Karen Spire Catering and Events
Serving the Greater Philadelphia Area Since 1999
    15 Reviews
149 Greenwood Ave
Ambler, PA 19002  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres -...
Bar services: Open Bar
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (15)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen Spire could not have done a better job in catering and running our Cairnwood Estate wedding. We initially scheduled a tasting with Karen because she is one of the lower priced caterers that works with Cairnwood, hoping the food would be ‘acceptable’ for our wedding day. As you could imagine, we were extremely (pleasantly!) surprised at the tasting when my husband, parents and I experienced the BEST MEAL we’ve ever had! Needless to say, we booked with her on the spot and she did not disappoint!! Karen held true to her initial quote which was such a great value, especially considering the quality of food and service we received! She responded to each one of my (many, many) emails & phone calls immediately and even talked through details with me while she was on vacation! Karen was exceptionally professional, reassuring, and patient with us as during the entire process and we are so thankful for that! We also had a few guests who have strict dietary restrictions and Karen & her team handled them with ease. Karen and her team were wonderful!! Our wedding day went SO smoothly – a huge thanks to them! Its 2 months later and guests continue to tell us how they will remember our wedding as ‘the one with the amazing food!’. Thank you again Karen for raising the ‘wedding food’ bar!
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our entire extended family researched and made contact with and/or had sample tastings with many caterers before deciding on Karen Spire and we were totally and completely thrilled with every aspect of dealing with her and her amazing staff. Since the wedding most of our 160+ guests have contacted us with nothing but the highest of praises for every aspect of Karen's food and service. to say that the food was very substantial portions and of the highest quality and taste would be a grave understatement...it was spectacular!!! Not only would we recommend Karen to our closest and dearest friends...we would recommend her to everyone and look forward to the opportunity to be able to have her cater another major function for us. Karen, you and your staff were amazing...awesome...stellar...the BEST! Thank you for truly making a wondrous wedding even more spectacular!!
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Let me start by saying that I am a very detail oriented person with a bit of perfectionist mixed in, so it can be pretty hard to satisfy all my (sometimes unusual) requirements. However, I must say, I am speechless. The job Karen's Catering did on my wedding day not only met my expectations, but exceeded them!

We had our wedding at Cairnwood Estate and Karen's Catering not only provided all the food, but they set up both our ceremony and reception areas as well. Karen's food was some of the best I’ve ever tasted and I can't tell you how many guests commented on how delicious it was! The food on the day of the wedding tasted even better than it did during our tasting which was already fantastic! The meat was juicy, the vegetables fresh, and all the different flavors mixed together so perfectly your taste buds went wild!

Her staff was polite and well trained and her bartenders knew how to properly pour drinks. But it was more than just this which put Karen’s Catering to the top, it was their attention to the little details often forgotten that made them truly stand out. For instance, all the way back during our tasting Karen found out that I loved coconut shrimp. Well to my surprise, on the day of our wedding, she comes walking out with this big tray *just* for me! She knew how much I liked it and wanted to make sure I got more than my fill of it! When it came to setting up, Karen and her staff did everything exactly as me and my fiancee wanted. Even cleanup at the end of the night was better than expected. All of our possessions were safely packaged up and even lesser things like the table numbers were re-wrapped back in their original packaging so they wouldn't get damaged on the ride home. Every little thing that could have been done, was done!

With service like this you would expect to pay a real premium however, Karen was actually the most affordable caterer I spoke with! I truly thank her and her staff for providing us with such a fantastic experience!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen's food is absolutely to die for!!!! We loved all of the food at our wedding and our guests are still raving about it! Karen was so helpful during the planning process. Definitely recommend using Karen for your wedding, you will be so happy!!!
Wedding: 04/21/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen's Catering was great to work with. They did both our Rehearsal dinner and Reception. Both events were amazing and right on the money. Her food is outstanding and better than any other caterer we've ever used and very reasonable. I will use them again.
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen's Catering turned my wife's dream into a reality.

Our wedding was at The Pearl S. Buck Estate. The venue was beautiful and dispite the rain and the terential down pours the food was absoulutely awesome.

Karen met with my wife who is a chef as well and was able to come up with a menu that was fantastic. I have to say, I am very lucky I married a chef who recccomends a chef that she appreciates. I just had to show up and it was a breeze.

Now for you foodies that is cool but for you folks who do not care about food that is awesome.

I am by nationality half italian and half irish. My wife is Greek. It is a very impotant part of both of our cultures to have food as a centerpiece of our day. Karen nailed it. She was able to come up with a menu that satisfied all.

Her staff was very kind, attentive and down right excelent. If you are looking for a chef that will work with you and make your day a dream come true then look no further.

