Rev. Juli Wilson-Black

Rev. Juli Wilson-Black

Reston, VA 20190
 
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
(5.0 / 5.0)
Responsiveness:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Professionalism:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Value:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Flexibility:
(4.9 / 5.0)
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

I tasked my now-husband with finding the officiant for our wedding and he knocked it out of the park with Juli! We had a short, simple, secular ceremony so I didn't expect for that to be a highlight of our wedding evening for our guests, but they cannot stop talking about how lovely it was. First off, Juli provides a workbook for the ceremony which is a lifesaver for clueless couples like ourselves who had no idea what we wanted to include except "I do." She also asked us to submit answers to a few questions about one another confidentially and she used that create a really lovely and personal wedding address, and it was so fun for us to hear what the other one said! Her own words were simple and beautiful and really captured what we wanted to convey. She also happily accommodated a request from us for a short private ceremony for just the two of us and it was such a special moment. Juli made our wedding special for us and our guests and I would recommend her without hesitation to D.C. area couples.

  • Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Officiant
Profile Picture
Private User
7 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We loved working with Juli. She was easy to talk to and made the whole process easy. It felt very strange interviewing strangers to be part of such a special thing as saying our marriage vows. We interviewed a few officiants and some judged us for not getting married in a church and some tried to tell us how to do certain things. Juli was NOTHING like that. She asked what we wanted, she guided us and answered our questions without telling us what to do. We met with her twice before the wedding and even though she did not attend the rehearsal, the ceremony was perfect. We were so happy to have Juli be part of our day!

  • Wedding: 11/12/2011
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Juli did a FANTASTIC job at our wedding; she tailored the ceremony beautifully to include everything we wanted. She was extremely professional and helpful in sharing information about getting a marriage license as well.

  • Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Juli performed our civil wedding ceremony in the morning before our main wedding ceremony which was performed by my godfather (who was not ordained in DC). Juli came to our hotel room in the morning and performed our ceremony in less than 5 minutes. She was extremely nice and very easy to work with. I highly recommend her!

  • Wedding: 06/18/2011
Services Used: Officiant
Profile Picture
M.
9 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Rev. Juli Wilson-Black officiated our wedding and my husband and I are so pleased with the moving wedding address she crafted and grateful for the freedom we had to craft a wedding ceremony that was meaningful for us! We really enjoyed our coffee meetings with Rev. Juli and are thankful for the guidance she provided us as we planned our ceremony- what to include, what should go on the programs, how the ceremony should flow. Although we met only a few times, all of our guests thought that Rev. Juli had known us for years for how personal and warm our ceremony was; we are so happy we found Rev. Juli!

  • Wedding: 06/03/2011
Services Used: Officiant
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 4.0
  • Professionalism: 4.0
  • Value: 4.0
  • Flexibility: 4.0

Juli did a fantastic job with our ceremony. We had a few scheduling complications for our initial meetings, but with the actual ceremony it made it well worth it. We received a number of compliments on how great of a ceremony we had, and we really were able to make it our own. I would highly recommend Juli!

  • Wedding: 05/14/2011
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We gave Juli two weeks notice, and she not only worked with us to make it to the alter on time, but also made us feel comfortable with the process. Her workbook made everything so easy. We got the exact ceremony that we wanted, and she made it possible!

  • Wedding: 12/12/2010
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Matt and I are only too happy to add to the chorus of voices praising Rev. Juli Wilson-Black's services as a wedding officiant.

We were planning our DC wedding from Chicago, so we either spoke with potential officiants by phone or by video conference. We knew as soon as we got off the phone with Juli that she would be the perfect person to wed us. She was professional, friendly, and curious about us as a couple, and we felt very comfortable with her right away. We went on to meet with her twice before the wedding, and our excitement to work with her was only reinforced by interacting with her face to face.

The ceremony workbook Juli provided us with really streamlined the whole process; we were able to pick and choose from various options within each category of the ceremony (welcome, vows, blessing of the rings, etc.) to truly customize the whole thing—and we weren't limited to the suggestions within the workbook; we could pull in vows or readings from other sources.

On the day of the wedding, Juli was not only prompt and professional, but also warm and inviting. Our guests commented on the personal yet poignant ceremony that Juli officiated, and we could not have asked for a better ceremony or a better officiant. We can't thank her enough for her contribution to such a wonderful day!

  • Wedding: 10/30/2010
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Rev. Juli was so pleasant and easy to work with. We met her for an initial consultation and knew immediately she was the one. She was so kind and easy to talk with that she put our minds at ease from the minute we met.

We were limited on time leading up to the wedding so she met with us on the phone and through email rather than requiring an in person meeting after the initial consultation. This was a big stress reliever for us. She arrived early on our wedding day to meet with us individually and assure us she was there and prepared...another stress reliever. She really has an understanding of all the things going on for a bride and groom and does an amazing job at calming nerves.

