Lochel's Bakery
57 S YORK RD
Hatboro, PA 19040  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake...
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (111)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
They made the most GORGEOUS wedding cake EVER for my husband and I! It was a unique leopard print cake and they even created a start line on it for us! OUTSTANDING! It really exceeded my expectations and you guys kept it so classy and so US!!!! We absolutely loved it!!! And not to mention the cake was AMAZING!!!! Highlight of our reception. Thank you thank you thank you!! :)
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
WOW this is awesome! WE are so happy to hear how much you loved your cake as we did too!! It is actually going into our album of cakes now:) Congrats to you both and may you both live a healthy and happy life together! <3 Lochel's Bakery
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a delicious and beautiful cake from Lochel's at our wedding at Centre Bridge Inn. We chose raspberry almond and mocha chocolate chip for different layers of our cake. Both were delicious--we've especially gotten compliments about the mocha chocolate chip. It was easy to schedule a tasting, and we had fun looking through all of the beautiful cake photos. We chose a gorgeous one with sunflowers, which were the main flower we used in our floral arrangements.
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks for reviewing us Laurie! It was a pleasure to work with you and be a sweet part of your Wedding! We wish you the very best and anything we can do for you in the future please ask~ Kathleen
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We did not use Lochel's Bakery for my actual wedding cake as we went with a bakery contracted into the package with our venue. We did use them, however, to make our wedding favors (huge black & white cookies). The cookies were SOOOOOO yummy! They were made fresh the day they were required, and they even put our "Thank You" stickers on the boxes for us so that we did not have to do it ourselves....SUCH a time saver! We go there all the time now just for treats!
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks so much for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed the Black and White cookies just as much as we did making them! You both are wonderful people and I hope you live a happy, healthy life together! Thanks for inviting us to be a sweet part of your day! Fondly, Kathleen
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lochel's provided cupcakes for my wedding, which I had in lieu of a cake.

When I scheduled a tasting, I gave almost no notice saying I'd be in Philadelphia that weekend (i'm about 2 hours from Philadelphia). No problem, Kathleen (the owner) found a time that worked our jam packed weekend. She greeted us with a huge list of flavors and let us do a lot of sampling. I told her about our wedding, and she immediately picked up on what we wanted - variety, some classic favorites, some kid-friendly flavors, and some unique flavors. She didn't try to sell us anything we didn't need, she told us the best flavors for groups (and was right on). She recommended that we buy our own cupcake tower as it would be sturdier, and gave us ideas for where to get one cheap. You can tell she's very invested in her work and extremely dedicated. Every time I emailed her she got back to me immediately, and the bakery as a whole was very professional. I asked for a custom flavor and she made it for us - pistachio icing with chocolate cake! I didn't ask for the top tier of my cake to be decorated, but she did some gorgeous piping that I loved. each cupcake was its own work of art as well.

Best flavors: lemon delight, orange creamsicle, chocolate peanut butter, cosmopolitan, french toast, carrot cake, and plain old vanilla icing on chocolate cake. :)

Oh, and if you order a zillion flavors like me be sure to bring LABELS so people know what they are eating instead of guessing. I forgot to do that!
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks so much! The pleasure has been all ours! We loved working with you and glad we could be a sweet part of your day. Your cupcake choices were amazing, as you both are:) May you both have a healthy and happy life together! <3 Kathleen
Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  0.5
  • Value:  2.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Private User 3 Reviews
I had booked my reception where Lochel's was the contracted cake company. I went to the tasting with my parents and husband. We tried different cakes, which were all good. Due to the size of my reception, I needed a cake that would accommodate. They suggested a fourth tier to add onto the cake. We all agreed that would be exactly what we needed. We ordered the cake, design, color scheme, tiers - all of it.

