Main Event Caterers
Creating Delicious
    193 Reviews
3870 S Four Mile Run Drive
Arlington, VA 22206  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Bar services: Cash Bar, Limited Bar, Open Bar
Alcohol services: Champagne Toast, House Beer, House Wine, Premium...
Maximum capacity: 2500
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (193)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
OUTSTANDING. My daughter wedding was July 16, 2011. The service they provided I cannot find enough words to describe such AWESOME service. Exceeded every expectation. The staff was professional, friendly, kind, caring. Our guest are raving about the service and attention they received. The food was unbelievable. I plan to use them for another event. Rachael Slockett was great to work with. She was extremely flexible and ensured our needs were met to our satisfaction. Her team was the best. We actually landed this company at the last minute and it was the best last minute decision I ever made. I highly recommend this company.
Main Event Caterers responded with the following comments:
Wow! Thanks for such a rave review. We are happy to hear that not only you, but the guests at your daughter's wedding were so happy. It's amazing how quickly the event planning and catering can affect the overall day or night. We're thrilled to have been a part of it. Can't wait to help you plan your next event!!
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We can't say enough wonderful things about Main Event! We worked with Andrea and she was always responsive, professional and even helped us create a special appetizer as a homage to one of the grooms favorite restaurants! We loved how enthusiastic Andrea was to create a menu that was special for us; she really listened to our vision and came up with great ideas when we wanted to do a "family style" first course instead of a more traditional soup or salad.

Andrea and all of the Main Event staff worked seamlessly with our wedding planner and venue. All of our guests raved about the food and our surprise late night snack -- chocolate chip cookies w/ milk shooters!

We did tastings with several caters and found Main Event's food to be the most consistently delicious. Their dishes are creative but accessible, different enough to create a lasting impression but still appeal to a crowd. We couldn't be happier with our experience with Main Event and highly recommend them!
Wedding: 03/01/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Main Event was absolutely amazing. I enjoyed their tasting session. They had a small gathering of potential clients and served a number of courses. It was nice to try a number of things and bounce ideas off of other couples.

They were very flexible and worked with me to keep costs within my budget. Meg and Spencer helped me design a menu according to our tastes and executed it spectacularly. The one thing I really wanted was a mashed potato bar and they made it happen.

During the wedding they were efficient and very professional. They even made sure to have a waiter check in on myself and my husband frequently to be sure we had drinks and anything else we needed. During cocktail hour I was afraid I might not get to try everything, as the bride is usually busy talking to people. She came over and made sure I got to try each hors d'oeuvre, including the mashed potatoes. Our guests told us throughout the wedding that they enjoyed all the food. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a caterer.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jennifer Sibel was our point of contact for our wedding and she was WONDERFUL! She worked with us on the menu, was helpful with suggestions, worked with our budget, professional, and very pleasant to work with. Everyone raved about how tasty the food was. The team on the day of the wedding was so perfect. We had our own butler! I would use them again in a heartbeat for any occasion!
Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This company is fabulous, and you would be foolish to hire anyone other than them. We can start with the basics: the food is delicious, both vegetarian and non, the presentation is great, and they can accommodate whatever request you have. But what is more important is the staff. Spencer is the nicest person you will ever meet. You'll meet him, and you will know that you are in good hands and that you don't really have anything to worry about. Even if you have a wedding of almost 300 people and don't hire a wedding planner. As it turns out, everyone else who works for main events is the same way. By the end of the wedding, you will wish the staff were your guests and friends. They make the event seem joyous and festive, and after all, that's the point of a wedding. You should hire them. Both because the food is good, but also, because you will be in pretty amazing hands. Thanks, Spencer and company.
Wedding: 11/10/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Main Event Caterers for my daughter's wedding at Woodend (fantastic venue!) in Chevy Chase, MD. They are great! Our team was Meg, Spencer and Adeline, and they worked together seamlessly to provide us with everything we asked for and more. First of all the food was fantastic! They were very flexible in putting together the set up and menu my daughter and her fiance wanted - and gave us a great tasting afternoon to be sure they were happy with their selections. They have many chair, plate, and linen selections and helped us choose the perfect ones - the tent looked gorgeous when everyone entered for dinner. The bartenders and servers were very attentive and they made the packing up of our decorations and belongings super simple at the end of the night. At Woodend they also set up the ceremony site outside for you, and it was beautiful as well. Thanks to Meg, Spencer and Adeline for being the center of our beautiful night!
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We couldn’t have asked for a better cater than Main Event. From the moment we first contacted Michelle about our wedding she was attentive, flexible, and willing to work with us no matter what our budget or style. She made every aspect of the process easy and personal and like no question or request, no matter how particular, was absolutely doable. She and her staff couldn’t have been friendlier or more professional and as our budget shifted or our ideas changed they were right along there with us making it work.
During the walk-through with all the other vendors, she was constantly asking questions and raising issues for others to consider. Without her input on the actual day – the flow of events, the seating, even where the band would be located – thing would never have moved so smoothly. This all on top of the fact that the food was awesome! Seriously, SO many people commented about how delicious dinner was. I generally feel like wedding food is a pretty low bar. It’s rarely the thing one remembers about attending a wedding, but hopefully it’s not terrible. I have never expected to go to a wedding and have exceptional food – but truly, our wedding dinner was terrific. In fact, there were barely any leftovers. The roast chicken was seasoned and cooked perfectly, the salmon was tender, the Brussels sprouts were cooked to perfection. And instead of a cake we had a dessert buffet with 20+ different desserts, all of which were excellent. We are very grateful to Michelle and to Main Event for helping to make our wedding so memorable. We recommend them without reservation.
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Main Event is truly a first class caterer. Our venue had a list of 8 caterers to pick from, and after reading their great reviews, Main Event was on our short list. Right after we decided to contract with Main Event, our original event designer actually left the company, and we started working with Scotlyn right away. We were a little nervous at first, but Scotlyn was a fantastic event coordinator and was a tremendous help with planning along the way. My husband and I are not "wedding people" but Scotlyn made everything fun and painless and had great suggestions and support. We would certainly recommend Main Event to anyone for any occasion!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I are so happy we chose Main Event for our October wedding. Meg, Adeline and Spencer oversaw every detail and gave phenomenal advice throughout our planning process. On the day of our wedding, we were completely blown away by how beautifully everything was set up, how professional and attentive the staff was and how unbelievably delicious and abundant the food was!! Main Event impressed us from the first day we started wedding planning and we couldn't be happier with how the day went. Highly recommend!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Main Event Caterers were great to work with. Darcy was knowledgeable and easy to work with. She had worked at our venue, so knew exactly how things should run. On the day of our wedding, every thing looked beautiful. I was amazed when I saw about a dozen waiters/waitresses all come out at the same time carrying dinner plates. The staff was professional and attentive. We had a coffee bar for those who wanted coffee, and for my aunt's table, the waiter took it upon himself to bring coffee to the entire table, so she wouldn't have to get up. The food was delicious!! They helped to make my daughters wedding the success it was. I would highly recommend!
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Teresa 9 Reviews
We had a number of potential options when considering a caterer for our wedding and chose to go with Main Event after a wonderful initial tasting and meeting. The staff at Main Event did not disappoint. We worked with Darcy Munshower and she made sure that we had a menu that included all of the things we wanted. All of the food was absolutely delicious, whether it was the “two bite angus burgers” during cocktail hour, the boneless beef short ribs for dinner or the housemade “bite size” miniature pies for dessert, our guests continue to rave about how good the food was. Thank you to Darcy and all of the Main Event staff for helping to make our wedding day so special!
Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Main Event Caterers certainly played a huge part in making my husband's and my "garden party" brunch wedding so special. The brunch foods were unique and delicious and the service was superb. While we did not taste Main Events brunch offerings in advance of our wedding, as previously stated, we were delightfully surprised by the how fantastic the food was. In fact, I have received numerous, highly laudatory compliments regarding the food, even from my foodie friends, and set-up/décor, even from those with very discerning taste. The wait staff couldn’t have been more pleasant and attentive to detail, and I appreciate the extra time that they spent ensuring that my new husband and I had absolutely everything we needed to make our day special and to ensure we were well-fed.

