Just Desserts
The Pinnacle of Good Taste.
    78 Reviews
Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948  | map
Desserts: Groom's Cake, Pastries
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, On-site Setup...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (78)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.8/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melinda was absolutely wonderful to work with from start to finish! Her cakes are amazing! We had so many compliments - many people said it was the best wedding cake they had ever tasted! She is extremely responsive and is the sweetest woman you'll ever work with!! We are so happy we chose her to make our wedding cake, and we LOVED what she created for us!
Wedding: 10/18/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My fiance and I were lucky enough to end up with two cakes from Melinda at Just Desserts! After cake tasting we were so torn on flavors that we ordered a grooms cake for the rehearsal dinner in the Chocolate Macadamia Nut and then our wedding cake was the Eclair. None of our guests and family could decide which they liked better either and we spent the rest of the week devouring the leftovers.

Easy to work with, delivered exactly what we asked for and the most delicious wedding cake I've ever eaten. I'd highly recommend!
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Our cake was amazing. It was exactly what we wanted and Melinda did a great job of creating our cake. The Eclair and key lime cakes are delicious. She takes her time to answer questions and she provides a lot of options for tastings. The way she displayed the cake was creative and well executed.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

robert &sandy 2 Reviews
Melinda was very easy to work with. our wedding cake was as beautiful as delicious. delivery &set up was flawless. all our guests raved about taste &beauty!
Wedding: 09/27/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was drawn to work with Melinda after seeing some of the beautiful cakes she had created. She worked with us to personalize a design she has made before. We tasted several of her cake flavors and all were amazing! What I love about Melinda's cake is not only are they a work of art, they are hands down, the best cakes I have ever tasted! We went with the eclair flavor which was loved by all of our guests. She also made seashell chocolates for our wedding favors which were absolutely beautiful and delicious. If you want an amazing cake, Just Desserts is the place!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had herd from many people in the OBX that Melinda made the best cakes on island. That was an understatement. The cake was delicious and beautiful! It was covered in beach glass and driftwood and had white chocolate sea shells all over. Truly a one of a kind. Absolutely beautiful!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Not only is Dorothy an amazing wedding cake designer, she is also so sweet and truly cares about her clients. Our guests devoured out 2-tiered eclair wedding cake. The cakes taste and design were absolutely perfect, and to die for. I wish we had more to keep as left overs! We will definitely be ordering more cakes from her when we travel down to our annual OBX vacation! Thank you Dorothy for helping make our day so special and memorable!
Just Desserts responded with the following comments:
Congratulations Jen!...i'd be happy to make any cake in the future for you..although..It's Melinda..Dorothy w/probably your florist..but I remember your cake quite well! Two tier rose petal in ivory, and working with your aunt..who is very talented w/her beautiful table arrangements!
Thanks so much/M
Wedding: 08/12/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melinda with Just Desserts is amazing. Se created the best cake I have ever tasted and all of our guests were so impressed and still make comments about how good it was!! We had a vision of what we wanted the cake to look like and provided Melinda with ribbon we wanted to use on the cake. From that she created just what we envisioned. It was such a beautiful And delicious cake!
Wedding: 05/26/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Best cake we have ever had, not just wedding cake, but best cake EVER!!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Melinda is a Parisian trained pastry chef! She is an artist. I had the privilege, long before I got married, of watching her decorate several cakes and was utterly transfixed. Her website does not do her justice. Her cakes are the best tasting on the Outer Banks, NC and it was so hard to choose, even for our small wedding. I opted for a white bottom square, round top, two tier sea shell/coral cake topped with seahorses! The bottom was eclair and the top key lime! Absolutely gorgeous and tasty!

