Solas Dine.Lounge.Rooftop
Three Levels of Dining and Entertainment
    16 Reviews
419 Glenwood Ave.
Raleigh, NC 27603  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 800
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (16)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
SO. Can we just talk about how cool this venue is.. IT IS. What made things even better is the event manager, Lauren DeAlto, went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure my unique wedding was off the hook! It's hard to put in to words how amazing our wedding looked, and smoothly it flowed if you weren't there. We had a unique wedding, and Lauren went over the moon with making sure we got the food the way we wanted it, the space to look amazing, etc. etc. All of the vendors we used asked me for information on my "wedding coordinator".. and I had to tell them that Lauren worked for Solas - they thought she was my wedding planner because of all the crazy work and time she was putting in! Her team was flawless, and they made my day truly epic. Lauren was on top of everything going on, and worked with all my vendors to make sure we stayed on track with the timeline and she even went so far as to make sure we actually had time to sit down, uninterrupted, and eat our amazing food.

OMG THE FOOD! I still have people raving about the food. I wish we could have all the recipes. I am still dreaming about carne asada tortas, tamales, and empanadas.

Well I could go on and on, but basically.. if you are a unique bride, a modern bride, a colorful bride.. go to Solas! They'll bend over backwards for you, and treat you like a celebrity. I love Lauren (who is just such a rad lady in general), her crew, and the location (yay color!). Throw your money at them, I promise you'll love your wedding.

XO

Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my wedding reception this past weekend at Solas and is was amazing! We had our reception in the patio dining area and our pictures came out AMAZING. Lauren and the staff at Solas were a pleasure to work with and I'll def. recommend them to couples in the future. Thanks Solas!
Wedding: 10/25/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding at Solas last week and I have to say I was nervous about having our wedding at a night club. I just didn't know how the vibe would be, I was unsure about the food and crossed my fingers. I worked closely with Miriam and Lauren so that every detail of our wedding and my OCD on this adventure was taken care of, but still... didn't know how it would go. Fast forward to the wedding day. WOW. Solas held for us the most beautiful reception I could imagine. It was spectauclar. The rooftop was so romantic and the greenery was a beautiful decoration to the city's backdrop. The reception was on the roof top with the roof open, fresh air and votive candles. It was so incredibly beautiful, the staff was on the ball, the energy was high due to the masterfulness of DJ Dave Severage (who we LOVED), and I can't express enough how thrilled we were. I would do it over and over at Solas and felt like our guests had a fantastic experience that did not feel like a boring wedding, but a fun time with great food, music and a celebration of our love. Thank you Solas. We loved our wedding and we are so grateful! (ps. your new banquet menu was delishious!)
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ellen 1 Reviews
Take the worry out of the details. Lauren DeAlto and the staff at Solas were fabulous. What a great place to have your event. The food, the atmosphere, the value......I can't think of a better place. We had a WONDERFUL time as did all of our guests. THANKS Lauren and Solas for EVERYTHING!
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sharon 6 Reviews
Everyone at Sola's was very nice and extremely helpful. Lauren went above and beyond to help make my wedding perfect!
Everything was awesome! And the food was great!
Wedding: 03/30/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I recently used Solas for my wedding venue. My Husband and I were searching for a nontraditional yet affordable venue and were about to give up for our plan B...eloping to some tropical paradise until we had a drink one afternoon on the terrace of Solas and realized the potential this venue has for any type of event. We met with the Event Coordinator "Lauren Dealto" who was AMAZING! She's super laid back but extremely professional and helpful. She worked within our limited budget and made sure we missed out on NOTHING! Our ceremony was held on the rooftop followed by the cocktail hour and reception on the 2nd floor. We even used one of the VIP rooftop cabanas for the after party. Lauren AND her staff truly made our wedding perfect...even taking my husbands smelly shoes back to our car...long story! Everyone is still talking about how great the food was...seriously, we didn't pick Solas for the food but you'd have a hard time telling our guests that. Aside from the eats, our guests really enjoyed the convenience Solas provides with only a staircase or elevator between wedding venue and reception. Sound was top notch as one would imagine since it's a club by night, they offer very inexpensive valet parking, original and modern decor, and killer cocktails.

