Jacob Henry Mansion Estate
    60 Reviews
20 S Eastern Ave
Joliet, IL 60433  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (60)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was beyond impressed with this venue. Amanda was great to work with, and knew all of the answers to my questions. I have and will continue recommending this venue to others.
Wedding: 07/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved having our ceremony and reception at the Jacob Henry Mansion. The Old Central Church was a gorgeous place for our ceremony, and we had our reception in the Mansion, which was beautiful and unique. We also used the courtyard for the cocktail hour and dancing, and the lawn for lawn games! Everything was lovely and went perfectly.

We worked with Sarah, Jenn, and Amanda and they were amazing. They answered all of our questions and accommodated every request we had, including a gluten free menu. They set up and took down everything, including centerpiece items we brought in ourselves. They made or day so special and stress free and were a pleasure to work with.

Our wedding was on a Sunday and the prices were so reasonable, even with lots of menu switches. I can't speak highly enough of the Jacob Henry Mansion for a wedding venue.
Wedding: 07/20/2014
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I owe our perfect wedding to the staff at the Jacob Henry Mansion! From the first phone call to book the date to the end of the wedding night they were amazing. They were so organized and helped with every little detail along the way. They were always available for my many questions and provided suggestions for all of the many decisions we had to make.

We had a great time, and our guests can't stop raving about how beautiful the venue was, how amazing the food, and the service was. We wouldnt have changed a thing!
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amanda 2 Reviews
When my now husband and I booked an appointment with Amanda back in July 2011, we were merely starting our "shopping" of venue locations. Upon meeting Amanda, we were welcomed with a very professional, yet personable personality. She let us explore the mansion, lawn & gardens, and ballroom. She answered all of our questions, keeping it very black and white. The last part she showed us was Old Central Church, were we ended up having our Ceremony. We were blown away by the beauty of the church. At that point, Kevin whispered to me, "This is it! This is where it will be!" We didn't book right away. I was missing one thing. My ring! Although after he proposed in February 2012, we went back in March and booked our date.
We are beyond pleased with Amanda, her family, and the amazing staff at Jacob Henry. Everyone loved the all-in-one location, the food, and their overall experience.
On a personal note, my grandpa ended up becoming very ill during the Ceremony. Right after, he was transported to a near by hospital due to Cardiac complications. I, however, did not know what was going on until dinner time but very little even then. They ran a smooth ship and kept everything high in spirits. I can not express how happy I am with everything!! They went above and beyond with what I was expecting. Future brides, TRUST ME!! You will not be disappointed!
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This venue is absolutely fabulous in all areas - outdoor space, banquet facilities quality of service and overall perfection in expediting all wants and needs. My niece's wedding was so beautiful due to the expertise of all involved at this site. They are exceptional at "details" and keeping a close eye on everything the day of the wedding which is extremely necessary. We couldn't be happier with the professionalism and service-oriented personnel at Jacob Henry Mansion. The outdoor and indoor photos tell the real story of a very beautiful wedding.
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had my wedding ceremony and reception at the Jabob Henry Mansion in August and I had the pleasure of working with Amanda. This venue was excellent. They offered me much more than just a ceremony and reception spot, it was like having my own personal wedding planner provided as well. The mansion helped me through every step of the way while planning my wedding day! Each and every person was professional and helpful throughout all of the planning and the big night. The food was fabulous and not having to have an outside caterer was so convenient! I can't say enough wonderful things about the service Amanda provided us with. I could not have done it without her or the rest of the staff. She made my wedding day go so smoothly. I knew that everything would be perfect on my big day because they had it all covered and it allowed me to just relax and enjoy my wedding! I absolutely recommend this venue!
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everything about the Jacob Henry Mansion Estate is wonderful! The grounds and buildings are gorgeous, and my husband and I knew as soon as we saw it that we wanted to get married there. You must visit to get a true feel for the beauty and elegance of this place! We used the church for our ceremony and the ballroom for our reception, and our wedding felt so classy and romantic. Our guests were taken aback by how unique this place is. Even our photographers were excited about having the opportunity to shoot at this location! This is a family owned and operated business, and everyone who works there is kind, fun, and professional. We had Sarah as our personal coordinator, and she went above and beyond to make our wedding exactly what we wanted it to be! She tolerated all of my family's emails and phone calls and still greeted us with a smile and hug every time we met with her. They work with you every step of the way and offer great tips on any aspect of wedding planning. If you have unique ideas, they are excited to make them happen. Our friends and family raved about our wedding, and we would highly recommend the Jacob Henry Mansion Estate!
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It is with great pleasure that I recommend the Jacob Henry Mansion Estate to all of you newly engaged couples out there! My husband and I had our wedding ceremony in the Old Central Church and it was breathtakingly beautiful with the aisle candelabras and the gorgeous stained-glass windows and pipe organ. Our reception was held in the elegant Victorian Ballroom which was also very stunning. The delicious food and the beauty of the Estate is what our guests kept raving about. Our guests were amazed as they stepped out from the ballroom to the charming veranda outdoors to see the enchanting grounds. Furthermore, the Bornhofen’s welcomed us as if we were part of their own family. Sue and her daughters were there for us the moment our wedding planning began and throughout those final touches on our big day. Sue is attentive, organized, and cared for me as if I was her own daughter. The Bornhofen’s went “above and beyond” to make our wedding a true success and we cannot thank them enough!