I have used Melinda throughout the years, beginning in 1989 for Birthday cakes and party pastry platters! Fabulous tasting and gorgeous presentation (love the lemon bars). I have watched her work copied by all the other pastry and wedding cake suppliers in the area. She created the first "Sandcastle" cake in the area, along with her white chocolate shells and sea creatures. Odds are, if a competitor has it, Melinda did it first. I highly recommend Melinda and Just Desserts.
Wedding: 11/10/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was so impressed with Just Desserts and Melinda. Her cake designs are fabulous! I first found her at the Outer Banks Wedding Association Show January 2012. I couldn't believe how good her cakes tasted! I got a Chocolate Mousse Vanilla sponge cake with Frangelico flavored Chocolate Mouse filling for the top layer. 24 Karat Gold for the bottom and Eclair for the middle! It was fantastic looking and tasting! I went back and forth between butter cream roses or real roses, then decided on a White Curtain Draped with orange and red roses! It was stunning and was gobbled up! My guests were amazed at how good it tasted. Thank you Melinda, Larry and Lee Ann!
Wedding: 11/03/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 1 Reviews
As I local I never considered getting a cake from anyone else!! Melinda's cakes are always beautiful and delicious!!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We used Just Desserts for our wedding cake and it was delicious! We did several local cake tastings but Melinda's samples were the best! Melinda was easy to work with and the cake was absolutely beautiful! She worked with my florist, Sugar Snap, so I didn't need to worry about anything. I emailed her a picture of the cake we wanted and Melinda's creation was perfect! Everyone is still talking about how beautiful and delicious it was! We would highly recommend Just Desserts!
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We met with Melinda a month before our wedding. She was so extremely helpful to us and we were very impressed with her professionalism. With our wedding at the end of October she suggested a fall theme, which we never even thought of! She gave us so many great ideas! I knew I wanted to use flowers to decorate the cake and delivered these to Melinda the day before. When the cake was delivered on our wedding day it was even better than we ever imagined. The cake was absolutely beautiful! It was so beautiful that we hated to cut into it! Everyone there raved about the cake, it was so delicious! They say people show up to weddings just for the cake and with Melinda's talent and creativity she made it a special day! Thank you for such a beautiful wedding cake and for all your help!
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I used Just Desserts at the recommendation of my F&B Director at my venue and they did not steer me wrong! Melinda was VERY easy to get a hold of, always responding to my insanely early emails, and incredibly willing to adjust when I wanted to change flavors. Since she's worked with tons of other vendors in the area, when I asked if I could have flowers on top of my cake all she needed as the florist name and I didn't have to do another thing! The cake was delivered and decorated on time. I didn't even know it was happening, which is what every bride really wants. Our cake looked stunning, the butter cream was SO smooth it looked like fondant! And it tasted AMAZING!!! We had the Eclair cake (seriously, get this flavor!!!), Key Lime (also spectacular) and Red Velvet as a special request. We had a good bit of cake leftover after the wedding and our venue boxed some up for us to take home (since I didn't get to eat any other than what my hubby fed me that night). The cake was so good I wanted to keep eating it, even after it was a past its prime. We also received a pre-boxed anniversary tier, which is a really nice bonus when you might forget to box the top tier yourself or the venue might accidentally serve it. I loved Just Desserts and would highly recommend it to anyone!
Wedding: 10/27/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had the best experience with Melinda at Just Desserts. We just had our wedding October 6th, 2012 and the cake was not only gorgeous (and one of my favorite elements of the wedding) but the best cake I have ever tasted. I can't tell you how many people told us it was "the best wedding cake they ever had". Melinda was amazing during the whole process too. I was totally obnoxious and completely changed the design of my cake 2 times and Melinda was so accommodating throughout the process

I must add this last thing because its now a running story/joke among my friends. We took a piece of leftover cake home to our rental house after the wedding. Everyone wanted some. As one of my bridesmaids husband was eating the last bite, he accidentally dropped a piece on her shoe. He promptly picked up her shoe licked the icing off and proceeded with what he was doing. Other than it being the best wedding cake among our friends and family, they are now referring to it as "shoe licking good". I really could not have been happier with the whole experience. Oh we had the eclair cake with butter-cream icing.
Wedding: 10/06/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 252-441-2931
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0