Historic Whitehall Manor
    141 Reviews
Whitehall Estate Lane
Bluemont, VA 20135  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 350
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (141)   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From our very first visit to Whitehall, my husband and I knew that it was the perfect place to host our wedding reception. Douglas gave us our tour and was so friendly and professional that we were immediately impressed. Throughout our tasting, site visit, planning meetings, and even pre-wedding drop off, he and his staff could not have been more courteous or attentive. He responded to every email in a timely and complete way, no matter how silly the question. He was also incredibly accommodating when my husband and I asked if we could have our engagement photos taken at Whitehall. His recommended vendor list is worth its weight in gold - every vendor selection we made based on that list gave us incredible service and value.

When we arrived at Whitehall after our church wedding, the grounds looked absolutely stunning. Our guests kept asking us how we had found such a perfect location. The manager on staff introduced himself to us at the beginning of the night and was very attentive, even bringing my husband an extra plate of appetizers to our table when he said how much he had liked them. The food was even better than at our group tasting, and the bar service was excellent. At the end of the night, everything was packed incredibly quickly and efficiently. My parents couldn't believe that they even sent us home with boxed up leftovers of the (delicious) food.

Overall, a wonderful venue which deserves every compliment. Our wedding reception was perfect and Whitehall was the perfect place to have it.
Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Absolutely stunning venue...inside and out with its panoramic views of the mountains!
Professional and delightful (not always the case in my experience) staff!
Food was delicious and there was plenty of it. We're still getting rave reviews from guests.
Beautiful grounds...simple, elegant--great photo ops for before, during and after, including staircases inside and out, a beautiful swing in the garden, porches, gazebo, old barns--we loved it all!

Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
The venue was beautiful, everything was clean, and the staff was exemplary. There was never a time throughout the day when DH and I felt neglected. Whenever we entered a room, there was food on a plate, drinks poured, and staff waiting on us hand and foot. Our food came out hot and quickly. Our glasses were always full. The speakers that Douglas provided, as well as the Bluetooth sound situation system functioned beautifully.

Several of our guests remarked on the excellent quality of the food, the cleanliness of the venue, the professionalism of the staff, and the overall warm, welcoming, wonderful ambience that Whitehall provided for us on our special day. In fact, our jeweler who owns Hunt Country Jewelers, located in Purcellville, said that it was the best, most enjoyable, wedding that he had ever been to. And there were several other guests who echoed his remarks. In fact, there was a couple who had their wedding there years ago, who remarked that our wedding may have been better than theirs.

As I reflect on the day, my only regret is that we have only one wedding because if I had to do it again I would without a doubt contract with Whitehall and Douglas.

They even held onto the top tier of the wedding cake that my mom forgot to grab at the end of the night. I picked up two days later, and the kitchen staff had it safely stored out of the way for me.

Fantastic venue, staff, and manager!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
So gorgeous. Had so many complements from guests on the beauty of this location. Also the coordinator is a breeze to work with!
Wedding: 06/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Megan 3 Reviews
This place is amazing. Best place to have a wedding at. Beautiful location, wonderful staff and great food! Doug was so responsive and very helpful in the planning process. He was very detailed in everything that I had to do which made my job easy.
Wedding: 05/23/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 8 Reviews
Whitehall was an amazing place for our wedding. The scenery is gorgeous, inside and out. Despite the rain during on our wedding day, the staff at Whitehall were prepared and knew exactly what to do to set up the ceremony inside...and it turned out beautiful. All of our guests raved about how delicious the food was and how friendly and professional the staff was. Douglas was very efficient and easy to work with. I would recommend this venue to anyone.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Douglas and Francisco were both wonderful to work with. Douglas always responds to email or phone inquiries in a very timely manner and is flexible, helpful, and does a great job.

This venue speaks for itself. It is stunning. Classic, historical Southern charm. Beautiful. The event space is perfect, with options for indoor or outdoor ceremonies. The food is incredible - flavorful, cooked perfectly, and lots of options! Also, it is BYOB - which helps save costs and lets yo specialize your menu according to your guests!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't even begin to say how wonderful it was having our wedding at Whitehall Manor, it would literally take me ALL day! I began working with Douglas 16 months before our wedding and he was there every step of the way for me and down to the very last hr he was there if I had a question or needed to change a small detail. Douglas I can't thank you enough!

Tarek and I had the fairy tale wedding that we had imagined and hoped for. From the moment I entered the manor on our wedding day the staff made me truly feel like a princess and every single staff member catered to our needs from snacks in the bridal party rooms and drinks before hand... Our guests were wowed and we couldn't have been more blessed with the weather as well. We got a lot of compliments of how beautiful the grounds were and that the food was amazing!

