Pastries by Nancy
761 E. Altadena Dr.
Altadena, CA 91001  | map
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Groom's Cake, Pastries
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Setup, Pickup, Tastings
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (23)   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We have nothing but good things to say about Pastries by Nancy. A wedding cake is important and we made a great choice by hiring them. We received great customer service. The cake was delivered on time and it was beautiful. Most of all, it tasted great. We had one layer of red velvet and two layers of chocolate cake with fresh strawberries and buttercream icing. Our guests asked us "why wasn't there more cake?" We definitely recommend Pastries by Nancy for any event, but especially a wedding.
Wedding: 05/09/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Or venue's dinner package included the cake and they gave us a list of the bakeries that they worked with. My wife and I went to see just two of the 4 listed and Shawn was by far the easiest to work with. Night and day between the two, the other bakery was kind of like, "We are busy, we only do a certain number of cakes, you have to bring us your cake topper, and u have to drop off the cake stand back to us after your wedding, you pick three flavors to sample." Where as Shawn was the complete opposite. He brought out a huge platter of cake with samples of all his cakes, he told us to leave the cake topper at the venue and his staff will put it on that day, and that we can leave the cake stand at the venue and he'll pick it up the next day. The day of the wedding, cake looked good to me, but the wife thought it wasn't quite what she wanted. But it tasted great, so good that a lot of our guests asked for seconds.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everyone loved the cake! The cake came out beautiful, and it didn't need the help of that inedible fondant that many bakeries rely on now to give it that solid put together look. Our guests told me how delicious it was. Many even had seconds. Thank you Shawn for delivering on the cake we wanted. You did not disappoint.
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I LOVED my wedding cake! it was really really delicious! when we were doing the cake tasting, we knew it is the place to go to for our cake. I went with my husband and my sister , we ate everything from the plate. Thats how good the cake tasted! highly recommend! Sean was also really helpful with our cake tasting process and he is really easy to work with as well. Very exprienced staff team! good work!
Wedding: 11/04/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
We worked with Shawn to get the perfect wedding cake. We visited about 4 bakeries before selecting this vendor. The cake was actually very good, and it also looked beautiful. We found them via the venue. We had less flexibility since we worked via the venue but our experience was great.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding cake came with our package provided by Altadena Town and Country Club. My husband and I went to Pastries by Nancy for our first and last cake tasting because we were happy with what Shawn provided for us. Our cake tasting consisted of a huge platter with a slice of vanilla, chocolate, marble, lemon cream, red velvet, and some fresh fruit (if you want fresh fruit with your wedding cake, it is extra). My husband and I immediately were drawn to the lemon cream and marble cake.

As far as designs go, Shawn has a few books with photos of cakes of different designs. Make sure you clarify which cake designs are included with the package and which are extra. The more intricate the design, the more likely there will be an extra charge to it. Luckily, my husband and I like the simpler design anyway, so it worked out. We just needed to get the blue ribbon to Shawn to put around each tier. Also, Shawn is a tell-it-like-it-is kind of guy, which I liked because he kept it real. He didn't use a sales consultation on me and even encouraged me to try different bakeries. I can see how his attitude might be off putting to some people, but I like his candidness and honesty.

On the day of the wedding, the cake was delivered on time. The Altadena staff were great with making sure it was put at the right place without distracting from the wedding. The cake looked amazing! I put my bouquet on the cake table, which added a nice decorative touch to it.

As for the taste, I had so many guests ask where I got the cake from. Some people were even trying to get 2 slices because they liked it that much! I definitely recommend this bakery!
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
we ordered white cake with bavarian cream filling. The cake was great. I'm still getting comments from guest on how good the cake was. The staff was patient, curtious and helpful. I'm definately using them for all future events and planning on ordering the same cake for our 1st anniversary.
Wedding: 08/18/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
All I got to say is that my cake was delicious!!! I got the vanilla cake with bavarian cream and it was so moist and not overly sweet. Asians usually don't like wedding cakes but they loved mine. Even a week after my wedding, the cake was still moist and delicious! I am so happy that they were one of the contracted vendors through my venue.
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
2.0 out of 5.0
2.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  1.0

Lauren 3 Reviews
The cake was great. But the service was TERRIBLE. We were set up with the man who works there (forget his name), not Nancy, she was unavailable at the time. He would not stop trying to go back on the quote he gave us, giving us a terrible attitude. On top of this, the day of the wedding we had a couple go pick up the cake. He had told us to only bring the amount of dry ice he had instructed, he said, "We will take care of all the rest." The day of, he said he would not do anything! The couple we sent to pick up the cake was frustrated! After a lot of arguing, he finally packed the cake, LIKE HE ORIGINALLY SAID HE WOULD. Yummy cake, TERRIBLE SERVICE. If it's worth it to you, go for it.
Wedding: 06/15/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Pastries by Nancy provided our wedding cake and we had a wonderful experience. The cake tasting was fun and choosing a flavor was easy. The design was beautiful and many of our guests told us it was the best wedding cake they had ever tasted. There wasn’t one piece leftover! Thank you so much!! Dawn and Jim
Wedding: 06/03/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Pastries by Nancy has heavenly cakes! Not too sweet and really moist...all our friends kept asking about our wedding cake even after the wedding. Definitely recommended and absolutely delicious!
Wedding: 05/19/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 9 Reviews
Sean is the cake man and does a great job with cake quality. This is not your place if you want to get an over-the-top fondant cake. He emphasizes taste and quality over theatrics. He has all the usual flavors, vanilla, chocolate, marble, lemon, carrot, and red velvet and ices with mostly bavarian cream.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our venue’s package has two bakeries they contract with and we visited both. We had a far better experience with Pasties by Nancy. The cake was really good and the presentation was top notch. We went with a 3 tiered cake (Red velvet, marble ad lemon). All our guests loved the cake and even non-cake eaters expressed how good and moist the cake was. We will be purchasing future cakes from this bakery – I just wish they could re-open a Whittier store.
Wedding: 11/26/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We ordered our wedding cake from here. Our mouthwatering, 3-tiered wedding cake with vanilla, chocolate, and marble tiers with buttercream frosting... mmmmm just thinking about it makes me salivate. And not only that, but the cake looked like a million bucks - so gorgeous and classy. I cannot look or taste another wedding cake again without comparing it (and having it coming up short) to our cake from Pastries by Nancy.
Wedding: 09/18/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The cake from here was beautiful it also tasted delicious.
Wedding: 09/10/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had Pastries by Nancy do our wedding cake for our June wedding, and couldn't have been happier with the results. The cake (red velvet) was absolutely delicious, and everyone kept complimenting it throughout the evening. I still get comments about it! It was beautifully decorated, just what we wanted. I can't wait to use their services for another special occasion. I highly recommend.
Wedding: 06/11/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 626-794-9839
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0