The price was not the cheapest but I can tell you that we had a budget and our expections were exceeded and worth every penny. Karen met with us in person, took the time to adapt to our wises and personally cared about her product and the value was extrodinary.

Thank you Karen!
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen and her staff did a fabulous job for our daughter's Cairnwood wedding reception! Everyone raved about her food and her attention to detail. She was always available during the planning process and was very reasonably priced! She provided us with excellent ideas and created the evening we dreamed about!. She did a superb job! We couldn't have asked for more! I will definitely use her services for any future affairs!
Wedding: 06/02/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen is an amazing Chef! We interviewed a few caterers and even before we tasted Karen's food, we knew she was the one! Her professional and helpful demeanor put her at the top of our list! Fortunately for us, her food was truly absolutely delicious! Karen's help in the planning of our wedding was without a doubt priceless! She helped through many aspects of the planning and coordination. She was very patient!

Karen's coordinator Berith was also a pleasure to work with as we approached our wedding day. She relieved more stress than she will ever know! She knew what to ask and how to approach any concerns we had. Thanks to Karen and Berith everything went smoothly!

If we could give Karen's Catering more than a 5 .. we would! We would positively recommend them!

Wedding: 05/18/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I are self-admitted foodies. I was in the fine-dining restaurant industry for 10 years as a maitre' d and sommerlier. My husband comes from a Northern-Italian family, if you know anything about Northern Italians, you know they take their food VERY SERIOUSLY!!! More so than any other aspect of the wedding, the food was the most sacred to us because we felt it defined us and our passions in life. And because of our love for food, we were very selective when it came to choosing a caterer. And oh boy, did Karen Spire deliver!!! Every dish was perfectly executed and beautifully served (and remember, we're tough critics)!!! What we really liked about Karen's business is that you deal directly with her, not a representative or salesperson. Her resume is extensive and she has considerable experience with fish and seafood. She's innovative, accommodating, and my favorite... personable (along with her staff). Hire her, your guests will rave about the food!!!
Wedding: 09/24/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen Spire did the most amazing job of catering our wedding! She was able to work within our budget, provide a diverse menu, and provide incredible service. Diane, the head of the house, was so great - keeping me on schedule all night long, making sure I tasted the food and got whatever I wanted to drink. After the appetizers, guests were already saying this was the best food and service they had seen at a wedding. From one guest: "Christina, the wedding itself was incredible – you know how particular I am about food and the food and service were great, the best ever."
Wedding: 02/20/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen's catering did an exception job at my 2010 wedding. She was quite flexible with any changes we had and her food was amazing. She was much more than a caterer as she provided much more because of the venue we had chosen. She also had an assistant which was extremely helpful in keeping things going and on schedule throughout the day. I would highly recommend her and her filet :) to anyone!
Wedding: 03/13/2010
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen did an EXCEPTIONAL job with our wedding. She is what made our wedding day a success!!!! She was the most flexible with our meal options. We wanted something different from the typical menu selections, so we asked Karen if she would be able to cook Caribbean food for us. She made whatever we wanted. EVERY guest went up for a third helping of food - they said it was incredible!! Thanks Karen for doing such an AWESOME job with our wedding. We will definitely be using her again for any upcoming events!!!!! I am so pleased that we found her!!!!!
Wedding: 05/25/2009
Services Used: Catering, Event Rentals & Photobooths
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen Spire did the most amazing job of catering our wedding! She was able to work within our budget and created a beautiful display. All night our guests kept commenting on how the food was the best they had ever had at a wedding! What a compliment! We will use Karen again for any catering we ever need in the future!!!
Wedding: 08/29/2008
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen did a fantastic job putting together an entirely vegan wedding for us. She really impressed us at the tasting, and carried that through to the wedding. Each dish was delicious and included a good amount of food. Many guests (especially non-vegan guests) remarked how delicious the food was. Because we knew some guests would be skeptical about a vegan wedding, it was of the utmost importance that the food be the best. And it was. She also was really helpful accommodating special requests (providing a raw vegan meal for one guest, and a gluten-free vegan meal for a couple of others).

As a long-time vegan, I explained to Karen that the one thing that would absolutely ruin my wedding is if something was not vegan. She definitely understood and gave that the appropriate consideration and care.

As good as Karen's food is, you might expect the price to be unaffordable, but her fees were actually better than most of the other caterers I called.
Wedding: 10/08/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 10 Reviews
Karen was sweet, her prices very reasonable, and her food some of the best I’ve ever had. We discovered that Karen is a cell phone person, not an email person – we had a much easier time communicating by calling her cell phone directly (she often took a while to reply to emails). Karen took care of everything for us – rentals, bars, setup and cleanup – which made the planning so much more relaxed. Everything worked out really well and we were very happy to have chosen her. I would definitely recommend her!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Catering
 215-738-1860
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0