Jack Looney Photography
PO Box 518
Crozet, VA 22932  | map
Style: Photojournalism, Portraiture
Packages: Albums, Digital Files, Flush Mount, High Resolution...
Liability Insurance: Yes
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (41)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jack was so wonderful! We were so excited to have him as our photographer. He was professional, kind and calming on such a busy and exciting day. Both of our families are raving about how great Jack was and how easy he was to work with. We just got our pictures back and they are incredible. Every picture is better than the last! Jack went above and beyond for us and we can't wait to recommend him to everyone we know!
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely loved working with Jack! Many of our guests commented that he was so sweet and the best part was - I didn't even really notice him throughout most of the day/night! Other than when we were specifically taking portraits he was very unnoticeable (in a good way!!) and most of the time we did not even realize we were having our photos taken. He captured our day perfectly and we got a sample of our photos via email on our honeymoon! The turn around was super fast and the product beyond our expectations. We have blown up some of the photos and the quality is great. Jack also included an engagement shoot in our package which was a great opportunity to get to know him and he also set up a really fun photo booth for our guests. We can't wait to use Jack again for future family events!
Wedding: 05/25/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Jack was such a wonderful experience! He took extra time to meet with my us before the wedding, came to the venue early to take some fun pre wedding shots, and had so many creative ideas. Jack was fun and dynamic while we were taking our group shots and was very descrete through the ceremony and reception. Having received our photos and flash drive from him we are thrilled to see how he captured our special day. There are so many great photographs that we are having a hard time deciding which to frame. I couldn't recommend Jack strongly enough.
Wedding: 04/06/2014
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband Shane and I got married at Pippin Hill on a cold day in November and Jack was our photographer. He came highly recommended by a co-worker and I know totally understand why. He was absolutely wonderful to work with from the start. He met with us as soon as we requested some information about his services to get a feel for what we would like. From then on, he was always available to discuss ideas or answer any questions.

The day of the wedding, he arrived exactly when he said he would and managed to get in some really great pics of me getting ready with my bridesmaids. He also took great photos of all the details - my dress, my accessories, the rings - they all came out wonderful. And even though it was cold, he didn't miss a beat. He got so many great shots of me and Shane and our family and the venue. He timed them so well with the sunset, everything looked magical! The ceremony and party went so fast for me, I didn't even get to see a lot of the crafts I had made to put various places around the venue. Jack got pictures and videos of all of them and it was so nice to see how everything turned out!

More importantly, Jack is just an extremely nice person with which to work. He is very polite and very patient. And despite taking so many amazing pictures and video snippets and remembering all the pictures I had requested, Jack really managed to stay in the background and let us enjoy every moment of our wedding. I never felt like I was being taken away from people to take pictures.

After the wedding, Jack provided us proofs in a very timely manner, despite it being the holiday season. The media he provides is everything you could need, and he has been there to answer any additional questions I have had.

Oh, and I cannot forget to mention the photo booth! SO FUN! The guests had a blast with it.

I could not be more truthful or more happy to highly recommend Jack to any happily engaged couple!
Wedding: 11/30/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Jack was one of our favorite wedding vendors and an absolute joy to work with! We got married at Verulam Farm in November, and Jack was able to capture every special moment of the day... and then some!

I'll admit that I was a little shocked at the prices of wedding photography in Charlottesville as it was more than all of the industry averages I had read online. But after speaking with 3-4 area photographers, we knew Jack would be the best fit for us because of his laid back style and amazing eye for artistic shots. Now I believe that the cost of the photography was worth every penny, thanks to Jack... they're really the only memories we have to take away from the day.

Jack came highly recommended from our wedding venue, caterer, and several friends who got married in Cville. I also love that he threw in a complimentary engagement shoot to get to know us beforehand, and a photo booth for our reception... we brought a few old Halloween costumes as props and it was like extra entertainment for our guests! Those are hidden costs that we avoided because they weren't included in many other photography packages we considered.

