Shell Island Resort
2700 North Lumina Avenue
Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (23)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.5/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.5/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Sasha was wonderful. I can't imagine what we would have done without her. George and the rest of the staff were always at hand. Everyone at the resort had a smile on their face. Sasha and George went above and beyond to make this dream come true. 5 stars aren't enough!
Wedding: 07/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
MEREDITH AND HER STAFF WERE SO PROFESSIONAL.....OUR GUESTS SAID IT WAS ONE OF THE BEST WEDDINGS THEY HAD EVER BEEN TO....AS PARENTS OF THE BRIDE WE TRULY AGREED !!!!!!!! WE WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!!!!!!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

brian 2 Reviews
Meredith and the staff at Shell Island were fantastic to work with and made everything very easy. Great venue for our wedding!
Wedding: 06/23/2014
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
There are not enough words to thank Meredith Swicegood, George and the entire staff at Shell Island Resort - Wrightsville Beach, NC for their professional expertise in helping plan and carry through our out of town Beach Wedding and Reception. We also had reserved room accommodations for wedding party guests at Shell Island and were very pleased with the service. The weather was absolutely perfect and the entire beach ceremony/reception were over and beyond our dream expectations. Thank you Shell Island for being a part of our special day! We highly recommend Shell Island for your dream Beach Wedding.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Overall, I loved Shell Island for our wedding. The hotel and beach is beautiful, perfect place for a beach wedding, our pictures were phenomenal. The rooms are nice and our guests enjoyed staying there and you get a suite the night of complimentary when you book with them which is also a nice perk and a good deal. We loved our food and all our guests raved about it. Communication could have been a little better with the coordinator though. Before we purchased our sky lanterns we called and made sure we could use them on the beach after the reception and we got the okay on it so we ordered them. Well day of our coordinator was trying to convince us not to use them because they almost caught the dunes on fire. We agreed to do less than planned only to find out later that night from the staff that the metal from them is considered littering and we would have never been able to use them. So that was a waste of money after getting the green light on it. So just know to NOT DO SKY LANTERNS. Also, no one told us about where our top tier of our cake went and didn't give it to us when we checked out but luckily we were staying a few extra days somewhere else close and were able to come back and get it after calling them two days later to see if they had it. We also bought a bunch of paper lanterns and they ended up only setting up about half of them. The reception space otherwise was set up beautifully. We also had to set up our ceremony space on our own besides the chairs which I wasn't aware of so I had to designate that to a family member last minute. But when we had a issue with our DJ, Meredith the coordinator, did try hard to help us out and see if she could find someone to replace him and if not she said she would make sure to keep him straight day of which I appreciated. She did work hard to help us out and answer all of our questions and with us being out of towners she was helpful. Overall, I would still chose them again if I had the choice
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
GREAT place to have a beach wedding! They took care of everything- decorating, food, the actual beach ceremony- Meredith and Corey were great to work with and calmed my nerves from the moment we got there. We had lots of family and friends in from out of town, most of which stayed at the hotel so it was a great weekend. The bar staff at the hotel bar were very accommodating and stayed open late for us both Fri and Sat nights. We also had our rehearsal dinner there on Fri which was great as well. Just make sure your guests understand that the discounted block of rooms ends a month before the wedding!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Renee 2 Reviews
Meredith was beyond helpful! she was quick to respond to any questions leading up to the big day. Unlike most places, she was present for the rehearsal, ceremony and at the reception to make sure everything was in place. George and his team were very professional and provided excellent service throughout the reception. The banquet room was well kept. They allow you to bring in as much décor as you need, without any restrictions. The beach site is clean, and private. the arbor and chairs are set up an hour or so before the ceremony. The staff at the Resort are very friendly and hospitality is clearly a part of the culture they promote. The food was excellent. We had a buffet and cocktail hour. My guests raved about the taste, quality and how well it was prepared. the presentation of the fruit display and crudité was beautiful. I work in this industry, and Shell Island is indeed on point, and exceeded my high expectations.
Wedding: 05/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Meredith Swicegood and her staff were exceptional from the start to the finish for my daughter's wedding. From the moment my guests and I checked in until we all checked out, we lacked for nothing!!! Shell Island is the perfect venue for a destination wedding! The staff takes care of everything!!! The rooms are beautiful, the beach is exceptional and the food is 5 star!!! I would like to thank again, Meredith Swicegood, her assistant Corey, George, Helen Gainer at the front desk, Shannon and Chris in the restaurant for a job well done!! You made this a perfect wedding weekend!!!!!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Kim 2 Reviews
Meredith and the catering staff made everything so easy. All I had to do was show up with our decorations for the reception and they made it happen. It was a beautiful day that was very stress free.
Wedding: 04/24/2014
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

kristine 2 Reviews
Dear Shell Island,

Meredith is the most flexible person I have ever worked with. She is professional and friendly and makes everything very easy. She will always be remembered for making my life and wedding ABSOLUTELY AMAZING AND PERFECT!!!!

