Prantl's Bakery
5525 Walnut Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15232  | map
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake...
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (42)   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We were very happy with our wedding cake!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Mike 2 Reviews
My wife and I decided on Prantl's famous burnt almond torte cake for our wedding. As we expected, it did not disappoint! Everybody raved about the cake and we saw first hand why it was "The Greatest Cake America Has Every Made", according to http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/04/14/prantls-torte-cake-almond_n_5133580.html
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I used Prantl's Bakery for my wedding cake and groom cake this summer on my July 19th wedding at the Mansion at Maple Heights in Pittsburgh. We used Prantl's Burnt Almond Torte as our wedding cake, and had a groom's cake made with their cookies n cream filling. From beginning to end, I corresponded with Annette, and she was a dream to work with. She always got back to me within a day and had some fabulous ideas! She made extra efforts to understand all that I envisioned and make my ideas come to fruition. On the day of the wedding, they delivered the cakes on time and did a great job displaying them. Finally, the cakes were just delicious (as we knew they would be). People from out of town raved about it, and some even went to Prantl's on their way out of town to pick up things to take home. I would recommend Prantl's to any couple getting married that needs a fabulous cake!!! :)
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We got the burnt almond torte as our wedding cake and it was absolutely delicious! Our first priority was that our cake taste amazing, and Prantl's was by far our favorite. It was really something special, and all of our guests were raving about it. The cake was also very affordable compared to competitors.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am so glad I got my cake from Prantl's. It was absolutely delicious and looked gorgeous. The burnt almond torte is my favorite cake in the world and was the only kind of cake that I wanted at my wedding. It fit in perfectly with our farm wedding. Because it was the burnt almond torte I think it was more expensive than other cakes, but it was worth it.
Wedding: 07/05/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Samantha 2 Reviews
We got a classic burnt almond torte cake for our wedding. Prantl's truly are professionals and it is clear as to why they are one of the leading bakers in Pittsburgh. Diane was so friendly to work with and I appreciated using their online system. It made things a lot easier to order and communicate. Our guests (even the Cleveland ones) raved about this special Pittsburgh treat. Kudos to Prantl's for always providing a top notch product!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Brittany 4 Reviews
Overall I had a good experience. I felt like the bakery was always so busy that we never received the professional attention that most vendors give to wedding clients. Consultations are chaotic and not all of our details got written down. I was a little nervous but everything worked out great. I wanted icing piped to look like lace and had a lot of trouble finding a bakery that would do such an intricate design. A few bakeries had similar patterns but charged a decent fee to do it. Prantl's had a beautiful scroll pattern that looked like lace and didn't charge any extra for it. This made our cake a great value compared to several other bakeries I considered. Everyone raves about Prantl's burnt almond cake, but their red velvet is awesome too, which is what we went with. We received quite a few compliments from our guests. Our cake looked perfect, no bumps or lines in the frosting, and the lace pattern was beautiful. I would recommend Prantl's.
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Prantl's bakery created a wonderful cake and desserts for our wedding. They created a wedding variation of their burnt almond torte for our wedding cake and then a variety of assorted junior pastries. 2 months later, our guests are still raving about how delicious the desserts were. We couldn't have been happier with the way everything turned out. Thank you for adding to the happiness of our wedding Prantl's!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
1.0 out of 5.0
1.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.0
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  1.0
  • Flexibility:  1.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Prant's was so unbelievably unprofessional. I have heard such great things, but when my fiance and I went for a cake tasting a few weeks ago, they were not prepared. They didn't have anything prepared for us, didn't have any of the paperwork I had filled out previously, and just seemed to bank on their reputation. Needless to say, we went elsewhere!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alan 4 Reviews
We went to Prantl's in Shady Side for an initial tasting. All the samples were individual common samples set out for us and our 2 guests. The cakes were great and highly recommended. The ordering process was a bit confusing as all referenced pictures and styles are done through their facebook page, though it is nice because it is accessible from anywhere. The cake was designed with 3 individual layers, 3 types of filling, with a scroll work, and colored frosted roses with toasted almonds. We had 120 servings for our 3 tier cake, and ALL 120 servings were picked up and eaten! The cake was professional made, delivered, and very tasty. The value per slice beat out Lincoln and Bethel. Very highly recommended!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Prantl's is one of Pittsburgh's premiere bakeries and the only one I would recommend for a wedding. Their cake is SO good!!! And the cake was so beautiful. I also used them to create the groom's cake and we got so many compliments on our cake with a Jameson bottle on it. The cake was delicious and I was sad that there was none left to take home!
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Our wedding cake was absolutely delicious. I love Prantl's baked goods usually, and their wedding cake was no exception. They did a good job working with us to determine the size and style of cake we needed, and were prompt and flexible when it came to meetings and delivery. They're a bit pricier than some of the other options, but we realized you pay for the "brand", and we wanted a bakery close to the venue. All of our guests loved the cake and it looked exactly like we had planned. Even though you might be able to find a more affordable wedding cake elsewhere, I would still recommend Prantl's.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Burnt almond torte made an outstanding wedding cake!!! I would recommend ordering the original cake with real custard -- you have to order in sheet cake version and store in the refrigerator prior to serving. The cake on display can have a non-refrigerated form of custard which is good, but just not as delicious as the traditional cake. Prantl's was very easy to work and very reliable!!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Adam 3 Reviews
We did not get the Burnt Almond Torte. We may be the only couple ever to not get that cake from Prantl's. What we did get was the best cake ever. We received a lot of comments about how great the cake was. For an october wedding we did a pumpkin spice cake. It was so good and everyone loved it. They delivered in the morning when they said they would and everything was great.
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Every guest at our wedding raved about how delicious our Almond Torte cake was! The cake looked beautiful and exactly as I had imagined! The tasting process was easy to set up and it was a pleasant and fun experience. Pricing was fair, and the product was everything we hoped it would be. Would definitely recommend Prantl's to anyone!
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We tasted some of the best bakeries in Pittsburgh for our wedding and hands down Prantl's had the most to offer. They did beautiful customized decorating of our wedding cake. It was delicious - one of the only things I made sure to eat at the wedding. They were also the best price. I highly recommend giving them a try. We had the burnt almond torte (in disguish - the almonds were served on the side so that the cake could be decorated as a traditional wedding cake). We received so many compliments on it.
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0