Meridian House
1630 Crescent Place, NW
Washington, DC 20009  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (30)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.4/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.5/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.3/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Maria and her team did a great job facilitating our event and working with all our vendors. The space at Meridian is also beautiful. We had our ceremony in the garden, cocktail hour in the linden grove, and the reception inside. The price is a little high, but it does include all the tables and chairs, which isn't true at all the comparable sites.
Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Meridian House was an exceptional venue. The beauty of the house and the grounds made it so very little needed to be added in terms of decor--it's wonderful on its own. We had an outdoor ceremony in the garden, a cocktail hour in the Linden Grove, and dinner and dancing inside the house. Maria was absolutely terrific to work with--she made sure all the vendors had the info they needed and helped everything to flow perfectly the day of the event. She was also very helpful and responsive with all of my questions during the planning process. This place is magical!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Meridian House was a great venue for my wedding reception! Everything looked beautiful, and went off without a hitch. Maria was very accommodating and helpful when dealing with other vendors. It was everything I had ever dreamed of and more.
Wedding: 04/05/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We couldn't have had such a beautiful and gorgeous wedding were it not for the Meridian House. Maria and everyone else on staff was very helpful throughout the entire process, especially during the day-of preparations. The five different rooms made it easy to separate the different parts of the wedding while having everything flow smoothly. We only wish the night could have gone on longer!
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Amazing. It was everything we could have hoped for and more. Maria was a dream to work with and accommodated my every request. She was always available and flexible. It was perfect for our 100 people wedding, and the wedding felt cozy, elegant and intimate. I can't recommend enough!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

gailforcew... 4 Reviews
This venue is stunning. You will save on flowers and decor because the venue itself is so beautiful. Maria, the venue coordinator, is incredibly responsive, knowledgeable and helpful. The space was perfect for hosting both our ceremony and reception. It's convenient to hotels so guests don't have to travel far. We were worried about splitting guests up into two adjoined rooms for dinner because we thought people in the smaller room might feel excluded, but it didn't feel that way at all. We sat near the door that joined the rooms and it was fine.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Beautiful venue! Especially the Linden Grove where we had cocktail hour! Maria was great to work with!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When planning our wedding, we knew that we did not want a typical "big box" wedding in a hotel. The Meridian House is an absolutely gorgeous location for your event. With no rain plan, I wanted a location where the inside was just as beautiful as the outside. We had SO many compliments about our venue and were told that our wedding was "the most elegant wedding" that many people had ever attended.

Not only is the venue itself an unforgettable setting, but Maria is absolutely amazing to work with. She is extremely helpful and sweet and I cannot imagine having worked with anyone else. There was construction on the entrance and we were unable to enter through the front door AND there was a massive storm on our wedding day just as the ceremony was about to begin. Those 2 things would create tears for any bride, but I was calm knowing that I was in good hands with Maria and that our venue was so gorgeous, it would make no difference in the world to any of our guests.

If you chose the Meridian, you will have beautiful pictures and an extremely memorable location for your big day.
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We looked at wedding venues all over Virginia, Maryland and DC and the Meridian House was by far the most stunning. It took our breath away when we first saw it and it did not dissapoint the day of the wedding. Maria Canellis was our point of contact at the venue and she was a pleasure to work with and provided a wealth of wedding information. She even helped us with the planning process at times by providing tips and knowledge even though that wasn't really her role. This venue will surely exceed your expectations.
Wedding: 06/30/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 7 Reviews
Meridian House is the most beautiful venue in DC (trust me, I looked at almost all of them!). It has beautiful, well-tended gardens, a breath-taking linden tree grove, and a elegant interior. One of my guests described the feel as "a midsummer's night garden" and many of the guests said it was the best venue they had ever seen.

My wedding day was hot (in the high 80s), but the gardens where we held our ceremony were shaded by our 5pm ceremony time, and our guests had no complaints. It definitely got a bit warm in the dance room as the night went on, but people were able to cool off in the Linden Grove with the tables Meridian House provided for free, and people were generally comfortable and happy the whole night, in spite of the heat.

The venue is a bit pricey by DC standards, but includes tables and chairs for both the dinner and ceremony for up to 150 guests, which was a nice addition. The approved vendor list is extensive for caterers, so you can really put your own touches on the wedding, which is fun. The site can take as much or as little decor as you want because it is already so naturally beautiful, so while you might pay the money upfront, but save it in the long run. The cost also includes rehearsal and walk-through time, so long as the house is available, which is helpful. Additionally, the house can fit up to 200 (though it makes it a tighter squeeze), which makes it one of the larger options for historic home weddings in DC.

