Karen Spire Catering and Events
Serving the Greater Philadelphia Area Since 1999
    23 Reviews
149 Greenwood Ave
Ambler, PA 19002  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Hors d'oeuvres -...
Bar services: Open Bar
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (23)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

COREEN 9 Reviews
We were very blessed to have found Karen Spire through the preferred vendor list of our venue at Cairnwood Estates. She was very flexible and accommodating. Our guests raved the food and presentation were superb. It was a smashing success. On a side note - present a timeline of the day to your caterer. Be sure to communicate with the catering staff upon arrival to finalize any expected details for instance - a side dish of appetizers in the bridal suite.
Wedding: 10/13/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen and her staff are amazing! All of our guests had great comments about all of the food served. My husband and I couldn't have been happier with Karen Spire Catering! Best meal from start to finish!
Wedding: 10/04/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen Spire provided the catering service for my daughters’ wedding at The Cairnwood Estate in Bryn Athyn, PA in late September 2014. We first met Karen during the weekly open house at Cairnwood as she was one of several caterers present. Sitting down with Karen and discussing my daughters plans for her wedding and gaging her response and enthusiasm was very refreshing. She was warm, friendly and really “herself” and we came away feeling we have known her for many years. My daughter and I decided then Karen Spire Catering would be our vendor. We worked with Karen to develop the menu and then she prepared samples right in her home for us to taste. The tasting was incredible, the explanations, the suggestions she offered confirmed our original decision that we had the right caterer for our special event. She worked on providing the right color combinations for table cloths, silver ware, etc.
And now the event, it has been several weeks since the wedding and everyone has remarked how different the venue was from a normal wedding reception and that food had exceeded all expectations. Some of the Hors D'oeuvre’s were very different particularly the potato pancake w/smoked trout & dill, the date wrapped in bacon (one couple thought the bacon was wrapped around beef and chicken only to find out it was a date), and lastly basted garlic crockett’s w/ goat cheese. The presentation of the tables, the food tables, the servers, the wedding event coordinator, the chef’s were all so pleasant with smiles serving, excellent and really could not do enough.
I would have Karen Spire Catering serve another event for me in a heartbeat. The key to success for any event is those that are the supporting cast if you will. This cast is all Class, A+.
Thanks Karen and staff.
Wedding: 09/28/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When my now husband and I got engaged and decided to have our wedding at Cairnwood Estate - we thought that we might have a hard time picking from the 7 preferred caterers! After going to an open house, I set up tastings with 3 of the caterers we most wanted to try and possibly work with on our wedding day. Our first tasting was with Karen Spire - who invited the two of us, and 4 guests into her home and then cooked for us in her kitchen. Not only was the food absolutely delicious, but there was such a sense of attention to detail, true talent and skill, and that personal touch we were looking for. Right after our tasting with Karen, we cancelled all our other caterer meetings and immediately booked her for our wedding! It was unanimous between all 6 of us at the tasting that we didn't need to look any further!

Working with Karen & her team from day 1 until our wedding day was nothing but a positive and pleasant experience! We knew from the start that we wanted to do food stations and Karen customized an entire menu for us based on our what we told her we wanted - we could not have been happier with everything. Throughout the planning process, Karen was always quick to respond to my emails and made my job very easy. Karen even went out of her way to come and meet with my florist and I at Cairnwood right before the wedding to make sure I felt confident in everything - that was so appreciated!

