Hotel Maya
Unique.Romantic.Beautiful
700 Queensway Drive
Long Beach, CA 90802  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 320
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (20)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.5/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.5/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When my spouse and I started looking for a venue, we knew exactly what we wanted. We knew we wanted it to be in Downtown Long Beach because that's where our first kiss was, we knew that we wanted it to be at a hotel because it would make it so much easier for everyone traveling in (about 1/2 the guests), and we knew we wanted somewhere beautiful that would look amazing on the day of our wedding. When we found the Hotel Maya, we knew we found everything we were looking for.

From the beginning we were absolutely in love with this place. I started e-mail communication with them and they were awesome to deal with right away. I am a big e-mail person and I mostly communicated with Crystal Kelly Olivares, the Senior Catering Manager, and Stephanie Bondoc, the Senior Sales Manager. Both of them were awesome! Crystal was super friendly, helpful, and detailed, which I LOVE, and Stephanie was very helpful with setting up a room-block. An added element to all of this was that we would not be meeting any of these people or seeing this venue until the month of our wedding!

We are a same-sex couple but we live in Texas, so we knew this was going to have to be an out-of-state affair. I did extensive research on tons of wedding sites, on Yelp, everywhere, and knew that I was going to have to be really comfortable with all the decisions I made because we were not going to be able to travel out to California until 3/1/14, with our wedding just a few weeks later on 3/23/14. Throughout the entire process, both Crystal and Stephanie made us feel at ease and made sure that I was good with everything.

When the big day actually came, I was in awe of how beautiful everything was. Our outdoor ceremony site, The Jardin de Palmeras, was perfect, everything had been set up exactly as we had talked about. The upstairs reception room, MiraMar, was done to perfection, and the staff was amazing! Our wedding was perfect, in huge part due to the Maya. Thank you Maya staff for everything!
Wedding: 03/23/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had the most magical wedding day and I owe a big part of that to this amazing venue. It was the wedding of my dreams. They were wonderful in helping make my big day so special. The location, decor etc of the hotel is so unique and stunning, the food is outstanding, the staff is fantastic. You can't go wrong by having your wedding here. It really is kind of a hidden gem. I had not heard of Hotel Maya before searching for wedding venues now I will be a regular there, for the amazing Sunday brunch, the great happy hour, or just to visit for the great rooms and location. Thank you to Kayse and all of the staff at the Maya for making our day wonderful!
Wedding: 02/23/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 3 Reviews
The venue was beautiful, we enjoyed every minute of our wedding. Event staff were very accommodating prior to full payment. The problem is that once full payment was made, certain agreements were not followed through with.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The venue and day of event was amazing. The problem Sergio and I had was with the managers and communication. Simona Mitroi (fled to a hotel somewhere to the east) was very poor with communication. She wouldn't return emails for weeks (we have all the proof), when she did, she would minimize any our our questions/concerns or problems we had, just said she's be so busy for the excuse. She would fail to answer questions asked of her specifically when we sent her the email a week or two earlier (big things like venue room changes, costs, struggled with flexibility with this, managers should have more autonomy to make some decisions on their own). By no means was my husband or I a Bridezilla, I just believe if you have questions, our catering person/manager should respond at least a couple of days after asked, not ignore. It was so bad at one point we wanted to call it off, only Linda our wedding coordinator greatly helped us with this. I know Maya managers were overwealmed with the high caseload back then, but that's not are fault. After Simona left, Kayse took over. Kayse struggled with returning emails and communicating, too, although she improved in the end finishing on a good note. The day of event was wonderful, just make sure you stay on top of them with requests, communication, emails. I would recommend but with caution.
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
EVERYONE at Hotel Maya is extremely helpful and friendly. My fiance (then) and I went to visit the hotel on a whim without an appointment. The front desk gave us all the information and the ballrooms to check out. We walked around the hotel ourselves and was helped by all the employees. When we walked into the Miramar ballroom, we knew this was the room we wanted. It was already nighttime so we saw the full effect of the lights from the downtown.

Crystal assisted us with the catering and Kayse with room reservations. We had a number of guests from out of town. Kayse is just amazing. She answered all my endless questions patiently and accommodated all my requests. Crystal was actually the catering manager of my friend's wedding at another venue. It's really funny how these things work out. She is professional and very helpful in helping us make our choices for the ceremony and reception. The only thing missed was an item from the package we had, the gobo light. But I can live without gobo lights at my wedding :)
I have to also say, the banquet captains and the reception staffs were just amazing. Everything went flawlessly!

The venues I chose were Playa at the Maya for ceremony and Miramar Ballroom for reception. Crystal mentioned to us about the Playa as an alternative for ceremony site (at that time they have not made it official yet). When we saw the man-made beach side overlooking the water, I wanted it!! It was a perfect and easy transition to the Esplanade for cocktail hour. The guests spent the hour watching sunset and enjoying delicious Hors D'Oeuvres.

All my guests couldn't stop commenting at how nice the venue is. I'm really glad we found Hotel Maya!

Wedding: 11/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Crystal Kelly, catering, and Kayse Funez, room reservations, planned and organized the food, beverage, and room and board for our wedding guests at the beautiful Hotel Maya. The filet mignon at reception was perfect, according to the groom and guests. The rooms at the Maya are so colorful and spacious, and THE VIEW is spectacular. The brunch the next morning at The Fuego overlooking the Long Beach Harbor was delicious and beautifully displayed. At least five of my guests mentioned having their next event at the Hotel Maya. Nobody wanted to leave! Ha ha!

