MacGregor Downs Country Club

MacGregor Downs Country Club

Where dreams come true

430 St. Andrews Lane
Cary, NC 27511 | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Maximum capacity: 400
Catering: Offered in-house
 
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
(4.8 / 5.0)
Responsiveness:
(4.4 / 5.0)
Professionalism:
(4.7 / 5.0)
Value:
(4.8 / 5.0)
Flexibility:
(4.6 / 5.0)
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

My husband and I really wanted an outdoor ceremony for our November wedding but didn't want to worry about the possibility of rain. MacGregor Downs offered the perfect compromise by offering the use of a clear-top tent; the weather was gorgeous and the tent worked out beautifully! Another plus was the fact that all taxes and fees were included - there were absolutely no hidden costs! They offered two different chair options to choose from, as well as multiple table sizes, linens and candles for centerpieces. The venue itself is gorgeous - it has beautiful hardwood floors and the lakeside room has huge windows that provide a breathtaking view of the lake! The food was absolutely delicious, and the chef kindly adjusted the menu for my father and me so that we could have sweet potato with our dinner! We met with Linda, the manager/coordinator, and immediately felt relieved; she explained how flexible they are with everything, and took the time to walk us through a "day of schedule" and how it could be adjusted to fit our needs. Linda was a huge help throughout the entire planning process, and I don't think I could have managed any of this without her. On our big day, Linda made sure everything was taken care of; we didn't have to worry about anything other than enjoying our moment. We couldn't have been happier with the way everything turned out; the people we worked with were truly amazing and made our day a huge success! We would definitely recommend MacGregor Downs Country Club to anybody in need of a wedding venue! Linda, thank you for keeping me sane throughout this whole process and making sure our day ran smoothly! You're the best!!!

  • Wedding: 11/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We really wanted an indoor venue that wasn't too stuffy for our May wedding, and after searching far & wide, we found MacGregor Downs Country Club. The most appealing thing about it initially is that unlike other Country Clubs, they did not charge a "Taxable Service Fee" of 22%, All taxes and fees were included - there were no hidden costs at all! We met with their coordinator and were pleasantly surprised by how nice and welcoming they were. They made a point of making us aware of their flexibility with EVERYTHING, and they were very thorough explaining how they normally run weddings, again noting things that could be tailored to our liking. The venue is gorgeous - it has a lodge feel on the inside, with beautiful exposed beams and hardwoods. The windows are huge and really bring the outdoors inside. The dining room overlooking the lake was our favorite part - it was absolutely breathtaking! The team there was great at communicating by phone and e-mail, and were fine with us stopping by whenever we had anything to discuss with them. The food was amazing, and the chef kindly altered the menu slightly for specific allergy concerns for our guests. Linda, the manager, was outstanding at making sure everything was planned out before our big day, down to the little details. On the day of, they took care of everything. I mean... everything! We did not have to worry about anything at all - it was stunningly beautiful and completely stress free. They have add-ons available such as draping for the outdoor ceremony tent, special linens, etc, but we decided against them. With everything that came standard, our ceremony and reception were still so beautiful. It didn't feel like anything was missing, because it wasn't! We didn't have the stress of renting tables, chairs, etc from some company - they took care of everything. We couldn't be more satisfied with the venue itself and the truly wonderful service we received. We would recommend this venue to everyone!

  • Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

My wedding was in October 2013 and things have been crazy, so I am just now writing this review. We had a lot of family coming from out of town so we knew we wanted the ceremony and reception to be at the same venue. There is a brick pavilion outside looking over the golf course where we had our ceremony and our dance floor (they flipped it during dinner), then we had the dinner inside the main dining room. It was a beautiful setting and the staff was fantastic. We had one miscommunication when Elizabeth went out of maternity leave and Brooke took over, but it was resolved beyond our expectations. We had a tasting before the wedding and the food was great. We were concerned about them trying to make it in large quantities, but on the wedding day it was still fantastic. Wedding days can be stressful, but Brooke handled everything perfectly and we could not have had a better night.

  • Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The club is very rustic and charming with all of the exposed wood beams, hardwood floors in the main dining room and large stone fireplace overlooking the golf course (everything we were looking for). Everyone at MacGregor Downs was great and provided wonderful service. Our wedding turned out to be amazing and a day we will always remember. After the ceremony the club broke down ceremony in the tent during cocktail hour to make it a beautiful backdrop for our dinner within 45 minutes. The food was wonderful, all the guests raved about it (especially the mashpotini bar). Elizabeth and her staff were very accommodating and wanted to make sure our day turned out to be everything we dreamed of. At the end of the night the club also pulled off a beautiful sparkler send off for my Husband and I. We even had our day after the wedding brunch at the club and that was great too! We would highly recommend using this venue for you wedding!

MacGregor Downs Country Club responded with the following comments:

Thank you for sharing your experiece online! I'll never forget your farm tables and your family. You are wonderful!

  • Wedding: 11/03/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

MacGregor Downs CC was the perfect place to have our daughter's wedding reception!! It was perfect from start to finish! The staff was amazingly friendly and efficient and great to work with. The atmosphere was just beautiful overlooking the golf course and the lake. The food was magnificent too and the whole evening was everything our daughter had dreamed of. Definitely pick MacGregor Downs CC for your reception- you will not be disappointed. It's not only a gorgeous place but it's elegant without being a stuffy country club!! Loved it and you will too!!

  • Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Anonymous
2 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Elizabeth and everyone at MacGregor were wonderful to work with! They made everything so stress-free. I was a little concerned because we had to change our reception venue last minute, and I hadn't heard much about receptions at MacGregor Downs. Everything turned out to be beautiful though! We also realized last minute that we had about 60 more people coming than we had initially expected. Elizabeth did everything she could to change around the setup for dinner and make sure everyone could fit inside for dinner!

MacGregor Downs Country Club responded with the following comments:

Thank you! You were a pleasure to work with. I hope your family is doing well :).

  • Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Profile Picture
Anonymous
5 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The new staff at MacGregor Downs is awesome!! They went above and beyond to make our day perfect! Before Elizabeth, things seemed unorganized, non responsive, and were wondering if our wedding was going to be everything we were hoping for. Elizabeth was super organized, never had to wait long for any response, and made our dreams come true! We couldn't have asked for a better staff! The day of the wedding was perfect and we were treated like royalty. We cannot thank you enough for making our wedding day perfect!

MacGregor Downs Country Club responded with the following comments:

Whitney,

Thank you for your kind words! It was an absolute pleasure working with you and your family. Please keep in touch!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth

  • Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Wedding Planning
Profile Picture
Whitney
1 Review
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

MacGregor Downs provided a GREAT venue for our daughter's wedding. The facility, food, and staff were a pleasure to work with. We had the privileg of working with Elizabeth Winfield and she was AWESOME and FANTASTIC!! Elizabeth was professional, prompt, creative, fun, and extremely patient. She is a definite asset to MacGregor and a superb representation of the club. The staff was also easy to work with and very accomodating. I would highly recommend MacGregor Downs!

MacGregor Downs Country Club responded with the following comments:

Thank you Jackie! I loved working with your family! Please keep in touch.

  • Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Lighting & Decor, Wedding Planning
Profile Picture
Jackie
1 Review
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 3.0

They were a little tight on flexibility at times, but with some pushing they worked it out in our favor. Beautiful setting for a fall wedding!! We are very happy that we chose MacGregor Downs Country club as our venue. The food is AMAZING!!! Lovely lovely place! Linda the banquet manager was spot on during our wedding rehearsal and the ENTIRE day for our wedding. She took care of us and our guests exactly how we wanted her to. Makeda Pride was very helpful and insightful with her expertise. Wonderful staff!

  • Wedding: 10/23/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 4.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 4.0

After searching for places I finally came across this beautiful site. Makeda was very helpful and the rest of the staff was amazing in their timing. The food was wonderful the location was amazing and everyone had a great time.

  • Wedding: 09/24/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 1.0
  • Responsiveness: 0.5
  • Professionalism: 2.5
  • Value: 2.0
  • Flexibility: 0.5

MacGregor Downs Country Club was beautiful and had the southern charm we were looking for, but the staff is just completely unreliable, inconsistent, and the club in general is very disorganized and chaotic. Within the span of 6 months, I worked with 3 different Event Coordinators. The turnover is abnormally high. Each time there was a new coordinator, the details and PRICES were completely different. We signed a contract when we agreed to use the venue when we agreed on a certain amount for the wedding. When a new coordinator came in, the EXACT same proposal went up $6,000. The management staff at MacGregor was completely unresponsive and uncaring. We almost canceled the wedding and just had a destination wedding, but MacGregor would not give us our $2,000 sign up fee, although they were the ones breaking the contract. We ended up having to downgrade our wedding from our origional proposal and still ended up paying more than what we signed up for. I would not recommend this club to anyone. There are plenty of other beautiful venues. My wedding ended up okay, thanks to my other vendors and wedding planner from an OUTSIDE company. It took TRUE professionals and top dollar to pull of a decent wedding at MacGregor Downs Country Club.

  • Wedding: 09/17/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Angel Myers, Food & Beverage Manager was wonderful to work with on our wedding planning! She gave us great ideas, and always aimed at perfection. There were rave reviews from our guests on the beauty of the location, with a view of the lake and the graceful pine trees, to the beautiful displays on the fruit and cheese table. Our Southern Supper Buffet was perfect, too! The staff was SO nice and attentive, even helping us load up gifts and flowers on the way home! We could not have asked for a better site, or a more beautiful day!

  • Wedding: 10/02/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

It was amazingly easy to work with administration of Mac Gregor Country Club in particular with Angel Myers.
We have experienced high level of professionalism the top level quality service along with delicate sense of responsibility.
It was a pleasure to use your services.

Eugene & Lana

  • Wedding: 07/03/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 4.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We had a wonderful wedding reception and Angel did a fantastic job of taking care of us. We will recommend Macgregor to others.

  • Wedding: 06/26/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 4.5
  • Professionalism: 4.0
  • Value: 4.5
  • Flexibility: 5.0

MacGregor Downs country club was a beautiful place to get married. We enjoyed working with the staff, but at times had problems with communication. Overall, it was a wonderful experience.

  • Wedding: 06/19/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 4.5
  • Responsiveness: 3.0
  • Professionalism: 3.5
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The setting is perfect, the cost is reasonable, the food is wonderful, theyre very flexible and accomodating - I would recommend this venue to everyone. Communication was lacking, as well as organization. But overall our experience was good and I'd recommend to any couple.

  • Wedding: 05/30/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Prev
919-467-0146
Please let this vendor know you found them on WeddingWire
4.7
out of 5.0
23 Reviews

My Awards
Bca 2011 logo small
2011 Bride's Choice Award®