Thank you so much!!!
Wedding: 08/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Lisa 6 Reviews
We had a great experience with Shell Island! Meredith was very helpful and enthusiastic throughout the planning process and George and the rest of the staff were great the night of the wedding. Shell Island had many different options in terms of food, drink, decorations, use of space, etc. and we were really able to create the wedding we wanted. On the night of the wedding, everything went smoothly and I didn't have to worry about anything because I knew that the staff was working hard behind the scenes. I would definitely recommend Shell Island for a reception!
Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ashley 1 Reviews
Very, very pleased with the staff and how our wedding turned out! Very helpful and made our day so special!
Wedding: 08/02/2013
Services Used: Catering, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 1 Reviews
Meredith Swicegood was wonderful to have as our wedding coordinator. My husband and I are not from the area, so we relied primarily on Meredith's recommendations for other vendors. I was pleased with all, especially Pastor Skip Corbett! I could not have been happier with the way my wedding day turned out! The weather was perfect and everything was taken care of for us. We did not have to set up for the reception or the ceremony....we were able to relax and enjoy the day. Meredith and her staff were very kind and helpful!
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We recently got married at Shell Island Resort and the planning process with Meredith was wonderful! She even had her first baby through the planning, but made sure that her co-worker, Cory, took over in her absence. Meredith and Cory made everything as smooth as possible, and responded to emails and phone calls quickly. As we got closer to the wedding we kept changing our mind on if we were going to use the extra ballroom or not, and in the end we decided to. Meredith explained how the reception was going to work with that extra room, and painted a picture of how the whole evening would go. She was there every step of the way, and helped us out when our pastor was late for the rehearsal (she thought it started 2 hours later). She was there when I came down to the lobby to walk down the aisle, and helped with our crazy wedding party. George was amazing too, and kept the evening running well! Also, the two bartenders working were great! There was never a line, and we had a lot of drinkers! You can't go wrong with an oceanfront ballroom.
The only negative had nothing to do with the actual wedding, but the front desk. I spent time making hotel welcome bags for our guests, that had traveled from NY, PA, CA, among other places, and they didn't hand them out! It was the least we could do for our guests for traveling so far, and I was really disappointed that they weren't being handed out. I also had many guests say staff that the front desk could be quite rude (except for Brice, who was very helpful). It really left a sour taste in our mouth, and stinks to experience that when the whole time we were dealing with such professional and nice people from Shell Island. Despite the hiccup with the front desk, I would definitely recommend Shell Island to have your wedding at. Many of the other vendors have worked with Shell Island many times, so there is a sense of relief that the communication on our wedding day would go smoothly.
Wedding: 05/11/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Terri 2 Reviews
What a FABULOUS experience! Meredith Swicegood was a dream to work with! She can resolve any issue with ease and finesse and she has a wonderful personality! The entire staff was extremely accommodating. They go above and beyond to make their guests happy. We had our wedding on the beach at the Shell Island Resort and our reception inside the ballroom afterwards. The food was absolutely delicious! My husband and I invited our officiators to our reception and they told us that the food was some of the best they had eaten, and they do a lot of weddings! George, our maître d', was fabulous. He took care of every detail in the dining area. My husband and I have so many good memories of our experience at Shell Island Resort that we intend to return there again and again! I recommend Shell Island Resort for anyone planning a beachfront event!
Wedding: 05/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Justin 8 Reviews
From day one, Shell Island went out of their way to make our wedding one of the best. From Meredith, our wedding coordinator all the way down to the bell hops, their service was exceptional. Meredith was absolutely amazing to work with. Every little thing we needed, she was there and ready to help us out, even through a pregnancy! The catering manager was George and he did a phenomenal job. He insured everything went perfect with not just the food, but every little detail. Honestly, words can express how happy we were with how our wedding turned out and we would HIGHLY recommend Shell Island to anyone who is considering getting married on the beach.
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 910-256-8696
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0