Mindful Ministry -- Rev. William F. Mies
Weddings and Other Ministerial Services
    24 Reviews
Arnold, MD 21012  | map
Services: Civil Union, Interfaith Ceremony, Non-religious...
Religious affliliations: Agnostic, Baha'i Faith, Buddhist, Christian (no...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (24)   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Rev Bill and his wife Joanne were outstanding. They helped us plan an incredible ceremony that our guests remarked on as truly touching. Their gentle guidance throughout the process of creating the ceremony was always helpful, thoughtful and ensured that every aspect really reflected us as a couple.

Most importantly, Rev Bill really helped us not only emphasize the deep importance of our marriage, but also shared with us with multiple mindfulness-based stress reduction lessons and exercises!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Was a beautiful ceremony, thank you Rev.Mies
Wedding: 09/19/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Working with Rev. Mies was so helpful and comforting. I am so pleased with how the ceremony turned out and will miss our meetings with the Rev.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rev. Mies was the most pleasant person to work with in the entire process of planning my wedding!! From the first meeting we had with him, I knew we found the perfect officiant to marry us. He allows you to create a wedding ceremony that speaks about the couple.

He made my husband and I feel very comfortable in every way! I would definitely recommend his services to anyone who is in need of an officiant. His services were very useful in creating our ceremony but also brought us closer together as a couple.

His prices may be a little steep for some, but I promise it is worth it! He and his wife both helped to make our ceremony perfect. All the guests are still talking about it! Rev. Mies is very personable, professional and just all around very nice and easy to work with. I wish I was planning my wedding again so that I could see him and his wife again!! Very nice people!
Wedding: 09/14/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

SDelve 9 Reviews
From start to finish, Reverend Bill was a delight to work with. His process is wonderful: my husband and I met with him about 4-5 times before the wedding, and each meeting he got to know us a little better. Our first meeting was entirely about getting to know one another, and his life story is fascinating. He completely understood our religious and spiritual background, and we were able to work together to make a beautiful ceremony. With his guidance, my husband and I picked out each section of the wedding to make it unique and special. Perhaps most importantly, Rev. Bill places an emphasis on mindfulness, for both the ceremony and throughout our marriage. This was immensely helpful, as we were both a bit anxious about having a large ceremony. His lessons on mindfulness helped keep us in the moment on our wedding day, and we appreciated each moment of our ceremony.
Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jamie 4 Reviews
William was the absolute BEST part of our planning process. We met with him several times in person to create our ceremony from the ground up. He has a very peaceful presence about him that eased my mind in the times we met which was very needed since planning can be extremely stressful. He reminded us of what's truly important... love, and being in the moment. I've already recommended him to several people and will continue to do so.
Wedding: 12/07/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Bill served as the officiant for my recent wedding. In all ways, he was accommodating and incredibly helpful. His performance was from the heart and well paced. He spoke with gravitas and love. He did this because he had truly gotten to know my wife and I over the course of our wedding preparation. Bill's services require some serious commitment. That would be my only "caution" about hiring him. Be prepared to spend at least 4 fairly long sessions with him, getting to know him and planning the details of your ceremony. If you're looking for a simpler experience, perhaps Bill's not for you. But, if you're looking for someone who is willing and able to tailor a service perfectly to you, care about your happiness, and truly give you your money's worth (he charged more than most officiants we talked to, but he was definitely worth it), Bill's your man. We were looking for a spiritual yet not too religious service, a fairly quick yet momentous/meaningful ceremony. Bill helped us articulate exactly what it was we wanted, and then he delivered. So, big take-aways: Bill's services are fairly expensive, and they require a pretty big time commitment on your part (to include some homework, writing about your spouse-to-be and your relationship...but fear not, this process will help you write your vows too). But, his service was second to none from the minute we hired him through the ceremony and beyond. Definitely recommend.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rev. Bill Mies was the most positive, memorable part of our entire wedding journey! I cannot say enough wonderful things about Bill.

My husband and I met with Bill four times before the big day. Initially we thought we were just getting to know each other...but each visit became more and more meaningful. Not only did we get to learn about Bill, but I learned more about myself as an individual, I learned about my husband, and I learned what is needed in order to build a solid marriage/relationship.

To us, it was important to know what was going to be said at our ceremony. And this is one of the reasons why Bill was so wonderful to work with. He helped us create and design our own ceremony. He provided us with the basic guidelines and we were able to pick our readings and each piece of the ceremony ourselves. During the third and fourth visit, we went through the entire ceremony. As a bride, this helped me feel at ease during the big day. I walked down the aisle feeling amazingly comfortable and I owe this to Rev. Bill!

