A Monique Affair
Wedding Design & Coordination
1624 Franklin Street
Suite 500
Oakland, CA 94612  | map
Services: Full Planning, Partial Planning
Weddings: Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly /...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (25)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
A Monique Affair did a great job in coordinating the wedding - from helping us to identify the vendors, caterer, venue - to detailed project planning - to the day-of-event coordination. It was all executed flawlessly and with exquisite precision.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rebecca 1 Reviews
A Monique Affair was essential to making our wedding the perfect day! Every member of the team was organized, responsive, and anticipated our every need. We would absolutely recommend them to anyone who was planning a big event.
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Monique Daniels of “A Monique Affair” specializes in providing wedding planning and design for civil, destination, double and eco-friendly/green weddings and events throughout California and beyond. Monique will capture the essence of your dream and bring your visions to life. She is extremely well organized and keeps a firm schedule. With her very calm and attentive demeanor, she is a professional in every sense of the word. With Monique and team AMA in tow, you won’t have to worry about a thing. She is wonderful to work with and will take care of you every step of the way, ensuring everything runs smoothly.

Monique and her team provides a personal touch that goes above and beyond your expectations to make your day special. I highly recommend A Monique Affair as it’s one of the best investments you’ll make for your special day with no regrets.
Wedding: 03/23/2014
Services Used: Unique Services (Other)
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I found A Monique Affair (Chanda) through weddingwire.com. I am originally from the Bay Area but live on the east coast now. I did not need a planner for the entire wedding but what was most important to us was the day of. We did not want to deal with pantyhose getting a run in them or I can't find my bow tie! We just wanted to enjoy our day. A Monique Affair offers "The Day of Services". Initially my conversations and planning meetings over the phone were with Chanda. As my wedding got closer I began to work with her entire team. They were great! They took care of all my vendor business that I had set up, sent out my time line to everyone that needed it. And put a plan in place for the day to run smoothly and to help carryout the vision that we had for our day. The day of my wedding I was given an attendant named Sarah. I did not know what I was going to do with this girl because I thought i had everything pretty much under control. But I was wrong ! :) Sarah went back and forth between my husband and I rooms taking care of little details. She stayed with me while we took pictures , coordinated with another team member that was downstairs helping with the transportation for the guest, wedding party and myself. Sarah stayed with me until it was time to go to the church and I can honestly say I think I would have been a bridezilla if I didn't have her. Chanda and the rest of the team were waiting for us at the church and everything was perfection. The decor was just perfect and everything was just as we wanted. Our reception was great as well. The venue was perfectly decorated just as we had described to them and they handled everything from setting up the venue, switching guest at tables to cleaning and boxing everything back up for the vendors. In a few words they were professional and on point with everything. We were truly luck to find A Monique Affair (Chanda) and her team!
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wedding day was an absolute dream thanks to the team at A Monique Affair. Talk about providing the extra personal touch, I always felt like my ideas, thoughts and excitement were always supported by the team and the owner herself, Chanda is nice and very charming.

On the day of my wedding, I nearly didn't have anything to worry about. When the caterers didn't arrive right on the dot, Chanda took charge and made the phone calls necessary to make sure everything was on it's way, and that really helped calm my nerves.

In the end, everything ran smoothly especially the transition from the ceremony to the reception. The team was on hand to corral the guests to the cocktail hour area so they could set up for the reception which was in the same patio that we exchanged our vows. They pulled it off, but the best part is hearing all my guests tell me to this day, what a great time they had.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Chanda and her staff created the perfect event for us. It was exactly as we had said we wanted. Small, simple, and elegant. It was a day that went without one thing going wrong. I had always heard that you should not expect it to ALL go well. But in our case it did. The florist, reception venue, the food, everything was just perfect.
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  1.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  2.5

Aliya 1 Reviews
AMA did a great job on the day-of event coordination for my wedding, including the timeline, favors, wedding program, vendor confirmation and general oversight. The staff are personable and very kind. AMA's attention to detail is very impressive. It is also an enterprise that possesses a strong creative flair, which is important for weddings. I really appreciated the extra services too, like parking attendants, concierge (who was immensely calm and helpful), and personal item-drop off. AMA thinks of everything before you do, so you can enjoy your special day. The only areas for improvement I would suggest are responsiveness: AMA advertises as having a 48 hour email response time, but it was typically 4-5 days which can be difficult. Also, more coordination of the rehearsal dinner would have been good, i.e. an agenda, guidance to the client beforehand, communication of the goals etc. Otherwise, fantastic team!
A Monique Affair responded with the following comments:
Aliya + Michael’s wedding was a beautiful occasion and our team did what it does best, delivered a flawless day. When I initially consulted with Aliya she showed an interest in our day-of coordination services and is the package she selected. It’s unfortunate to hear she didn’t have the best rehearsal dinner experience because I took extra caution to explain that day-of coordination services do not include coordination of the rehearsal dinner, but instead a ceremony rehearsal the day before wedding at the venue. Aliya only wanted a traditional rehearsal dinner the day before the wedding and we were flexible enough to attend the dinner to give the wedding party a talk about ceremony procedure like we had agreed. I encourage open lines of communication with every client or bride I work with, because communication is the key to a perfect experience and that is what I aim to deliver each time. When clients return their contracts with us, we immediately assign them into our project management system (Basecamp) and aim to respond within 48 hours. Within the month of working with Aliya, our average respond time was 24 hours, because of the short time frame. We are sorry if Aliya felt as if that time was not fast enough. Weddings are important milestones and we do our best to leave our clients with a good lasting impression and a flawless event.
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Favors & Gifts, Wedding Planning, Party Supplies
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When I first set out to plan my wedding, I was really stressed out because my budget was so limited. It was important to me to have a very nice and tasteful wedding, but I worried that with the amount of money I had to make my wedding happen, that it would fall flat. I wasn't even sure that I could afford coordination services, but decided to consult with one anyway. I found A Monique Affair and when we met, I expressed what my worries were, what budget I was working with and ultimately what I wanted my wedding to be like.