After the wedding, I received a call from Lochel's saying I owe an outstanding balance. When I called the store, the manager was "too busy" to speak with me. What was relayed to me was that since we added the fourth tier, I owed over $100. This was never a written agreement, we were never billed and we were never told that we would owe additional funds. Since nothing is in writing, it is not enforceable. However, the customer service from Lochel's leads more to be desired.
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks for your time in reviewing Lochels Bakery. All information regarding the upgrade was clearly stated and 3 call attempts were made including 1 the week of your Wedding. We in good faith delivered your Wedding Cake because at the appt you requested 4 tiers if your count fell below a certain number, we did a 4 tier cake which was beautifully done! With 1 call before your Wedding we called twice after and calls went to a voice mail which noted mail box was full. Again we thank you for your review. Many, many people get Wedding cakes from us and are happy with them. Congratulations and best wishes on your marriage!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lochel's Bakery did an incredible job with my wedding cake. Not only were they able to replicate the design of my dress onto the cake, they also decorated the top with roses stunningly. Kathleen really took the time to listen to my requests and executed them perfectly. It was the cake I always dreamed of. Not only was it beautiful, but also extremely delicious. I had multiple people ask me where it was from for future events of their own. Needless to say, I will also be using Lochel's from now on. Thank you so much!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The experience I had with Lochel's from beginning to end from choosing my wedding cake and decorations to the finished product was phenomenal! The staff was outstanding, incredibly friendly and more than willing to help and give suggestions when necessary but by no means pushy or overpowering. They were definitely out to make the experience about what we wanted and using their expertise to ensure that happened. We chose 2 different types of pound cake and it was beyond delicious, I've never had a fresher cake and the guests could not have loved it more! The decorating on it was absolutely stunning and tasteful! I can not do this bakery justice for the service they provided me. I would highly recommend them to anyone; you will NOT be disappointed!
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks so much very much for your kind words and time in making this review! We truly appreciate it, greatly! It has been a pleasure to work with you and make your day "sweeter" with a delicious, beautiful cake! We work very hard to make things right, although we can make mistakes, we truly take great pride in our work. We wish you both the VERY BEST in life and look forward to seeing your friendly faces in the bakery! <3
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We didn't have direct contact with Lochel's because everything was done through the Radisson where we were hosting our event. We had originally picked out a cake at the tasting that we liked but before the wedding we were told that they bakery couldn't find the design. They have beautiful cakes so finding another one that we liked wouldn't be a problem. They were very accommodating and took care of our concerns. I couldn't believe how absolutely delicious the cake was & the presentation was beautifully done. Everyone kept raving about how gorgeous the cake was and how great it tasted. Thank you so much!
Wedding: 05/09/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
I found out about Lochel's at a bridal show my MOH and I attended. The young lady's representing the bakery were extremely personable and we talked for almost an hour. Once we finally got around to tasting the cake samples we realized this was great cake. We didn't give it a second thought because we had actually decided to not have a wedding cake but to instead do a Viennese hour. Well, in wedding planning, plans change lol. Once we decided we were going to have a cake, I knew I had to reach back out to Lochel's. We chose the raspberry swirl pound cake with chocolate fudge filling. It was divine. We got so many compliments on the cake. They were super helpful with designing what I wanted and it was as aesthetically pleasing as delicious. I will definitely be returning as a customer to Lochel's.
Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Marianne 3 Reviews
Our wedding cake was BEAUTIFUL!!!! We also received compliments on the taste. It was delicious. We had a four layer wedding cake....they let us taste different cakes....they were all delicious so we picked a different flavor for each layer. Now I call that accommodating the customers.
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Congratulations! Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear your kind words and wish you both the very best! Lochel's Bakery
Wedding: 11/10/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Steven 3 Reviews
Connected with the bakery through Flowertown country club. great cake. our guests loved the cake. It was beautifully decorated we were very pleased and highly recommend Lochel's bakery
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks for your review! Congratulations to you both! May your time be filled with good health and happiness :) Lochel's Bakery
Wedding: 11/10/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Great cakes for a great value. The only reason I didn't give them 5/5 stars is because they didn't tell me during my bridal consultation that they only focus on the upcoming weekend's wedding cakes the week of the wedding -- I was panicking two weeks before my wedding that I couldn't get a hold of anyone to pay the balance for my cake and thought maybe I had dropped the ball somehow. Lochel's got back to me a couple days later and told me I still had a week to pay, which was great, but I would have preferred to avoid those two days of worrying about the status. Altogether though, wonderful cake and very nice people!
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks for your review and time! Congratulations to you both as well! Yes it is true, the week of the wedding we focus on that weeks weddings to ensure they are all in order and attention to detail is there. We do the same each week, this helps us ensure its correct, as yours was! Sorry to have made you panic but glad it all worked out! We are happy to have been a sweet part of your day! Here's to health and happiness, Lochels Bakery
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lochel's was part of my wedding package for the cake. Their cake was so delicious and everyone loved it. They did an amazing job. The owner was very nice. I had come into the store several times because I had a heavy caketopper and the owner suggested ways to allow to put it on the cake. I also used Lochel's for my bridal shower and everyone loved them too. Great vendor.
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Michelle 1 Reviews
I worked with Kathleen on my wedding cake and groomsman cake. She did a fantastic - no, brilliant - job interpreting what my vision was for both cakes (the groomsman cake was a tier of cupcakes with Flyers emblems and a smaller cake placed on top). No joke, she created EXACTLY what was in my mind. If you're a bride looking for a sumptuous, delicious cake that can be custom created to your exact specifications, Lochel's is the way to go. Also if you're in the area and you don't try out one of her gorgeous and oh-so-flavorful cupcakes, then you're missing out BIG TIME. I fully recommend Lochel's Bakery for weddings, holidays, birthdays, or just because. Thanks for everything, Kathleen! -- Michelle & Anthony
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Yay! Loved your cakes!! Thanks for letting us help you design your cakes and being a delicious part of your day!! We look forward to making more cakes in the future for you both! Congratulations and Best Wishes to you both~ many your future be healthy and happy! XO, Kathleen
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jayme 3 Reviews
Our cake was wonderful! They worked off of a fondant cake picture we provided and created a very similar design with buttercream icing. Our guests raved about the cake flavors. I don't think our top tier will make it till next year in the freezer. We've been picking away at it since wedding night! Not to worry, they provide a 1 year anniversary cake! Thank you Lochel's!
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks so very much for your review! I am happy to hear your loved your cake, along with your guests! I always say "We do it better in Buttercream!" And of course eat your cake because a free Anniversary is a wonderful thing!!
Congratulations to you both, may you be happy in love and health!
Kathleen
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I got my wedding cake from Lochel's. We had a backyard wedding and wanted a more informal, picnic type cake. The girl who helped us, Kathleen, was wonderful. She showed us two huge books of cakes, which seemed overwhelming at first, but she turned to three or four cakes that fit our theme and we picked one that was perfect. Then we got to tasted four different flavors. They were all delicious, but the raspberry almond was amazing!! Our guests raved about the cake!! It was the best wedding cake I ever tasted!
Thank you, Kathleen and Lochel's Bakery
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks so much for your review! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to making you more cakes in the future!! We wish you all the best!
XO, Kathleen
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 215-773-9779
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0