Quinn's Goldsmith
Your Diamond Store - 1st Place Design Winner IJO 2014
    26 Reviews
199 Union Street
P.O. Box 605
Occoquan, VA 22125  | map
Jewelry: Antique Engagement Rings, Antique Wedding Bands...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (26)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I purchased my wedding ring from Quinn's. Jennifer helped us out and she was wonderful.

When we went to order the ring, there was a rainstorm and the store had lost power earlier. We managed to catch the manager/owner locking up. He opened back up for us, and called Jennifer in, and she was able to take care of us so that i could get the order in. The ring came in really fast. They were so nice to us! Also, the ring i bought i found at other stores, but their prices were much better, by around $300.00!
Wedding: 10/26/2008
Services Used: Jewelry
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Quinn's was fantastic. Staff was very friendly and eager to answer any questions we had. Great selection, and friendly service lead me to recommend Quinn's Goldsmith to anyone and everyone!
Wedding: 10/18/2008
Services Used: Jewelry
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I highly recommend Quinn's Goldsmith. I first met Terry, the owner, at the bridal show in Chantilly. We worked with Terry to find my husband and my wedding ring. I was looking for a specific look, so Terry offered to customize the band within my budget. Terry was responsive and when he said he was going to call back, he called back. I believe he gave us a reasonable price. I plan to use him as our jeweler as long as we live in this area!
Wedding: 09/20/2008
Services Used: Jewelry
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
The whole of Quinn's Goldsmith is amazing. The staff is helpful and professional, but in a way that also makes you feel like a friend. Terry Quinn himself is amazing and knowledgable, and does everything in his power to make his customers happy. I came in to get my wedding ring cleaned, and some stones were very loose. he was able to show me how the stones wiggled in the setting, which I'll admit made me a bit upset. He not only fixed the setting and secured the stones for me, he rhodium flashed the white gold of my ring to make it really shine. And he did this all only for the cost of the jeweler's time. A truly amazing place, and I will absolutely go back again and again.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Jewelry
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a copy of my grandmother's ring made. Hers is a thin hand-engraved band. The artist there made a perfect remake of the ring. I shall treasure it the rest of my life.
Wedding: 07/05/2008
Services Used: Jewelry
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I can't say enough good things about Quinn's. My husband spent several weeks there deciding on my engagement ring. They were so helpful and made the experience really enjoyable for him. He is proud of his purchase because he knows that it's quality and it's backed by Quinn's name. The ring is absolutely beautiful. We returned to the store to get it sized and got it back immediately. We also had a custom wedding band made. The engagement band curves to the point that a basic band would not fit against it. The custom jeweler at Quinn's designed a mold and created a stunning ring to compliment the set. Every time we have needed something from Quinn's they make every effort to accomodate us. We are both relatively young and appreciate the respect shown to us by Quinn's staff. If you are in need of custom or bridal jewelry I highly recommend this jeweler.
Wedding: 05/24/2008
Services Used: Jewelry
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jennifer 9 Reviews
They honored a lower price I found online for my Tacori wedding band without hesitating. We had exceptional service from the moment we walked in the door!
Wedding: 10/20/2007
Services Used: Jewelry
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We purchased our wedding bands from Quinn's. We often go to Quinn's just to window shop! It is a beautiful store in beautiful downtown Occoquan. All the people that work there are so nice and helpful. They are not pushy and won't take you straight to the most expensive. They do have some very expensive pieces but they work with your budget. We ordered our bands at the last minute but it was no problem. We had our rings within 2 weeks! I highly recommend Quinn's.
Wedding: 09/01/2007
Services Used: Jewelry
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0

Kristin 7 Reviews
I still have mixed feelings about our experience at Quinn's. My husband insisted on using them because his friend had purchased an engagement ring there and they came highly recommended.

I was very specific in the type of ring I wanted. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We felt like they were bending over backwards to work with us. We were upfront from the beginning out the amount of money would could spend and the type of ring I wanted. I was assured this wouldn't be a problem.

Well, it was.

The jewelry woman who worked with us kept showing us diamonds that were, frankly, crap. Bad colors, large flaws, bad cuts. Maybe she thought I wouldn't notice? I think she was trying to keep the diamond cheap to afford the setting we wanted. By the end of one session, she would look at a diamond, realize I wasn't going to find it acceptable, say, "I won't even bother to show you that." and move one. It was a little exasperating. I was willing to fudge on size, and a little on color, and even a little on clarity, but I refused to lower my standards completely and I didn't feel like I should. I really wanted an emerald shaped diamond with a radiant cut. These seemed impossible to find and I finally settled on an emerald cut diamond.

When we started, we were clear that I wanted a three stone ring. With the price of this diamond and likely price of the setting, we weren't going to be able to afford the side stones I wanted. Looking back, that's when we should have walked away.

Then came the battle of the settings. I was also very specific in the type of setting I wanted. Everything I was shown was also crap-poor craftsmanship, bad welding. At one point, the sales woman even called one of their own expert welders (I hope that's the right word-welder) down to ask his opinion about a band I had rejected. He agreed with me saying something along the lines of, "Of course she doesn't like it. I don't blame her!" From a tray of generic bands, I finally settled on one that had small emerald-cut side stones which matched my center stone well. They weren't radiant cut, but I believed the representatives when they said I wouldn't be able to find a ring like the one I wanted for less than $8000-more than we wanted to spend.

Through this whole process, the woman who assisted us was always professional and helpful. While she did seem to put a lot of effort into finding a a diamond that met my approval, it still confusing me why she couldn't find a radiant cut diamond. There were times I found the sales staff pushy and overbearing. But it wasn't until after the ring was purchased I felt a "cold shoulder". I went in to get my ring cleaned one day and asked if there was something I could do to help keep my diamond clean. (I was even willing to buy their custom cleaners if they had offered!) The woman looked at me like I was an idiot and informed me it's impossible to keep emerald cuts clean. I didn't like the inference that I should have picked a different stone. (Never mind that my intent had been a different stone!) That was the last time we went to Quinn's.

When we were shopping for wedding bands, I refused to go to Quinn's. It was helpful they never followed up with us to try and sell us bands. I thought for sure we could find a better deal elsewhere. After going to several places, we ended up at Jared. Can you believe they had the exact three-stone, emerald-shape, radiant-cut, intricate-platinum-setting ring I wanted for *less* than we wanted to spend? My heart sank.

Do I love my ring? Yes. Do I wish we had shopped around more? Yes. Would I recommend Quinn's? Only if you can afford it and don't care about the money you're spending. But if you're on a budget, go to Jared. I know their commercials are annoying, but we didn't see a better value for your money anywhere else--even the Gem & Jewelry Shows were more pricey.
Wedding: 10/07/2005
Services Used: Jewelry
 703-494-1662
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0