Just Desserts
The Pinnacle of Good Taste.
    84 Reviews
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948  | map
Desserts: Groom's Cake, Pastries
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (84)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My cake was absolutely amazing! Everyone LOVED the look and the Flavors were AMAZING!!! I did the Key Lime and the Chocolate Chocolate Mousse!! I could not have asked for a better cake!!!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Emmett 4 Reviews
The cake was beautiful. Tasted as good as it looked. Exactly what the bride wanted. Delivered promptly and set up beautifully. Completely happy with the cake. Would definitely recommend them to anyone!!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jen 9 Reviews
Absolutely perfect! Guests couldn't stop raving!
Wedding: 05/03/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 9 Reviews
Just Desserts is the ONLY wedding cake vendor on the Outer Banks. Melinda Gregory is one of the most talented bakers I've ever had the pleasure of knowing. Melinda took pictures and created the most beautiful cake I could have ever imagined... she delivered exactly what I had envisioned. Her different flavor choices are amazing... something for everyone. I highly recommend!

Hayley
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We could not have been more pleased with our wedding cake! The cake was beautiful and it was the best cake I have ever tasted in my life! We have had so many guests from the wedding, tell us that the cake was amazing and the best they have ever had. I cannot wait to have our anniversary layer!!!
Wedding: 03/21/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melinda was absolutely wonderful to work with from start to finish! Her cakes are amazing! We had so many compliments - many people said it was the best wedding cake they had ever tasted! She is extremely responsive and is the sweetest woman you'll ever work with!! We are so happy we chose her to make our wedding cake, and we LOVED what she created for us!
Wedding: 10/18/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My guests said it was the best cake they'd ever had... and it was! Melinda was great to work with and made the cake of my dreams!
Wedding: 10/13/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My fiance and I were lucky enough to end up with two cakes from Melinda at Just Desserts! After cake tasting we were so torn on flavors that we ordered a grooms cake for the rehearsal dinner in the Chocolate Macadamia Nut and then our wedding cake was the Eclair. None of our guests and family could decide which they liked better either and we spent the rest of the week devouring the leftovers.

Easy to work with, delivered exactly what we asked for and the most delicious wedding cake I've ever eaten. I'd highly recommend!
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Our cake was amazing. It was exactly what we wanted and Melinda did a great job of creating our cake. The Eclair and key lime cakes are delicious. She takes her time to answer questions and she provides a lot of options for tastings. The way she displayed the cake was creative and well executed.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

robert &sandy 2 Reviews
Melinda was very easy to work with. our wedding cake was as beautiful as delicious. delivery &set up was flawless. all our guests raved about taste &beauty!
Wedding: 09/27/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was drawn to work with Melinda after seeing some of the beautiful cakes she had created. She worked with us to personalize a design she has made before. We tasted several of her cake flavors and all were amazing! What I love about Melinda's cake is not only are they a work of art, they are hands down, the best cakes I have ever tasted! We went with the eclair flavor which was loved by all of our guests. She also made seashell chocolates for our wedding favors which were absolutely beautiful and delicious. If you want an amazing cake, Just Desserts is the place!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had herd from many people in the OBX that Melinda made the best cakes on island. That was an understatement. The cake was delicious and beautiful! It was covered in beach glass and driftwood and had white chocolate sea shells all over. Truly a one of a kind. Absolutely beautiful!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Not only is Dorothy an amazing wedding cake designer, she is also so sweet and truly cares about her clients. Our guests devoured out 2-tiered eclair wedding cake. The cakes taste and design were absolutely perfect, and to die for. I wish we had more to keep as left overs! We will definitely be ordering more cakes from her when we travel down to our annual OBX vacation! Thank you Dorothy for helping make our day so special and memorable!
Just Desserts responded with the following comments:
Congratulations Jen!...i'd be happy to make any cake in the future for you..although..It's Melinda..Dorothy w/probably your florist..but I remember your cake quite well! Two tier rose petal in ivory, and working with your aunt..who is very talented w/her beautiful table arrangements!
Thanks so much/M
Wedding: 08/12/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melinda with Just Desserts is amazing. Se created the best cake I have ever tasted and all of our guests were so impressed and still make comments about how good it was!! We had a vision of what we wanted the cake to look like and provided Melinda with ribbon we wanted to use on the cake. From that she created just what we envisioned. It was such a beautiful And delicious cake!
Wedding: 05/26/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Best cake we have ever had, not just wedding cake, but best cake EVER!!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melinda is a Parisian trained pastry chef! She is an artist. I had the privilege, long before I got married, of watching her decorate several cakes and was utterly transfixed. Her website does not do her justice. Her cakes are the best tasting on the Outer Banks, NC and it was so hard to choose, even for our small wedding. I opted for a white bottom square, round top, two tier sea shell/coral cake topped with seahorses! The bottom was eclair and the top key lime! Absolutely gorgeous and tasty!

I have used Melinda throughout the years, beginning in 1989 for Birthday cakes and party pastry platters! Fabulous tasting and gorgeous presentation (love the lemon bars). I have watched her work copied by all the other pastry and wedding cake suppliers in the area. She created the first "Sandcastle" cake in the area, along with her white chocolate shells and sea creatures. Odds are, if a competitor has it, Melinda did it first. I highly recommend Melinda and Just Desserts.
Wedding: 11/10/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 252-441-2931
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0