Lochel's Bakery
    110 Reviews
57 S YORK RD
Hatboro, PA 19040  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake...
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (110)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a delicious and beautiful cake from Lochel's at our wedding at Centre Bridge Inn. We chose raspberry almond and mocha chocolate chip for different layers of our cake. Both were delicious--we've especially gotten compliments about the mocha chocolate chip. It was easy to schedule a tasting, and we had fun looking through all of the beautiful cake photos. We chose a gorgeous one with sunflowers, which were the main flower we used in our floral arrangements.
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks for reviewing us Laurie! It was a pleasure to work with you and be a sweet part of your Wedding! We wish you the very best and anything we can do for you in the future please ask~ Kathleen
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We did not use Lochel's Bakery for my actual wedding cake as we went with a bakery contracted into the package with our venue. We did use them, however, to make our wedding favors (huge black & white cookies). The cookies were SOOOOOO yummy! They were made fresh the day they were required, and they even put our "Thank You" stickers on the boxes for us so that we did not have to do it ourselves....SUCH a time saver! We go there all the time now just for treats!
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks so much for your review! We are so happy you enjoyed the Black and White cookies just as much as we did making them! You both are wonderful people and I hope you live a happy, healthy life together! Thanks for inviting us to be a sweet part of your day! Fondly, Kathleen
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lochel's provided cupcakes for my wedding, which I had in lieu of a cake.

When I scheduled a tasting, I gave almost no notice saying I'd be in Philadelphia that weekend (i'm about 2 hours from Philadelphia). No problem, Kathleen (the owner) found a time that worked our jam packed weekend. She greeted us with a huge list of flavors and let us do a lot of sampling. I told her about our wedding, and she immediately picked up on what we wanted - variety, some classic favorites, some kid-friendly flavors, and some unique flavors. She didn't try to sell us anything we didn't need, she told us the best flavors for groups (and was right on). She recommended that we buy our own cupcake tower as it would be sturdier, and gave us ideas for where to get one cheap. You can tell she's very invested in her work and extremely dedicated. Every time I emailed her she got back to me immediately, and the bakery as a whole was very professional. I asked for a custom flavor and she made it for us - pistachio icing with chocolate cake! I didn't ask for the top tier of my cake to be decorated, but she did some gorgeous piping that I loved. each cupcake was its own work of art as well.

Best flavors: lemon delight, orange creamsicle, chocolate peanut butter, cosmopolitan, french toast, carrot cake, and plain old vanilla icing on chocolate cake. :)

