South Gate Manor
Caterers of Distinction
    77 Reviews
260 South Street
Freehold, NJ 07728  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house, Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 500
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (77)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
John and I had our wedding at the South Gate on 5/31/14 and it was beyond what we could have ever imagined! From the time we stepped foot into the building, until the final good nights, we felt like superstars! Bobby and Jennifer were amazing and so helpful! They set up a wonderful spead upstairs for us and the bridal party to enjoy while we were taking pictures and waiting for the cocktail hour to start! They also helped usher us through all of our photos we took on property! Cocktail hour was like a dream....so much delicious food! Every guest was raving about it all while enjoying the nice weather outside on the patio area. The reception was beautiful and the food and desserts just as delicious as we would have imagined! We have guests calling our wedding "Epic" and "Extravagant". All of that would not have been possible without Matthew who was there with us since we signed the contract in 2012, his brother Chris who was there to help as well, Bobby and Jennifer. Thanks to you all we had the wedding of a lifetime!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my wedding at south gate last Saturday and it was everything I dreamed of and more. The food was exceptional. It started to rain for the ceremony so I loved Chris idea to have the ceremony still outside in the front. I have to say the best part of my experience with south gate was bobby who went above and beyond for myself and my now husband. He is such a wonderful person and kept me calm and cool the entire time. He was always there to provide me with anything I needed. What a wonderful member of your staff you have in him. Thanks again foer everything, I wish I could do it all over again


Corinne and Bill Hunnell
Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
I went to this place prior to being engaged and my husband back then told me this is where we are going to get married. After we got engaged we came straight to south gate manor and booked them. They are such pleasant people to work with and the service is impeccable. Bobby and the bridal attendant were amazing and the party went so smoothly. The food was amazing between the cocktail hour and Venetian. People say they don't eat at their own wedding but my husband and I made it a point to eat every course. I love this place!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Organization was amazing!! When ever you asked for something the response was amazing... Friendly and pleasant... The entire night... Food was great.. Had an incredible time..
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
South Gate Manor made our wedding day perfect! Chris and Matt made planning very easy for us. They were very helpful throughout the process. All of our guests still rave about the food and atmosphere. We highly recommend South Gate Manor!
Wedding: 04/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Christina 2 Reviews
The team at South Gate did an amazing job. They really did not leave a single detail out. Chris made sure that we would have all of our needs met that day by being very specific with his questions. The staff was very helpful to us. If cards went missing, they found them. They were also very flexible, allowing us an additional 10 minutes for cocktail hour so that our bridal party may enjoy it - as we arrived later than expected due to pictures at an alternate location. They made sure our guests had an incredible experience. People are still coming up to us to this day remarking how amazing the food and venue was! They were also thoroughly impressed with the drink selection and energy the team provided. They also packed up all our things at the end of the time and held it for us until the other day to be picked up to ensure their safety there. Thank you so much for an amazing night! We cannot WAIT to be guests at an event there to enjoy more of the food! Suggestion, ask for a to-go container to be able to sample the cocktail hour food and desserts if you don't get the opportunity to eat much from all the running around you will do as a bride/groom that night between guests, the dance floor, and pictures :)
Wedding: 01/18/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding at South Gate was fantastic. From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, we were treated unbeliebably great. Bob, the Maitre D and Jennifer the Bridal Attandant were marvelous, as were all of the staff. The cocktail hour was amazing as was the dinner, with 5 different choices for the main course, all of which were beautifully prepared and presented. The evening was topped off by the Venetialn Hour, which is a MUST. Our guests are still calling from a week ago to marvel at the Cocktal Hour and the Venetian Hour. South Gate is a wonderful place to have a traditional wedding. We cannot recommend South Gate highly enough. You will not be disappointed. Last but not least, Chris Marino is a terrific host who assisted us from the moment we first walked into South Gate until we walked out after the party.
Wedding: 11/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
South Gate Manor is the perfect venue for a wedding! Chris and the entire staff at SGM were always very professional and made sure that everything about the entire reception ran smoothly! The ballroom, cocktail hour room, and outdoor seating area/garden are absolutely beautiful! My guests raved about the food and how beautiful the venue was. I couldn't have asked for more! Everything was perfect!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot express—at least in words—the joy I experienced on my wedding day. But perhaps it could most simply be defined by the wide smile I so continuously wore, thanks in large part to South Gate Manor.

The hall and staff were seamlessly stunning. The presentation: brilliant. The service: impeccable. Chris, Bobby, and Jennifer were the utmost professional: sincere and attentive.