We also didn't want a photographer who would be ordering us around and asking lots of questions of us on the big day, and that's one of the reasons we were initially drawn to Jack when interviewing potential photographers. As my husband and I were reviewing the photos (which came just 2 weeks after the wedding), we both noted how surprised we were at all the details that Jack was able to capture while we were busy enjoying the festivities. Neither of us had even noticed him or his assistant, Ashley, as they were busy shooting every angle of our wedding party getting ready, the ceremony, first dance, reception... they were so unobtrusive and professional. Even our guests noted how incredible the pictures turned out and what a good choice we had made in our photographer. I highly recommend Jack to any Charlottesville brides-to-be!

Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We are so, so happy that we chose Jack to be the photographer for our big day. Jack will go above and beyond for you and is extremely willing to help you get the most value out of your budget. Jack is so friendly, accommodating, and professional - he really knows what he's doing. Luckily for us, Jack was also really familiar with our venue (King Family Vineyards) and that definitely helped to make things run very smoothly. At the reception, we hardly saw Jack - he unobtrusively managed to captured SO many special moments without continually asking people to pose for pictures. We could not have been happier with his service! Our pictures are stunning and he really captured our relationship with such ease - especially for two people who don't love having their photo taken! Everyone in our families and wedding party could not stop talking about how nice Jack was and how he made the potentially stressful pre-wedding time so easy and worry-free. We wholeheartedly recommend Jack to anyone looking for a wedding photographer!!
Wedding: 11/02/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I cannot give enough praise to Jack Looney for the amazing service he provided before and on the day of our wedding. From the day we signed the contract to the the day we received our pictures in the mail, we have had such a wonderful and easy time working with him. He has been responsive to every email/inquiry my mom, husband, and I sent, he was early the day of the wedding, put up with all of our photo taking requests and beautifully captured every detail about our venue, decor, food, guests, and wedding. We were blown away to get our pictures withing 2-3 weeks of our wedding and were able to relive the entire day through the absolutely stunning pictures Jack took. On top of everything, our guests LOVED the photobooth that Jack provided. I would recommend him in a heartbeat and think he is absolutely one of the best photographers in Charlottesville!
Wedding: 10/25/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Yesterday as we celebrated our 1st anniversary, we decided we needed to celebrate our favorite wedding vendors as well. A year later, we have no regrets with selecting Jack Looney as our photographer. Jack was a pure pleasure to work with. Not only is he a superb and clearly professional photographer, but he is a kind and enjoyable person to be around who always made us feel at ease while shooting. We've gotten so many compliments on our engagement and wedding photos, and it is almost impossible selecting which photos we like the most since he took so many great ones. Jack has a artistic eye and captures the beauty of your surrounding. We also loved the photo booth that he offered, and the photos prove our guests enjoyed it as well. A good photographer was very important to us, and Jack didn't disappoint!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Photography
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 2 Reviews
Jack was a very professional and unobtrusive photographer who captured our wedding day efficiently and beautifully. Numerous guests commented on his speed and kindness which meant a lot on such an important day. He sent us final images within 3 weeks and was a pleasure to work with.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Finding a great photographer was a top priority for our wedding. We were so lucky to find Jack Looney! Not only is Jack an amazing photographer he is also a great person! We had so much fun with Jack taking engagement photos and he put us at ease all day at the wedding. Family and friends commented on how much they liked Jack and how efficient he was at getting all of the group photos done. Jack managed to turn a rainy fall day into a gorgeous backdrop for all of our photos. The photos are incredible and arrived less than 3 weeks after the wedding! Working with Jack was the easiest part of our wedding and we would highly recommend him to anyone!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Wedding planning is an exercise in insanity. We agonize over the details: the dress, the venue, the catering. Once it’s all over, all we have left are the memories and hopefully the most amazing pictures of the best day of our lives; pictures that tell the story in vivid detail. Jason and I could not have wished for a more fantastic photographer for our wedding. Jack was personable, professional and easy to work with, guiding us though the process, making sure he knew who we are as a couple so that he captured our day the way we wanted. During the event, Jack was nearly invisible – he eased in and out of the crowd with the precision of a Ninja! Jack not only delivered in terms of being a great photographer, but he suggested the most amazing shots. One of our favorites was the group shot: we had around 90 guests and he successfully corralled them immediately after the ceremony and made the most gorgeous group shot of us, our wedding party and all of our guests. The pictures – all of them – are stunning. Within a couple of weeks after the wedding Jack delivered several hundred prints, digital copies of all our photos (both high and medium resolution) and the digital rights to all of it. It doesn’t get any better than this. We wouldn’t think of hiring anyone else for any future photo ops.
Wedding: 10/06/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wife and I chose Jack for our wedding last fall, and he was terrific from start to finish. Very professional, attentive, and friendly, and an overall joy to work with. Even our guests and members of our wedding party remarked about how much they liked him. My wife hates having her picture taken, but Jack made her feel at ease immediately. Our pictures arrived quickly and we love them. Couldn't recommend Jack more.
Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Jack was highly recommended by several other Charlottesville brides, and we were so thankful that he was our photographer for our big day! When we got back the photos, not only were we thrilled with the posed shots but were so surprised by how many candid moments he beautifully captured.

