Prantl's Bakery
5525 Walnut Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15232  | map
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake...
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (32)   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Prantl's is one of Pittsburgh's premiere bakeries and the only one I would recommend for a wedding. Their cake is SO good!!! And the cake was so beautiful. I also used them to create the groom's cake and we got so many compliments on our cake with a Jameson bottle on it. The cake was delicious and I was sad that there was none left to take home!
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Our wedding cake was absolutely delicious. I love Prantl's baked goods usually, and their wedding cake was no exception. They did a good job working with us to determine the size and style of cake we needed, and were prompt and flexible when it came to meetings and delivery. They're a bit pricier than some of the other options, but we realized you pay for the "brand", and we wanted a bakery close to the venue. All of our guests loved the cake and it looked exactly like we had planned. Even though you might be able to find a more affordable wedding cake elsewhere, I would still recommend Prantl's.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Burnt almond torte made an outstanding wedding cake!!! I would recommend ordering the original cake with real custard -- you have to order in sheet cake version and store in the refrigerator prior to serving. The cake on display can have a non-refrigerated form of custard which is good, but just not as delicious as the traditional cake. Prantl's was very easy to work and very reliable!!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Adam 3 Reviews
We did not get the Burnt Almond Torte. We may be the only couple ever to not get that cake from Prantl's. What we did get was the best cake ever. We received a lot of comments about how great the cake was. For an october wedding we did a pumpkin spice cake. It was so good and everyone loved it. They delivered in the morning when they said they would and everything was great.
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Every guest at our wedding raved about how delicious our Almond Torte cake was! The cake looked beautiful and exactly as I had imagined! The tasting process was easy to set up and it was a pleasant and fun experience. Pricing was fair, and the product was everything we hoped it would be. Would definitely recommend Prantl's to anyone!
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We tasted some of the best bakeries in Pittsburgh for our wedding and hands down Prantl's had the most to offer. They did beautiful customized decorating of our wedding cake. It was delicious - one of the only things I made sure to eat at the wedding. They were also the best price. I highly recommend giving them a try. We had the burnt almond torte (in disguish - the almonds were served on the side so that the cake could be decorated as a traditional wedding cake). We received so many compliments on it.
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Private User 5 Reviews
The cake tasted amazing, but it wasn't exactly what I wanted it to look like. I gave them a picture of what I wanted but it still didn't turn out how I wanted it. I wanted a more "bling" look to it but I didn't care for what they considered "edible bling" it just looked like grey dots.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had Prantl’s famous almond torte as our wedding cake and it received rave reviews from our guests. Everyone wanted to know where the cake was from and said it was the best cake they ever had. The price was reasonable and the bakery was very easy to work with.
Wedding: 07/05/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 5 Reviews
Annette, Shelley, and team were great to work with. I ordered a custom hidden almond torte cake that Annette and team spent time on trying the best molds for the lace fondant applique that I wanted. She emailed several pictures and I was able to go to the bakery to see the test molds. The final result was absolutely beautiful and we received many compliments on the cake. Their customer service was top notch.
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
0.8 out of 5.0
0.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0
Prantl's wedding cakes are delicious... but their customer service needs a lot of improvement! I live in Georgia and visited with them 2 times in person before my wedding day, along with phone calls, e-mails back and forth, and my own mother dropping by the shop to wrap up any last minute details and bring in decoration materials. Yet, the week of the wedding, the bakery still didn’t know the flavor of my wedding cake or what it was even supposed to look like! Complete incompetence! The staff tried to glaze over the issue by assuring me it was a minor glitch and that everything would be perfect for the big day... but truthfully, I wasn’t sure when I sliced open the cake on my wedding day if it was going to be what I had ordered. I actually had my florist place the feather decorations on the cake because I didn’t trust Prantl’s to do the job correctly. The only reason I went with them is because they can do a decent red velvet cake, being a bakery located in the North. Thankfully, everything turned out just fine on the wedding day and the cake tasted great, but it’s honestly not worth the stress and agony they put me through. Their incompetence was the last thing I needed to deal with the week of the wedding. My suggestion: avoid this bakery at all costs!
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Burnt Almond Torte Wedding Cake....need I say more? Ok, i will!! I first learned about Prantl's Bakery when I went to a Wedding show to meet vendors. I can't believe I lived in Pittsburgh all this time and never heard of Prantl's. When I tried their white, chocolate, raspberry wedding cake sample I thought I might have winner. It was delicious, creamy, and perfect. Then I tried their sample of burnt almond torte cake, and immediately fell in love. I met with Diane at Prantl's and she helped me plan the perfect wedding cake. Diane was professional, friendly, and had great ideas. The cake turned out perfect and was so delicious. I have friends who are getting married now and already know they want the same cake! I had a great experience with Prantl's and continue to visit the bakery. Happy Cake Tasting : )
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Cake was delicious and looked beautiful!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I visited a number of bakeries before we found Prantl’s. They were the first ones who were willing to do the design that I wanted at no extra charge, and they were very friendly and nice from the start. Also they had the most unique cakes compared to the other bakeries that we had visited.

They were hard to get a hold of by phone, so I would recommend just dropping by if you are in the neighborhood and have some time or email them. I am from out of town and so I went to do a tasting on a Saturday afternoon…it took a little while for someone to be able to free themselves from behind the counter to talk with us, but I took that as a GREAT sign since they were that busy it must mean a delicious quality product…and I was right!

We went with the hidden burnt almond torte and our guest raved about it. A guest (who's family owns a bakery in NJ) even told us that they loved our cake so much that they went back to the bakery the day after the wedding to pick up another cake to take back home with them.

Prantl's was also able to accommodate us with a smaller gluten-free cake for my father-in-law and he said it was fabulous as well.

They really know what they are doing at Prantl’s and I am so happy we went with them!
Wedding: 08/04/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 9 Reviews
I ordered their famous Burnt Almond Torte Cake as my wedding cake (3 round tiers, then a sheet cake in the back to feed the rest, much cheaper) and ALL of my guests RAVED about it! Everyone just loved it. I am not a regular cake kind of girl so this was the best. I even gave them gluten-free cake mix and they baked the top tier gluten-free for my husband and his family. We also ordered the 12 dozen cookie platter and guests seemed to really enjoy that as well.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Everyone at the wedding agreed that our cake and cookies were amazing thanks to Prantl's. The cake from here was our favorite by far and the delivery process was very easy even though our venue was over 60 miles away from the bakery. The level of service and professionalism from the staff could have been much better in making the ordering and decision making processes stress-free. It was difficult to visualize what our cake would look like without pictures or help from staff. Also, upon stopping in a few weeks before the wedding to finalize everything, I was told that I would need more cake than what I had originally ordered after telling the first person how many guests I was going to have - I was glad I stopped in that day, or we wouldn't have had cake for everyone!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I LOVED my baked almond tort wedding cake! it was delicious and received rave reviews. It also went with our color scheme and theme perfectly with its modern yet rustic look. I had brown ribbon wrapping it with succulents from my FLORIST who also rocked ( BCP) .
Thank you Prantls for the sweetest day!
Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0