Semple Mansion
100 West Franklin Avenue
Minneapolis, MN 55404  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 250
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (60)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  2.5
The venue is of course stunning. Our reception was lovely. However, the "Wedding Coordinator" did not coordinate anything except the fees we needed to pay. She responded to half of our emails, asked the same questions numerous times, and provided us with no services.

We were expecting her to help us the day of the wedding, but she did not. We asked for a specific amount of tables for our cocktail hour because that was how many centerpieces we ordered, and she decided the space needed more tables, so we did not have enough centerpieces for all of the tables. We asked for her to simply help place centerpieces on the tables and she said that was not a service she could provide. Lighting candles- not a service she could provide. Her services for us included keeping the bathroom stocked.

Overall, just know what you are paying for- the space and not services.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Erin 2 Reviews
It was a dream wedding! Katherine was wonderful to work with and made it so easy for us! The mansion is gorgeous and has so much character that we didn't feel that we had to over decorate. The architecture is beautiful, so less is more. We loved that there were so many areas for our guests to see...main floor, wine grotto, lounge area and the ballroom. We took advantage of the grand piano and hired someone to come in and play for our cocktail hour. It was a magical night!
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Ever since my first visit to the Semple Mansion I knew it was a venue I could see myself getting married in. It is very unique and has so much character built into it. It was a little bit pricier then some of the other options that we were looking into but other than flowers we didn’t need any additional decorations, which made it a little bit more reasonable. We were looking for a place where we could have both our ceremony and reception in the same place so that our guests wouldn’t have to travel between the two. It turned out gorgeous and we were very happy with how our entire wedding day went! It was nice to have an area for the girls to get ready and for pictures the opportunities are endless. Multiple guests commented to us on how it was such a unique site for our wedding and on how pretty it was.
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Was a dream cone true. The bridal suite was lovely. The men were three floors down so there was no chance of my husband seeing me vefore the ceremony. The stairs were scary but so worth it.
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rebecca 2 Reviews
We loved our reception at the Semple Mansion. Katherine was wonderful to work with, quick to answer any questions we had and happy to set up additional walk-throughs as the wedding day approached. It was great to get ready at the mansion in the bridal suite, and she popped in a couple of times to see if we needed anything. We wanted a historic venue that fit all of our guests in one room for dinner rather than splitting them up into separate spaces, and we loved how the Semple Mansion is set up for that. We also liked giving our guests the flexibility to stay up on the third floor for dancing after dinner or explore the mansion's first floor (where we had cocktail hour) and the wine grotto in the basement. We were very happy with the Semple Mansion and its staff, and we recommend it highly.
Wedding: 09/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Absolutely in LOVE with everything about this venue! My guests all felt the same way! I had an amazing experience with Katherine and everyone at the Semple. Katherine kept in contact with me throughout the months, answered all of my questions efficiently, and allowed me to do drop by visits with barely any announcement! Don't let the cost scare you away, it is completely worth it! My one gripe is that only one bar service is allowed in to the mansion, Common Roots Catering, and we did not have a good experience with them. The alcohol provided was all local and we did not know any of it. We ended up being given the choice to pay outrageous stocking fees ($175 per beer!) to have Bud Light, Mich Golden, etc. and we weren't even guaranteed not to run out or pay for kegs ($400 per keg!). We weren't happy about that, hopefully Semple will allow other bars to cater in so that people have choices who to hire.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I absolutely loved the Semple Masnion!!! Katherine and her team really made sure everything was just as expected! There is a list of specific vendors that you have to choose from for food, so that was really the only momentary setback, it otherwise everything was so amazing!!! The wine grotto downstairs, all the way up to the bridal suite for us to get ready in just held everything going on perfectly! We received so many compliments on everything about the mansion! Such a perfect decision!!
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When I purchased my wedding dress at Semple Mansion (when Posh Bridal Couture was still there), I could only dream of having my wedding there. A few months later, my now husband and I took the leap and booked the mansion for our big day. From that moment on, I worked with Katherine, the Executive Director at the mansion. Working with her was phenomenal: every time we had a question, we only had to send her an email or call her to get a quick answer. She was great at reminding us of upcoming due dates for payments at the mansion itself, as well as getting updates on details from outside vendors (i.e. caterer, rentals, etc.). She was extremely patient with us as we got closer to the day of and had more and more questions. She updated the table layout at least three times for us and was very understanding to our changing needs. We couldn't have asked for someone better to work with through all of this.

