Perfect Planning
....Celebrate, Entertain, Enjoy !
    32 Reviews
8201 Greensboro Drive
Suite 300
McLean, VA 22102  | map
Services: Day-of Coordinator, Full Planning, Partial Planning
Weddings: Civil, Destination
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (32)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

anton 6 Reviews
My fiance and I were skeptical about wedding planning but we were recommended Tara by the caterer we worked with. Hiring Tara and her crew was the best decision we made and we regret not doing it earlier! We had Tara provider day of coordination services for us and our event went off without a hitch. It was a joy to work with her, Kendra, and everyone else. All our guests mentioned how well things went and how much they loved the coordinators (Kendra taught everyone the wobble on the dance floor, LOL).

It's clear that they understand what each client wants and how to work with them and the wedding parties (and families). They had every detail down and really put me and my fiance at ease. It's too bad I only plan on getting married this one time, cause I'd use them again in a heartbeat!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Where do I even begin? That was my first thought after getting engaged. I received Tara's information from a friend and decided to meet with her. I had a budget and a fiance, but that was it. Literally. No colors, no ideas - nothing. By the end of our first meeting, Tara had mapped out a complete to do list, budget plan and practically the wedding in a spreadsheet. I knew then, like my fiancé, that she was THE ONE. It didn't matter how indecisive i was, how many times I changed my mind, how many times I called, texted or emailed. She was there. Every time. Professional, polite, about her business and all. I was truly amazed. As with most brides, there's a point where you become anxious about seeing the big, complete picture. Tara was able to provide that to me all along the way...and better yet, she provided me with ideas that I didn't even consider or think of because she is an EXPERT. I can TRULY say that my wedding was beyond what I ever imagined it to be and I can TRULY say, it is because of Tara Melvin and her amazing staff, their attention to detail, professionalism and love for their work. When I saw my ceremony and even moreso, my reception, it hit me all at once. She did it! She helped make it all come true. Brides - you won't get another chance to have a moment like that, so make sure you pick the right person to give it to you. It's Perfect Planning. Thank you Tara and your staff for giving me the most amazing memories I could ever have wished for.
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tara was wonderful from start to finish! She provided great service at price within our budget; more than what I could have ever imagined. I opted for day of coordination, but Tara helped me to keep my planning on task and made sure that I did not forget anything during the planning process. I have and would recommend Tara's services to a friend.
Wedding: 06/01/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tara is worth her weight in gold. She and her staff are awesome! Our ceremony was at a monument on the National Mall during peak Cherry Blossom season. Without Tara I would have been a basket-case, but she was so reassuring that everything would go smoothly - and it did!
Also, Tara really rolled with the punches and let us personalize our ceremony the way we wanted. She was very accommodating to everything that I requested. We hired her for "day-of", but the truth is we met with her many times months before the wedding.
It would not have been as stress-free and enjoyable a day had it not been for Tara and her staff.

We highly recommend Tara - she is the best decision we made of all our vendors. We are so pleased with all that she did to make our wedding what we had hoped for.
Wedding: 04/13/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I hired Tara about a year and a half prior to our wedding, and it was one of the best decisions we've ever made. Tara has great relationships with local vendors and was able to recommend companies that would suit all of our needs. She provided insight on the types of services the vendors provided, as well as arranged/attended our meetings with them and helped negotiate pricing. Tara always responded quickly to the many questions we had throughout the planning process and was extremely organized. On my wedding day, I didn't have to worry about things not going as planned, because I knew Tara was in charge and trusted she would handle any issues that arose. And she did. It was a wonderful, stress-free day thanks to her. We received many compliments from our guests on how smoothly the day went . Tara was a joy to work with and I would recommend her to any couple looking for wedding planning assistance.
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tara Melvin and her Perfect Planning services exceeding EVERY expectation that I had for a wedding planner! As my wife and I began planning our wedding I was hesitant about the idea of hiring a planner. I honestly did not see the value in it. Now that our special day has come and gone I can't imagine NOT having the services of Tara Melvin. She is absolutely spectacular! She is so much more than a standard planner. She has a long list of associated vendors who break their backs to fulfill your request when they know that you are one of her clients. While several of our friends and associates were stressing the nuances that wedding planning entails, my wife and I had the luxury of Perfect Planning which kept us on such a set schedule that our stress level was nearly non-existent. Finally on our special day everything was nearly seamless. Tara and her team made sure that every planned event was on time, and she is so well prepared that when my wife forgot her garter Tara had another one on stand by! If you are even considering her for your special day stop considering and hire Perfect Planning before someone else does. You will be forever grateful!
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Hiring Tara was definitely a great decision and well worth the cost (which by the way was very reasonable). In one word, she is simply fabulous - she is very organized, yet very calm and personable (great qualities when dealing with the stress of planning a wedding). She was able to take the elements my husband and I wanted and executed them better than I could even imagine. I had a great experience with her and would definitely recommend her services.
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Summary: My wedding day was perfect and wouldn't have been that way without Tara & Perfect Planning

I can't thank Tara and Perfect Planning enough for being a part of our wedding. We hired Tara as a "month of" planner, really just thinking we needed help on the day of as we were working with different locations for the ceremony and reception. However, Tara exceeded all of our expectations both on the day of and leading up to the big day.

I wanted to plan the majority of our wedding but Tara was incredibly helpful throughout the planning process. As I only plan on doing this once, Tara lended her expertise throughout the a variety of details and took the time to advise and guide us on so many steps along the way. She was so incredibly helpful!!

