Main Event Caterers
Creating Delicious
    216 Reviews
3870 S Four Mile Run Drive
Arlington, VA 22206  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Bar services: Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium...
Maximum capacity: 2500
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (216)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Main Event Caterers were an absolute delight to work with. Meeting Jen from day one I was sold on wanting to work with Jen for our big day. Main Event worked with us on price and was very clear on what services they could provide. Communicating with Jen and Andrea was easy as they provided many reminders of payments due and information necessary. The day of the wedding Main Event assigned us our own waiter, Chip, who attended to all our needs and wants. Chip brought food and drinks to us as well as our bridal party during photos. A huge thank you to Chip!

All in all, I am extremely confident that anyone who chooses to use Main Event Caterers will be very pleased with the planning process and day of service.
Wedding: 07/11/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Meilani 6 Reviews
I don't know if I know enough positive words to describe how I feel about Main Event Caterers! From the very first contact I felt heard, appreciated, and even loved by this company. It is evident that they love what they do and it shows in everything from service to food. My event manager was Kathleen and she did an absolutely incredible job getting me through to my wedding day.

The absolute best thing about Main Event Caterers is their service. Emails are responded to promptly, phone calls are returned, and endless questions are answered (even when wedding brain makes you ask the same question over and over again). The last couple of weeks before my wedding I was having a difficult time making decisions about simple things (like whether or not to have a head table) and Kathleen was endlessly patient, making new floor plans and answering dozens of questions as though I were her only client. At my wedding, the staff were polite, friendly, and also really patient with us and all of our guests.

Though service is most important to me, food is a very narrow 2nd and the food from this company is so delicious! I wanted wedding food that made my pickiest guests say "this is the best wedding food I've ever had" and Main Event helped me accomplish this goal! I have heard from numerous guests that they loved the food and wish they could have more of it. We chose to go with the buffet menu because felt this would work really well for us and our guests and would definitely recommend it. It made it easier for us to please different palates (meat lovers, vegetarians, etc.) with no issue. I saw happy faces all around the room during dinner and really can't stress enough how awesome the meal was for everyone.

I love Main Event for their delicious food, quality service, and flexibility. I hope to use them for birthday parties, anniversaries, and whatever other excuse I can come up with to do business with them as often as possible!
Wedding: 07/11/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
OUTSTANDING. My daughter wedding was July 16, 2011. The service they provided I cannot find enough words to describe such AWESOME service. Exceeded every expectation. The staff was professional, friendly, kind, caring. Our guest are raving about the service and attention they received. The food was unbelievable. I plan to use them for another event. Rachael Slockett was great to work with. She was extremely flexible and ensured our needs were met to our satisfaction. Her team was the best. We actually landed this company at the last minute and it was the best last minute decision I ever made. I highly recommend this company.
Main Event Caterers responded with the following comments:
Wow! Thanks for such a rave review. We are happy to hear that not only you, but the guests at your daughter's wedding were so happy. It's amazing how quickly the event planning and catering can affect the overall day or night. We're thrilled to have been a part of it. Can't wait to help you plan your next event!!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a perfect experience with Main Event. From our initial contact with Darcy, Main Event stood out from other caterers as professional, modern, and receptive to our needs. Throughout the planning process, Darcy and Taylor were very responsive, organized, and helpful--we felt very comfortable that they would be able to execute the event smoothly and let us enjoy the day, which is a huge benefit.

They exceeded our expectations on the wedding day. The food was amazing--nearly every guest has remarked on the tastiness of the food (we had a buffet with short ribs, gazpacho, watermelon and feta salad, and risotto cakes). Just as importantly, the staff was consummately professional, friendly, and attentive--they were incredibly organized yet flexible during the set up, made sure that my (now) husband and I got enough food, and were very helpful at the end of the night, packaging up all of the table numbers and helping my parents load the car.

We couldn't recommend them more.
Wedding: 06/13/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I worked with Scotlyn from ME for my wedding...And she was great! she was very responsive, flexible, nice and professional!! I initially was assigned to someone else which I wasn't comfortable working with, so I called and asked them to assign me to another coordinator and I was lucky to work with Scotlyn!
As for the service and food, we had Iranian food catered from Johny Kabob but we got everything else from ME.. Everyone loved their service and the appetizers and desserts. The bartenders and waiters and waitresses were very professional and they were always around when someone needed them.
I am very happy we chose to work with ME for our wedding as they made our wedding beautiful and impeccable!
I totally recommend Main Events and I suggest you to ask for Scotlyn if she is available!!
Thank you Main Events and thanks Scotlyn for everything!!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Main Events was so wonderful to work with! Once we had our tasting we knew we had to book with them. Their food is above and beyond and the service is exceptional.

Taylor was wonderful to work with and was so responsive to all of our needs. Our guests all loved the food!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Main Event for our wedding on 5/31/2014. It was clear from our initial meeting months before that Main Event was a superior vendor with quality service. We were impressed by their willingness to meet us on their time outside of normal business hours and our event coordinator Liz was extremely helpful and responsive. Whenever we had questions or changes to our proposal we received punctual, clear and cheerful responses.

