Hollin Hall Pastry Shop
Alexandria, VA 22308  | map
Desserts: Cookies, Cupcakes, Dessert Buffet, Groom's Cake...
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, On-site Delivery, Pickup, Tastings
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (50)   FAQ   Map    
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.4/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.1/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.4/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

bluweimie 5 Reviews
Hands down the BEST tasting cake we've ever had. Not the typical wedding cake - this one is amazing. We even had complements on the fondant - and people usually hate fondant. Set up a meeting with Dolores. She is super sweet! I brought in two cake designs that I liked and they combined them perfectly. The colors were right on and the cake was stunning. We loved it so much that we ate our top layer in the days after the wedding and plan to go back at our 1 year and get a fresh cake instead.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

tawdancer 5 Reviews
My fiance and I went to a lot of cake tastings before we decided which pastry shop to go with. I was impressed with Hollin Hall because not only were were able to taste numerous single slices of cake but we could take the leftover cakes home with us.
The next day I brought the leftover cakes to my work and enjoyed them with the staff. I knew we had made a great choice by choosing Hollin Hall for our wedding cake.
Wedding: 09/05/2009
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Hollin Hall Pastry is great a value for your wedding cake. The carrot cake was a little dry but overall folks loved it. The white chocolate with the raspberry glace was great for the wedding cake. Mostly impressed with their prices and their ability to replicate the photo of the cake I brought in as a sample.
Wedding: 08/15/2009
Services Used: Wedding Cake
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.5
  • Responsiveness:  2.5
  • Professionalism:  1.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
i had my bridesmaid luncheon cake done here. When we went to pick it up the morning of, it was totally different than what we had paid for. It was one layer when it was supposed to be two layers. The chefs comment was "well I figured it couldn't be 2 layers with what you paid". So obviously the sales person gave us the wrong price and the chef didn't want to give us what we ordered. Other than that, the cake was pretty and very good!! Would recommend the bakery for everyday items but would be nervous to do a wedding cake or some big event cake.
Wedding: 07/25/2009
Services Used: Wedding Cake
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
You know, I thought Hollin Hall would do the best job for me. I had complete confidence in their ability to make a beautiful wedding cake. I was very disappointed to find out (when we cut into the cake at the wedding) that our White Chocolate Mousse Cake with Extra Raspberry filling, had NO raspberry filing at all. They completely overlooked this request. And not only had I asked for raspberry filling, I asked for EXTRA raspberry filling. Very disappointed, and the cake did not taste nearly as good without it. No one told me that they liked the white chocolate mousse cake. I did however get compliments on the chocolate mousse cake layer. Additionally, I asked for them to put our new Monogram on the wedding cake, written in icing. It was the main focal point of the cake. I brought the monogram to them, so they could have an example to work off of, etc. When I arrived to my wedding, I saw the monogram had been screen printed onto a piece of wax like paper, and the paper was then stuck onto the cake. It looked like an unfinished project. It looked bad. I again was very disappointed, being that I had spoke with them in person about the monogram, and described that I wanted it written in the same icing that my swirls were done in. Overall they did not even meet my lowest expectations, and that is sad, because I was the most excited for this vendor based on how good their cake tastes.
Wedding: 06/06/2009
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

pinkstar 1 Reviews
Wow. I could not be more pleased with our wedding cake from Hollin Hall. Our first meeting/cake tasting was with Mel, one of the owners, so already we felt as though we were getting the royal treatment. As soon as we had our first taste, we knew we had the right place. Mel was very professional and listened to everything we had to say. We didn't have any complicated requests, but I'm sure they could have handled anything we could think of. They even offered to do our groomscake for us!

The groomscake, while delicious and economical, was not as expected, unfortunately. I should have come prepared to that meeting with more pictures and descriptions of what we wanted and what we definitely did NOT want.

But this is a review for our wedding cake, which was PERFECT! Can't wait to eat the top in a year.
Wedding: 05/23/2009
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Everyone LOVED our cake. It was beautiful, tasty and the fondant was even yummy! Hollin Hall was the first pastry shop we visited and really set the bar high. When we arrived they gave us a slice of every cake they have to try! We clearly couldn't finish it all and so we took the rest home. We tried two other pasty shops after Hollin Hall (Heidelberg and Alexandria Pastry) and the service and offerings just didn't compare. Not to mention the price was a lot more at those.