Juli provided us a ceremony workbook for ideas on how to customize our wedding which we really enjoyed. We spent a summer afternoon on our deck reading the pieces, talking about our image for the wedding and deciding how we wanted the ceremony to flow. The workbook really created a memorable moment for us in the planning process as well as on our wedding day. All of our family loved the ceremony and how Juli delivered it. They also enjoyed meeting Juli and talking with her after the ceremony as she has such a great personality.

The marriage address portion of the ceremony is a part Juli writes herself based on information she has learned about you in your meetings. Since we had not met with Juli much, she had little to go on, but was able to write a marriage address based on something we both love and enjoy together and many of our guests also enjoy. It was an incredibly memorable part of our ceremony for all. She's a great writer and gifted at what she does.

We recommend Juli without hesitation to anyone considering her services.

The Owen's
10/23/10

  • Wedding: 10/23/2010
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Juli was the perfect choice for our DC wedding. We met with her twice, first for a get-to-know-you meeting and then to finalize the details, and she was warm and professional. The ceremony she performed for us was just what we were looking for and we got many positive comments after the wedding. She took a potentially stressful process and made it easy, fun and, in the end, beautiful.

  • Wedding: 10/09/2010
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Rev. Juli Wilson-Black was a fantastic wedding officiant - she exceeded our expectations from the preparation stages through delivery of such a beautifully tailored ceremony.

We initially met with Juli to determine whether or not she would be a good candidate to conduct our wedding ceremony. Juli was very friendly and offered a lot of advice to prepare for our upcoming marriage.

Once we selected Juli as our officiant, she provided us with a cerermony workbook that made planning the ceremony details a breeze! She also frequently sent us invitations to marriage prep classes and other seminars that couples often pursue prior to marriage.

Upon completion of the ceremony workbook, we met with Juli again to review and confirm all of the details. She also prepared a document that outlined the ceremony details so that I could use it to develop our programs.

We also asked Juli to stay and provide the blessing at our reception prior to dinner - and she graciously accepted without adding any additional fees.

On the day of our wedding, Juli coordinated with our wedding coordinators and musicians to ensure that everything would run smoothly for the ceremony. She facilitated a wonderful ceremony that was very engaging for our guests; she had everyone laughing one minute and crying the next. My husband and I were very pleased with how she tailored the ceremony to really capture and convey the details of our relationship and marriage.

We also had one trolley full of guests arrive late - after the ceremony had already started. Juli handled the disruption with grace - and allowed all of our remaining guests to be seated before resuming the ceremony.

After the ceremony, we received countless compliments on Juli's custom ceremony. I would definitely recommend her services to anyone in the DC metro area looking for a wedding officiant.

  • Wedding: 10/02/2010
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Rev. Wilson-Black was great!! It is certainly more expensive to hire an officiant than to get married at your church, but it's very much worth it to be able to tailor your ceremony and to know that your officiant will take care of all the ceremony details. We met with Juli twice before our ceremony - once to make sure we would be a good fit and another time to finalize the details. She provides you with a ceremony workbook and you're able to customize everything. We got a lot of compliments on our ceremony in large part due to its uniqueness and to Juli's wonderful demeanor and ability to engage our guests. You get the feeling that she really cares about each couple and I very much appreciate that. I would highly recommend her if you're looking for an officiant!

  • Wedding: 09/25/2010
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Rev. Juli was wonderful. Having different religious backgrounds, we really wanted an officiant who would help everyone at our Wedding feel comfortable and part of our ceremony. Rev Juli took the time to get to know us, and though we only met because of our wedding planning, many of our guests asked how we knew her and assumed she had known us for years. We received many compliments from our guests about our ceremony. We enjoyed meeting with Rev. Juli and she was very responsive to all of our emails and questions. In addition, we needed to change two parts of the ceremony at the last minute, and she was very flexible and accommodating.

  • Wedding: 09/18/2010
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We were thrilled with the absolutely fantastic job that Rev. Juli Wilson Black did at our wedding on August 7, 2010. She did a great job of personalizing the service to our wishes and her speech was excellent, funny, warm, and insightful. We got numerous compliments about how good the service was. In the months preceding the wedding, she was exceedingly kind, thoughtful, and flexible in helping us prepare for the event. In sum, we would recommend her in the strongest possible terms.

  • Wedding: 08/07/2010
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We had a beautiful ceremony, thanks to Juli. She really spent time getting to know us in advance, was very responsive to our wishes in terms of what we wanted to highlight at the ceremony (we are an interfaith couple), and was just generally a very nice person all-around that we enjoyed getting to know better. Would highly recommend her. In the din of all things wedding prep, meeting with her always made us feel more calm and excited about the big day.

  • Wedding: 06/05/2010
Services Used: Officiant
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We love Juli!!! We were truly blessed to have found her! She put us at ease from the moment we met her and we knew after our very first meeting with her that she would give us the personal and intimate vibe we were after. Everyone at our wedding thought she was an old family friend and loved how she personalized our ceremony and made it about us and our life together. We highly recommend her to anyone that wants a special, yet still traditional wedding ceremony. You will love her!

  • Wedding: 06/04/2010
Services Used: Beauty & Health
Prev