Oh, and if you order a zillion flavors like me be sure to bring LABELS so people know what they are eating instead of guessing. I forgot to do that!
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks so much! The pleasure has been all ours! We loved working with you and glad we could be a sweet part of your day. Your cupcake choices were amazing, as you both are:) May you both have a healthy and happy life together! <3 Kathleen
Wedding: 05/24/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The experience I had with Lochel's from beginning to end from choosing my wedding cake and decorations to the finished product was phenomenal! The staff was outstanding, incredibly friendly and more than willing to help and give suggestions when necessary but by no means pushy or overpowering. They were definitely out to make the experience about what we wanted and using their expertise to ensure that happened. We chose 2 different types of pound cake and it was beyond delicious, I've never had a fresher cake and the guests could not have loved it more! The decorating on it was absolutely stunning and tasteful! I can not do this bakery justice for the service they provided me. I would highly recommend them to anyone; you will NOT be disappointed!
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks so much very much for your kind words and time in making this review! We truly appreciate it, greatly! It has been a pleasure to work with you and make your day "sweeter" with a delicious, beautiful cake! We work very hard to make things right, although we can make mistakes, we truly take great pride in our work. We wish you both the VERY BEST in life and look forward to seeing your friendly faces in the bakery! <3
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lochel's Bakery did an incredible job with my wedding cake. Not only were they able to replicate the design of my dress onto the cake, they also decorated the top with roses stunningly. Kathleen really took the time to listen to my requests and executed them perfectly. It was the cake I always dreamed of. Not only was it beautiful, but also extremely delicious. I had multiple people ask me where it was from for future events of their own. Needless to say, I will also be using Lochel's from now on. Thank you so much!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We didn't have direct contact with Lochel's because everything was done through the Radisson where we were hosting our event. We had originally picked out a cake at the tasting that we liked but before the wedding we were told that they bakery couldn't find the design. They have beautiful cakes so finding another one that we liked wouldn't be a problem. They were very accommodating and took care of our concerns. I couldn't believe how absolutely delicious the cake was & the presentation was beautifully done. Everyone kept raving about how gorgeous the cake was and how great it tasted. Thank you so much!
Wedding: 05/09/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Marianne 3 Reviews
Our wedding cake was BEAUTIFUL!!!! We also received compliments on the taste. It was delicious. We had a four layer wedding cake....they let us taste different cakes....they were all delicious so we picked a different flavor for each layer. Now I call that accommodating the customers.
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Congratulations! Thanks for your review! We are happy to hear your kind words and wish you both the very best! Lochel's Bakery
Wedding: 11/10/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Steven 3 Reviews
Connected with the bakery through Flowertown country club. great cake. our guests loved the cake. It was beautifully decorated we were very pleased and highly recommend Lochel's bakery
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks for your review! Congratulations to you both! May your time be filled with good health and happiness :) Lochel's Bakery
Wedding: 11/10/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jayme 3 Reviews
Our cake was wonderful! They worked off of a fondant cake picture we provided and created a very similar design with buttercream icing. Our guests raved about the cake flavors. I don't think our top tier will make it till next year in the freezer. We've been picking away at it since wedding night! Not to worry, they provide a 1 year anniversary cake! Thank you Lochel's!
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks so very much for your review! I am happy to hear your loved your cake, along with your guests! I always say "We do it better in Buttercream!" And of course eat your cake because a free Anniversary is a wonderful thing!!
Congratulations to you both, may you be happy in love and health!
Kathleen
Wedding: 10/11/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I got my wedding cake from Lochel's. We had a backyard wedding and wanted a more informal, picnic type cake. The girl who helped us, Kathleen, was wonderful. She showed us two huge books of cakes, which seemed overwhelming at first, but she turned to three or four cakes that fit our theme and we picked one that was perfect. Then we got to tasted four different flavors. They were all delicious, but the raspberry almond was amazing!! Our guests raved about the cake!! It was the best wedding cake I ever tasted!
Thank you, Kathleen and Lochel's Bakery
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks so much for your review! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to making you more cakes in the future!! We wish you all the best!
XO, Kathleen
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Dawn 2 Reviews
The cake was a huge hit! Our guests loved our train cake. It was my dream come true.
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Yay! Loved you Train Wedding Cake!!! So happy you found us and we could help you with your dream Wedding Cake!! Best wishes to you both, Kathleen
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
I heard so many wonderful things about the cake! Everyone loved it and our venue even made "snack" bags with the extra- it was all gone at the end of the night! Wonderful staff to work with and I was a clueless bride.
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks so much for the kind words! We appreciate the time in reviewing us as well! All of us at Lochel's Bakery would like to say Congratulations and Best Wishes to a healthy and happy future as Mr. and Mrs.! We look forward to making more cakes for you and seeing you around the bakery as well! XO, Kathleen
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Our wedding venue (Spring Mill Manor) included a cake from Lochel's Bakery as part of our wedding package. We had a private tasting at Lochel's prior to our wedding to select the flavor of cake we want as well as the design. I was pleasantly surprised to see how many options Lochel's offers for their wedding cakes. Lots of different flavors and designs to choose from and they give you a lot of freedom. We decided to do a three tier cake with three different cake flavors (one in each tier). They have two huge binders of samples of cakes they decorated for other people so if you don't have a design idea in mind the binders are very helpful. On our wedding day the cake was prepared exactly as we decided at our tasting. It looked lovely and tasted great. They were a great bakery to work with.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Bailey 1 Reviews
Our wedding cake was delicious! Lochel's did a great job recommending colors to use that would show up well in photos and we were really happy with the way our cake turned out. Guests loved the flavor as well!
Lochel's Bakery responded with the following comments:
Thanks so much for your review on Lochel's Bakery! Congratulations to you both on your Wedding as well!! We are happy to hear you liked your Wedding Cake and look forward to making you more cakes in the future!
Wedding: 07/20/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was really happy with how our cake turned out. Lochel's did a great job. The cake was delicious and it was beautiful too. Lochel's was great. They listened to our suggestions and we look forward to using them again in the future.
Wedding: 06/29/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lochel's was awesome to work with. Our cake was beautiful and everyone raved how amazing it looked and how awesome it tasted.
Wedding: 06/28/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 215-773-9779
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0