My wife and I could not have possibly wanted more. It was, in short, perfect. The remark from all of our guests that night was that it was the best wedding they had ever been to. I could not agree more.

Do yourself a favor and choose South Gate for your wedding reception. You will not be disappointed.

--Dave
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From the moment we booked South Gate Manor (two years ago) we knew that we had made the right decision for our daughter and her fiance` . Chris Marino made us extremely comfortable at each meeting, assuring us that all would go well. The coordination of the evening was stress free , thanks to his expertise!
Our guest have not stopped calling and talking about the wedding, referring to it as the "best wedding ever"! From the moment we had arrived at SGM, Bobby the maitre`d took care of every detail and throughout the evening, made sure everything went smoothly. Our bridal attendant Jennifer was amazing, she made sure the bridal couple did nothing but enjoy the evening.
Great service began with champagne as guest arrived and the phenomenal service continued throughout. The cocktail hour not only had an incredible selection of foods, but also was presented and served exquisitely. As for the Venetian Hour, it was out of this world. Too many fantastic desserts to mention, as well as top shelf liquors and a great coffee bar. We highly recommend South Gate Manor and hopefully someone will invite us to their wedding so we can enjoy the experience once again!
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
South Gate Manor was absolutely amazing. The staff from the moment we walked in were attentive and professional. Our Maitre d' Bobby was sincere and a pleasure to be around. He made sure every detail was taken care of. He truly made our night enjoyable. Diana our bridal attendant made our wedding party feel like royalty. South Gate manor made sure we were all having a good time. The entire staff was exceptional. The food was delicious and the Venetian hour was insane. Our guests were overwhelmed with the spread South Gate Manor provided, no one went home hungry. We couldn't have asked for a better wedding venue. South Gate Manor exceeded our expectations and made our wedding day absolutely unforgettable!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We got married on 9/27/13 and had the best experience anyone can ask for! Everyone was very professional and attentive. They made us feel like we were the most important event they were hosting. Our Mat're D was our best friend that night. Everything was phenomenal. The best part they made us feel like King and Queen for the night. We couldn't have had a better wedding :) if I had the chance to do it all over again I would and I wouldn't have changed a thing! We also used Marleen and Stephanie for our flowers, center pieces, and favors! Everything was beautiful. A real family environment .
Wedding: 09/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Josh 2 Reviews
I don't even know where to begin with South Gate Manor! From the moment we stepped out of our limo, Bobby and Diana (our maitre d's for the evening) were incredibly attentive and accomodating. If the building itself doesn't blow you away with it's amazing cocktail room (which would be a banquet hall in most other venues) or the beautiful marble floors throughout the building then their over the top service will! All night our guests were blown away with the speediness of their orders and hospitality from their servers. We have been to weddings were it was the opposite and it ruined everyone's night, but not here! Chris and Matt were there helping us plan our night to perfection and making sure everything was just right! In the words of one of our guests, "That was the closest we'll ever get to a celebrity wedding!" If you don't book at the South Gate Manor, you're just settling for less that spectacular!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our daughter had the best wedding I could have imagined! Matthew was great to work with and he was always open to our ideas. The ceremony space was beautiful, the cocktail hour and five dinner choices were out of this world! Top shelf liquor along with fantastic desserts and coffee bar! We loved every moment!
Wedding: 07/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Excellent!!!! Everyone had an amazing time at our wedding. Matthew and the rest of the family was able to answer all of my questions and made me feel like I was a valued bride. We got ready at 9 AM at the venue. My makeup girl and hair girls were able to access the venue at 8:45 so they were ready to go by 9:15. Breakfast was provided. As we got ready and then throughout the remainder of the day our assistants were amazing. Our ceremony was beautiful and everything was well organized. All of my vendors had a great experience at SGM. The cocktail hour was amazing and they had seats for everyone!! Guests were able to go outside if they would like and had access to top shelf alcohol. The reception was perfect, beautiful, and amazing!!! I can't wait to go to a wedding as a guest so I can enjoy SGM in a different way. : )
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Emily 2 Reviews
My husband and I were thrilled with South Gate Manor. We had attended my brothers wedding there 3 years ago and when we got engaged it was a no brainer where to book! The service, the quality of the food, the decor and atmosphere- all top notch! Every single guest commented on the beauty of SGM and how DELICIOUS the food was! Local guests were even asking if South Gate Manor was open for dinner because they wanted to go back! Chris was fantastic to work with and made all the stress of planning a wedding super easy! We loved SGM and would recommend it to everyone! Thank you so much for making our wedding day absolutely perfect and stress free!
Wedding: 06/30/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 732-431-1500
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0