Monica Cook Make Up Artistry
Baltimore, MD 21239  | map
Services: Body Art, Makeup
Consultations: Yes
Large groups: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (24)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

tracee 2 Reviews
Monica was amazing. In addition to being a very talented make up artist, she is also extremely personable. I am not very knowledgeable about make-up and only told Monica that I wanted to be a beautiful version of myself. In spite of only receiving this limited guidance, she was able to give me exactly what I wanted (even though I didn't know exactly what I wanted). In addition, she took the time to explain what she was doing and how it would lead to the finished picture. On the day of the wedding, she was a calming presence in the room and helped to put me at ease. She was also very flexible and was willing to squeeze in several additional people (on top of my entire bridal party). Her prices are more than reasonable, especially given how talented she is. She was an absolute pleasure to work with. Monical Cook is now my go to make-up artist and I recommend her highly!
Wedding: 04/06/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Julie 5 Reviews
I contacted Monica a week before my wedding, and she miraculously was available. I went in for a make up trial and was blown away by how talented she was. I had been to about 10 trials at mall counters and other make up artists and hated every trial until she did my make up. On my wedding day, Monica did my make up, my mother, and my bridesmaids, and her patience and positive attitude helped calm us all down...even after dealing with the stress of possibly not having power after a crazy storm the night before. Not only did everyone's make up look flawless, it also stayed on through 100 degrees, crying, hugging, and LOTS of sweaty dancing! Monica was one of my favorite vendors I worked with for my wedding and especially as a bride who was a bit obsessive about my own make up, I assure you Monica is the best make up artist out there!
Wedding: 06/30/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Monica did such an incredible job on my makeup and was such a pleasure to work with. She is so personable and downright hilarious, which made my trial even more fun and the hours leading up to my wedding so much less stressful. She really listened and understood the look I was going for and made me look and feel great on my wedding day. The best part is that my makeup stayed on and in place the entire night, after many tears and a LOT of dancing! With her theater makeup background, she really knows how ensure makeup stays on in spite of heat, etc. and because of that my pictures from the beginning to the end of the night look flawless. I highly recommend Monica!
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Monica Cook is IMPECCABLE!!!! Her talents are truly gifted. Monica listens to your vision and executes it. My wedding was vintage romantic and Monica gave me that classic, timeless look that was PHENOMINAL! I didn't want the traditional "wedding" eye...she LISTENED! She was prompt and focused with a smile on wedding day. She single handedly created 11 beautiful faces that morning...WOW! Everyone felt as gorgeous as me- The Bride! LOL Our make up lasted ALLLLL day. I never felt like I had to touch up or refresh ( except lips, of course). Thank you! Thank You! THANK YOU!!!!!

Monica Cook Make Up Artistry......YOU ROCK!!!!!
Wedding: 05/20/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Monica was such a joy to work with! She's very personable and professional. I told her I didn't wear make-up so I wanted it to look natural. And at the end of my trial not only did my make-up look great I felt great because we talked and laughed so much. She makes you feel so comfortable. By the time she finished make-up for my MOH,BM,MOB, and myself (the Bride) we all looked beautiful and the make-up was flawless! Even after five hours of tears, hugs, pictures, and kisses my make-up looked great! My husband kept telling me how beautiful I looked the entire night. I not only found a fabulous MUA but I gained a new friend.....thanks Monica !!
Wedding: 03/24/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Mrs. 5 Reviews
Monica was simply amazing!! She was professional and had me looking beautiful until the very end. By the end of the night, I had sweat out my hair from all the dancing but my makeup was intact. It didn't look caked on, but very natural. I received compliants all night long about my makeup!!

She was worth every penny!!
Wedding: 03/16/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Can not say enough good things about Monica. I got to work with her twice (my wedding and a friend's wedding) and she is absolutely amazing. I have gotten more compliments on my makeup than anything else- especially in our photographs. She listens to her clients and works with the look they're going for- I'm not much of a makeup person and she didn't push me out of my comfort zone but she did make our entire bridal party look absolutely smashing. I never once had to touch up my makeup throughout the whole night! Definitely book Monica- she's a joy to have around on the day of your wedding!
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Robyn 11 Reviews
Let me start out by saying, "Monica Cook is AWESOME!"

I came across Monica Cook by reading reviews here on Wedding Wire. At the make-up trial, I couldn't hold my face still because Monica made me laugh so much! Her personality is amazing.

Monica came to our venue to do the makeup my sister, mother, and I. Her skills are flawless. She matched our complexions beautifully and made sure everything was to our liking.

