Preston Woodall House
    21 Reviews
201 East Hill Street
Benson, NC 27504  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party...
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 400
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (21)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
WEDDING PLANING:
It was amazing to have Joel, the owner of the Preston Woodall House, not only hosting our rehersal dinner and wedding, but also Directing the wedding! He was able to help determine and give advice on the flow of the ceremony, where people needed to be, and what the best use of the space and facility was. He did well with comunicating with our bridal party and all of our guest with respect, kindness, but a sterness that made people confident in following his instructions. He did an awesome job! The weekend went amazingly smooth! Everything from the rehersal, to the rehersal dinner, to the wedding , and even the reception. He was there orchestrating over 250 guest and staff making the weekend as smooth and as stress free as it could possibly be!

REHEARSAL DINNER/CEREMONY/RECEPTION VENUE:
Not only Joel (the owner), but the entire staff went above and beyond:
a. Helping to carry in decorations
b. Getting sprite and crackers late at night the night before the wedding when I (the bride) fell sick the day before the wedding.
c. Setting up all the decorations.
d. Being sure all of the details were taken care of so that we could enjoy friends and family.

CATERING:
The catering and meals were simply AMAZING! Not only the flavors and the taste of the food but the layout and presentation of the food was by far better than any restaurant or any other wedding (bride has been a part of 4 and groom a part of 5) that we have been to in the last 5 years that we have both lived in NC. We repeatedly get compliments from our guest in relation to how all the food was so delicious and presented so beautifully. The Chef, Brian, came out several times HIMSELF to be sure that everything met our standards of satisfaction and to ask if there was anything else that he could do or preopare! Needless to say there was absolutely nothing more that we could even fathom asking for. Brian is hands down one North Carolina’s best kept secrets!!!
Wedding: 01/25/2014
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
On October 9, I got engaged to a wonderful man who lives in Benson, NC. We wanted a small, intimate ceremony and did not hire a wedding planner. My mother and I did the planning. I found Preston Woodall House on Internet and my fiance and I met with Joel Hurley, co-owner, for a tour of the facility. We both loved what we saw and, fortunately, December 21 was available. From the moment I entered this beautiful, 1910 mansion and saw that photo of Scarlett O'Hara hanging in the foyer, I knew it would be perfect. I could see myself walking down that long staircase in the main house and into the arms of Rhett Butler. Since my mother and I are not familiar with NC, we relied HEAVILY on Mr. Hurley for recommendations for EVERYTHING, and I cannot thank him enough for his assistance. We used the minister he recommended, the DJ, the hair/makeup artist, the florist, and the bakery. We chose the Ultimate Destination Package, which gave us use of the Cora Lily Ballroom, the main house (5 bedrooms) and 3 on-site cottages. Instead of a rehearsal dinner, we opted for a Friday night cocktail hour(s) for out-of-town guests. Chef Brian Stillwaugh did a fabulous job with the hors d'oeuvres we selected (cheese display, spanikopitas, stuffed mushrooms, deviled eggs topped with caviar, brochette, meatballs). The wedding and the reception dinner were held in the beautifully decorated 2,800 sq. ft. Ballroom, with plenty of room for the ceremony at one end and dinner/dancing at the other. For dinner we chose the chicken chardonnay and beef bourguignon as our entrees, and garlic mashed potatoes and zucchini stuffed with asparagus and julienne carrots. There were many to choose from and something for anybody's taste. Again, Chef Brian did a marvelous job. I rate our overall experience as excellent. I highly recommend Preston Woodall to anyone looking for a beautiful setting for their special event. Joel and his staff are friendly, flexible, and most accommodating.

I'm not sure if this is the place to review the food that was provided at Preston Woodall House for my wedding there on 21 December but here goes. On Friday night, December 20, my fiance and I opted for a cocktail party for out-of-town guests instead of a rehearsal dinner. We chose "heavy" hors d'oeuvres and the list of possibilities was amazing. Chef Brian Stillwaugh did a wonderful job with all our selections. We chose (1) spanikopitas; (2) brochettes topped with pesto, allouette cheese, and smoked salmon; (3) mushrooms stuffed with corn, cilantro, peppers, and asiago cheese; (4) pinwheels with cajun chicken, shrimp, roasted vegetables, ham and cheddar cheese, and smoked turkey and (5) deviled eggs topped with caviar. The reception dinner following the wedding the next day was equally as delicious. We chose the chicken chardonnay and beef bourguignon as our entrees, and garlic mashed potatoes, and zucchini stuffed with asparagus and julienne carrots. Breakfasts for the out-of-town guests was wonderful as well (scrambled eggs, hash brown potatoes, bacon, turkey sausage links, blueberry pancakes--my favorite--an assortment of fresh fruits, cereal, and piping hot coffee and tea). I would rate my overall experience as exceptional.
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The Preston Woodall House is an exquisite venue with a lot to offer. My experience at the Preston Woodall House was nothing less than the best, and I would definitely recommend this venue to anyone. The house is beautiful, the staff is exceptionally kind and helpful, and the event ran more smoothly than I could have imagined. All of this was made possible with the help of Joel Hurley, the owner of the Preston Woodall House. Joel, along with the rest of his staff, did a wonderful job planning and preparing for this event. Another “Wow!” was the amazing food! Chef Brian is absolutely incredible and undeniably knew the way into my heart! ;)

