Prantl's Bakery
5525 Walnut Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15232  | map
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake...
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (36)   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am so glad I got my cake from Prantl's. It was absolutely delicious and looked gorgeous. The burnt almond torte is my favorite cake in the world and was the only kind of cake that I wanted at my wedding. It fit in perfectly with our farm wedding. Because it was the burnt almond torte I think it was more expensive than other cakes, but it was worth it.
Wedding: 07/05/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Brittany 4 Reviews
Overall I had a good experience. I felt like the bakery was always so busy that we never received the professional attention that most vendors give to wedding clients. Consultations are chaotic and not all of our details got written down. I was a little nervous but everything worked out great. I wanted icing piped to look like lace and had a lot of trouble finding a bakery that would do such an intricate design. A few bakeries had similar patterns but charged a decent fee to do it. Prantl's had a beautiful scroll pattern that looked like lace and didn't charge any extra for it. This made our cake a great value compared to several other bakeries I considered. Everyone raves about Prantl's burnt almond cake, but their red velvet is awesome too, which is what we went with. We received quite a few compliments from our guests. Our cake looked perfect, no bumps or lines in the frosting, and the lace pattern was beautiful. I would recommend Prantl's.
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
1.0 out of 5.0
1.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Prant's was so unbelievably unprofessional. I have heard such great things, but when my fiance and I went for a cake tasting a few weeks ago, they were not prepared. They didn't have anything prepared for us, didn't have any of the paperwork I had filled out previously, and just seemed to bank on their reputation. Needless to say, we went elsewhere!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alan 4 Reviews
We went to Prantl's in Shady Side for an initial tasting. All the samples were individual common samples set out for us and our 2 guests. The cakes were great and highly recommended. The ordering process was a bit confusing as all referenced pictures and styles are done through their facebook page, though it is nice because it is accessible from anywhere. The cake was designed with 3 individual layers, 3 types of filling, with a scroll work, and colored frosted roses with toasted almonds. We had 120 servings for our 3 tier cake, and ALL 120 servings were picked up and eaten! The cake was professional made, delivered, and very tasty. The value per slice beat out Lincoln and Bethel. Very highly recommended!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Prantl's is one of Pittsburgh's premiere bakeries and the only one I would recommend for a wedding. Their cake is SO good!!! And the cake was so beautiful. I also used them to create the groom's cake and we got so many compliments on our cake with a Jameson bottle on it. The cake was delicious and I was sad that there was none left to take home!
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Our wedding cake was absolutely delicious. I love Prantl's baked goods usually, and their wedding cake was no exception. They did a good job working with us to determine the size and style of cake we needed, and were prompt and flexible when it came to meetings and delivery. They're a bit pricier than some of the other options, but we realized you pay for the "brand", and we wanted a bakery close to the venue. All of our guests loved the cake and it looked exactly like we had planned. Even though you might be able to find a more affordable wedding cake elsewhere, I would still recommend Prantl's.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Burnt almond torte made an outstanding wedding cake!!! I would recommend ordering the original cake with real custard -- you have to order in sheet cake version and store in the refrigerator prior to serving. The cake on display can have a non-refrigerated form of custard which is good, but just not as delicious as the traditional cake. Prantl's was very easy to work and very reliable!!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Adam 3 Reviews
We did not get the Burnt Almond Torte. We may be the only couple ever to not get that cake from Prantl's. What we did get was the best cake ever. We received a lot of comments about how great the cake was. For an october wedding we did a pumpkin spice cake. It was so good and everyone loved it. They delivered in the morning when they said they would and everything was great.
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Every guest at our wedding raved about how delicious our Almond Torte cake was! The cake looked beautiful and exactly as I had imagined! The tasting process was easy to set up and it was a pleasant and fun experience. Pricing was fair, and the product was everything we hoped it would be. Would definitely recommend Prantl's to anyone!
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We tasted some of the best bakeries in Pittsburgh for our wedding and hands down Prantl's had the most to offer. They did beautiful customized decorating of our wedding cake. It was delicious - one of the only things I made sure to eat at the wedding. They were also the best price. I highly recommend giving them a try. We had the burnt almond torte (in disguish - the almonds were served on the side so that the cake could be decorated as a traditional wedding cake). We received so many compliments on it.
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Private User 5 Reviews
The cake tasted amazing, but it wasn't exactly what I wanted it to look like. I gave them a picture of what I wanted but it still didn't turn out how I wanted it. I wanted a more "bling" look to it but I didn't care for what they considered "edible bling" it just looked like grey dots.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had Prantl’s famous almond torte as our wedding cake and it received rave reviews from our guests. Everyone wanted to know where the cake was from and said it was the best cake they ever had. The price was reasonable and the bakery was very easy to work with.
Wedding: 07/05/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 5 Reviews
Annette, Shelley, and team were great to work with. I ordered a custom hidden almond torte cake that Annette and team spent time on trying the best molds for the lace fondant applique that I wanted. She emailed several pictures and I was able to go to the bakery to see the test molds. The final result was absolutely beautiful and we received many compliments on the cake. Their customer service was top notch.
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
0.8 out of 5.0
0.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.5
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0
Prantl's wedding cakes are delicious... but their customer service needs a lot of improvement! I live in Georgia and visited with them 2 times in person before my wedding day, along with phone calls, e-mails back and forth, and my own mother dropping by the shop to wrap up any last minute details and bring in decoration materials. Yet, the week of the wedding, the bakery still didn’t know the flavor of my wedding cake or what it was even supposed to look like! Complete incompetence! The staff tried to glaze over the issue by assuring me it was a minor glitch and that everything would be perfect for the big day... but truthfully, I wasn’t sure when I sliced open the cake on my wedding day if it was going to be what I had ordered. I actually had my florist place the feather decorations on the cake because I didn’t trust Prantl’s to do the job correctly. The only reason I went with them is because they can do a decent red velvet cake, being a bakery located in the North. Thankfully, everything turned out just fine on the wedding day and the cake tasted great, but it’s honestly not worth the stress and agony they put me through. Their incompetence was the last thing I needed to deal with the week of the wedding. My suggestion: avoid this bakery at all costs!
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Burnt Almond Torte Wedding Cake....need I say more? Ok, i will!! I first learned about Prantl's Bakery when I went to a Wedding show to meet vendors. I can't believe I lived in Pittsburgh all this time and never heard of Prantl's. When I tried their white, chocolate, raspberry wedding cake sample I thought I might have winner. It was delicious, creamy, and perfect. Then I tried their sample of burnt almond torte cake, and immediately fell in love. I met with Diane at Prantl's and she helped me plan the perfect wedding cake. Diane was professional, friendly, and had great ideas. The cake turned out perfect and was so delicious. I have friends who are getting married now and already know they want the same cake! I had a great experience with Prantl's and continue to visit the bakery. Happy Cake Tasting : )
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Cake was delicious and looked beautiful!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0