Hyatt Regency Newport Hotel & Spa
1 Goat Island
Newport, RI 02840  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 400
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (41)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
If you want your wedding to be memorable, fun and enjoyable you need to go to Hyatt in Newport. It is a day we will remember forever. All we heard from guests was how great the food was, how amazing the staff was and how much fun they had. Kirby, Kendall and Ella were a dream team to work with.
Wedding: 07/04/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding at the Hyatt was amazing and memorable!! Our guests keep ranting and raving about how it was the best wedding they have ever been to because of the food, friendly staff, atmosphere, and the breathtaking views. Kirby and Carl (our Captain) were such a pleasure to work with. From the moment we saw the venue, my husband and I knew the Hyatt was for us. Kirby was extremely thorough and prompt. She always responded to me within a few days. The weeks coming up to the wedding she was always available and helpful. The day of our wedding, everything was perfect. The staff did a great job with creating my vision and I wouldn’t have changed anything. The food was phenomenal and the view was spectacular. The only compliant I had was that not everyone, including myself, were able to eat or finish our meals due to the wait staff clearing the tables; however I would not put the blame on the staff as our guests were either too busy dancing or outside!
Wedding: 06/14/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding at the Hyatt was amazing!!! This is the perfect venue for a wedding, all of our guests enjoyed their stay. The staff did a wonderful job assisting us throughout the wedding process. Kirby, was amazing we are so thankful we were able to work with her! We could not have asked for a more perfect wedding day.
Wedding: 06/06/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
We worked with Kirby to plan our wedding, and Matt was the Captain, and we loved both of them. It was the PERFECT day! We planned the whole thing in about 6 months, and I couldn't have asked for a more fun wedding. Everything was so easy and ran smoothly, and they treated us like royalty. I wish I could do it all again!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had originally booked The Hyatt for our wedding reception strictly due to the outstanding personality of their wedding planning manager. Just two or three months before our big day, we were told that he had left the hotel! Ahh! Panic! I had called the new wedding coordinator, Kate, ready to give her a piece of my mind: "how could this happen?", "we have set plans- do they still stand?", "I've got enough to worry about, now THIS?"

Within two minutes of talking to Kate she told me "I work my butt off for my brides, you have nothing to worry about!" That's when I seriously fell in love with the girl!! And boy-oh-boy, was she telling the truth! Amazing! She even had Munchkins just for us and our 175 guest (I'm kind of a Dunkin fanatic!). She is the best in the business and I feel bad for any bride that doesn't get the pleasure of experiencing her phenomenal service. Kate cares about you and your special day. She truly feels like a friend/family member helping you plan your day.

My only word of caution would be to watch your open bar. There was another event going on down the hall and their guest not only crashed our wedding (I myself chased people out...) but they also drank off of our bar all night. Pretty rude. The Hyatt staff assured me during our pre-wedding run through that they wouldn't be a problem (I freaked out a little when I heard there was going to be another event that day- upon booking, I was assured that there would not be) but they were a problem. My guest even heard the staff gossiping about it.

They Hyatt is a good venue due to their dynamic staff- Kate, Matt, Christine, and Kendal, even the wonderful people at the front desk and bell boys are top-notch! They made our day great! Maybe an extra staff member managing the guest- keep the proper people at the proper event (and not drinking off of them ALL night!) would have made our day better.
Wedding: 05/17/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.0 out of 5.0
3.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
So this emcompasses a few categories of things, so it's quite mixed.

1. Hotel block for wedding weekend: I know it's Newport, but definitely overpriced for what you get. The hotel is old and you can see it in the decor. We had a pool tower junior suite which is actually pretty good size, with 2 bathrooms, and sitting area. But the sofa was missing buttons etc. At over $400 per night plus resort fees, you would expect more attention of the details and more updates. The original person I was in contact with about the room block was painstackingly slow at responses, pretty sure I missed out on some nicer suites because of it. She then got transferred to another Hyatt and her replacement was better.

2. We had an after party here at the hotel bar. Ordering the late night snacks was pretty easy and people demolished in 10 min flat. They even gave us a sectioned off area in the restaurant since there were 2 wedding parties hanging out there that night. Only annoying thing was that they were pretty strict about ending things at 1AM and was kicking everyone out on the dot.