Preston Woodall House made my dreams come true!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were married at the Preston Woodall House on 10/12/13. We bought the entire weekend package that included rental of the three houses that surround the PWH. Our out of town guests and wedding party stayed the entire weekend and could not have asked for better accommodations. The wedding was gorgeous and the food delicious. Chef Brian is the bomb. The staff were very attentive and a pleasure to work with. Owner, Joel Hurley was also my wedding planner and my director and all I can say is it wouldn't have been as wonderful as it was without his help and guidance. PWH is the best place to have your wedding and reception.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
The Preston Woodall House is a wonderful place to have a reception. It is so beautiful and from the outside- you would never guess it had a full sized ballroom inside. The price is great and catering, tables, chairs, linens and china is all done at the venue which really takes away a lot of the stress. The food is out of this world!!! Everyone at my reception loved it!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Tammy 5 Reviews
This is a great vendor if your wanting a beautiful place to say "I DO" !!! The owner is very easy to work with and the staff is wonderful. The food is amazing......
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
The staff was great and the house looked amazing! The chef made breakfast the morning of the wedding and then the food for the cocktail hour and the reception and it was AMAZING! The coordinator made sure things ran smoothly and even made sure we had plates of food at the reception before the guests got in line so we had a chance to eat! The staff were efficient in all of their tasks, polite and more than willing to help anywhere they could. My husband and I were staying the night in the bridal suite after the guests left and while the reception was going on the staff & chef cleaned the room from where the bridal party and i had gotten ready earlier in the day, prepared the room with candles, fresh towels, drinks and two loaded and warm plates of food from dinner. We were so surprised and so thankful because by the time the night ended we were starving! We loved everyone we worked with from the day we first toured the house until our big day!!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The whole experience with Preston Woodall was outstanding. From the planning to the execution of our wishes. Our wedding wouldn't have been perfect without them. Joel Hurley was amazing and Phyllis treated us like family. Brian the chef is incredibly talented and welcoming. Mac stepped in and took over when our planner dropped the ball and got flustered. Mac probably saved our wedding from disorganization and Kim, our personal post-ceremony server was INCREDIBLE. She made us feel like real stars on our day...THANK YOU, PRESTON WOODALL FAMILY!!
Wedding: 04/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Perfect. My wife and I had an absolute blast at our rehearsal dinner, wedding and reception at Preston Woodall House. We were there from Friday to Sunday morning and they were very hospitable, helpful and always attentive to our every need and want. Food was outstanding and Joel, Dale and Dianne were very professional and personable and we could not have asked for better hosts. Before the wedding they were very helpful in all aspects of planning and I am confident in recommending them to anyone. A+++
Wedding: 06/11/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
OH MY GOSH!! PERFECT! I was married there a few weeks ago and could not have asked for better people to work with. Everyone was simply AMAZING. Even when my guest list blew up to double than what we expected Joel and the crew calmly helped and everything was perfect.
I also had a (ahem) unique and semi complicated event where the dinner was held before the ceremony and the Preston Woodall House staff pulled it off more perfectly than I could have ever imagined.
They are amazing and I would recommend them to EVRYONE!
Wedding: 06/11/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I couldn't have asked for more. On the day of my wedding record breaking numbers of tornadoes hit central north carolina - going right past the house - we lost power for 2 hours (during the ceremony and cocktail hour) but it was still beautiful and perfect. The staff did so much to accommodate for us - we had the ceremony in the ballroom and then they had to quickly turn it back around for the reception and it all worked out wonderfully. Even without power the food came out perfect - delicious! Diane was amazing - kept everything in line and did everything for us so we could enjoy our night. The day turned out perfect!! During the planning process they laid it all out for me, it was way less stressful than I imagined it would have been as they were incredibly helpful.
Wedding: 04/16/2011
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff at the PWH was amazing!! From the tasting with Joel & Adam to the meetings with Diane to the actually wedding day!! Diane was a HUGE success in making our wedding day perfect. I definitely recommend Diane and staying at the house between events.
Wedding: 10/09/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Made all of my wedding dreams come true!!!!!!
Wedding: 08/07/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I got married at the Preston Woodall House in July of 2010. It was everything we wanted and more. All of the staff are wonderful and make sure you have the perfect wedding. We rented the house and cottages for the entire weekend. It was super convienent to have our family and wedding party at one location. The food was amazing and people are still telling me what a beautiful wedding it was. I would not have wanted to change anything! If you are looking for a place to get married go hear, you will LOVE it! Thank you Joel, Diane, and Phy for everything!
Wedding: 07/10/2010
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The Preston Woodall House was my first pick for our wedding venue! I had previously experienced a wedding at this location as a guest and I loved it! The food was delicious, the staff was helpful and it was nice to have the ceremony and reception at one location so our guests wouldn't have to travel from place to place, plus we didn't have to worry with leaving since we stayed there and had a delicious breakfast for the newlyweds the following morning! I also was able to take my bridal portraits at PWH and they turned out beautifully! This is a great venue to have if you're looking to make things easier on your planning by having everything at one location and the help of Joel, Diane and the rest of the staff was stress relieving for a bride on her big day!
Wedding: 06/05/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Preston Woodall is a PREMIER wedding facility. The staff, the food and the accomodations were all absolutely flawless and top notch. It is a beautiful venue! Plenty of room for all! We rented the entire facility (the main house with 4 bedrooms) and the 3 additional cottages they have on the property, all of my family were able to stay together all weekend, no waiting for car service, no one getting lost etc., it took a HUGE amount of stress out of our day. We were truly able to be guests at our own wedding. I am STILL getting calls about the amazing food and how much fun everyone had. It was like a fairytale. If you are getting married in NC and DONT check this place out FIRST your crazy!!!!!!!!!! Talk to Joel, he is the owner, and a WONDERFUL person to work with, he never was too busy for me and met with me on several occasions to assure every little detail was taken care of. I could not be more happy that we had our wedding and reception here!
Wedding: 05/08/2010
Services Used: Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 919-894-7025
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0