On the day of, Tara's team was FLAWLESS! While there was some drama behind the scenes, immediately before the ceremony started, Tara got the situation under control quickly and calmly without letting anything get off track and ensuring I, the bride, was focusing on the best parts. She ensured that everything ran smoothly throughout the day, which was quite a complex task with all the different events that afternoon & evening!

Honestly, the day was perfect. I hope every bride gets to feel that way and Tara and her team will ensure to make that happen. I would strongly recommend her services.
Wedding: 10/13/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
We could not have been more pleased with Tara's help leading up to, and on the day of my daughter's wedding. We had a logistically challenging day with venues from D.C. to Maryland and back. Tara ensured everything ran smoothly from the timing of the multiple shuttles, to coordinating the many vendors, to dealing with the practical jokes of the groomsmen all while being the consummate professional with a sense of humor.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Tara was an absolute pleasure to work with. She responded to e-mails promptly, dealt well with any melt down that may have occurred while preparing for my wedding day, and made sure my day went smoothly. Her and her team were always there to make sure that the evening went on without any problems, but no one noticed their presence. Tara and her team are the perfect addition to any wedding! I highly recommend her!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely loved Tara as our wedding planner. She is very well connected in the business and super organized. Always on time with deliverables to us, the clients, and to vendors and always on time to meetings. The day of our wedding couldn't have gone smoother. Tara and her team were excellent and getting people where they needed to be and made the whole day an absolute delight. Even after our wedding, when our contract was finalized with Tara, she stayed on top of vendors to make sure that they fulfilled their contacts with us.

Tara is a joy to work with and I highly recommend her to any bride looking for a top notch wedding planner.
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired Tara to help us with our wedding and she was absolutely fantastic. She is super organized and kept us and our vendors on top of everything. She brought to our attention aspects of the wedding that we didn't even know we needed to take care of. She was great to work with and always available when I had questions. When the inevitable last minute last minute glitches came up, she was truly invaluable in solving them. She was particularly helpful with making sure all the vendors understood what they needed to do, where they needed to be, and that they were there on time. She helped us get the ceremony organized and walked us through the rehearsal. She has excellent contacts for vendors (music, flowers, etc.). We would not have had a great wedding without her help. I enthusiastically and highly reccommend her.
Wedding: 08/25/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lisa 6 Reviews
We hired Perfect Planning for Day Of planning. Tara and her team were truly amazing. They made our wedding day stress-free. They were so organized, making sure everybody knew where they were supposed to be when, as well as making sure all the pieces of the wedding were in place. We have been to weddings where there is no organization or scheduling or planning and they result in chaos. Not our wedding! Tara had everything mapped out well in advance and made sure we stayed on plan. She and her team handled everything on the day and we couldn't have asked for a more professional, friendly and fun-loving team! We enjoyed every moment of our wedding without having to worry about details, vendor questions or any problems that arose. I wouldn't have done it any other way!
Perfect Planning responded with the following comments:
Lisa & Jim - you were truly an awesome couple! Your wedding was truly romantic and endearing, and one that I will always remember! Thank you so much for allowing me to be apart of your day!
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tara and her team are amazing. They made sure everything was on time and took care of everything. My day was perfect and stress free. Tara even called me the day of my wedding and made sure I was ok and it just made me feel at ease. I knew everything was going to be ok and that Tara would take care of executing the entire day. I did not have to worry about anything! Our guests commented on her professionalism and how easy it was to find Tara or one her staff members to ask any questions they might have had the day of the wedding. She is amazing and she is a true Wedding Planner. I would highly recommend Perfect Planning. My wedding day was perfect and I owe a million thanks to Tara and her team. Without them our day would not have turned out as perfect as it did.
Perfect Planning responded with the following comments:
Stephanie & Adam, you were so cute and fun to work with - full of high energy! It was definitely a pleasure to work with you and thanks for allowing me to be apart of your day!
Wedding: 08/04/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tara and a staff of three others provided friendly, accurate, and overall excellent service for my daughter's wedding and reception. Tara's pre-event co-ordination with the two venues (church for ceremony and club for reception) and all the vendors was key, and on the day of the event she set a welcoming cooperative environment for all the participants to work together. We wanted our primary focus to be on the joy surrounding the sacramental union of the bride and groom. Execution of the plans we had spent months making was not something we wanted to worry about. With Tara and her staff in charge, everything came off without a hitch. Her reliability, flexibility and attention to detail allowed us to keep our primary focus and enjoy our celebrations as we should. Her reasonable fee was money well-spent.
Wedding: 05/19/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Tara and her perfect planning team made the wedding of my dreams a reality. She assist with planning from A to Z providing me a list of awesome vendors to choose from whom played their part in my wedding. After trying to do the planning myself and giving up halfway in to enlist Tara this was the best choice I could have made to ensure a fabulous wedding. Weeks leading up to the wedding I had no stress in knowing Tara had everything covered. Day of the wedding and arrival at our ceremoney and reception venue it was more beautiful then I could have even imagined, everything was exactly as I wanted it and more. We had personal attendents whom made sure my husband and I were okay and we had everything and anything we needed. My wedding was May 13th, 2012, and to this day my guests are still talking about how fabulous it was, it makes me want to relive it again and again! I would recommend Perfect Planning to any bride who is looking to plan out a wedding large or small, Tara and her team takes the cake!!
Wedding: 05/13/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
 703-975-5759
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0