Lauren also set us up with our DJ... "Dave Severance" who moonlights at Solas for various events and drove our wedding from start to finish allowing us to select our playlists for the cocktail and dining hours while doing what he does best during the party portion and keeping the dance floor (see through!) packed with moving bodies.

Lauren is an ace...use her while you can. We're huge fans and you will be as well. I don't think this place is going to be a wedding secret for very long with her behind their event planning.
Wedding: 08/25/2012
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Party Supplies, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
My husband and I were married at Solas last May. Solas was extremely flexible with my budget and decor. The ceremony set up on the roof was very beautiful and unconventional (which is the reason we booked our wedding there). Lauren, the event planner at Solas, did a great job coordinating the event and the staff was so friendly! We had a buffet for dinner and the food was wonderful! Solas exceeded my expectations in every way. My husband and I have been married for a year and we just received a letter from Lauren inviting us to dinner. Great venue. Great service!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amazing Grace Event Management has had the pleasure of partnering with SOLAS to plan several events over the past year. It has been nothing but BLISS when it comes to the staff, the level of professionalism, the food, the service, etc. They truly go above and beyond to ensure that everyone is satisfied with all aspects of the event. The venue has so much to offer and can accommodate a variety of different kinds of events with it's unique spaces to include the lovely rooftop, the eclectic 2nd floor dancehall fand the first floor dining area. Truly one of our favorite spots to host an event! We look forward to partnering with them in the near future. Definitely the HOTTEST SPOT in Raleigh!
Wedding: 05/26/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough to thank Solas and their private event coordinator Lauren DeAlto!!! They were beyond amazing with the whole planning process and the execution of the wedding (along with a few extra wonderful surprises). We originally decided on Solas because it was relatively inexpensive for what you received but we were delighted to learn that the great price came with great food and great service! Lauren was attentive during the year long planning process and went above and beyond on our wedding day. We planned the wedding ceremony and the reception on their rooftop (with the retractable roof) and they had never had a couple have both the ceremony and reception on the rooftop. Normally the configuration of the ceremony seating and reception tables to allow a seamless transition between the ceremony and reception would stump many event coordinators but Lauren took on the challenge and made it work perfectly! If you're having a smaller wedding (~50-75 ppl) and have only a little money to play with then I would recommend this configuration because it certainly saves money! If you're looking for a good value on a venue (minimal decorations needed), an amazing event coordinator, great food, a great waitstaff, and wonderful bartender...then Solas is the place you want!
Wedding: 05/19/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wife and I had our wedding reception at Solas and we can honestly say it exceeded our expectations (and they were pretty high to begin with). We have over 10 guest come to us and tell us how amazing the food and service was. We even had someone tell us the next day that Solas made "every person feel important even if they really weren't a part of the big day".

Lauren DeAlto is the private event coordinator and we don't have enough great things to say about her. She worked with us through the entire process and made everything very simple. They have multiple meal and bar options so there is a good deal of flexibility not to mention a list of preferred vendors. Unlike a lot of places this wasn't a list you had to use but ones that were dependable and easy to use. They have negotiated prices so not only does it save you money it is one less thing to coordinate (Musicians, DJ's, Photobooths, etc). Our DJ (DJ Rush) was a preferred vendor and he did a phenomenal job; his fee was included on our bill making things easier on us.

Lauren made sure everything went smoothly and was right on schedule. We had absolutely no issues that day; big or small. Every member of the staff was extremely professional and courteous. My wife and I both have said how we wish we could do it all over again.

If you are reading this go ahead and stop wasting your time searching high and low for a better venue in Raleigh and at least speak with Lauren.

-Steve
Wedding: 04/28/2012
Services Used: DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Highly recommend Solas for wedding receptions! My fiance (now husband yeah!) and I had a tough time trying to narrow down a location for our wedding reception in September and after enjoying an evening on the rooftop at Solas decided to contact their event coordinator. I went to the first meeting thinking that just like the major venues in Raleigh it would be so far out of our budget, however, I was completely wrong.

