A Monique Affair
Wedding Design & Coordination
    23 Reviews
725 Washington Street
Suite 206
Oakland, CA 94607  | map
Services: Full Planning, Partial Planning
Weddings: Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly /...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (23)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Monique Daniels of “A Monique Affair” specializes in providing wedding planning and design for civil, destination, double and eco-friendly/green weddings and events throughout California and beyond. Monique will capture the essence of your dream and bring your visions to life. She is extremely well organized and keeps a firm schedule. With her very calm and attentive demeanor, she is a professional in every sense of the word. With Monique and team AMA in tow, you won’t have to worry about a thing. She is wonderful to work with and will take care of you every step of the way, ensuring everything runs smoothly.

Monique and her team provides a personal touch that goes above and beyond your expectations to make your day special. I highly recommend A Monique Affair as it’s one of the best investments you’ll make for your special day with no regrets.
Wedding: 03/23/2014
Services Used: Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wedding day was an absolute dream thanks to the team at A Monique Affair. Talk about providing the extra personal touch, I always felt like my ideas, thoughts and excitement were always supported by the team and the owner herself, Chanda is nice and very charming.

On the day of my wedding, I nearly didn't have anything to worry about. When the caterers didn't arrive right on the dot, Chanda took charge and made the phone calls necessary to make sure everything was on it's way, and that really helped calm my nerves.

In the end, everything ran smoothly especially the transition from the ceremony to the reception. The team was on hand to corral the guests to the cocktail hour area so they could set up for the reception which was in the same patio that we exchanged our vows. They pulled it off, but the best part is hearing all my guests tell me to this day, what a great time they had.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Chanda and her staff created the perfect event for us. It was exactly as we had said we wanted. Small, simple, and elegant. It was a day that went without one thing going wrong. I had always heard that you should not expect it to ALL go well. But in our case it did. The florist, reception venue, the food, everything was just perfect.
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When I first set out to plan my wedding, I was really stressed out because my budget was so limited. It was important to me to have a very nice and tasteful wedding, but I worried that with the amount of money I had to make my wedding happen, that it would fall flat. I wasn't even sure that I could afford coordination services, but decided to consult with one anyway. I found A Monique Affair and when we met, I expressed what my worries were, what budget I was working with and ultimately what I wanted my wedding to be like.

