Hummingbird Hall Jamaica

Hummingbird Hall Jamaica

Award winning, boutique destination weddings

Montego Bay
JAMAICA
destination.weddings@hummingbirdhall.com, Jamaica | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Maximum capacity: 130
Catering: Offered in-house
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
(5.0 / 5.0)
Responsiveness:
(5.0 / 5.0)
Professionalism:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Value:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Flexibility:
(4.9 / 5.0)
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We loved Hummingbird Hall off the bat. So attentive and so helpful! Our wedding was super sweet, relaxing and just a really happy occasion. We splurged, but it was a great wedding. Can't believe we are finally married!

  • Wedding: 01/22/2015
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We enjoyed a very relaxing, intimate and private wedding here. It was beautiful and just as we'd seen online. Everyone went out of their way to make us happy. Jamaica in general and Hummingbird Hall specifically is perfect for a destination wedding. (-:

  • Wedding: 01/01/2015
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Our wedding and experience was fantabulous!!! FANTASTIC! Hummingbird Hall's experience and professionalism shone through in both our planning and the way the wedding was pulled off. Such great service!! The workers were always pleasant, always professional and so happy for us!! It rained a bit on the day, but no spirits were dampened. Guests were treated marvelously!! DJ Fingaz was brilliant! As was the food and the general decorations.

  • Wedding: 12/10/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the hospitality. We hosted a Christmas party / family reunion but can see why the venue is used for weddings. It's really beautiful, very private and very serene. The planning was effortless. Food was great too!

  • Wedding: 12/06/2014
Services Used: Unique Services (Other)
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

So we wanted an offsite wedding because we have friends and family in Jamaica. Full disclosure – we loved every moment of the actual wedding and plan on giving Hummingbird Hall 5/5 for this review because the service and quality of what we received really was top, and they did deliver what/above was promised– HOWEVER we do kind of take exception with them claiming that it's an authentic Jamaican wedding. Because really, it felt like a posh/rich/exclusive American wedding setup -and here's why. We are both Jamaicans who live in the States. We have family in Jamaica and NOWHERE have we ever been to a wedding in Jamaica where those who are not on the guest list can't come through. NOWHERE. Yes, we get that HH does celebrity weddings and sometimes the additional procedures may be needed – but we were not a celebrirty wedding - and they made us provide a list of everyone (full names!!!) who we wanted to be present TWO WEEKS before the wedding. For us, this was a unreasonable, because part of the reason we wanted the wedding was for people to drop by. And we didn't know everyone's names (second counsins etc). On the day, this meant that those who werent on the list actually couldnt get in. We cant say the security were rude or anything like that, but we really think a more open policy would have been more authentically Jamaican and in keeping with the relaxed island we know and love. It didnt exactly overshadow the wedding but if you are going to book you should know that they are into the more exclusive type of setup thing.

  • Wedding: 11/17/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

My wife and I were lucky enough to marry at Hummingbird Hall in the presence 100 of our nearest and dearest friends and family. We can't compare with any other venue, as Hummingbird Hall took care of all of our arrangements. However, we can say, the planning was very detailed, so nothing was left to chance, and on the day everything was superb. Our only wish was that we could have stayed for longer!!

  • Wedding: 11/01/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We arrived and saw Hummingbird Hall 2 days before our wedding!! It was our second visit to Jamaica, first visit to Montego Bay (previously we'd stayed in Negril).

From start to finish the Hummingbird exceeded our expectations. Not easy to do as we're both frequent travellers and demanding! (:

Rosa and Michelle were our main contacts and were very pro-active, flexible and helped us make all the arrangements, however we should say that we really felt supported by the whole team.

We arrived at 1:30pm, for hair and make-up. Our dressing room was lovely, ready and there was even a gift from my parents (who couldn't attend) waiting for us when we entered the room. I don't know how they arranged it with Hummingbird, but it was a lovely, lovely touch.

The Deck and gardens had been set-up exactly as we asked for, thanks to Leona. It was perfect. In fact, Leona really is another person who we'd like to say was a truly outstanding person at our wedding (they are all outstanding, but we just feel we should give her special mention). We actually met her on our wedding day only, but she was supportive throughout the entire day, and ensured everything ran perfectly. She ensured that we were always in the right place at the right time, the staff did as expected, drinks were replenished and even took the children on an expedition to find butterflies.

The food was excellent and all the guests commented it was fresh, delicious and plentiful.

The music and entertainment were truly wonderful also.

All in all, well done Hummingbird Hall. We highly recommend Hummingbird Hall as a place for wedding ceremonies and receptions, and any other special moment that you would like to celebrate.

  • Wedding: 10/25/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Another Hummingbird Hall recommendation here from the Samuda family!!

Our wedding was spectacular!!

We loved, loved, loved every moment. Booking was definitely the best decision we could have made.

  • Wedding: 10/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Hummingbird Hall was once in a lifetime for us.  It's ultra exclusive and ultra private. For us, it was a way of really surprising our guests. We didnt tell anyone where we were getting married, and so they met reggae tours at the lobby and were whisked to Hummingbird Hall.

To say we took everyone's breath away is an understatement!!! All everyone was exclaiming was "Wow - how did you find this place?", "Oh my god, you guys!", "This feels like we are in Beverley Hills" etc.

It was so so so special. We had our cocktail hour before our ceremony, because we wanted to enjoy the surprise with our guests. So imagine! They had no idea where they were going, walked off the bus, were greeted by a reggae band and the amazing scenery. It just was fantastic.