From this first meeting, we knew that Solas was the perfect venue and was unexpectedly within our budget. We had a wonderful experience and Lauren the event coordinator literally read my mind when it came to what I was dreaming of in terms of the set up for the space (we had reserved the second floor lounge). Our families are an eclectic crowd and everyone had a wonderful time and was more than comfortable. And one huge plus was the fact that unlike a lot of hotel venues etc. that the windows and openness on the second floor was wonderful and I am so happy we didn't choose a hotel venue where we would have been trapped in a windowless room.

For brides out there worried about access for older generations attending. Don't worry about this at all at Solas. We ended up adding valet parking which also fell within our insanely tight budget and elevators make it so easy so they don't have to walk up stairs.

The food was fantastic! We ended up choosing items for a buffet set up and unlike your typical buffet it was such a treat to be able to offer our wedding guests options other than the typical options.

By the end of the day everything had run so smoothly I felt like I had just walked through a dream. We didn't have to worry about anything the whole time we were there and everything went wonderfully. A huge thank you to Lauren and the staff at Solas for making us (and our guests) feel so special and welcome on our wedding day!
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I got married in April 2012 at Solas. I am a very detail orientated person, and I have an A-type personality. The product that Solas delivered more than met my expectations. Lauren was very helpful and answered emails and calls promptly. The day of our wedding, Lauren was an excellent coordinator and made sure everything ran smoothly. When I came to the venue on the day of my wedding, I did not have to do anything but step into my dress, everything was already done for me. My guests raved about the food and the overall experience.
Solas is not your typical wedding venue, but it is very contemporary and sophisticated. The customer service was top notch and the overall experience was even better. I cannot thank the Solas staff enough, particularly Lauren.
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lauren and Solas were wonderful! Lauren went above and beyond to make sure it was OUR day and we had to worry about nothing. The Ceremony was beautiful on the roof top and the Reception on the second floor was modern and fun. One of the staff members even held the train of my dress and dried soaked flowers for me, that I had to hold! I am so happy that we choose to have our wedding there. They really made my dream wedding come true!
Wedding: 05/14/2011
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
We held our son's rehearsal party at Solas. It was a wonderful experience. Lauren DeAlto was a great help in all the aspects of the event - the planning and being available throughout the night to ensure everything went smoothly. The food was delicious. The bartenders were very friendly and professional. The cost was reasonable. Thanks to the atmosphere and all the staff at Solas, our night was perfect. We would highly recommend Solas as a location for a special event.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 10 Reviews
Solas is a wonderful modern backdrop for a wedding. The rooftop is scenic and features a retractable roof and the 2nd floor features a see through dance floor. You will have decor flexibility and the Solas team is very experienced. The only thing I would suggest is that you be proactive and have your own support person to make sure your wishes are carried out.

Also as far as food... The food at Solas is VERY GOOD, but they seem to struggle a little bit with cooking in bulk as a few guests seemed to have food that was a little undercooked. Any issues they had, however, were immediately addressed and corrected! The waitstaff was also very friendly.

Great Value!
Solas Dine.Lounge.Rooftop responded with the following comments:
Thank you so much for your review. I am not sure who this is (maybe Erika?) but I truly appreciate your feedback as it helps us plan for future weddings. I would like to invite you and your husband in for dinner next time you're in the area! Give me a call and I will be happy to set up the reservation!

Lauren DeAlto
(919) 917-8663
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering, DJ, Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Amanda 5 Reviews
Solas is a beautiful restaurant in downtown Raleigh. We hosted our rehearsal dinner there the night before our wedding. I really enjoyed the wait staff and the servers, as they were very pleasant and helpful.

However, we had rented one of the 'outdoor' rooms that was supposed to be heated. It was very cold!! They said that one of their heaters was broken. It took us a long time to convince them that it was too cold for us to continue out there and they finally moved us to the bar area. They did give us a discount for their trouble..but I would have rather they have just moved us to another room in the first place, or found another heater.

I think under different circumstances, this might be a good choice for a rehearsal dinner. However, I probably wouldn't recommend this restaurant for a rehearsal dinner again, but for a private dinner for two, it's a great choice!!!
Wedding: 12/30/2012
Services Used: Catering
 919-755-0755
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0