Monica uses theater make-up so that your make-up can stand up to lights, sweat, and wiping tears. I highly recommend Monica to anyone needing a special look for a special day. Her professionalism and skill is an amazing gift.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

FW 9 Reviews
I knew I would go with Monica right after I met her. She was ENERGY on two feet. I met her for a trial in the spring and had a blast! She has the most beautiful studio, which I was very impressed about. She also knew what I wanted and realized my vision of what I wanted to look like on my wedding day. She made my mother, my sister, my MIL and myself look glamorous on my wedding day. My entire family thought I looked stunning! My friend even emailed me right after the wedding asking for Monica's information. She works very fast, was very focus, was very clean and was very sensitive to our needs. I highly recommend her for your wedding!
Wedding: 08/13/2011
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Monica had me looking FABULOUS!!! I will forever be in her debt! Any major event I attend in the future which requires me to look amazing, I will be calling Monica. She is #7 on speed dial!
Wedding: 09/25/2010
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Monica Cook, owner of Monica Cook Make-up Artistry, was the 1st person to do my make-up since the 2 bad experiences I had going to MAC. From our 1st telephone conversation, I felt like we shared the same vision for my bridal parties make-up. When my MOH & I went to see her for a consultation & from the 1st step she took all the way through until the end when she had completed my make-up, she talked to me, explaining everything that she was doing as well as things that she would add the day of. When she was finished I felt so beautiful! I'm not a big make-up wearer, chapstick is as close to lipstick as I get on a day to day routine but when she was finished I wanted to start wearing it at least 3 times a week. On the day of my wedding Monica & her assistant transformed us from normal everyday women to gorgeous super models!!!

I find myself stuck between a rock & a hard place because this wedding has brought 2 amazing make-up artists into my life & I can't pick just one :) I give Monica 100% recommendation as well as adding her to our family!!!
Wedding: 06/26/2010
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Another... 9 Reviews
I knew I would go with Monica right after I met her. She was ENERGY on two feet. I met her for a trial in the spring and had a blast! She has the most beautiful studio, which I was very impressed about. She also knew what I wanted and realized my vision of what I wanted to look like on my wedding day. She made my mother, my sister, my MIL and myself look glamorous on my wedding day. My entire family thought I looked stunning! My friend even emailed me right after the wedding asking for Monica's information. She works very fast, was very focus, was very clean and was very sensitive to our needs. I highly recommend her for your wedding!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Tamara 8 Reviews
Monica is fabulous. She is friendly, professional and I think price wise very reasonable for her services. She did my make-up for my engagement photos and it photographed beautiful. She did my whole bridal party and the moms on the day of. We ALL looked amazing and the make-up lasted the ENTIRE night. She combined air-brush and traditional we looked like WEDDING DIVAS. I think went it is time to do my B-Pics I will want Monica there with me to glam me up! The other thing is my mom commented that Monica seemed like one of my friends. Very easy going. Thanks again Monica!
Wedding: 11/20/2009
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Monica is an absolutely fabulous makeup artist, a wonderful person, and an exceptionally competent and responsive vendor. What more could you want? Before our wedding, she responded to almost every call and e-mail within the hour, took her time during my makeup trial making sure she understood the look that I was going for and then creating that look on me, and otherwise being a fun and supportive person to work with. On our wedding day, she arrived at our hotel on time, and then worked diligently and thoroughly to make sure that every member of my bridal party looked fabulous. She ensured that she enough time to do an amazing job on every single person and was so bubbly and fun that we laughed our way through getting ready. (Also, she dispensed awesome makeup tips that we all use daily now).

What I REALLY appreciate about Monica, though, is how devoted she is to her craft and how talented she is. She UNDERSTANDS makeup and has enough experience to know what it takes to make someone look beautifully enhanced rather than made over, if that makes any sense. She has a keen eye for bone structure, color, and light, and works with those to bring out the natural beauty inherent in any face. Not only that, but she's worked with enough people and different kinds of faces to do a phenomenal job on ANYONE (which is very important for someone, like me, with a multiracial bridal party). She also has a deep understanding of how makeup photographs and holds up over time which is incredibly important when you're about to have your picture taken a thousand times over eight hours.

In short, if you're getting married in the DC/MD/VA area, you should absolutely hire Monica. She'll be one of the best vendors you work with. I can't recommend her highly enough.
Wedding: 11/14/2009
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

mdchica02 3 Reviews
Monica is absolutley fantastic!! She did my makeup for My March 2010 wedding, and I have nothing, but great things to say about her and her work. She also offers airbrushing makeup services. Her prices are reasonable and she offers a FREE trial!! Monica is worth a shot, you will be happy you chose her!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Monica was a dream to work with. She was professional yet fun and helped to lighten the mood as the time leading up to the event can be stressful. I love how my pictures turned out. Her services are well worth the price.
Wedding: 09/03/2009
Services Used: Beauty & Health
 609-496-1614
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0