When we met with Dolores at Hollin Hall and the owner they suggested we get a 3 tier and a sheet cake to save money (the other places wanted us to get 4 tiers and didn't mention a savings with a sheet cake). The cakes we tried at Hollin Hall were by far the best of the three pastry shops we tried. We ended up with 4 flavors of cake!
Wedding: 05/16/2009
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The cake tasting was the best part of the wedding planning process. Hollin Hall was great with allowing the whole family to come and providing with lots of delicous samples. The are very flexible and will make anything you want them too. The cake was delicious.
Wedding: 04/04/2009
Services Used: Wedding Cake
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
The people at Hollin Hall Pastry Shop were wonderful to me. When I had scheduled a tasting for my mother and I, they were very accommodating. We arrived for our tasting and to much surprise, they gave us the entire slice of all the cakes we wanted to sample. We went to other shops that only gave us small spoons and samples. Not only that but they gave us a free drink to go along with our tasting. Delores was very practical. She told us that we would be able to save our money if we made a sheet cake of two different flavors. We would still be able to have three flavor selections for that actual three tiered cake. The flavors were phenomenal. We ended up selecting raspberry chocolate marquis, white bavarian with fresh strawberries, and white chocolate with raspberry gelee. They suggested gold dusting since I told them the cake was going to be under a spot light to help it "pop" a bit. The picture that I had brought in for them to emulate also had a sugar flower. I had asked Delores to make a deep red dahlia sugar flower since she said they had the mold for it. Payment was $100.00 for deposit and the balance due two weeks before the event came up to being $513.45.

They day of the wedding, they delivered the cake as asked by 6 p.m. The cake looked amazing. For everyone that didn't know what I had actually asked for it was great. Upon inspection, there was no gold dusting and my sugar dahlia was a fake silk flower. The second tier was supposed to have fresh strawberries like the sample but alas, there were none. I still have a copy of the design sheet so I could remember what we had discussed.

All-in-all the cake was fine. Not exactly what I asked for but it did the trick. I would recommend this place to others but I would also specify in writing on the design sheet all the details you want. I also brought a picture of the cake and a swatch of the color of ribbon I wanted around the bottom of each tier. Unfortunately, I actually wanted the ribbon to be colored fondant but I did not specify that on the design sheet so that is my fault. It was great for the money and the taste, but the final product could need a little help.
Wedding: 10/18/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a very specific vision for our cake and several bakers normally used by our planner did not think they could execute it. We went to Hollin Hall, which was close to our home, and which we knew produced absolutely delicious cakes and pastries. The process could not have been easier: in the span of about 30 minutes we showed them the picture we had, they said they were happy and excited to execute it, and we chose one of our favorite cake flavors: black and white chocolate mousse. The cake they produced was stunning, exactly what we had wanted in appearance, and completely delicious: so much so that our guests went back for seconds and thirds! The cost was very reasonable on a per serving basis, for such a "designer" cake. Moreover, we knew we would have to contract for a larger cake (more servings) than we needed to get the look we wanted and we were happy to do so, but about a month before the wedding, Hollin Hall called and said they had been experimenting and had decided they could produce the look for fewer servings, saving us several hundred dollars! Truly service above and beyond.
Wedding: 10/18/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We worked with Dolores Moore for our cake. We sampled all the cakes that they had (she even gave my then fiance an extra piece of the chocolate cake to take home because he liked it so much) and showed her pictures of what we liked. The cake came out perfect and we received so many compliments on it! It was a ivory color square cake with red and black ribbon around the bottom of each of the four layers.
Wedding: 10/11/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  2.0
  • Responsiveness:  2.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We asked Hollin Hall to duplicate a photo I emailed to them. We worked with Dolores, and she was very nice but a little unresponsive (difficult to get her to return calls/emails). They did duplicate the photo very nicely, but even though we emailed and then called to confirm twice our flavor selections, the cake was made with the wrong flavors. No one but FI and I noticed, and the cake tasted fine, but it still would have been nice to get what we ordered.
Wedding: 07/19/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Another amazing vendor! The cake was one of my top priorities. I picked out a difficult Martha Stewart cake years before I met my now husband and Hollin Hall was able to match the color and produce the all important :-) bows that all the other pastry shops said they could not do. The cake tasted incredible as well and they use all natural ingredients with no premade box cakes. We had carrot cake with chunky nuts and carrots that you could see and feel and almond cake with roasted almonds - and are still receiving complements two weeks later!
Wedding: 07/05/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
They created a beautiful cake for us. Very flexible with the options (although one salesperson was slightly more flexible than the other). We got a very unique white chocolate cake with beautiful little flower accents. The delivery was prompt. You can get the cost down if you go with a mini-sized cake (which is really quite substantial). I would recommend them if you want a really impressive cake to wow your guests - just be prepared to pay some George Washingtons for it.
Wedding: 06/28/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The cake was different from the one we had tried at tasting due to the fact that we did not taste any fruit filling in the wedding cake as was expressedly asked for when we contracted the Hollin Hall Pastry Shop. The cake was beautiful and we did receive alot of compliments, however, it would have been great to have had more fruit in the cake as was asked.
Wedding: 06/14/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Their lemon cake is one of the best tasting cakes I have ever had- and I dont even like cake! The colors of the cake ended up to be a bit off than what I requested- I wanted black and white and the cake was more of an off-white and brown, so maybe it is a good idea to be firm about any specific details you want. But otherwise they were a dream to work with. Very flexible (used a design I brought in- not one of their own) and did not demand too much of my time.
Wedding: 05/25/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 703-768-9643
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4
out of 5.0