They offered bundled services that made planning much less of a hassle and the food was phenomenal. The day of service was excellent as well. The staff was attentive, professional and made sure that we were served even as we were taking pictures outside the venue. We couldn't be happier with the quality of service we received from Main Event and would highly recommend them!
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot rave enough about the service and quality of Main Event. They are less than half the price of any other caterer we spoke to, but that price is not indicative of their service. Two months after our wedding, I still have guests talking about the food. Our point of contact, Spencer, was incredible. He listened to our vision for the day, made wonderful suggestions and was so quick to respond. Main Event was far and away the best vendor we worked with.
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Saturday 5.25 I attended Wedding ceremony& reception in St. Francis Hall

First, I want to say how absolutely delicious everything was - and what a wonderful affair it was - primarily due to the catering event itself.
But I wanted to also say how nice and friendly all your staff was - but want to particularly let you know how much I appreciated the smile, service and work attitude of Jon (Jahn ?) – tall blonde European guy and wanted to pass that on.
My friend Bob is recovering after surgery and can’t walk well. Jon noticed and made him plate of delicious food and offered him something to drink.
We all were amazed and delighted with his professionalism. He really made sure we had everything we needed and more.
I’ve heard a great deal about Main event food, but now I know first hand how wonderful it is and with such an amazing staff it is a winning combination.

Many thanks for a wonderful night
RobinM.Schneider
Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Main Event was great to work with. The quality of the meal and the service were both outstanding. They also coordinated the set up , which was beautiful. They have a very responsive staff and I highly recommend them.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Chris and... 10 Reviews
We attended a wedding last year that Main Event catered, and when we began planning our wedding, we contacted Main Event right away. We got quotes from several caterers, and Main Event was competitive from a price perspective, and given our experience seeing them in action, we selected them. Our Event Designer, Scotlyn, was extremely helpful and responsive in terms of helping us plan both our menu and our place settings and linens. Our Event Planner, Liz, then took over and helped us make final menu selections for the event. We had a tasting at Main Event's office, and were able to narrow down our choices effectively. There was one particular item that we were excited to include on the menu, but at the tasting it was overcooked. Liz made note of that and assured us that if we selected that particular item for our menu, it would be prepared properly. The week of the wedding, there was a problem with the linens that we selected. Main Event only had twenty of that particular linen, and we were using all of them. Apparently one of them was damaged the week prior, so Main Event had to come up with an alternative. Unfortunately they were not able to match the other linens and one of our guest tables was different from the rest. Ideally, they would have had more linens on hand. However, the food and service were excellent. The item that had been overcooked at the tasting was perfect at our reception. We provided our own alcohol, and the Main Event staff did a great job serving our guests. We heard form several of our guests that our reception had the best food they had ever tasted at a wedding.
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Spencer and Meg at Main Event are super hard working, knowledgable, professional, kind and upbeat. Spencer was a pleasure to work with from day one throughout our year of wedding planning. They were both very responsive via email and phone and put me at ease that the menu would turn out perfect. And it did! Ps food is delicious.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I highly recommend Main Event Catering for your wedding (or any other event)! They were professional to work with from day one. When we first signed the contract, we were working with one woman who later moved on, and we then started working with Andrea and Scotlyn. Both of them were amazing to work with. They let us change our contract countless times in the weeks before the wedding and were super patient about that.

We rented everything for our wedding through Main Event (including linens, chairs for ceremony and reception, silverware, tables,etc.) and they looked gorgeous. We'd upgraded our linens to this beautiful pinkish patterned color and they looked amazing. We also obviously got all of our food through Main Event and it was DELICIOUS. All of our guests raved about how wedding food doesn't usually taste great but they loved ours! It's such a great thing to hear when you put a ton of work into a wedding. I only wish we'd taken the time to eat more of it (even though they made sure to put plates on our table and let us know)!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
You don't want to use Main Event unless you're a foodie who loves creative, elegant and sumptuous food, a team that is a thrill to work with (thanks, Spencer!), zero worries on your wedding day, and you want all of your guests to have a great time and join you for a wedding to remember. But if you want all of this then Main Event is definitely the caterer you want to use. I just wish there had been more leftovers :)
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Main Event was amazing to work with! The food was fantastic, the service at our event was impeccable and our rep was very responsive and easy to work with. While this caterer is NOT cheap, they are amazing and if great food and service is important to you for your wedding or event then Main Event is the right choice!
Wedding: 04/26/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
We had a wonderful experience working with Kathleen Kelley for our wedding. We really appreciated how Main Event was flexible and accommodating about partnering with a restaurant that provided the food for dinner (Main Event provided the service, equipment, and hor d'oeuvres) and helped us keep within a reasonable budget. And Kathleen was great! She was extremely responsive, detail-oriented, professional, and positive throughout. On the big day, we opted for family-style service across two rooms (a potentially more challenging arrangement) but they made it work and everything ran very efficiently and smoothly.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
 703-820-2028
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0