Spectrum Band
St. Louis' Premier Variety Dance Band
    57 Reviews
14140 Conway Road
Chesterfield, MO 63017  | map
Agency or Band: Band
Band size: Large (6+ musicians)
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Acoustic, Big Band, Blues...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (57)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I think the best and most important thing to note when reviewing Spectrum was that they had the dance floor packed until the very last song. In fact, it was still packed AFTER the music ended at the completion of our reception! That is the BEST thing for a bride and groom to see-- everyone else enjoying the evening as much as you are.
We had their pianist play during dinner and the full band throughout the rest of the reception and they did such an amazing job we had family friends decide on the spot to book them for their daughter's upcoming wedding.
Several people commented on their range of music.. from Louis Armstrong to Katy Perry they killed it all and had selections for everyone.
How do I even begin to review Tim, the band manager? Through our extremely long engagement (2 years) I inquired about and corresponded with a lot of vendors. By a mile, Tim was the easiest to work with, quickest to respond, and, despite having dozens of weddings on their docket, always seemed to remember all the details of our wedding throughout every conversation we had. There was never a single doubt in my mind that Spectrum would be at our venue, set up in time and everything would go perfectly. As I write this I realize Tim is the only vendor I never called to confirm all was in order the week of the wedding. I was so confident they'd be there and ready to roll.
Thank you, Spectrum, for being a highlight of our evening and making our wedding even more special and memorable!
Wedding: 10/10/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I highly recommend Spectrum. They did a fantastic job and really made our reception a blast!!! We had to kick people out of the venue because almost everyone was still there until the last song was placed. Tim, the manager, is very easy to work with and he always makes time to answer any questions that you may have. They went out of there way to help my dad pull of a special performance for the father/daughter dance as well which turned out simply amazing. Going with this band, will be one of the best decision you make for your reception!!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
They were simply amazing. They were professional, sounded great, and had the dancefloor full the entire night! Highly recommended!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Unbelievably fantastic! Tim C. was so great to work with, responsive to any/all questions and requests. Always willing to share his expertise on what might work best for our party! The band was so great that the dance floor was filled from beginning to end and at the end they were asking them to stay and keep playing! They were set-up and ready to go ahead of time, and I can't say enough about how great they were! We would hire them again for any function! Your music makes the event fun!
Wedding: 09/12/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I think that a band sets the mood for the reception. Spectrum was all we hoped for and more. You know that the reception is a hit when almost everyone stays on the dance floor until the last song is played! That's what happened for our family. So many guests stopped us to say how great the band was. We all had a great time and the music was just right to allow guests to talk at tables.

Thanks to Tim and the band for everything!

Also, Tim is so organized and made everything easy....I would suggest early set-up and use the band's extra lighting at your venue. It makes it easy and affordable! Thanks again for all you did to make the wedding special.
Wedding: 08/09/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our daughter's wedding was last Saturday, and I couldn't have been more pleased about our band choice. A year ago, when we started searching for a good band, my daughter sent me names of 3 highly recommended bands by her friends. I researched them all but immediately knew upon hearing the music on Spectrum's website, that this was the band for us. Loved the horns and loved the choice of music they play, not to mention the singing which was phenomenal.

I can't tell you how many people asked who the band was and commented that they were the best band they had ever heard! The music definitely made the night into a fantastic party! The dance floor was always full. Even my 93 year old father (who doesn't dance) got the urge to dance due to the songs they played.

I also want to note that Tim Callahan was so attentive to our needs and quickly responded to any email requests prior to the wedding. By far, Tim was my favorite vendor used for the wedding, always assuring me that he had his job covered, and I didn't need to worry about his duties being fulfilled. He came through just like he promised.