Almost a year after signing our contact, the day of the wedding arrived. Katherine was there to help us with everything we could have possibly needed. The tables were already set up when we arrived. The transition from ceremony to cocktail hour on the first floor was quick and flawless. All of the staff on hand were great and mansion looked perfect.

Looking back, we can't imagine choosing a different venue for our wedding. Everything fell into place just perfectly and the day was amazing. We highly recommend working with Katherine and her staff at Semple Mansion if you want a wedding ceremony/reception in an old fashioned, Victorian-style, and romantic wedding!
Wedding: 07/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am not exaggerating when I say my wedding at Semple Mansion was the most perfect day of my life. Katherine was phenomenal in working with us and was always willing to show us around "just one more time." My guests were raving about how beautiful the site was, and regardless of how many times I had been in Semple, it still took my breath away. I am so thankful that we had our wedding at Semple Mansion and I couldn't have imagined it being anywhere else. The vendors all knew what they were doing and where to go, so I was truly able to sit back, relax, and enjoy the day.
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
I loved the Semple. It is gorgeous and I couldnt imagine getting married anywhere else once we saw it. Also, Katherine is very friendly and helpful, and she and her staff played a big role in helping my day to go smoothly.

My biggest complaint is that they have stopped allowing people to bring their own alcohol in, and require that you use a specific vendor for the bar. While I knew this when I booked, I didnt realize how expensive the required vendor would be in comparison to the bar I was previously planning to use. Also, the Semple adds on another $2K bar fee iand a $500 catering fee in addition to the rental fee. The fees from the Semple and having to use Common Roots for the bar signiificantly increased the cost of the night.

One other thing... Katherine is extremely helpful however her estimates on costs for the vendors arent super reliable. If you are worried about a budget, you need to do your own due diligence on the costs before booking here, since you are required to pick from their caterers as well, and food + drink are two of the biggest cost drivers of a wedding. Her estimates to me on cost per plate for food from the vendors was quite low. So with being forced to use Common Roots for the bar, and having a low ball estimate on the food and a few other things - I underestimated the cost to get married at the semple when I signed the contract (and I am a finance professional - I forecast spend for a living).
Wedding: 05/18/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I could not be more pleased about my wedding at the Semple Mansion. Katherine and Britty(coordinators) could not be more kind, efficient, and eager to help make my day perfect. Truly, I would recommend the Semple to EVERYONE in the twin cities area. You cannot beat the elegant interior design and beauty of this place! Well worth earth penny.
Wedding: 02/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Upon entering The Semple Mansion, I knew it was where we'd have our wedding reception. The entire mansion is beautiful, and they kept making updates all the time leading up to our wedding date, which made it even better. Katherine was on hand the day of our wedding and helped to make sure the day went off without a hitch. It is such a unique space and I loved that it didn't need any additional decor (aside from table centerpieces). We only had our reception there and the ballroom fit our 200 guests perfectly. We received many compliments on how unique of a venue it was.
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
Great location, free parking, beautiful decorations. It is expensive, but you can bring in your own alcohol and you have choices for catering. Plus you save money not needing to decorate. They do have some restrictions (out by midnight, no overnight parking, no children under 12), perfect for us but it might not be for everyone. We loved it!
Wedding: 05/26/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I would never have had my wedding anywhere else. My guests had so much fun and it was so unique.
Katherine knows how to get things organize and help you create a flawless event.
Wedding: 02/18/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The venue was beautiful, especially for my winter wedding. They did a great job of accomodating my expansive guest list and paid very close attention to details. My guests agreed that it was the best wedding they've been to.
Wedding: 12/10/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 7 Reviews
We absolutely loved the look and feel of the Semple Mansion, and it was perfect for our wedding. It's small enough to feel like a more intimate space, which was great, but was perfect for our mid-sized wedding. The interior of the mansion is beautiful and unique, and I loved that we were the only group in the mansion the night of our wedding.

A few minor complaints-a few charges came up at the last minute-for example, the week of our wedding, the Semple coordinator mentioned that we would either have to tip the bartenders a pre-set amount (on top of the per-person liquor fees and bartender fees we were already paying) or the bartenders would leave a tip jar out for our guests. We felt this was excessive given the fees we were already paying for the bartenders and liquor.

We also were a little disappointed that when the coordinator we had originally been working with left, the one who came to take her place never introduced herself to anyone. We had a couple questions and didn't know who to ask or who worked for the Mansion that was still at our event. Otherwise, we were really impressed and thought Katherine, the coordinator we worked with, was easygoing, very nice, and a delight to talk to.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 612-290-4448
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0