I was really impressed with the service because instead of feeling pressured, I felt very taken care of, Chanda is a great planner who knows how to maximize what your budget allows. While I didn't end up with all the details I originally envisioned, the team was really good about working with me to edit things out and what I ended up with was a tasteful, elegant and meaningful wedding. All I can say is Thank You A Monique Affair for giving me and my family the wedding of a lifetime. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Erika 1 Reviews
Amazing, patient, kind, driven! This woman was a calm in my often storm of planning! I recommend for any event planning! She literally allowed me to relax and enjoy my own wedding!
A Monique Affair responded with the following comments:
Thank you Erika! Thank you for allowing AMA to be a part of your special day and for the continued friendship.
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kimberly 1 Reviews
Where do we start. Chanda and Team AMA is absolutely WONDERFUL to work with. We HIGHLY recommend her. Her personality, attention to detail, strong willing to stick to the budget and having a great team is what sold us. She was very well worth every penny spent on her. She went far beyond our expectations and we LOVED LOVED LOVED the way she planned and designed every thing at our wedding. Even my Maid of Honor's family fell in love with her and her work. And it was very clear that everyone had a blast. And to honor all her hard work and our love for her we secretly made arrangements to have our DJ play her favorite song and then called her out to the floor to dance with us. Those memories of all of us dancing will forever be with us. And the best part is we are now life long friends. Team AMA we can NOT thank you enough for EVERYTHING you did for us. And Chanda we are SO very proud of everything you have accomplished in your life and we look forward to seeing where Team AMA goes from here on out. If there is ever ANYTHING you need, you know who to call. We love you and will definitely BRAG to our hearts content about you and your amazing work.
A Monique Affair responded with the following comments:
Kim, you are forever my friend! We love you and Juan at AMA :)
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I started working with Chanda 4-5 months before my wedding. A wedding planner was never apart of my plans/budget. We decided to use the venues coordinator until we got a shocking surprise she was no longer with the venue, and there was no replacement. Our florist referred us to AMA and thank god she did! If I had known what I know now Chanda would have been the FIRST vender on my list she was a dream to work with and exceeded my expectations. She went above and beyond to make my day special I could not thank her enough I felt like a celebrity the day of. She was with me every step of the way leading up to the big day ensuring everything would run smoothly and it did :-) I did not have a single guest complain to me in fact guest complimented how great of a job my wedding planner was doing and how her staff made sure they wanted for nothing. Chanda and her staff are very professional on time pay attention to detail and will make your dream come alive. If theres a issue you will not know about it trust me when I say she is worth it :-) my husband and I are so thankful.
A Monique Affair responded with the following comments:
Danyell, you are the sweetest ever! We were so happy to be a part of your day! We love you and Mansa :)
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Wanda 1 Reviews
Pays attention to detail and what the client truly wants!!! Very professional and excellent price. I used A Monique Affair for my daughters bridal shower and my daughter used the company for her wedding. I was left speechless at both events! I was finally able to enjoy an event that I hosted without worrying about a thing. She can really capture the essence of your dream and make it a reality and she came in under budget! I can not say enough good things about this company and it's owner. I am looking forward to working with A Monique Affair again for my husband's 60th birthday and it's a few years away!
A Monique Affair responded with the following comments:
Wanda it was a pleasure working with you!
Wedding: 09/21/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Layla 1 Reviews
Chanda was a tremendous help in the coordination of my wedding. She was very on top of things and kept everyone and everything on time and on task with very little stress- she was able to organize the day so that everything that was supposed to happen did! Her very calm and professional demeanor put everyone at ease. My wedding day was amazing and Chanda was there assisting me starting at the planning phase and through the wedding day. Thanks much!
Wedding: 09/13/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jen 1 Reviews
Couldn't be happier, made our day perfect!
Wedding: 08/11/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Chanda from A Monique Affair was the first vendor that I hired when I started planning our 11.11.11 wedding. She was on the ball from the very beginning. She helped us to find a venue, choose a caterer, select a photographer, and secure most of our other vendors. It was especially helpful having someone prescreen our vendors. Everyone we met knew our vision for the day and already knew our budget - very helpful! Leading up to the wedding, she was very reassuring and triple checked every detail so we didn't have to. On the day of the event, Chanda and her team provided excellent service. All we had to worry about was having a good time. Several of our guests remarked it was the best wedding they had ever been to and I have to agree!
Wedding: 11/11/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A wedding planner is someone that you want who you can completely trust, is organized, detailed and can execute your vision - that is exactly what Chanda did! She was able to manage everything on a tight timeline, communicated well with other vendors and above all made sure that we were calm and everything was what we were expecting. During the planning process, she always asked the right questions to be sure she understood our vision and once the day rolled around, she was able to execute all of the details independently.
Wedding: 09/10/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Chanda was amazing! We hired her as a day of coordinator about a month before our wedding - admittedly late in the game. As the date approached we realized more and more that it would be really nice to have someone at the venue who could competently make sure that everything was going as planned. Chanda's ability to listen to our vision and assure us that we were on the right track helped us relax so much more during the last month of planning! On the day of our wedding, neither one of us had to worry for one second that things weren't going well in our absence. I had 100% confidence that Chanda had my back as a bride....and everything went SO smoothly. The greatest thing of all was knowing that even if things didn't go smoothly, I didn't have to hear about it because I knew Chanda would take care of it without having to involve me. Hiring a wedding coordinator in the final stages of planning could have been hugely expensive, but Chanda was able to work within our very tight budget! A Monique Affair was worth every penny!
Wedding: 07/31/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A Monique Affair started with us when we only had a few ideas and brought our wedding to a carefully orchestrated, beautiful, and relaxing evening. Chanda selected a few high-quality florists, caterers and cake makers, arranged the tasting and viewings, then guided us through the process to put all the pieces together. I ended up being able to spend time with my family and friends rather than feeling frazzled with the details during our wedding, dinner and reception. One quality in which she excels, and that really sets her apart, is calm attentiveness. I recommended her to a friend who got married this weekend, and again saw the kindness and peace in the midst of the flurry. She handled the stressful bits so the couple could sail forward in ease. Her coordinated notes on a clipboard are impressive!
Wedding: 02/21/2004
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A Monique Affair was one of the best experience of my life. I enjoyed every moment of planning my wedding, it was fun and drama free. Chanda is polite and professional, I enjoyed working with her for my wedding and even had her coordinate my baby shower 10 months after the wedding. Thank You, A Monique Affair for making my dream day happen.
Wedding: 05/26/2001
Services Used: Wedding Planning
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I found A Monique Affair (Chanda) through weddingwire.com. I am originally from the Bay Area but live on the east coast now. I did not need a planner for the entire wedding but what was most important to us was the day of. We did not want to deal with pantyhose getting a run in them or I can't find my bow tie! We just wanted to enjoy our day. A Monique Affair offers "The Day of Services". Initially my conversations and planning meetings over the phone were with Chanda. As my wedding got closer I began to work with her entire team. They were great! They took care of all my vendor business that I had set up, sent out my time line to everyone that needed it. And put a plan in place for the day to run smoothly and to help carryout the vision that we had for our day. The day of my wedding I was given an attendant named Sarah. I did not know what I was going to do with this girl because I thought i had everything pretty much under control. But I was wrong ! :) Sarah went back and forth between my husband and I rooms taking care of little details. She stayed with me while we took pictures , coordinated with another team member that was downstairs helping with the transportation for the guest, wedding party and myself. Sarah stayed with me until it was time to go to the church and I can honestly say I think I would have been a bridezilla if I didn't have her. Chanda and the rest of the team were waiting for us at the church and everything was perfection. The decor was just perfect and everything was just as we wanted. Our reception was great as well. The venue was perfectly decorated just as we had described to them and they handled everything from setting up the venue, switching guest at tables to cleaning and boxing everything back up for the vendors. In a few words they were professional and on point with everything. We were truly luck to find A Monique Affair (Chanda) and her team!
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
 510-334-3752
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0