Leading up to the wedding, other vendors always confirmed our decision to go with Jack saying he was incredibly talented, a true professional, a joy to work with, and simply the nicest guy! And they were right! Jack deeply cares about his clients. His photo packages are so inclusive – no nickel-and-diming for prints and albums – instead we received every photo in high resolution. He even included a complimentary photo booth which the guests loved – and the pictures are such a hoot!

On the day of the wedding with all the anticipation, Jack immediately put us at ease. He made sure to document all of the special details of our wedding so that we can relive the day through pictures for years to come. Well regarded and highly recommended. Thanks so much, Jack!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I happened upon Jack's photography when I was searching for wedding venues in Charlottesville. I was immediately blown away by his range and his ability to capture every moment in a photo-journalistic style. I'm so glad that I hired him! Jack's pricing was reasonable, he's extremely easy to work with, I hardly noticed that he was there the day of, and I'm so happy with all of my pictures. Jack was extremely flexible when the day before the wedding we decided we needed him for an extra hour. And he had all of our pictures to us within 3 weeks of the wedding. I'd recommend Jack to anyone!
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Jack was fantastic! He was very personable and easy to talk to at our initial consultation. He gave us some great ideas for shots and assured us that we wouldn't even know he was there. The day of our wedding, he blended right in, snapping shots without us even knowing he was there. We felt so lucky to work with him and even luckier because another local professional photographer was our second shooter! He did an amazing job capturing the most intimate, fun, and unforgettable moments of our wedding. Having the photo booth was alot of fun for our guests and added the perfect touch to the venue. I loved that within the following week he had posted photos from our wedding to his blog. We didn't have to wait months to see our photos, we got a sneak peak of the best 50 within the week of our wedding! Working with Jack was wonderful and his pictures speak for themselves. I would highly recommend Jack and hope to use him again for family shots in the future!
Wedding: 08/02/2013
Services Used: Photography
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Stephen 2 Reviews
When we created our budget we knew that we didn’t want to cut corners when it came to the photographer. The food and drinks are gone and forgotten, but the pictures we have and will cherish forever. So we knew we wanted the best photographer, and that is why we hired Jack Looney. I cannot put into words the beauty of his art, and I will not try. Just look at his work (http://jacklooney.com/blog/). Now go and look at any other photographer’s work. There is no comparison. What I would like to say, and is less easy to see from his blog, is that Jack is also a very lovely man. You meet Jack and immediately you feel comfortable, you feel like you’ve known him for a long time, and you enjoy being around him. His company adds to the day’s magic, and feeling comfortable also makes the pictures come out better. Lastly, Jack is the definition of professionalism. You will receive your pictures in beautiful print and digital form when they are promised. Hiring Jack was the best decision we made.
Wedding: 07/21/2013
Services Used: Photography
 434-249-6266
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0