Wedding: 08/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I will never be able to thank Kelly Baltas and the Jacob Henry Mansion team enough for all they did to make my daughter's wedding perfect. The venue is so beautiful and unique. Countless people told me that this was one of the best weddings they had ever attended. The gardens were gorgeous for our summer wedding and outside ceremony. Even if the weather hadn't cooperated, the Jacob Henry Mansion has a church onsite and would have easily moved the ceremony inside. This is always a concern for a Chicago wedding, and it is wonderful to be able to have a back up plan. Kelly helped us plan this wedding from start to finish. So even if you have never planned a wedding before, you are in great hands. She has lots of experience and can help you with the smallest of details, without going over budget. Kelly even helped us plan our tea party bridal shower in the mansion. A particular theme they had never done before but were happy to plan with us! In case I forgot to mention it, the food was fantastic and there is plenty of parking. Not an easy task with over 200 people! I would definitely recommend this venue to any bride wanting to do something different from the usual banquet hall boredom. It is a little bit of a drive from Chicago, but well worth it. Do yourself a favor and just have a look!
Donna Davis
Wedding: 06/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
As a florist, I find the venue and staff at Jacob Henry Mansion true Professionals. They do everything possible to make the Bride and her Party and guests comfortable, relaxed and are always available so every Bride can enjoy Her Wedding Day to the fullest.
As a vendor, they are always helpful to me and my Staff.
5 of 5 for Jacob Henry
Wedding: 06/02/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff at the Jacob Henry Mansion truly made this day for us more than we could have imagined, on top of the beauty of the estate. They took careful care of us the night before and made sure everything was set to go without us even having to set anything up. They certainly care about their couples that they spend time with and see it as an opportunity to serve people. The food is beyond amazing - I had so many compliments on it and we loved it as well. Our guests loved the outdoor porch during the reception to catch some air and we really appreciated the space we had. I recommend this venue for any size or type of wedding. The staff will work above and beyond any expectation you may have.
Wedding: 05/05/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot say enough on how fabulous the Jacob Henry Mansion was for our wedding! Right when my husband and I walked in, we knew that this place was unique and special. We worked with Amanda and from the start she was professional, quick to respond to any of my emails and very honest. Anything my husband and I wanted she said yes to. We had our ceremony at the church on the grounds and then had our cocktail reception inside the mansion. Whenever I asked Amanda her opinion on how we should decorate or what we should serve, she always gave her honest opinion. Our guests during the reception kept on telling us how much fun they were having and how beautiful the wedding was and I owe it all to Amanda and the Bornhofen family. Thank you thank you thank you! Our wedding day was absolutely perfect!
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were married in May at the Old Central Church and had our reception in the Victorian Ballroom. It was more than I could have ever wanted! I was a little disappointed at first because it was cold and rainy on our wedding -- we had originally planned it outdoors in the gardens -- but the staff really knew how to cheer me up and made the Old Central Church absolutely PERFECT for our wedding. The church is just BEAUTIFUL and I'm so glad everything worked out! A lot of venues don't offer an "inside" option if it rains, and I was so happy that the Jacob Henry Mansion Estate had that option! The staff doesn't book any other weddings during your ceremony time, so you always have the option of an indoor wedding if it rains. Another plus was that it stopped raining and we did get beautiful pictures outside. There are so many different picture opportunities at the Jacob Henry Mansion Estate. It's so beautiful, you can't go wrong. The staff is amazing, especially Sue. She helped us with everything and really made our wedding special. Everything was beautiful. And if you're on a budget, this place is great because everything is a la carte. I felt like I had the wedding of my dreams without having to spend a fortune. :)
Wedding: 05/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
I could not be happier with how our reception went at the Jacob Henry Mansion. The staff is so professional but also gives personal touches to your day. We looked at several locations and this staff was the only one to ask personal details such as to see my ring and how the engagement went. The venue is gorgeous and I am still getting so many compliments on what I wonderful place I chose.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with The Old Central Church was amazing! Amanda was the best vendor I worked with for the entire year of planning my wedding. Not only did she give me other vendor recommendations, she followed up with me every few months to see if I needed anything else. WOW! What great customer service! I would HIGHLY recommend the Jacob Henry Mansion Estate to anyone who was interested! Ask to work with Amanda....we LOVED her!
Wedding: 10/07/2012
Services Used: Ceremony Music, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I found the Jacob Henry Mansion when we were planning our daughters wedding. We scheduled a visit to the venue and were completely impressed from the time we met with Sarah and her Mom. During the planning stages, Sarah and her Mom were a joy to work with and made everything easy to coordinate even when I had questions. The ceremony, cocktail hour and reception were even more than I had ever expected. From the moment I stepped into the Victorian Ballroom, it took my breath away it was so beautiful. After the wedding was over, about 50 people commented to us that it was by far, without a doubt, the best wedding they had ever been to. I would absolutely hold another event or wedding at The Jacob Henry Mansion!!
Wedding: 09/22/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 815-722-1420
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0