Maria is not only professional and responsive, but a super sweet and helpful venue coordinator. She sees weddings every weekend, so she is able and willing to give useful advice about set ups and vendors. Meridian House does have some limited rules, such as ending events by 11pm or limited tent vendors (don't worry, you can drink red wine anywhere in thehouse and have candles!), but Maria is more than willing to work to accommodate unique ideas - for example, she helped us coordinate having a food truck, DC Slices, come as a surprise end to the party. She made sure everything ran smoothly, and was definitely an asset for our wedding planning.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It was an absolutely stunning location and we really enjoyed having our reception here. We couldn't have asked for a more beautiful venue, and it was well worth it since the chairs and tables were included with the rental cost (unlike most other locations). Thank you Maria!
Wedding: 11/19/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

sec040 9 Reviews
I used the Meridian House for both my wedding ceremony and reception. It is, in my opinion, the most beautiful event venue in DC. Maria is a pleasure to work with - friendly, professional, responsive, and reasonable. I wish I could have my wedding at the Meridian House all over again!! I will just have to find another excuse to have an event there in the future.

Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wife is an employee, so we've been to a number of events at Meridian. The staff was great and the building and grounds are beautiful.
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
I could not have asked for a better venue for my Memorial Day weekend wedding! Maria was so helpful and attentive, and really helped to make our day special. We had our ceremony out in the Linden Grove. It was a picturesque setting. The guests sat beneath the trees, which helped to keep them cool on a warm May day! We had about 140 people, and everyone fit comfortably in the 2 connecting rooms for the reception. We had dancing in the large room across the hall, which I was a little worried about at first, but it actually worked out wonderfully! The guests had the freedom to come dance, sit at their tables to chat, or take a stroll outside, as it was a georgeous evening! The venue is expensive, but if you are looking for a grand location for your ceremony and reception, it is well worth it!
Wedding: 05/28/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I need to preface this review by saying that I married at the Meridian House on probably the most beautiful spring day that someone could ask for. I'm sure my review would vary slightly had the weather not been as beautiful and we had to have the ceremony and the entire reception indoors.

As it was, the Meridian House was a phenomenal location for both our ceremony and reception. I still have a hard time believing that it was my wedding because the photos from the day are completely breathtaking and gorgeous. The grounds of the gardens and the linden grove are immaculately manicured and truly of a level of beauty that few places could ever relate to. Before the ceremony, we had our photographers take our pictures and our family portraits in the garden. We were initally planning for our wedding ceremony to take place in the garden but since the weather had been rainy leading up to the day (we were all thinking it would be rained out the day of) my wedding planner decided to move our ceremony to the linden grove. The linden grove turned out to be a fantastic location for the ceremony, completely unique. Even if it had been rained out, we would have had a really special plan C (plan A - garden, plan B- linden grove) by having the ceremony in the loggia where we had to practice for our rehearsal the evening prior.

The day and evening were perfect at the Meridian House although we had the most amazing weather (no rain and perfect outdoor temperature) to enjoy the linden grove after the ceremony for the cocktail hour and reception. You could dance up a sweat in the dance hall and then go outside underneath the paper lanterns strung on the linden trees and enjoy the cool spring evening. It was perfection. And my parents had a lot of people coming up to them saying they'd never been to a more perfect venue for a wedding. (Again, we were somehow so fortunate as to have had the most desirable weather possible.) The staff of the Meridian House, particularly Maria, was very easy to work with. And the chairs and tables that were provided for our reception were all wonderful.

The only reason I didn't give the Meridian House a perfect score for quality of service was because of two things I happened to notice. First, you really need to bring in a lighting team to help with lighting the reception since the lighting they offer isn't quite the best. And second, during the reception, the drawing room and library became hot very quickly with all of the people eating in them since the Meridian House does not have a very good air conditioning system. Luckily the were able to open the windows and have the cool, perfectly temperate breeze from outside come into the house and cool off the guests in the library. I would not recommend marrying at the Meridian House in the summer since this could be a serious issue with our hot, humid DC summers.

All in all though, I couldn't have asked for a better location for my wedding day and we somehow ended up with the best case scenario with the weather. It was perfect. My husband and I have a favorite moment after we'd had our meal during the reception when we went out into the garden to walk around the grounds by ourselves (no photographers, just us). It was a special quiet time away from the noisy chatter of the reception and I will always remember those magical moments amongst the spring green garden and in particular, the lavendar wisteria draping the gates of one sitting area in the garden. I felt like I was in a fairytale, the garden was so perfect in beauty. If you are getting married on a spring or fall day (and don't have to deal with rain), there is no better venue in the D.C. area than the Meridian House.
Wedding: 04/23/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Meridian House is a beautiful location for a wedding. Maria Canellis, the Director of Events is great to work with and very responsive. The beauty of the House and the lawn/gardens saves some money on decorating and tables and chairs are included in the rental that saves some additional costs. Maria was with us during the duration of the wedding which helped to alleviate anxiety.
Wedding: 03/19/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 202-939-5592
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4
out of 5.0