all of our 117 guests. Luckily, it's just a short drive down to Truckee where hotels and restaurants are located.
Fun perk - we booked the Disney ski lift for our cocktail hour, which was a huge hit - even my grandparents went up the lift!

Our friends and family are still raving about the scenery, the location, the Disney lift, the food, and the service. We really could not be happier with our choice!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The BEST wedding venue!! The Sugar Bowl staff made our day perfect and stress free. Sugar Bowl went out of their way to accommodate all of the wedding needs for me and my guests. I cannot say enough great things about everyone there. Honest truth - our guests are still talking about how much fun our wedding was. I owe a huge thanks to everyone at Sugar Bowl for making that happen.
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nadia 1 Reviews
We got married at Sugar Bowl Ski Resort on 10/6/12. We loved the rustic, historic feel. We immediately clicked with Meghon, the wedding event coordinator. She is genuine, friendly & put us right at ease. She & her staff were flexible & allowed creativity. They accommodated special requests regarding my culture’s unique traditions-my family was so honored and impressed. The staff also set up all of my handmade decorations in such a way that was more beautiful than I could have imagined & returned everything to me in perfect condition! I didn't have to worry or bother any family or friends with these details. Meghon also did all the flowers-I had no idea what I wanted & she still produced incredible work that was exactly what I wanted! I highly recommend her for the flower services. Dinner was fantastic! Our friend, who is a professional chef at a gourmet restaurant, said it was the best food he ever had at a wedding! We also used the basement of the ski lodge as a kids room, with a kid friendly buffet, coloring, games and movies. All the parents raved about this! After all the kiddos went to bed, the staff quickly transformed the room into the after-party room & the festivities continued into the night! Mike with the lodging & accommodations staff was also extremely helpful throughout the whole process, making sure that all our guests staying on-site were taken care of. Finally, another highlight was the Sunday Brunch-It was so nice to say goodbye to everyone & not have to worry about pulling quiches out of the oven or doing dishes. We just relaxed & enjoyed everyone’s company for as long as we could. Everyone said that our wedding couldn't have been at a more beautiful location or be more relaxed. Meghon really went above & beyond to make our day stress-free & more perfect than we could have imagined! All this was affordable, with no sacrifice of elegance, quality, or service. We are so happy to have had such an amazing weekend, all thanks to Meghon & her staff.
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Flowers, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amy 1 Reviews
Sugar bowl did amazing job with everything! We couldn't have been more pleased with how everything went which is largely due to the wonderful staff.
Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

ROB AND KERRY 1 Reviews
OUR DAUHTERS WEDDING AT SUGAR BOWL COULD NOT OF BEEN MORE PERFECT! EVERY LITTLE DETAIL WAS THERE AND MORE. WE LOOK BACK ON OUR PHOTOS AND WE STILL CANNOT BELIEVE HOW BEAUTIFUL EVERYTHING WAS FOR US. MEGHON SHREWSBURY IS THE MOST AMAZING AND TALENTED PERSON EVER. SHE WAS SUCH A DELIGHT TO WORK WITH AND ALWAYS HAD THE RIGHT IDEAS WHEN WE WERE UNSURE OF THINGS. IT WAS THE MOST SPECIAL DAY EVER! OUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY HAVE ALL TOLD US THAT IT WAS ONE OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL AND FUN WEDDINGS THAT THEY HAD ATTENDED. WE AGREE!!!
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Party Supplies, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Today, on the anniversary of our son’s wedding at Sugar Bowl Resort, my husband and I are reminiscing about the happy celebrations during the long weekend we enjoyed at Sugar Bowl. I cannot speak highly enough of Meghon, with whom we worked long distance to coordinate the rehearsal dinner at scenic Lake Mary. Meghon did all the flowers for the wedding, and they were absolutely gorgeous. The entire resort was reserved for the weekend, with the wedding guests free to enjoy boating on the lake, early morning trail hikes, and casual time together. The food was delicious and the staff was wonderful, managing all the details in a relaxed and professional manner. From the breathtaking scenery to the friendly and professional staff, everything came together perfectly. Thank you, Sugar Bowl staff and management, for inspiring special memories that will last a lifetime!
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Catering, Flowers, Photography, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Rehearsal Dinner Location, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jessica 1 Reviews
My goodness our wedding was the most BEAUTIFUL wedding I have ever seen!!! The wedding coordinator was AMAZING as well as the entire Sugar Bowl staff. From start to finish, everything was perfect and exceeded our expectations in every possible way. The venue is ideal, as we had everything to ourselves-no outsiders to be seen!!! The food was incredible and the chef also went above and beyond-we couldn't have had a more perfect and memorable day!!! I would absolutely recommend this venue to anyone and everyone.
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Flowers, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Party Supplies, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
 530-426-6769
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0