3. Had a hair and make up done here. For not having done a trial until the week of, I was pretty nervous about how it was going to turn out since I was so-so on the other 2 places I did trials with previously. But Stephanie did a fabulous job and everything turned out much better than expected. And they're much cheaper than other salons. Again only complaint here is that they don't allow professional photography in the spa which was sad that I couldn't document this part of the wedding.
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Loved this place. The first thing that caught my attention about the Hyatt was the lighthouse on site. I love lighthouses, and after visiting the venue I fell in love with the grounds, from the ocean scenery, the bridge, and the flexibility of the staff to accommodate the needs of the customers. The time leading up to the wedding day (from the day we signed the contract to the day after the wedding) they were there, helping anyway they could, and always there. They offered help and helped ease any concerns or stress. They worked with us to make it the best day possible. We had someone with us throughout the entire planning process and the day of. They even helped bring all the personal items to our room at the end of the night. They got to know us. Our team were, like friends: they seemed excited for my husband and I, which made the experience better. Imagine a team of people helping plan your wedding day, one of the biggest days of your life, and they are just as excited and care about the details and perfection of the day.
My friends and family have not stopped talking about how great the place was, how beautiful it was, how delicious the food was, the staff were on point, and the day was amazing.
I am a vegetarian with a severe gluten allergy and my mother has Celiac disease, as well as my husband's aunt, the Hyatt staff were highly concerned in making sure everyone could eat and had a delicious meal without health issues. They even helped organized a gluten free cake. I was able to cut and eat my wedding cake, which was a big deal to me.
I could go on and on about the Hyatt Regency on Goat Island in Newport.. The quality is well worth it, and might I say for Newport what you get is beyond what other venues offer for the price. If you want a beautiful place on the water with a scenery, great staff, amazing food, and a great wedding, consider the Hyatt and ask for Kendall shes the best!
Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
I held my son and new daughter in law's brunch the day after their wedding here. It was beyond my expectations and flawless! The food was plentiful, hot and fresh. The tables were set beautifully and the centerpieces from the night before looked elegant. I would not hesitate to cater any affair large or small with Kirby Conheeny. She is professional, knowledgeable and a pleasure to work with. The staff that worked the brunch were attentive and very polite. I would give the entire experience 5 stars!!! FYI, They prepared the crispiest tater tots on the planet and my guests left smiling!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We recently held our wedding at the Hyatt Newport Hotel, and we cannot say enough good things about the venue, the staff, the location, the food and the entire experience. In particular, our event manager Steven James was beyond extraordinary. I think it is very rare in a business like Steven's where he manages countless weddings each year to find someone who makes you feel like your wedding is the only wedding he is working on, and he did just that. Steven went above and beyond to help us plan our perfect day, and the entire venue did not disappoint. He made planning fun with helpful suggestions, his availability, and general excitement for his job. Steven's enthusiasm was one of the main reasons we chose the Hyatt. We held a "wedding weekend" at the Hyatt with a large room block for our out of town guests, a bridal luncheon at the Hotel restaurant, and our actual ceremony and reception. The venue alone is surrounded by gorgeous views of the bay with a serene setting at the lighthouse for the ceremony. The Rose Ballroom and adjacent deck were the perfect place for our reception. Our guests continue to rave about the food including our cocktail hour raw bar. The food is not at all mass produced for a big event...it was delicious, and the Hyatt offers ton of options. They had no issue dealing with allergies for some of our guests. We researched several venues for the wedding, and without comprising anything, the Hyatt was a great value for the area. Steven went out of his way accommodate us on our wedding day from arranging food to be sent up to the suites to helping us "not be seen" by our guests before the ceremony every little detail was planned out. The Hyatt has a longer window of time for your actual reception than most! We would recommend the Hyatt and specifically Steven James to anyone looking to have a fantastic, fun, beautiful, stress free wedding in Newport. You cannot go wrong!
Wedding: 10/19/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  2.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Venue is very beautiful on the water. Would not get any closer to the water anywhere else in Newport unless you had a private Marina. Service is not amazing. Had many issues from beginning to end. They do not have enough staff to take on the size and amount of weddings on the property. Day of wedding service was really great however planning before and settling up after wedding was a little slow and unorganized. We brought in a lot of outside vendors to transform the ballroom and deck to look amazing so you didn't know you were in a "hotel ballroom". You only get the bare minimum when booking the event. It was worth all the work and stress but dealing with the Hyatt on all our questions and concerns was hot and cold. Some days they were on the ball, some days they were very unorganized and took to long to get back to us. The service from the hotel itself while staying there was poor. Many guests rooms were ready late upon arrival. There was 2 steamers on property. Having a wedding there had no pull when we asked multiple times to use the steamer for my wedding dress. Every time we called down we were told a different answer....they don't have any, we only have 1, we have 2 but there is a 7 hour wait, ect. Eventually my mom went to Bed, Bath and Beyond to buy our own steamer to steam my wedding dress!!!! Very frustrating to deal with the day of your wedding. Again, venue outside is gorgeous, but be prepared to do A LOT of leg work to transform the rest which means $$$$!
Wedding: 09/24/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We recently held my daughter's wedding reception at the Hyatt. I can't say enough about how satisfied we are. The venue is in a beautiful location and the Rose Island room is breathtaking. The staff is exceptional. Our coordinator Kirby made planning the event effortless. She was prompt, courteous and accomodating through out the planning and on the day of the event every thing was seamless. Our Captain Gretchen and her staff provided exceptional service to us and our guests. I have received nothing but rave reviews from our guests. I would highly recommend the Hyatt as a wedding venue. Thank you everyone.
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Steven James is hands down the best. He single-handedly made our wedding a fairy tale. He is patient...helpful, approachable, knowledgable and straight out excellent at his job. The Hyatt was a fantastic place to have a classy upscale wedding that is not at all stuffy. I would highly recommend Steven James and his staff to anyone looking into having their wedding at the Hyatt Regency.
Thank you for everything Steven from the bottom of my heart.
All the best, Alisa Berretta
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Stephanie 1 Reviews
The wedding planner Kirby, her intern Jane, and catering manager Gretchen were absolutely excellent! We cannot praise them enough, they were extremely helpful, professional, responsive and friendly. After our reception, my husband and I did not want to leave...Gretchen let us stay at our sweetheart table for At least an hour afterwards, she brought us the dessert we never got to eat and more champagne.

