Quiet Waters Park
600 Quiet Waters Park Rd
Annapolis, MD 21403  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party...
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 150
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (18)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (3.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (3.4/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (3.5/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (2.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5

Private User 5 Reviews
As soon as I saw Quiet Waters Park and the Blue Heron Center, I was sure that was where I wanted to have my wedding reception. Even in the winter time the garden was gorgeous and beautifully kept. The facility was clean and has an open-air feel, with the many large windows and doors in the main room. Chanell, in the main office, was always very pleasant, even when she had to tell me my caterer was not accepted. As a bride who has plenty of details to stress about, a little compassion goes a long way. My main advice would be to make sure you are aware of and have thought through the rules and regulations they have to have because they are a park. I would recommend this venue for a wedding reception.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
So... I have very mixed feelings. Overall, I LOVED having our ceremony and reception at Quiet Waters. You can't beat the price, it was beautiful in the gardens of the BLue Heron Center, and the size was perfect for us! That said, the staff can be very abrasive or downright snooty. We were supposed to get our deposit back 6-8 weeks after the event. It is now 13 weeks out and they keep making excuses. We did most of the set up, etc ourselves and also found them to be VERY picky about not putting any tape, etc up on the walls. Also, be aware that you must choose from their list of local caterers.
Quiet Waters Park responded with the following comments:
Thank you for your review. We do apologize that the damage deposit took longer than expected. It is a very long process due to the government procurement procedures. Please feel free to call us for more information or to discuss any concerns. Best, Quiet Waters Park Staff.
Wedding: 11/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  2.5
  • Flexibility:  0.0
The wedding ceremony was held outdoors by the fountain and was beautiful, that I appreciate. However the rest of the experience of working with the quiet waters staff was a pain and it really seemed like they went out of their way to make it as difficult as possible. My advice, they have an approved caterer list, of mostly bbq type places, If you want to have your wedding here, pick your catering from that list first and make sure they have a menu to your liking, Because they will not under any circumstances let anyone else cater it.
Quiet Waters Park responded with the following comments:
Any caterer who is not on our Approved Caterers List would need to be approved 120 days prior to an event before they could cater here at Quiet Waters Park. All caterers must meet the requirements set by Anne Arundel County Law Office.

They would need to (1) fill out an application, (2) submit their Food Service Facility License issued by the Department of Health, and (3) have their Insurance Agent provide a Certificate of Insurance showing certain minimum insurance requirements. We would also need to receive the above no later than 120 days before your event date.

If they are unable to meet our requirements, you would need to select one of our Approved Caterers.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us. 410.222.1777.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Absolutely LOVED having my small wedding at the Lighthizer gazebo in Quiet Waters Park. It was very easy, affordable and the atmosphere was natural yet breathtaking. It was the PERFECT location for my now husband and I to get married! I would pick it again in a heartbeat!
Wedding: 10/20/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.5
  • Professionalism:  1.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  1.5
The park is beautiful and the Blue Heron Center was a great location. The garden out back was the perfect setting. We had 150 people at our wedding, which is about capacity, but everything still worked out beautifully. This is NOT the venue to use if you're looking to have someone help you out along the way or if you think your wedding is "special". It's not - at least not to the staff of Quiet Waters Park. QWP is, first and foremost, a park. They will take your money but they want pretty much nothing to do with you. Just b/c it's a wedding doesn't mean they are willing to do anything other than what is specifically listed in the contract. Even if you pretty-please-with-sugar-on-top.
That being said, it's not a BAD place to have a wedding. It's a beautiful place. Just make sure you have an on-the-ball caterer (we did) and preferably a wedding coordinator (we didn't). Also, READ the contract. They will try to switch things up on you as their policies change (which they do frequently), so make sure you know what you signed up for and stick to it!
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.0 out of 5.0
3.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  1.5
After reading a few reviews on here, I pretty much knew what to expect from Quiet Waters. I LOVED the location and they were very reasonably priced which is why we chose the park. You do need to be on top of them about certain things, they are more responsive to phone calls than emails. I was a little upset that we were promised transportation for our guests who could not walk to the ceremony location when we signed, and were then told that it was not a guarantee. The day of the wedding, transportation was available which was great, but this was something I was really worried about for our older guests. Overall, the park is a beautiful setting and you'll get great pictures. I was decently satisfied with them, but you do need to be prepared to take care of things yourself.
Wedding: 06/24/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Quiet Waters Park was the best location I could think of for our wedding. We reserved the Blue Heron room and it was so spacious and the back garden was beautiful for our ceremony. You need to be organized to use this location because it is very much a DIY venue. Everyone was so gracious at the front gate and visitor center. They followed up on everything and were even willing to be flexible with our schedule.
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
First off, the good! Quiet Waters Park was absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!! It was an amazing place for pictures and the Blue Heron Center was amazing for the reception! We fit about 115 people in PERFECTLY!!! The pictures we got with the trees were AMAZING!!