From the start I never had any doubt that our wedding food was going to be outstanding, and Karen Spire Catering and Events didn't disappoint. Our guests are still talking about how amazing our wedding food was - many of them saying it's the best they've ever had at a wedding, and I couldn't agree more! If you're looking for a customized unique menu, wonderful staff, a positive & stress free experience, and food that will be talked about for a long time - then look no further than Karen Spire Catering and Events! We are SO grateful we chose them & know you will be too!
Wedding: 08/30/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen and Company traveled 1 1/2 hours to cater our event. They set everything up( ovens, etc.) in the oversized garage and cooked and served from there. Everything was butlered by her servers-- appetizers, small plates, cake to our guests in the back yard and on the upper deck. Our guests raved about the food! We had a double wedding outside at a private home. We only had to meet with Karen once beforehand to discuss and set up the menu. All other communication was by email or phone, as we did have a few changes as the date approached. Karen was extremely accommodating to all of our needs and helpful in planning our menu, while giving us an expansive array of choices. She and her crew are extremely competent, professional, experienced, and knowledgeable in their business. We had all the confidence in the world with them and they did not disappoint! We had over 100 guests at this affair and everyone talked about how awesome the food was long after the affair was over. And they were extremely reasonable with their pricing. I would not hesitate to recommend them for any event!
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I would highly recommend Karen Spires catering to ANYONE for ANYTHING. The only reason I would not would be because I don't want her to become so busy that she is not totally available for me and any event that I would have. Her sous chef, Paolo, was unbelievable. Karen and she, with her waitstaff, were organized, accessible, totally professional, and absolutely lovely. From start to finish they were WONDERFUL! We took their suggestions and were glad we did. The food was phenomenal and the guests were very happy with everything and everyone. They worked with smiles on their faces and tons of energy. I loved, loved, loved the experience.
Wedding: 07/12/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We checked out three different caterers for our engagement cocktail party (120 people), all of which were highly recommended. We chose Karen Spire because of the personal service and attention she gave us at our initial tasting and thereafter. She invited us to her home where she and her sous chef specially made about 25 different items just for us to try. I am a foodie and I know can be very fussy about the quality of the food, the flavor profiles and preparation. Karen welcomed my feedback on each item and had great suggestions about how it should be served. She never made me feel like I was being difficult or asking too much. In fact, it seemed like she couldn't do enough for us. On top of that her cost was very reasonable and well worth the value. She and I walked through the venue together, and she had fabulous advice on the set up and execution of our event. On the day of the event, she and her staff executed the food exquisitely. The taste was spot on and the presentation was gorgeous! Everyone raved about it, and the raves were well deserved. We truly had the time of our lives at the party, and that is due in large part to the talent and hard work of Karen Spire and her team. We are starting to plan our wedding and are trying hard to find a venue where we can use Karen Spire again. You will not go wrong with Karen Spire.
Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen and her crew are AMAZING!!! The entire experience was stress-free from her "we can do whatever you want" attitude to her fun, professional crew!

The food was FANTASTIC...guests are still talking about it!

Karen even provides a wedding coordinator, Erin, that was a nice extra!!!

During the process of selecting linens, Karen even offered me her own linens because I commented how pretty they were! You wont be disappointed if you hire Karen Spire Catering!!!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen Spire could not have done a better job in catering and running our Cairnwood Estate wedding. We initially scheduled a tasting with Karen because she is one of the lower priced caterers that works with Cairnwood, hoping the food would be ‘acceptable’ for our wedding day. As you could imagine, we were extremely (pleasantly!) surprised at the tasting when my husband, parents and I experienced the BEST MEAL we’ve ever had! Needless to say, we booked with her on the spot and she did not disappoint!! Karen held true to her initial quote which was such a great value, especially considering the quality of food and service we received! She responded to each one of my (many, many) emails & phone calls immediately and even talked through details with me while she was on vacation! Karen was exceptionally professional, reassuring, and patient with us as during the entire process and we are so thankful for that! We also had a few guests who have strict dietary restrictions and Karen & her team handled them with ease. Karen and her team were wonderful!! Our wedding day went SO smoothly – a huge thanks to them! Its 2 months later and guests continue to tell us how they will remember our wedding as ‘the one with the amazing food!’. Thank you again Karen for raising the ‘wedding food’ bar!
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our entire extended family researched and made contact with and/or had sample tastings with many caterers before deciding on Karen Spire and we were totally and completely thrilled with every aspect of dealing with her and her amazing staff. Since the wedding most of our 160+ guests have contacted us with nothing but the highest of praises for every aspect of Karen's food and service. to say that the food was very substantial portions and of the highest quality and taste would be a grave understatement...it was spectacular!!! Not only would we recommend Karen to our closest and dearest friends...we would recommend her to everyone and look forward to the opportunity to be able to have her cater another major function for us. Karen, you and your staff were amazing...awesome...stellar...the BEST! Thank you for truly making a wondrous wedding even more spectacular!!
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Let me start by saying that I am a very detail oriented person with a bit of perfectionist mixed in, so it can be pretty hard to satisfy all my (sometimes unusual) requirements. However, I must say, I am speechless. The job Karen's Catering did on my wedding day not only met my expectations, but exceeded them!