We received and are still receiving countless positive comments on our ceremony and vows. Everyone feels our ceremony was unique and so meaningful, not your average wedding ceremony.

I am so fortunate to have crossed paths with Rev. Bill and cannot thank him enough for being part of our special day!
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Bill guided us through the steps to create our wedding. Over the times we met he came to know us well, had us participate in exercises that were meaningful and of value, and helped us connect at a deeper level.
Wedding: 08/18/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
It was an awesome experience, I was not expecting to enjoy the process as much as I did. Everything was really organized, and we felt that no one else could take care of us in such a great way for our special day.

Thank you guys, it was everything we could have hoped for.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Mindful Ministries was such a meaningful and memorable experience for my husband and I. We really learned such much about ourselves and each other. I would recommend and urge every engaged couple to use Rev.Mies as he just makes the process of engagement through marriage so special.

You will get a unique experience here. You learn how to stop, pause and breathe. You are reminded to appreciate who you are, how you add to your partner's life and how you work together as a couple. You honestly get even new ways to appreciate your partner for just who they are, no matter how long you've been together. It is just a totally simple yet imperative view of you, your fiance and life in general.
Wedding: 03/24/2013
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My fiancé and I are so grateful we found Rev Bill a few weeks before our wedding. He spent as much time with us as possible to get to know both of us. We shared stories and ideas. After a couple meetings, it felt like we've known him our entire lives. He is so caring and patient. He was perfect for us. His wife also helped significantly. They made sure our ceremony was personal and meaningful. Together, we all built a great ceremony. We rehearsed it together, as well as during the rehearsal dinner.

I don't know what we would have done without him. Rev Mies is absolutely amazing.
Wedding: 09/01/2012
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Sarah 1 Reviews
In all honesty, the preparation we did with Bill and Joanne was the best part of our wedding. Although it is always stressful to commit to after-work sessions, every night we got to sit down with Bill we were instantly relaxed, happy and content. Bill has a great way of having you focus on the moment and the love between us. He takes his time to get to know each of you individually as well as a couple. Although we work through questions, it always flows naturally and as part of the conversation. The second meeting with Bill is when you start developing your ceremony based on his knowledge of the two of you as well as your wants and preferences. We wanted to appease my religious family with my husband's non-religious family while making our ceremony unique, special and fun. We wanted the ceremony to be very realistic and commitment focused, as opposed to any fluffy, "meant to be", higher power language. Bill was very adept in choosing readings and ceremonies that helped speak to our individual preferences. Then we read them together and changed wordings and sentences we didn't like. We literally created our own ceremony based on his and our suggested readings and rituals.

Our wedding day was small with only immediate family on the eastern shore. Bill and Joanne joined and fit right in with everyone. They were great company and a welcome addition to our day. My family laughed and cried throughout the ceremony and I have never been a part of a more warm, special and individual ceremony. It truly was all about us, but tailored specifically to us. My wedding wouldn't have been the same or as wonderful if I hadn't made the decision to work with Bill. We continue to keep in touch with Bill and Joanne every other month or so. They are a wonderful, giving and thoughtful couple that we truly were blessed to meet.
Wedding: 08/24/2012
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Allison 2 Reviews
Reverend Mies really put so much time into my ceremony. He wanted to make sure that everything was perfect.
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Bill is amazing-- I cannot even describe how thrilled we are with the beautiful, personal, intimate wedding ceremony he helped us create. We got compliments about so many things on our wedding day, but the thing I heard the most was "That was the most beautiful ceremony I have ever seen."

Bill invests a lot of time in creating the perfect ceremony and expects his couples to do the same-- it is well worth the time and monetary investment. We did not get married in a church, but my family is Catholic so I know that the fact that Bill used to be a priest was important to many of my family members. And the fact that he is married was important to us! This ceremony was so important to us that it is the only part of the day we paid to have a vidographer record, and I cannot wait to see the video!!

I highly recommend Rev. William Mies to anyone who wants a personal, unique wedding ceremony!
Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Officiant
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rev. Bill was the perfect fit for our wedding! He was reverent, inviting, and offered stoic presence for our ceremony. We enjoyed our wedding preparatory meetings with Bill. We live in Richmond, VA and so planning our ceremony as well as preparing as a couple was more challenging due to the distance, but Bill was so helpful and flexible and aided in a seamless "big day". He made our ceremony unique and let us customize our ceremony to fit our relationship. He tailored our ceremony to our style and crafted a beautiful message prior to our vows that was perfect for our personalities and our setting. We look forward to celebrating many years if happy marriage thanks to Rev. Bill's coaching, guidance, and nuptials.
Wedding: 05/19/2012
Services Used: Officiant
 410-349-1980
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0