Magnolia Plantation and Gardens
    77 Reviews
3550 Ashley River Road
Charleston, SC 29414  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (77)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What an absolutely beautiful place to get married! My friends were married this past weekend on the Long White Bridge Lawn by the Plantation House and the setting was just so picturesque. The wedding was perfect and I'm so happy that they will have such wonderful photos of their special day. How could you not with a place like this?! Thanks to Jessica and Richard for their help.
Wedding: 04/12/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My daughter was married at the Carriage House March 28th, 2014 and we could not have found a more beautiful location to have our ceremony and reception. We had to have the ceremony inside but the interior of the carriage house gave such a wonderful backdrop for the ceremony. We had about 90 people inside for the wedding and reception with plenty of room for our food stations, bar, cake table and room to mingle and dance
Wedding: 03/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Carriage House at Magnolia Plantation. What an incredible venue overlooking the Ashley River! The Carriage House comes empty like a blank canvas allowing your own touches making your wedding or whatever celebration special. There is heat as well as air conditioning, kitchen for caterers, and rest rooms. Our planner provided beautiful lighting, flowers, tables and plenty of room for a dance floor and band or DJ. The plantation is very accommodating and allows your guests to obtain free entrance to the gardens over the weekend of your event. Absolutely beautiful over the Spring and Summer months. Known as America's oldest garden established in 1676.
Wedding: 03/23/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Riley 7 Reviews
Jessica and the team at Magnolia Plantation was amazing while planning my wedding. She was always helpful and responsive when I had questions or needed anything. She provided me with a packet of recommended vendors when we booked the venue and it was extremely helpful. The caterer needed to be chosen from a list of preferred vendors (which turned out amazing) but the rest were recommendations on everything from florists to DJ's to officiants and we pretty much found all of our vendors as a result of this listing and every one of the was perfect. The venue itself was beautiful and perfect for a ceremony + reception plus extremely affordable for such an amazing place.
Wedding: 03/21/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
I got married at the carriage house last month and it was exactly what we hoped for. Jessica, the event manager, is amazing! She was more like a wedding planner. She was out there the day of decorating and setting up. It all turned out absolutely perfect!!!! We loved it!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nicole 8 Reviews
This venue is so gorgeous and really allowed me to have my dream wedding. They are professional and will work with you to make your day perfect. Even if you don't have an event here, it should be on your bucket list of places to visit. My wedding guests are already planning trips to go back and visit.
Wedding: 02/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding at the carriage house and it was perfect! Luckily the weather was beautiful and we had the ceremony outside by the water. We had about 130 guests and there was plenty of room. We opted to have the fire pit at torches lit and by nightfall it was gorgeous outside. Jessica was so helpful and responded to my emails within 24hrs. The ground are gorgeous and perfect for taking pictures! They were able to provide us with a golf cart to take us around and take photos. Don't skip the white bridge, it is the perfect photo op!
Wedding: 02/22/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I absolutely loved having my wedding here!! I knew from the moment I moved to charleston in 2004 that I would get married here at the carriage house! I never even went and saw another venue!! Jessica the property manager was soo beyond kind and helped in anyway she possibly could down to coming out there the day before the wedding for the rehearsal and giving us a run down due to our efficient running late and I did not have a wedding planner!! The carriage house was a beautiful sight the night of my wedding and I couldn't have asked for a more hands on and caring person to help me plan my big day!! It ended up raining all day the day of my wedding and so the ceremony had to be moved inside but jessica was there encouraging me not to be upset the whole time with her kind words! I loved magnolia plantation and they made me day so much more amazing!!! THANK YOU!!

- Cali and David
Wedding: 02/01/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This was the most beautiful wedding I could have ever imagined and blew my expectations away! It's reasonably priced and very accommodating! There are no word of how wonderful it was from start to finish!!!! Highly recommended!!!
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What a magnificent venue for a wedding reception on the veranda. Thank you, Jessica Cruz. Our guests really enjoyed the tram tour of the beautiful gardens while the bridal pictures were being taken. Thank you for your help in planning my daughters wedding .
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony Music
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

KTOP 9 Reviews
I could not have been more happy with Magnolia Plantation. I was nervous about the layout with our 140 people, band, and multiple bars and everything fit wonderfully and looked gorgeous! What a unique wedding venue! Rain and cold weather also scared me leading up to the day. It didn't rain but it was an unseasonably cold day in Charleston (30s). While it was pretty chilly on the veranda at night, space heaters helped guests keep warm- as well as crowding aroudn the dance floor. I never even put on a coat or noticed the cold and I think everyone else eventually forgot about. The day was great and the venue was amazing! Seeing it all put together I couldn't believe how perfect the Veranda was for us. I loved taking pictures around the property. The Spanish moss led to amazing photos! We had our guests take an hour long tram tour which I also heard really great things about! Everyone loved it! I am kind of sad I missed it and we plan on coming back next year to tour the property ourselves.
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
We eloped at the Magnolia Planation and it was absolutely beautiful! The only negative was the event had been planned for months and on the day of our wedding we could not have photos taken in front of the plantation house due to roof work being done. The grounds and staff are phenomenal! Thank you so much Jessica Cruz for making our special day possible!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jessica Cruz and everyone else at Magnolia Plantation and Gardens in beautiful Charleston, SC should be praised for their level of professionalism, responsiveness, and helpfulness. Magnolia is such an outstanding property, and the Conservatory in particular, was perfectly suited for my wedding. All questions were answered in a timely manner and on my wedding day everything was set-up exactly as we'd agreed upon in earlier meetings/emails. Our photographer was especially pleased with the venue as it offered numerous photo opps. All in all, Magnolia is an amazing place to spend an afternoon and a perfect place for a wedding ceremony and reception!
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
We rented out the conservatory at Magnolia. This was perfect for a smaller wedding. The setting was beautiful and received many compliments from our guests. Jessica was a pleasure to work with and very easily reached.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Magnolia Plantation is such a beautiful place for a wedding. We had our ceremony on the lawn outside the carriage house, a cocktail hour on the patio, and the reception inside the carriage house. Jessica is very sweet to work with. She has rules that she's pretty strict on (e.g., certain time you can enter the bridal suite, when you can visit the property) but it's all to ensure that the bride and the family have their privacy on their wedding day. She is very responsive to questions/emails, too.

The grounds are just gorgeous. Very well maintained. They took care of lighting the torches and firepit. The only downside is there are extra costs involved: You need to hire a day-of coordinator and you need to rent all the rentals separately (tables, chairs, linens, etc). So factor that into your budget; but it's well worth it for the atmosphere.
Wedding: 10/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
What can I say about Magnolia Plantation that hasn't already been said? It's such a beautiful place to get married! As soon as I stepped onto their grounds I knew in my heart I was going to get married here! Arguably, it is the most beautiful place to get married in Charleston, if not the country. I was married in front of the white bridge and had my reception on the Veranda. There are a lot of places to choose from on the plantation, but getting married in front of the bridge and using the Veranda allowed my guests to see so much of the plantation vice staying in a smaller portion of it with the other options. You and your guests will feel like you're in a fairy tale, especially once they pull up on the long drive way in front of the house! If you desire a real, southern wedding with jaw-dropping backgrounds for your pictures, then this is the place for you! The spots on the plantation for your pictures are one of a kind, you won't find a prettier setting! Jessica Cruz, the plantation's wedding coordinator, was great to work with and was always available for questions and guidance. Overall, my husband and I couldn't have been happier with our decision to get married at Magnolia Plantation!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 843-571-1266
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0