Nathan Desch Photography
    34 Reviews
428 Friedensburg Rd.
Reading, PA 19606  | map
Style: Contemporary, Photojournalism, Portraiture
Packages: Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (34)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Nathan is an amazing photographer. He was really fun and easy to work with. He was extremely patient with all of my questions and concerns throughout the wedding planning process. His unique style brought our wedding photos to life. We are so happy with his work!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rebecca 2 Reviews
I was initially drawn to Nathan's photography because of his artistry, composition, and use of light and color. At our first meeting, he immediately put us at ease with his friendly and personable manner. He is confident and competent in his work, communicated openly throughout the process, and always answered my questions quickly.

I really didn't feel the need to review a lot with him in advance of our wedding day. I already knew I loved his style, and trusted him fully to create beautiful photographs. Nathan instills the kind of trust that just allows the bride and groom to enjoy the day. He exceeded our expectations. We couldn't be happier with our photos. I highly recommend his services.
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I came across Nathan on the knot and instantly fell in love with the pictures. The style of photography is exactly what my (now) husband and I were looking for. We met up with Nathan and knew right away that we had found our photographer.

We had our engagement session and I was pretty nervous, because I've never had professional pictures done before. I thought it would be awkward - and of course at first it was. But that lasted all of 2 minutes. Nathan made us feel so comfortable even while he was shooting photos of my fiancée and I kissing right in the middle of a very crowded Suburban Station! We then went to JFK Plaza and to the Art Museum/Waterworks - he made sure we had all the pictures we wanted and had so many great ideas. By the end of our engagement session we were pros - we felt so comfortable that instead of a photo shoot we felt like we had just spent the day hanging out with a friend that just happened to be taking pictures. We had the e-session on a Monday, that Wednesday we had 2 "sneak peeks" and Thursday afternoon Nathan emailed us to let us know all of our pictures were available online. Seriously. 3 days.

We had our wedding on Friday May 2 at the Adventure Aquarium. This sounds cheesy, but I was so excited for the pictures of the wedding I hadn't even had yet! Nathan and Chris met up with my bridesmaids and I that morning at the salon. Just like our first experience with Nathan, the whole day we felt so comfortable and had a great time. We had some "sneak peeks" while we were on our honeymoon and a little over two weeks later we had all of our pictures. Nathan loves what he does and it shows with every picture he takes. Just look at his website!

The bad news: I love so many of the pictures that it's almost impossible to pick which ones I want to hang on my walls.

My advice to future brides: Contact Nathan ASAP because he's the best. When you're done that, buy/register for A LOT of picture frames. You are going to need them!!
Wedding: 05/02/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We were pleased with Nathan Desch and his assistant, Chris, who shot our wedding.

Nathan is friendly, patient, creative, easy going, and professional. He is flexible and willing to do whatever suits you. He listened to what we wanted and what was important to us. He didn't chime in and give us his opinions; he just did what we asked. Anything we listed on his questionnaire, he made sure to capture so be thorough with your requests. He helped to remind us of different angles we wanted or photos we had listed. He also spent the time to do some more creative, innovative shots, which turned out great.

We chose Nathan also because he doesn't have a time limit on his packages. He comes when you want and stays as long as you want. This made it easier for us to prepare and took the weight off of being worried if he'd miss out on some of the day. Also, Nathan is super accessible by email. He was very responsive to all our emails and willing to meet upon request. He offers a free engagement session, which helped us get to know each other and learn his style and what kind of shots we liked and didn't like.

Nathan has more of a natural, candid style so although I wished he gave more direction, that's not his style. He lets you be you and doesn't try to force anything. Our photos came out great. It documented our big day and that's all we can ask for.

Tip: If you don't like Nathan's poses, use your own. Speak up and ask to do your own poses. Nathan was more than happy to accommodate us. And if you need more direction, do some research on Pinterest and incorporate them.

