Julie Mikos
PO Box 5762
Berkeley, CA 94705  | map
Style: Photojournalism
Packages: Digital Files, High Resolution Images
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (10)   Photos   FAQ   Blog   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julie is AWESOME! She was so willing to accommodate our schedules for engagement shoots and phone calls. She was FUN and creative with pics. She and her assistant were everywhere at the wedding, but inconspicuous at the same time! I would recommend her to everyone!
Wedding: 07/28/2012
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julie is, quite simply, fantastic. Friendly, personable, energetic, attentive to your specific needs (and budget), flexible, and super talented. BOOK HER. If you are a happy bride, completely in love with your groom, and focused on all the right aspects of your day, then you will not be disappointed. Bridezillas need not apply.

We chose Julie because of the quality and character of her sample work, shown on her website. We were anxious about cost, but also wise enough to know that you get what you pay for. Photos of our wedding day would be a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, which we didn't want to risk messing up. After looking around and understanding what quality photographic work costs in the Bay Area, we knew that Julie's pricing was spot on for the incredibly beautiful results that she produces. I repeat: you get what you pay for.

She was at the top end of our budget, but was extremely helpful in tailoring the package in to what worked for us, using her extensive experience and understanding to give great guidance on the actual time required to get the photos we wanted, rather than a standard package of X-number of hours at X-price, no matter what.

And the results were outstanding. I only have to look at a few of Julie's photos from our day and I well up with emotion; she captured the spirit and feeling of our day with great insight and artistry. She was virtually invisible to us during all the main parts of the day, nonetheless moving around, getting shots from angles I hadn't even dreamed of, and details of our day that I wouldn't ever want to forget - but would have done, had Julie not been there to capture them.

My husband and I can be pretty cheesy when we're together, and we've never posed for photographs before, but Julie just let us do our thing, snapping us just as we were caught in beautiful, romantic, intimate moments - and not a piece of cheese in sight (well, no more than you get with wedding photos in any case!) We will treasure those photographs for ever.

Julie is easygoing, enthusiastic, and totally "in" to what she's doing as a photographer, giving her a slightly scatty air, which belies her true professionalism and which my husband and I absolutely LOVED about her. She was exactly what we wanted and her approach to the contract, delivery of the photos, setting up, meeting with us, and how she went about her work on the day was top notch.

If, however, you are an uptight, controlling, and demanding diva who expects a particularly stringent or conservative approach to your photography (and it's your wedding day, so you're entitled, and who am I to judge?) then you might want to consider someone other than the marvelously bright and breezy, open, friendly, and incredibly talented Julie Mikos.

Cool, loving, open and fun brides: book her now.
Wedding: 10/26/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julie Mikos photographed our wedding at Auberge du Soleil in 2011. She was amazing!! We love our engagement session and wedding pictures. She captured every detail of our day beautifully including pictures of our family and friends. Julie is a highly-skilled photographer whose pictures are artistic and elegant. And she is a lovely and nice person to work with. Her rates are very reasonable for the high quality pictures she produces. She books up quickly so contact her as soon as you can.
Wedding: 08/27/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julie is amazing. I could not be any happier with our wedding and engagement photos. She is so easy to work with and accommodating, as well as being a great value. You can't go wrong with Julie!
Wedding: 08/06/2011
Services Used: Photography
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
My husband and I are so glad that Julie was our wedding photographer. We now have priceless images because of her. Many of her shots have a "photojournalism" style that is much more fun than typically posed wedding pictures. When I see pictures that guests took, I'm amazed at how much better Julie's are. She is friendly, fun, professional and prompt. I have already recommended her to a friend who is already thrilled at the engagement shot Julie took for her. Book her!
Wedding: 07/02/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Let me start off by saying that I absolutely love Julie Mikos and our wedding photos! As a former, established wedding photographer in San Francisco for 10 years, I knew that when my day came to get married I wanted a photographer who shared a similar aesthetic and approach to photography as I, and I was very fortunate to have Julie capture my wedding day. I have always loved and admired Julie's work over the years. Having worked in the same industry together, I have been witness to Julie's professionalism and passion for photography as a colleague, and now as a bride and client. It's not easy to be in front of the camera when you're always behind it, I admit, but Julie has a very down to earth and wonderful way about her that quickly put me at ease on my wedding day. She goes above and beyond for you, always smiling, always willing to try something new, and always giving you her very best. Julie is a rare gem in an oversaturated wedding photography market. She is pure talent, delivering images that are timeless, distinct, elegant, and fun!
Wedding: 06/03/2011
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kaci 6 Reviews
In a word, Julie is spectacular! I fell in love with her previous weddings, everything from the gorgeous candids to the elegantly posed portraits. Julie is talented beyond words and was a true joy to work with.

Julie was the first vendor that we booked, even before the venue, because we knew that no matter what the weather was like, what venue we chose or what mood we hoped to evoke that she would capture our wedding day perfectly and she did!

After the wedding, Julie created a slideshow for us that told the love story of our wedding day, capturing all of the details that make a wedding truly beautiful. We just love Julie and all that she has done for us. Though the day is over, our wedding will live on in the gorgeous photos that she took.

Julie also set-up a photo station for our guests which was a total hit! Everyone was raving about how much fun they had in it. Plus, the pictures show all of our guests having an amazing time!

If we were to get married again tomorrow, there is no way I would do it without Julie to capture the day! She is not only an amazing photographer, but a truly wonderful person. Thank you for everything Julie!
Wedding: 04/10/2010
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Julie and her assistant are amazing, she is so organized and well prepared. She even scouted our location TWICE before the ceremony and knew exactly where to take photos. We did all our photos during the cocktail hour and were not late. Her photos are amazing and Im so happy we picked her to remember our special day with. Highly recommended.
Wedding: 09/06/2009
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot give a high enough rating to Julie Mikos - she did an INCREDIBLE job with the photography at our wedding. From start to finish she captured stunning photos and was polite, friendly and unobtrusive. Her photographic style is more the "photojournalism" style, focusing more on candids and capturing an authentic feeling of the day, but she also did a great job with the posed family shots and other necessary posed photos.

Compared to many photographers, I would consider her to be in the "expensive photographer" range, but she was worth every penny for her amazing photography skills. We were doing our wedding on a moderately limited budget, but we allocated almost 1/4 of the wedding budget (which probably seems crazy) to hire Julie as our photographer because my husband and I are both graphic designers and do amateur photography on the side and knew we would ALWAYS regret it if we didn't come out with amazing wedding photos. We didn't just end up with a few great shots, many good shots, and some mediocre shots. We ended up with HUNDREDS of stunning photos.
Wedding: 10/20/2007
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It took us a long time to find a photographer for our wedding. I was looking for someone who had the holy trinity - a photographic style we liked, a pleasant personality, and a price we could afford. On a friend's recommendation, I found Julie, and was thrilled to have her photograph our wedding. Julie has a great style, a wonderful personality, and was very willing to work within our budget. I hardly noticed Julie and her assistant at our wedding reception, but they captured many wonderful images! I would not hesitate to recommend Julie. She is a true professional!
Wedding: 06/09/2007
Services Used: Photography
 510-681-7616
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0