Kirby really took the time to get to know us and was so enjoyable to work with. My husband and I truly felt like royalty throughout our 3 night stay at the hotel. Kirby really went outside the box for us with our requests and helped us plan and execute the most perfect wedding that we had envisioned.

The location cannot be beat - from the privacy of goat island, to the light house, harbor views, and backdrop of the Newport bridge - I cannot even imagine how gorgeous our pictures will turn out! Our guests were blown away by their stay and still talk about it! It is a beautiful resort, and you never need to leave, you have everything you could need - pool, spa, gym, etc.
We enjoyed our entire weekend so much we wish we could do it again!
Wedding: 08/18/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kelly 1 Reviews
The Venue was such a beautiful place for a wedding. The ceremony area was amazing. The decorating of the reception room with the white chairs, white sheers and lighting made the room look very romantic.
Even the food from cocktail hour to the reception was amazing. Everyone is still talking about how good the clam chowder was.
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a dream wedding at the Hyatt, it was absolutely fantastic.
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I don't know where else to begin than to say that our wedding at the Hyatt was straight from a fairy tale or blockbuster movie. I worked with Stephanie throughout the year+ of our engagement, and our "captain" on the day of the wedding was Gretchen. Both of them made my husband and I, as well as my parents feel like we were the only people in the world. They listened and accommodated our every concern and request. They responded to emails and calls immediately and were unfailingly patient and flexible. The view from the rose island ballroom cannot be beat, and having guests drive over the private bridge of Goat Island made it feel like a destination wedding even to those living towns over. The parking was complimentary and there was plenty of it. Cocktail hour on the deck was gorgeous with a perfect breeze even in the heat of the July day. There was a flawless sunset and fireworks both over the bridge that got guest outside, yet when we wanted guests back in for special dances, Gretchen was able to do it within a minute. The service and food cannot be beat. We have guests still raving about the lobster app, the clam chowder, and the filet that they could "cut with a fork." Everything came out on time and hot, was cleared off in a timely manner, and was unbelievably delicious. There were many guest allergies that were all met with no hesitation and they also enjoyed their meals, myself included. Stephanie recommended Richard Carbotti for uplighting and ceiling fabric and he made the room magazine-worthy. Many guests stayed and raved about the comfort of their rooms, and my husband and I had a perfect (and complimentary) honeymoon suite. The tables were dressed gorgeously and we did pay a little extra for chivari chairs, and it was worth every penny, there's so much more I can say, but I'll leave this with one last thought - if I could do it all over again there's not one thing pertaining to the Hyatt that I would change. Book now!
Wedding: 07/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 401-851-1234
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0