I was really impressed with the service because instead of feeling pressured, I felt very taken care of, Chanda is a great planner who knows how to maximize what your budget allows. While I didn't end up with all the details I originally envisioned, the team was really good about working with me to edit things out and what I ended up with was a tasteful, elegant and meaningful wedding. All I can say is Thank You A Monique Affair for giving me and my family the wedding of a lifetime. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Jessica 1 Reviews
We hired Chanda to be out day-of wedding coordinator and she provided overall great service. She knows the business, is enthusiastic, and professional. She thinks creatively and has great ideas about event design.

If you're looking for a traditional wedding, Chanda's a great resource.
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Erika 1 Reviews
Amazing, patient, kind, driven! This woman was a calm in my often storm of planning! I recommend for any event planning! She literally allowed me to relax and enjoy my own wedding!
A Monique Affair responded with the following comments:
Thank you Erika! Thank you for allowing AMA to be a part of your special day and for the continued friendship.
Wedding: 07/13/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kimberly 1 Reviews
Where do we start. Chanda and Team AMA is absolutely WONDERFUL to work with. We HIGHLY recommend her. Her personality, attention to detail, strong willing to stick to the budget and having a great team is what sold us. She was very well worth every penny spent on her. She went far beyond our expectations and we LOVED LOVED LOVED the way she planned and designed every thing at our wedding. Even my Maid of Honor's family fell in love with her and her work. And it was very clear that everyone had a blast. And to honor all her hard work and our love for her we secretly made arrangements to have our DJ play her favorite song and then called her out to the floor to dance with us. Those memories of all of us dancing will forever be with us. And the best part is we are now life long friends. Team AMA we can NOT thank you enough for EVERYTHING you did for us. And Chanda we are SO very proud of everything you have accomplished in your life and we look forward to seeing where Team AMA goes from here on out. If there is ever ANYTHING you need, you know who to call. We love you and will definitely BRAG to our hearts content about you and your amazing work.
A Monique Affair responded with the following comments:
Kim, you are forever my friend! We love you and Juan at AMA :)
Wedding: 04/27/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I started working with Chanda 4-5 months before my wedding. A wedding planner was never apart of my plans/budget. We decided to use the venues coordinator until we got a shocking surprise she was no longer with the venue, and there was no replacement. Our florist referred us to AMA and thank god she did! If I had known what I know now Chanda would have been the FIRST vender on my list she was a dream to work with and exceeded my expectations. She went above and beyond to make my day special I could not thank her enough I felt like a celebrity the day of. She was with me every step of the way leading up to the big day ensuring everything would run smoothly and it did :-) I did not have a single guest complain to me in fact guest complimented how great of a job my wedding planner was doing and how her staff made sure they wanted for nothing. Chanda and her staff are very professional on time pay attention to detail and will make your dream come alive. If theres a issue you will not know about it trust me when I say she is worth it :-) my husband and I are so thankful.
A Monique Affair responded with the following comments:
Danyell, you are the sweetest ever! We were so happy to be a part of your day! We love you and Mansa :)
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Wanda 1 Reviews
Pays attention to detail and what the client truly wants!!! Very professional and excellent price. I used A Monique Affair for my daughters bridal shower and my daughter used the company for her wedding. I was left speechless at both events! I was finally able to enjoy an event that I hosted without worrying about a thing. She can really capture the essence of your dream and make it a reality and she came in under budget! I can not say enough good things about this company and it's owner. I am looking forward to working with A Monique Affair again for my husband's 60th birthday and it's a few years away!
A Monique Affair responded with the following comments:
Wanda it was a pleasure working with you!
Wedding: 09/21/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

La Wanda 1 Reviews
A Monique Affair planned my dream wedding. It was the most beautiful, calming wedding and the best day of my life! All of my fantasies and visions for our wedding came to life because AMA made it happen. She was flexible with my budget and requests, I felt like a queen and I would recommend her to any bride who expects the best!
Wedding: 09/21/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Layla 1 Reviews
Chanda was a tremendous help in the coordination of my wedding. She was very on top of things and kept everyone and everything on time and on task with very little stress- she was able to organize the day so that everything that was supposed to happen did! Her very calm and professional demeanor put everyone at ease. My wedding day was amazing and Chanda was there assisting me starting at the planning phase and through the wedding day. Thanks much!
Wedding: 09/13/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Very professional and kept me and my bride on schedule the whole day.
Wedding: 09/13/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
 510-334-3752
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0