MacGregor Downs Country Club
Where dreams come true
430 St. Andrews Lane
Cary, NC 27511  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (20)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.7/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.4/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The club is very rustic and charming with all of the exposed wood beams, hardwood floors in the main dining room and large stone fireplace overlooking the golf course (everything we were looking for). Everyone at MacGregor Downs was great and provided wonderful service. Our wedding turned out to be amazing and a day we will always remember. After the ceremony the club broke down ceremony in the tent during cocktail hour to make it a beautiful backdrop for our dinner within 45 minutes. The food was wonderful, all the guests raved about it (especially the mashpotini bar). Elizabeth and her staff were very accommodating and wanted to make sure our day turned out to be everything we dreamed of. At the end of the night the club also pulled off a beautiful sparkler send off for my Husband and I. We even had our day after the wedding brunch at the club and that was great too! We would highly recommend using this venue for you wedding!
MacGregor Downs Country Club responded with the following comments:
Thank you for sharing your experiece online! I'll never forget your farm tables and your family. You are wonderful!
Wedding: 11/03/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
MacGregor Downs CC was the perfect place to have our daughter's wedding reception!! It was perfect from start to finish! The staff was amazingly friendly and efficient and great to work with. The atmosphere was just beautiful overlooking the golf course and the lake. The food was magnificent too and the whole evening was everything our daughter had dreamed of. Definitely pick MacGregor Downs CC for your reception- you will not be disappointed. It's not only a gorgeous place but it's elegant without being a stuffy country club!! Loved it and you will too!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Elizabeth and everyone at MacGregor were wonderful to work with! They made everything so stress-free. I was a little concerned because we had to change our reception venue last minute, and I hadn't heard much about receptions at MacGregor Downs. Everything turned out to be beautiful though! We also realized last minute that we had about 60 more people coming than we had initially expected. Elizabeth did everything she could to change around the setup for dinner and make sure everyone could fit inside for dinner!
MacGregor Downs Country Club responded with the following comments:
Thank you! You were a pleasure to work with. I hope your family is doing well :).
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Whitney 1 Reviews
The new staff at MacGregor Downs is awesome!! They went above and beyond to make our day perfect! Before Elizabeth, things seemed unorganized, non responsive, and were wondering if our wedding was going to be everything we were hoping for. Elizabeth was super organized, never had to wait long for any response, and made our dreams come true! We couldn't have asked for a better staff! The day of the wedding was perfect and we were treated like royalty. We cannot thank you enough for making our wedding day perfect!
MacGregor Downs Country Club responded with the following comments:
Whitney,

Thank you for your kind words! It was an absolute pleasure working with you and your family. Please keep in touch!

Sincerely,
Elizabeth
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jackie 1 Reviews
MacGregor Downs provided a GREAT venue for our daughter's wedding. The facility, food, and staff were a pleasure to work with. We had the privileg of working with Elizabeth Winfield and she was AWESOME and FANTASTIC!! Elizabeth was professional, prompt, creative, fun, and extremely patient. She is a definite asset to MacGregor and a superb representation of the club. The staff was also easy to work with and very accomodating. I would highly recommend MacGregor Downs!
MacGregor Downs Country Club responded with the following comments:
Thank you Jackie! I loved working with your family! Please keep in touch.
Wedding: 04/21/2012
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
They were a little tight on flexibility at times, but with some pushing they worked it out in our favor. Beautiful setting for a fall wedding!! We are very happy that we chose MacGregor Downs Country club as our venue. The food is AMAZING!!! Lovely lovely place! Linda the banquet manager was spot on during our wedding rehearsal and the ENTIRE day for our wedding. She took care of us and our guests exactly how we wanted her to. Makeda Pride was very helpful and insightful with her expertise. Wonderful staff!
Wedding: 10/23/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
After searching for places I finally came across this beautiful site. Makeda was very helpful and the rest of the staff was amazing in their timing. The food was wonderful the location was amazing and everyone had a great time.
Wedding: 09/24/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
1.3 out of 5.0
1.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.5
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  0.5
MacGregor Downs Country Club was beautiful and had the southern charm we were looking for, but the staff is just completely unreliable, inconsistent, and the club in general is very disorganized and chaotic. Within the span of 6 months, I worked with 3 different Event Coordinators. The turnover is abnormally high. Each time there was a new coordinator, the details and PRICES were completely different. We signed a contract when we agreed to use the venue when we agreed on a certain amount for the wedding. When a new coordinator came in, the EXACT same proposal went up $6,000. The management staff at MacGregor was completely unresponsive and uncaring. We almost canceled the wedding and just had a destination wedding, but MacGregor would not give us our $2,000 sign up fee, although they were the ones breaking the contract. We ended up having to downgrade our wedding from our origional proposal and still ended up paying more than what we signed up for. I would not recommend this club to anyone. There are plenty of other beautiful venues. My wedding ended up okay, thanks to my other vendors and wedding planner from an OUTSIDE company. It took TRUE professionals and top dollar to pull of a decent wedding at MacGregor Downs Country Club.
Wedding: 09/17/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Angel Myers, Food & Beverage Manager was wonderful to work with on our wedding planning! She gave us great ideas, and always aimed at perfection. There were rave reviews from our guests on the beauty of the location, with a view of the lake and the graceful pine trees, to the beautiful displays on the fruit and cheese table. Our Southern Supper Buffet was perfect, too! The staff was SO nice and attentive, even helping us load up gifts and flowers on the way home! We could not have asked for a better site, or a more beautiful day!
Wedding: 10/02/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It was amazingly easy to work with administration of Mac Gregor Country Club in particular with Angel Myers.
We have experienced high level of professionalism the top level quality service along with delicate sense of responsibility.
It was a pleasure to use your services.

Eugene & Lana
Wedding: 07/03/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a wonderful wedding reception and Angel did a fantastic job of taking care of us. We will recommend Macgregor to others.
Wedding: 06/26/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
MacGregor Downs country club was a beautiful place to get married. We enjoyed working with the staff, but at times had problems with communication. Overall, it was a wonderful experience.
Wedding: 06/19/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The setting is perfect, the cost is reasonable, the food is wonderful, theyre very flexible and accomodating - I would recommend this venue to everyone. Communication was lacking, as well as organization. But overall our experience was good and I'd recommend to any couple.
Wedding: 05/30/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Very personal service; exceeded expectations on day of reception. Food was excellent and all logistics were handled very professionally. Every detail was covered! Beautiful venue.
Wedding: 05/22/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The memories which were created on September 19th, 2009, are ones that will be etched in our minds forever. The day was truly the "fairytale" which is the dream of every Bride.
The MacGregor Downs Country Club Staff, headed by Angel Myers, is credited with the success of this event. From the planning phase, throughout the entire event, communication and professionalism were demonstrated.
I have, and would, highly reccommend MacGregor Downs as a venue to be considered for those desiring to create an event to remember.
Wedding: 09/19/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
MacGregor Downs was a wonderful venue for our wedding and reception. The beautiful lake and goft course made a terrific backdrop to our terrace ceremony. The food choices were delicious and we received multiple compliments from our guests about the food and service. The staff was a bit unresponsive prior to the wedding day but when it came time to put everything together they did a great job and we couldn't have been any happier. After looking around for months for an ecomonical location that would not break our pockets we finally found this place, and what a steal! Thank you so much to all the staff and Angel, their wedding coordinator, for being so flexible and professional and for making such a happy and enjoyable day possible for us and our families.
Wedding: 08/08/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 919-467-0146
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0