At our resort we watched so many other weddings. They were short, public and - sorry - tacky. Some even took place in what can only described as a corridor with a seaview. I dread to think how many strangers were in their wedding photographs. Hummingbird Hall is sooooo different. The entire venue was ours for the whole time of our wedding. Their security is incredibly sweet but very tight. our guests got custom wrist bands with our names, which added to the wow of the experience. It was like something from Hollywood! Anyway this is a rambling review to say:

Despite what anyone may tell you – HH is nothing like a resort wedding and there really is no comparison. Yes, there is a price difference but in our humble opinion – you get what you pay for, and Hummingbird Hall’s service was amazing. They are the nicest bunch you will meet. Everything was "no problem, our pleasure" and with a smile. Was such a pleasure working with them! One love Hummingbird Hall!

  • Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Excellent wedding venue and staff were very efficient in responding to queries and were flexible in dealing with my requests.

  • Wedding: 09/05/2014
Services Used: Band, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, DJ, Flowers, Officiant, Wedding Cake
Profile Picture
Amy
1 Review
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

an all round amazing venue with sweet, sweet staff. thank you ladies!

  • Wedding: 08/11/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

My partner and I flew from England to have our wedding at Hummingbird Hall. We stayed at the Hilton hotel which was a 5 minute drive from the venue. Whilst planning our wedding, which most via the internet, we experienced professional, helpful and a very responsive service. Jayla and Rosa were amazing. Any question we asked were always answered and helpful suggestions were given. On the day of our wedding the venue looked amazing and everything went to plan. We had a bouncy castle and movies with popcorn for the children, which went down a treat. The food was lovely with a very professional service. Jayla was there throughout the whole day to ensure that everything went as planned. We brought extra things with us which we were allowed to do. Jayla recommended a fantastic videographer, who did a great job. The ceremony was great and the officiant was professional but very humorous which was appreciated by our guests. The cocktail hour was enjoyed by our guests as we went off to take our photos. At our reception the DJ allowed us to choose our music and both my partner and I and our guests really enjoyed the celebration. On the whole it was a ten out of ten day with all our guests saying it was one of the best weddings they'd ever been too. This is a day that we'll never forget, we would recommend this venue to anyone thinking of getting married in Jamaica.

  • Wedding: 08/09/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

My cousin got married here in 2010 and from then we planned to return for our vow renewal.

Brilliant service and fun planning made all the easier with HH's virtual tour. Was wonderful to reunite with friends from near and far there. The venue is so conducive to chilling out and being spoiled!

We enjoyed working with the new planners and was a nice touch for Alisha to stop by and say hi.

They're still the best!

  • Wedding: 08/03/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

The staff were extremely diligent, accommodating + professional. Their communication was superb through out and we were very pleased with, and relaxed by, the run up to our wedding. Come the day things got even better! The venue was clean and immaculate in presentation. We were greeted by a friendly security guard on arrival and whisked to our dressing suites. Dressing didn't take as long as we expected, + we spent most of the time relaxing and taking pictures. I should say that our bouquets were in the suite when we arrived and made everything smell fragrant!! I met the Rev in person around 20 mins before the ceremony, however we'd spoken a lot on Feathers so we used the time to take pictures and run through name pronunciations. He was very sweet. Leona also went through what to do with those who hadn’t rehearsed. The DJ asked everyone to take their seats when we were ready and we began! It was all very smooth and like clockwork and we were lucky enough to see lots of hummingbirds by the feeders on the gazebo. It was very hot though, even though there were breezes. I’d suggest that for those holding summer weddings 5:00pm is a more appropriate start time (we started at 1:30pm – too early!). After the ceremony we took lots of photographs on the estate. It’s breathtakingly beautiful. We wish we’d had more time to soak it in! we then returned to find that our guests had thoroughly enjoyed the cocktail hour and the temperature had cooled markedly – it was very pleasant. We didn’t get to hear the band personally, but heard glowing reports. The reception was also very smooth and efficient. The food tasted great, as did the cake! We were able to take one and a half tiers home, which we will be saving for our at-home reception here in London. We let the DJ handle all the music, with the instructions that everyone should leave with sore feet from dancing :) He performed well – very well in fact. The servers were also a nice bunch. We're home, married and very happy!

  • Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Det tog oss nästan 16 timmar att resa till vårar bröllop på Jamaica. Men det var definitivt värt den långa resan. Allt var helt makalöst. Människorna var välkomnande, naturen och omgivningen spektakulär och maten var enastående. Även vår tårta och dekorationerna var helt otroliga! Språkbarriären var aldrig något stort problem då personalen gjorde sitt absolut yttersta för att vi skulle känna oss välkomnade. Ett speciellt stort tack till Leona!! Dagen i sig var som en dröm, och vi har så många härliga minnen. Hummingbird Hall kunde inte ha varit mer gästvänliga och vi rekommenderar dem helhjärtat!

  • Wedding: 07/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

with hummingbird we could have the wedding of our dreams without the expense of home - and boy we did! our wedding was our first destination wedding experience (having or attending) and with the exception of difficulties narrowing down a rehearsal date we had a seamless, anxiety free and, honestly, spectacular experience. unfortunately the same could not be said of the craziness that is montego bay airport. the queues (four hours!!) were the only dampener on what was a phenomenal wedding vacation.

  • Wedding: 07/11/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
Prev
866-317-1630
Please let this vendor know you found them on WeddingWire
4.9
out of 5.0
128 Reviews

My Awards
Bca 2015 logo small
2015 Couples' Choice Award®
Bca 2014 logo small
2014 Couples' Choice Award®
Bca 2013 logo small
2013 Bride's Choice Award®
Bca 2012 logo small
2012 Bride's Choice Award®
Bca 2011 logo small
2011 Bride's Choice Award®