I sent countless emails to both Crystal and Kayse throughout the planning stages, and they were answered promptly and professionally by both. John and I appreciate their patience and kindness thoughout the whole process.

The Hotel Maya accommodated our beloved Rawley "The Ball" family dog to join us in our wedding and in our hotel room. For this, I appreciate the most.

I recommend the Hotel Maya for your event.

John, Cary, and Rawley LaTurno
Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everything was PERFECT! Crystal Kelly did a AMAZING Job making me feel very Special
Wedding: 09/06/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
My daughter got married at The Hotel Maya June 9th of this year. The Maya was very accommodating to us and all of our guests upon arrival and throughout our weekend stay! The wedding director was wonderful and all of the Staff were amazing. Also, thanks to the chefs at Fuego the food was a hit with all of our guests!

I would definitely recommend The Hotel Maya and Fuego.

And thank you Simona for making the process so easy for us! We enjoyed working with you.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  1.5
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  3.5
We chose the hotel maya to get married because the scene and backdrop for the ceremony and reception was BREATHTAKING! We did have a few issues with the wedding coordinator at the hotel. It took her a great amount of time to email us or call us back when we had questions. Another issued we had was when the reception was done, the dinner crew that was cleaning up started to throw away all our flower bouquets including mine! Thank goodness my MOH was there to grab it but some of my other bridesmaids didn't get to keep them. And the next morning when we went to go pick up our center pieces, they were gone and come to find out they were in another room being used for another event! We were very unhappy about that! But i would recommend this location if you want a spectacular view,
Wedding: 02/22/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Anonymous 6 Reviews
Overall the venue and set up is perfect for a wedding and guests love the option of having a place to stay after. Most of my guests had never been to the newly renovated hotel and were pleasantly surprised once they got there. The hotel grounds are beautiful and very hip and modern. The flow of my wedding was awesome having our ceremony with the beautiful view and cocktail hour overlooking the view and then moving to the ballroom for a great reception. Also if you are looking for a reception that will go late this is the place to have your wedding! My main complaint is it can be difficult to get a hold of the sales and catering manager/director but if you are patient and or call a couple of times then they will finally get back to you. The rehearsal and day of they were very attentive and made sure everything went smoothly. I highly recommend hiring a day of coordinator if you are going to use the Hotel Maya.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
WOW! I recommend this place to anyone getting married.

Eileen coordinated the wedding from the hotel catering staff. She was GREAT! She nice, so caring, and genuinely wanted us to have the best wedding possible. She thought of things I hadn't even considered! And I never once saw her frazzled or lose her cool. She has a wonderful and positive attitude, along with being great at her job.

My fiancé's (now husband) family and my family were both coming into Long Beach from out of town for our wedding. This can be a bit overwhelming, especially for the hotel. Even with the constant flood of questions being asked of the front desk, they staff was always friendly, and made sure we were getting the best advice.

The restaurant Fuego (which is DELICIOUS) was also really understanding and helpful about all the big groups we had come in to eat there. They helped us move tables around so everyone could sit together! So nice! Also, it is now one of my favorite restaurants in the Los Angeles area! I have never had a bad dish there.
Wedding: 05/06/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Eileen & her team was AMAZING!!! I did not have to worry about everything. If I had any questions her or someone on her staff would be there.

We met with Eileen a few times to review all the details for the wedding. One thing that I loved is we were having a Spanish theme wedding on cinco de mayo. We did not want the traditional wedding food. Eileen worked with her chef and was able to come up with a menu that blew us away. Everything was so good. Our guests still tell us how delicious it was all. We even did a late night snack of tacos & churros.

While the Bridal Party was busy taking pictures, the guests were enjoying pre reception. The staff was going to put some appetizers to the side for the bridal party. When we got to the area, there was none left. Eileen and her team jumped right on it and were able to provide food for the bridal party. Their staff even took our presents to our room so my husband and I did not have to worry about them.

We could not be more happy with everything. We stayed the night there and it was so peaceful. The next morning we went to brunch. So happy we were found Hotel Maya to have our wedding at.
Wedding: 05/05/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Two words... Eileen Dinh... Get in touch with her and you won't have to worry about a thing. perfect night for the most important event of our lives, thanks to her.
Wedding: 11/12/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
They were undergoing a change, they became a double tree hotel, and not a boutique hotel after I booked my wedding. My wedding coordinator changed a few times and the response time and attention to detail suffered because of it. Once everything was settled everything went smoothly and they were very professional with every step. I was extremely dissapointed the day of my wedding when after several follow ups and confirmed lists my coordinator claimed that she did not know who was having what dish (i spent all night doing this and sent it in a week before only for them to have me scramble on my wdding day to convince them that they had it), they found it and that turned out fine until I saw that everyone got potatoes instead of the delicious mushroom risotto with their steak- that was very dissapointing. Overall the Maya is gorgeous and the venue speaks for itself, the staff is nice and they made my day very special.
Wedding: 08/06/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We recently had our wedding at this hotel and were very impressed with everything. We planned our wedding from a distance and we very happy with the way that everything came together in the end. The views are amazing and the event went great.
Wedding: 05/15/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
The location was great, and overall I would say they were very nice, and very helpful.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 562-481-3897
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5
out of 5.0