Tip: We regret not getting more group photos. We should've made sure to get all girl photos, all guy photos, and photos with all the flowers.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I could not say enough good things about my experience with Nathan and his team. From the beginning, Nathan was extremely responsive, easy to get ahold of, and upfront about all of his pricing. My husband and I fell in love with his photos online, they really stood out compared to so many other websites we looked at. I also loved how he excels with nighttime photos - this was so helpful to us because we didn't want to see each other before the wedding and had limited day-time photo opportunities. On the day of the wedding Nathan was prompt, professional, fun, and very relaxing to be around. My husband really dislikes having his photo taken, and it was a breeze I think in part because Nathan is very non-obtrusive, and his personality is so easy-going. Most importantly, the pictures we took turned out amazing.
Nathan made sure to capture every detail of the wedding that I requested, we did photos of the bridesmaids/myself before the wedding, captured all the ceremony, family photos, wedding party photos, reception, and tons of dancing photos. He also stayed later to do some final night shots of myself and the groom which were the fun "sparkler" photos. He really tries to accommodate your schedule and desires for the entire day. I truly felt like Nathan was working for us that day, and yet his expertise was visible and he knew when to take command of a situation to ensure we got the best quality photos. I am so glad that we found him and were able to book him- if you are reading this, you should contact him ASAP!!
Wedding: 03/23/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nathan and Christelle did my wedding photos and they all came out amazing. I would seriously recommend them for any sort of special event. They were also really accommodating, they went above and beyond to fit our wedding into their schedule when we could only give them two weeks notice (it was a military wedding)! They really care about their clients and we were so blessed to have had them capture our day! Amazing photographers as well as amazing people!
Wedding: 12/27/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
After looking at various photographs from weddings at our chosen venue, Nathan’s work was by far our favorite. From our first contact with him, Nathan’s enthusiasm and responsiveness assured us that he was the photographer for us. He was flexible in creating a package that worked the best for our wedding day and budget. We had engagement pictures done, and this helped us to be more comfortable with posing. His creativity simply cannot be matched by any other photographers that we came across in the area. He takes awesome nighttime pictures! Christelle assisted him on our wedding day, and the photographs that both she and Nathan captured couldn’t be better. They took such a high volume of photos that we were not disappointed about not having a videographer. Everything was documented. Multiple family members and friends commented both on their professionalism and kindness on the wedding day, and certainly on the final product of their work. We highly recommend them! You won’t be disappointed.
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nathan did our engagement and wedding pictures. I was extremely happy with how both turned out. I love so many of our wedding pictures i have no idea how we are going to pick out just a few to print. They took a ton of pictures during our reception with the fisheye lens that I love because I can see the entire party. They even took pictures of my shoes and accessories that I had no idea they took until I saw the proofs. Nathan was very professional and made us feel very comfortable.
Wedding: 12/07/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nathan Desch Photography was great to work with! We enjoyed our engagement photo shoot and were impressed how quickly and efficiently he was able to get through our posed wedding shots and how incredible they turned out. He is very professional and flexible to work with. He is definitely the photographer you would want to have at your wedding. He is very personable and works great with the flower girls and ring bearers to help make things quick and fun for them. Nathan was always prompt to respond and extremely efficient in getting our pictures back to us. We are so incredibly pleased and excited with how our pictures turned out! They look gorgeous!!!
Wedding: 11/23/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Melissa 3 Reviews
Nathan and his wife, Christelle, were our wedding photographers (and Nathan did our engagement photos) and the quality of everything was just outstanding! From our first phone call with Nathan, through the engagement pictures, planning for the wedding, and the wedding itself, we have nothing but rave reviews for Nathan Desch Photography. These are the memories we are going to have for the rest of our lives and Nathan is worth every last penny we paid him and we would book him all over again. He has got incredible vision and imagination. We didn't want a photographer who takes the same shots, same poses, for every single event. Nathan's images are fun, creative, and the final photos are full of color and life (definitely not boring!). He also has great ideas for night shots using sparklers, spotlights, and any other lighting accent you could think of! We loved having him take care of our wedding and we couldn't be more excited with our engagement and wedding photos. If you book any other photographer you are wasting your time and money.
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I would highly recommend Nathan to future brides who are looking for someone to capture their special day in great detail. He was a pleasure to work with and answered all of our questions while providing us more examples and ideas of how things could be done. On the day of the wedding he was professional and went out of his way to produce the best photos of each and every element of the ceremony, reception, after party and everything in between. He is easy to get in contact with and I would suggest getting in touch with him as soon as possible because he books fast!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
As soon as I met with Nathan I knew he was the photographer for me! He was so comfortable to be around and very easy going. He captured my wedding day beautifully and artistically. I am excited to share all my images with my family and friends. I definitely recommend him to anyone who is looking for a photographer!
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We hired Nathan to shoot our wedding because we were looking for a more journalistic approach and we were really impressed by his portfolio. We purchased a package that included a second shooter (his wife, Christelle) and they were both amazing! They were with us all day and our pictures turned out amazing. My family and friends were really impressed with his creativity and the quality of the photos. The pictures (and video if you get it) will be what you have left once the big day is over so you will definitely want a great photographer!
Wedding: 08/09/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Melissa 3 Reviews
Nathan was a great person to work with for our non-traditional wedding. We worked out a package that fit our day and the photos turned out incredibly beautiful. Nathan has a great eye for unique photos. We couldn't have been happier with the results.
Wedding: 08/03/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Nathan and his wife Christelle were awesome to work with. From the the first meeting with Nathan to the day of our wedding we could not be happier with our choice in a photographer. I am currently still waiting for our photos (this review is a little early), but know they will be wonderful when I finally get to see them! We did our engagement session with Nathan as well, and would highly recommend doing so because it allows you to get to know one another and what each of you can expect come the the BIG DAY.

Nathan captures beautiful moments and has the ability to be creative and do something different. It is what most attracted me to him as photographer, especially how he can play with light and reflections. While I only used Nathan for our engagement/wedding photography, I know he offers a wide array of services, that given a larger budget, I would have used.

As far as communication goes, Nathan is GREAT! The wedding industry is busy, but he will always take the time to answer your questions and explain things to you... a sign of someone who knows what they are doing, is that they can help you to understand, rather than just playing "I'm the expert" and leaving you feeling underwhelmed.

When it comes to being prepared, Nathan has it covered. He provides you with informational tips at the meeting that help you to prepare for your photo needs. My husband happened to get something on his white jacket and Nathan even had a tide wipe to take care of that. He should be called "No Worries Nathan" because of his ability to make your day run smoothly with his calm and collected attitude.

I am so thankful for the opportunity to have had Nathan photograph my wedding and would highly recommend him and his wife to anyone who doesn't want the typical (lame) wedding shoot.

-Thank you most sincerely!!
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
AWESOME PHOTOGRAPHER. EVERYONE HAS SAID GREAT THINGS ABOUT MY PICTURES!
Wedding: 06/21/2013
Services Used: Photography
 484-942-9885
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0