The band was so good, that I almost wish I had another daughter so that I could hire them again for another wedding. :)
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Spectrum Band is fabulous! They had the reception hopping all night. Guests loved the band and the mix of music. They responded well to guests requests while keeping family requests in mind as well. They took the time to learn a new song for my son and i to dance for our mother/groom dance. It was so perfect!! The lead singers (male and female are great) The horn section is the best I've heard !!! It was such a great night, I only wis they could have played longer!!! Book the Spectrum Band for your next event, it will be the best decision you could make!!!
Donna McGauley
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Spectrum was the entertainment at our daughter’s wedding this past weekend. Spectrum is spectacular! What more can we say. Why Spectrum? Just before our daughter and son-in-law announced their engagement, we were at a private party where Spectrum performed. We said to each other wow they’re good. We looked at each other and silently knew this was the band. It was that simple; that obvious; that quick. Tim, the band manager and drummer, was extremely easy to work with as we coordinated the reception and entertainment. We used members of Spectrum in three settings. Their pianist set the mood during our cocktail hour; a quartet from the band provided background music during dinner; and finally the full band cranked the party up all the way. We had a handful of music professionals as guests and they all commented on the quality and professionalism of the band. One of them said their arrangements of many well-known songs coupled with their performance made you feel like it was originally theirs. What a compliment. The dance floor was packed en masse with our guests as the evening concluded. We knew our daughter and son-in-law’s wedding day would be memorable. Thank you, Spectrum. You made our evening so much fun! Gary and Sue
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The Spectrum Band played at my son's wedding reception this past weekend. They were awesome! The music and singing were excellent. The music sounded as good, or even better than, the original recordings. The dance floor was packed during everything from "In the Mood" to "Sweet Caroline" to "What a Wonderful World," (which included a great Louis Armstrong impression.) At one time the lead woman singer joined the dancers on the floor to lead them in a line dance. Spectrum Band was worth every penny.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Unfortunately there is limited space for this review (see my full, detailed review on theknot.com). But in short, Spectrum was perfect. They were extremely responsive and open to our needs, they were happy to be flexible wherever we needed (and very easy and happy to speak with us). They provided a recording of their version of the first dance song (they slowed it down a little bit and made it twice as good for our wedding) several months in advance so that would could give our approval and also get some good practice in. After the wedding, they even sent us recordings of the different speeches, along with an overall 'thank you' as they appreciated our crowd's big love of dancing (although to be fair, the crowd loved dancing because they were amazing). Most importantly, the music was PHENOMENAL. The vocals are incredible, and they have an awesome mix of new (e.g, Happy, Moves Like Jagger) and old (I loved the Michael Jackson Medley of four of his biggest hits). Even better, they moved well with the crowd (reading the mood), and were even responsive to guest requests (someone asked for more Katy Perry - they delivered!). If you can get this band, you should ABSOLUTELY take them. They were perfect.
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Spectrum played at my daughter's reception on April 5, 2014. Being the father of the bride I don't have much to say about picking the band..... all I get to do is listen at the reception and pay for it. :)

Honestly I had no idea what to expect. Boy was I happy at her pick. Spectrum play a fantastic mix of music that both the older crowd and younger crown could both enjoy. I've listened to a few bands in my day and these guys are really talented.

I especially liked the horns and the way they played together as a group. The best thing is that when they started playing during the dinner they weren't so loud that you couldn't carry on a conversation at the table. I can' tell you how many wedding bands dominate and overpower when they start playing. Great selection of music during the dinner time too!

They are worth every penny. Listen to them and hire them for your next event.
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Spectrum did an amazing job at our wedding! The quality of services they provided was like nothing I have ever seen. Not only was Tim so kind and easy to get a hold of, he was more than willing to answer any little question that I had prior to my dat in such a timely manner. They were by far the best wedding band we could have ever had. The musicians got everyone out on the dance floor and people stayed out there the whole evening. They did an outstanding job of playing all different genres of music. All our guests were raving about how much fun the band made the wedding.
Wedding: 03/15/2014
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
i cannot say enough good things about the spectrum band. leading up to the wedding, i felt completely at ease because of the wonderful correspondence with band manager and drummer, tim. he was truly more than just part of the band. he took the time to lay out details and helped give me information that i never even considered when it comes to wedding planning. in some ways, i felt like because i had such a great rapport with tim, i trusted his input for all my vendors.

the professionalism of ALL band members (during the wedding reception and also the pianist- Mike, who performed at our ceremony) was first class. the emcee (Ray) helped our crazy wedding not go astray. he kept our wedding going in an organized manner yet remained very entertaining and professional.

their actual performance fit our styles and our wedding perfectly, which is something they committed to and strived for when planning our reception set list. we booked them from 6-11pm and they sounded wonderful from beginning to end. spectrum can play anything very well. wedding bands can be more expensive, but the quality and entertainment value are so worth the extra expense. believe me- the compliments we have received have been overwhelming.

i honestly could go on and on and on about how wonderful they were but anyone who is reading this, please know that you will NOT be disappointed in their quality, performance and professionalism. WOW, so impressed.
Wedding: 11/30/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Spectrum Band was amazing!! The dance floor was full the entire evening for our daughter's wedding even for the last dance. We received many compliments on the music. Several couples who said they never dance at a wedding were amazed with themselves because they were actually on the dance floor!!!! Music played was a big variety and the band followed the lead of the crowd very well. Tim Callahan wonderful to work with in the planning process, responding quickly to every question.
Wedding: 11/23/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Tim and the Spectrum Band proved to be one of the best decisions I made while planning my wedding. Spectrum was my favorite vendor - by far - as they were accessible and proactive throughout the entire process. Spectrum's unique Sound Engineer made sure the audio sounded great from all areas. Our reception was at the Moonrise Hotel's Moon Room, which can be tricky for audio, but Spectrum had no problem making the band sound great!
If you aren't sold yet, check out the band's playlist - it's several pages long filled with great hits!
Wedding: 11/08/2013
Services Used: Band
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Spectrum provided a fabulous night of music and dancing for our daughter's wedding reception. The 9 piece band began playing during the dinner hour, and several guests were wowed, as you could enjoy the music and carry on a conversation without having to shout across the table!
The dance floor was filled all night with young and old alike, thanks to the outstanding music and energy of the band. They played everything, and our guests could not have been more complimentary.
Tim made planning the musical details from contract to formal dances, seamless and so easy, plus he was always just an email or phone call away.
Spectrum truly is THE BEST!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Band
 314-434-7153
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0