We had our wedding at Cairnwood Estate and Karen's Catering not only provided all the food, but they set up both our ceremony and reception areas as well. Karen's food was some of the best I’ve ever tasted and I can't tell you how many guests commented on how delicious it was! The food on the day of the wedding tasted even better than it did during our tasting which was already fantastic! The meat was juicy, the vegetables fresh, and all the different flavors mixed together so perfectly your taste buds went wild!

Her staff was polite and well trained and her bartenders knew how to properly pour drinks. But it was more than just this which put Karen’s Catering to the top, it was their attention to the little details often forgotten that made them truly stand out. For instance, all the way back during our tasting Karen found out that I loved coconut shrimp. Well to my surprise, on the day of our wedding, she comes walking out with this big tray *just* for me! She knew how much I liked it and wanted to make sure I got more than my fill of it! When it came to setting up, Karen and her staff did everything exactly as me and my fiancee wanted. Even cleanup at the end of the night was better than expected. All of our possessions were safely packaged up and even lesser things like the table numbers were re-wrapped back in their original packaging so they wouldn't get damaged on the ride home. Every little thing that could have been done, was done!

With service like this you would expect to pay a real premium however, Karen was actually the most affordable caterer I spoke with! I truly thank her and her staff for providing us with such a fantastic experience!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen's food is absolutely to die for!!!! We loved all of the food at our wedding and our guests are still raving about it! Karen was so helpful during the planning process. Definitely recommend using Karen for your wedding, you will be so happy!!!
Wedding: 04/21/2013
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen's Catering was great to work with. They did both our Rehearsal dinner and Reception. Both events were amazing and right on the money. Her food is outstanding and better than any other caterer we've ever used and very reasonable. I will use them again.
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen's Catering turned my wife's dream into a reality.

Our wedding was at The Pearl S. Buck Estate. The venue was beautiful and dispite the rain and the terential down pours the food was absoulutely awesome.

Karen met with my wife who is a chef as well and was able to come up with a menu that was fantastic. I have to say, I am very lucky I married a chef who recccomends a chef that she appreciates. I just had to show up and it was a breeze.

Now for you foodies that is cool but for you folks who do not care about food that is awesome.

I am by nationality half italian and half irish. My wife is Greek. It is a very impotant part of both of our cultures to have food as a centerpiece of our day. Karen nailed it. She was able to come up with a menu that satisfied all.

Her staff was very kind, attentive and down right excelent. If you are looking for a chef that will work with you and make your day a dream come true then look no further.

The price was not the cheapest but I can tell you that we had a budget and our expections were exceeded and worth every penny. Karen met with us in person, took the time to adapt to our wises and personally cared about her product and the value was extrodinary.

Thank you Karen!
Wedding: 09/08/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen and her staff did a fabulous job for our daughter's Cairnwood wedding reception! Everyone raved about her food and her attention to detail. She was always available during the planning process and was very reasonably priced! She provided us with excellent ideas and created the evening we dreamed about!. She did a superb job! We couldn't have asked for more! I will definitely use her services for any future affairs!
Wedding: 06/02/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karen is an amazing Chef! We interviewed a few caterers and even before we tasted Karen's food, we knew she was the one! Her professional and helpful demeanor put her at the top of our list! Fortunately for us, her food was truly absolutely delicious! Karen's help in the planning of our wedding was without a doubt priceless! She helped through many aspects of the planning and coordination. She was very patient!

Karen's coordinator Berith was also a pleasure to work with as we approached our wedding day. She relieved more stress than she will ever know! She knew what to ask and how to approach any concerns we had. Thanks to Karen and Berith everything went smoothly!

If we could give Karen's Catering more than a 5 .. we would! We would positively recommend them!

Wedding: 05/18/2012
Services Used: Catering
 215-738-1860
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0