Now for the bad... When we first signed, we worked with the manager named Carol who was great! She was very polite and responsive and very very helpful! Then, Carol moved on and was replaced with another manager. This new manager was VERY rude to both me and my husband. Also during the turnover they lost our contract so we had to resign. Luckily they didn't take us off the books or we would have lost the venue.

I would recommend the venue for the beauty but just a heads up on the staff.
Wedding: 11/05/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
We didnt use the blue heron center and we only used the park for the ceremony but the South River Overlook was the perfect place. It was the perfect day and the background was stunning. I'm so glad we used the park, all of our pictures turned out amazing.
Wedding: 09/03/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.5 out of 5.0
1.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  1.0
I had my wedding ceremony at the South River Overlook and have mixed reviews. Although the views of the South River were amazing & perfect for photos, there were numerous drawbacks: the Park rep was unprofessional and incompetent. She was easily confused about scheduling my rehearsal & wedding dates. Park visitors did not respect our privacy during the rehearsal and actual wedding ceremony. The Park rules are strict and not flexible to include no chairs on the grass and no decorations. The Park staff at the front gate were not helpful or professional. Overall, I do not recommend Quiet Waters Park for a wedding ceremony.
Wedding: 05/29/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
We had our wedding and reception at Quiet Waters. It was simply beautiful. The grounds were very clean and our photographer was able to capture some amazing shots. Even though the park had people in the park, no one was in our area during our ceremony so we still had our privacy. The price is right as well, you get your monies worth. Highly recommend having a wedding here.
Wedding: 05/22/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The wedding at the gazebo was absolutely breathtaking and the reception was wonderful because of our caterer who pretty much handled most of that. We did have to do alot of leg work ourselves. The staff was very helpful, especially Carol but they called alot and I wasn't sure they knew what was going on sometimes but all in all I'd say it was very good and I would definately go there again if given the chance.
Wedding: 05/30/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
The big plus of QWP is it's cost, it's one of the cheapest places in Annapolis, especially on weekdays. A nice park setting, although the landscaping in the garden isn't great. A nice cozy reception building with lots of light, though they REALLY need to update to a more neutral color scheme. With the right decorations and flowers, the garden and reception building can look absolutely beautiful, as they did for my wedding. There is a lot of red tape involved, which is fine if you're organized and prepared. Mary can be difficult to deal with, coming across sometimes as very condescending and gives you the impression that she assumes your wedding is going to result in someone being sued. I realize she has to be cautious and firm, but I think she goes over the top sometimes. Overall it can be a great place to get married, just be prepared.
Wedding: 10/02/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  1.0
This venue is a good value for the money. The reception hall is nice, but the garden needs some work. They do not keep up on the garden as much as they once did. They claim to have a full time horticulturist, but the gardens rarely have anything new planted and they are in need of weeding and mulching. When I questioned the park about the gardens, they told me that if I wanted color I should get married in April. The park has lovely spots for pictures. The hall is pretty and the price is right, but don't expect too much from the garden.
Wedding: 09/06/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
This is a rentable building in a public park and as such, there are a long list of rules you must follow. There is no room for compromise on any of the rules. Trust me, we tried! You will have to do a lot of work yourself, especially with finding the right caterer. The facility does not have their own on-site caterer. You are also required to get your own one-day liquor license. If you can get through the red tape, then the venue can be absolutely beautiful in the right hands. We only had our reception here, but they can accommodate the ceremony also in their garden, one of the gazebos or down by the water. Our photographer did have an awesome backdrop for pictures. The venue books up fast - more than a year in advance - but it is affordable. We had a beautiful reception here with tremendous help from the caterer. However, if I had to do it again, I'm not sure I would choose this venue.
Wedding: 10/06/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Gorgeous setting, but there are guest limits to the ceremony sites. We wanted to do our ceremony at the overlook but they have a limit of 75 guests including vendors. What a shame because it would hold much more than that. The inside of the building is kind of decorated poorly. Would prefer to see neutral colors rather than pink and mauve. But the views and setting in the gardens are really gorgeous so you can overlook the poor decorating. You'll get great pictures here too!
Wedding: 10/08/2006
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 410-222-1777
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6
out of 5.0