Shell Island Resort
    27 Reviews
2700 North Lumina Avenue
Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (27)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.5/5.0)
Value:
 (4.5/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Meredith is absolutely amazing, as well as the rest of the team at Shell Island! Meredith was super helpful and had great recommendations for any detail of our wedding day. She always stayed in contact and communicated any potential issues or questions that may occur on the wedding day, so that we could plan accordingly. She is terrific, and that is just the foundation of how wonderful our wedding was at Shell Island. George, the manager there, was present at the reception and took care of EVERY SINGLE DETAIL at the reception and post-wedding brunch. He was TERRIFIC. We couldn't have been happier with the quality of service we got on our wedding day and brunch. You couldn't go wrong with Shell Island, the room was beautiful, and our wedding was everything we wanted. We are SO grateful to Meredith, George, and everyone else at Shell Island. Our guests were amazed at the level of service and quality and we still receive compliments on the food and level of care there.
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Colleen 2 Reviews
Meredith and the entire staff at Shell Island were wonderful. The entire event went great thanks to them. For me, it was the wedding I always wanted. For our guests, it was the most fun wedding they have been to. Everyone loved the food and thought cocktail hour was the meal. Lol...
Wedding: 07/11/2014
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sasha was wonderful. I can't imagine what we would have done without her. George and the rest of the staff were always at hand. Everyone at the resort had a smile on their face. Sasha and George went above and beyond to make this dream come true. 5 stars aren't enough!
Wedding: 07/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

brian 2 Reviews
Meredith and the staff at Shell Island were fantastic to work with and made everything very easy. Great venue for our wedding!
Wedding: 06/23/2014
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kathryn 2 Reviews
We had our wedding reception at Shell Island and LOVED it! The food and drinks were spectacular, service top notch and everything went off without a hitch! I REALLY appreciated Meredith and her staff setting up the room just as I had asked. I came in and showed them how to do one centerpiece and they duplicated it for the other 11 tables! That allowed me to relax and hang out rather than rush around setting up. I have been coming to Shell Island as a vacation spot with my family since I was a toddler...to get married here was such a special moment. I can't say enough great things about the staff and facility.
Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Renee 2 Reviews
Meredith was beyond helpful! she was quick to respond to any questions leading up to the big day. Unlike most places, she was present for the rehearsal, ceremony and at the reception to make sure everything was in place. George and his team were very professional and provided excellent service throughout the reception. The banquet room was well kept. They allow you to bring in as much décor as you need, without any restrictions. The beach site is clean, and private. the arbor and chairs are set up an hour or so before the ceremony. The staff at the Resort are very friendly and hospitality is clearly a part of the culture they promote. The food was excellent. We had a buffet and cocktail hour. My guests raved about the taste, quality and how well it was prepared. the presentation of the fruit display and crudité was beautiful. I work in this industry, and Shell Island is indeed on point, and exceeded my high expectations.
Wedding: 05/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Meredith Swicegood and her staff were exceptional from the start to the finish for my daughter's wedding. From the moment my guests and I checked in until we all checked out, we lacked for nothing!!! Shell Island is the perfect venue for a destination wedding! The staff takes care of everything!!! The rooms are beautiful, the beach is exceptional and the food is 5 star!!! I would like to thank again, Meredith Swicegood, her assistant Corey, George, Helen Gainer at the front desk, Shannon and Chris in the restaurant for a job well done!! You made this a perfect wedding weekend!!!!!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

kristine 2 Reviews
Dear Shell Island,

Meredith is the most flexible person I have ever worked with. She is professional and friendly and makes everything very easy. She will always be remembered for making my life and wedding ABSOLUTELY AMAZING AND PERFECT!!!!

Thank you so much!!!
Wedding: 08/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ashley 1 Reviews
Very, very pleased with the staff and how our wedding turned out! Very helpful and made our day so special!
Wedding: 08/02/2013
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Terri 2 Reviews
What a FABULOUS experience! Meredith Swicegood was a dream to work with! She can resolve any issue with ease and finesse and she has a wonderful personality! The entire staff was extremely accommodating. They go above and beyond to make their guests happy. We had our wedding on the beach at the Shell Island Resort and our reception inside the ballroom afterwards. The food was absolutely delicious! My husband and I invited our officiators to our reception and they told us that the food was some of the best they had eaten, and they do a lot of weddings! George, our maître d', was fabulous. He took care of every detail in the dining area. My husband and I have so many good memories of our experience at Shell Island Resort that we intend to return there again and again! I recommend Shell Island Resort for anyone planning a beachfront event!
Wedding: 05/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Justin 8 Reviews
From day one, Shell Island went out of their way to make our wedding one of the best. From Meredith, our wedding coordinator all the way down to the bell hops, their service was exceptional. Meredith was absolutely amazing to work with. Every little thing we needed, she was there and ready to help us out, even through a pregnancy! The catering manager was George and he did a phenomenal job. He insured everything went perfect with not just the food, but every little detail. Honestly, words can express how happy we were with how our wedding turned out and we would HIGHLY recommend Shell Island to anyone who is considering getting married on the beach.
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sara 7 Reviews
We had our ceremony on the beach and our reception at Shell Island. Meredith Swicegood, the wedding coordinator, was available to answer the many questions I had. She took the image of my wedding and made it happen. George, the banquet captain, kept our reception moving and even gathered all of our personal belongings at the end of the night and took them up to my parents room so we did not have to worry about anything. It is a beautiful location with service that cannot be beat! We received so many compliments and would absolutely recommend Shell Island to everyone.
Wedding: 03/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Shell Island resort was amazing. I was a moved bride from the Sheraton Atlantic beach. I only had 4 months to put a whole new wedding together. I met with Meredith at the Shell Island and she and her staff were unbelievable. They set me up with numerous vendors in the area since I was coming from Minnesota. She was attentive to everything I needed and helped me with numerous ideas and ways to make my night more special. She coordinated everything from my ceremony to my reception with me and was more helpful then I could ask for. I decided to have a buffet for my reception and had their new amazing chef host an italian, southern and seafood buffet. Everything was out of this world. There were no complaints at all about the food and service. The resort is located on a beautiful part of the ocean and we were able to have our ceremony right outside. Every guest that stayed at the resort was given a discount rate and every room is a suite with some even having a full kitchen. This place is top notch in everything they do and I would highly recommend having your event there.
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
There are not enough words to thank Meredith Swicegood, George and the entire staff at Shell Island Resort - Wrightsville Beach, NC for their professional expertise in helping plan and carry through our out of town Beach Wedding and Reception. We also had reserved room accommodations for wedding party guests at Shell Island and were very pleased with the service. The weather was absolutely perfect and the entire beach ceremony/reception were over and beyond our dream expectations. Thank you Shell Island for being a part of our special day! We highly recommend Shell Island for your dream Beach Wedding.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
MEREDITH AND HER STAFF WERE SO PROFESSIONAL.....OUR GUESTS SAID IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST WEDDINGS THEY HAD EVER BEEN TO....AS PARENTS OF THE BRIDE WE TRULY AGREED !!!!!!!! WE WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!!!!!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
GREAT place to have a beach wedding! They took care of everything- decorating, food, the actual beach ceremony- Meredith and Corey were great to work with and calmed my nerves from the moment we got there. We had lots of family and friends in from out of town, most of which stayed at the hotel so it was a great weekend. The bar staff at the hotel bar were very accommodating and stayed open late for us both Fri and Sat nights. We also had our rehearsal dinner there on Fri which was great as well. Just make sure your guests understand that the discounted block of rooms ends a month before the wedding!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 910-256-8696
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0