We truly appreciate the responsiveness and professionalism of Kara Marshall. and the thoughtfulness Main Event gave our event--even though it was a small brunch with only 70 guests. We most definitely would use Main Event in the future and would certainly recommend it to others.

Wedding: 09/29/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Main Event Catering was absolutely wonderful for our wedding in September! I can't say enough about the professionalism which Andrea displayed and attention to detail and great customer service. The food was absolutely excellent and following the ceremony Andrea made sure to bring my husband and I a plate of food from the cocktail hour so that we could eat. She also made sure that there was a plate with cake in our limo when we left the ceremony and extra pieces for us to take home so that we could enjoy it on our next anniversary (who knew that you're supposed to get a cake box?!? I didn't!). I would certainly recommend the company for weddings or other events and will use them again in the future if we have the need!
Wedding: 09/28/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Main Event was wonderful in every way! I am so glad I hired them to cater my wedding. Meg helped me plan every detail of the reception and put my mind at ease. The food was exquisite and our guests raved about it! The servers were so attentive and accommodating from the hors d' oeuvres to the open bar to the dessert buffet. I would recommend them highly to anyone. The price is a bit high but definitely worth it- top notch!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Emilyn 6 Reviews
Main Event Caterers is amazing! First of all, their food is delicious and there wasn't anything that we tried that we didn't love. They are truly a catering company that goes above and beyond for the client and it really helped throughout our wedding planning process. Darcy Munshower was our event designer and she worked with me to plan out every detail to make our wedding what I imagined it to be. What I really loved about Main Event was that they weren't just concerned about providing food for your guests. Darcy inquired about our guest list, our expectations, and how we envisioned our wedding day and she worked with me and my husband on many aspects to make it happen. She was always very responsive and prompt with phone calls or emails, even up until the night before the wedding when changes had to be made.

On the day of our wedding, the catering staff were all pleasant and professional. My husband and I were assigned our own personal staff member who made sure we were comfortable and taken care of throughout the whole reception. We can't say enough good things about Main Event and we are so happy that we chose them to cater for our wedding.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
I worked with Spencer from Main event for my Woodend wedding. He provided exceptional customer service and from the moment we met him, he made us feel taken care of.

Food was great after a few adjustments and they can get any linen, china, etc. that you want. Don't be fooled by the warehouse and showroom, they don't house everything you see so you will pay to rent it just as you would with every other caterer.

We would definitely use Main Event again :)
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
 703-820-2028
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0