I seriously could go on and on but I can't thank you all at Whitehall Manor for being such a huge part of our special day, thank you from the bottom of our hearts!
Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Whitehall Manor was the first place we visited when looking for venues in the Maryland/DC/Virginia area. And it was the venue that we ended up comparing to all other venues we looked at. In the end, Whitehall was the most beautiful countryside setting and we fell in love with it. And because our wedding was in December, the all inclusive pricing ended up being more affordable than the other places that charged separately for everything.

First and foremost, Douglas is amazing. He responded to my e-mails seemingly within minutes of clicking the send button and he was always up for skype and phone calls with us to work out all the details. Since our ceremony was indoors, I had a lot of decorating ideas to make the ceremony space feel special and Douglas was open to help making everything work out how we envisioned it.

We had our tasting in July and were part of one of the large group tastings. The food was incredible and impressed even my hubby (the most important detail of the wedding for him was great food!) On the day-of, the food was just as fabulous as the tasting and the catering staff made sure that the bridal room and groom's suite had sandwiches, drinks, and treats while we were getting ready. The event staff was 100% helpful and professional and there was always someone attending to our sweetheart table making sure that we got to eat and drink.

We had beautiful snow on our wedding day and Whitehall was the perfect backdrop for a gorgeous winter wonderland. I can't imagine having had our wedding anywhere else and we will recommend Whitehall to anyone and everyone!
Wedding: 12/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Whitehall Manor was the perfect ceremony and reception venue for our wedding. Having everything in one place made everything so much easier for us and the site was stunning. Doug was a huge help in planning the day. All of his suggestions were greatly appreciated, and he answered the multiple emails I sent quickly and thoroughly, even during the last few weeks when I was emailing him at least every other day. Doug definitely knew what he was doing and made the process so much easier for us.

The day of, the site was beautiful. Although there was a tasting at the site the morning of the wedding, by the time my guests were arriving, the site was spotless and had been transformed. It was also a slightly rainy/cold day, and I was able to decide whether I wanted to have the wedding inside or outside just hours before the ceremony start time.

The fact that the catering is done on site was also great- the staff was able to turn our buffet station around in record time, and having the dishes/tables/chairs/etc on site took a huge amount of stress off of us during the planning process. One less thing to coordinate made all of the difference. The food was also great the day of.

The staff was fantastic- they made sure that my bridesmaids and I received drinks and food while we got ready and while we were taking pictures. They did a great job of making the buffet for 150 guests move smoothly and quickly and they got plates for my husband and I to make sure we ate. They also made sure everything made it out to my parents' car at the end of the night, and although my parents stayed to help, they made sure that they were relaxed and enjoying themselves even after the wedding was over.

I could not have asked for a better wedding site. The site is beautiful and Doug and his staff were professional, prepared for anything that could possibly go wrong, and made sure that the day went off without a hitch so that we could enjoy ourselves.
Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely loved having our wedding at Whitehall, and would recommend it to anyone!! Planning a wedding in a short 7 months, we had concerns about finding an available venue in our price range, and were blown away with the quality, beauty, and value we found at Whitehall. Our day was a less traditional Sunday morning ceremony with brunch to follow. The Whitehall staff, including Douglas and the chefs, were incredibly creative and flexible with designing a brunch menu fit to our vision and budget. Douglas was exceedingly professional, responded promptly, and was accommodating to our needs and desires. Although he was not present the day of, the event captain and staff were exceptionally helpful as well. Overall, a magnificent experience we will treasure forever.
Wedding: 11/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 10 Reviews
Whitehall Manor was such a gorgeous venue for my reception. I had looked at a few other similar manor house venues but this one just took the cake. It was professional, grand, and elegant. Not to mention, you can use the in-house catering (Celebrations) which makes a lot of the planning and coordinating much easier because Doug just takes care of it himself. Doug was fantastic, he was quick to respond to emails and phone calls about any sort of detail. All we had to do is drop off everything we had (placecards, guestbook, favors, etc.) and they set up everything! I would definitely recommend Whitehall to anyone, all my guests loved it!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Whitehall Manor was a fantastic venue that was great to work with. Doug answered any and all of our questions, was very responsive, and was 100% upfront about everything including costs. The venue is beautiful and the view is breathtaking and my guests all enjoyed being there. We held our ceremony outside and reception inside and it was so easy to have everything in one place. Everyone at Whitehall was experienced, professional and helpful and still made it feel like my day was special to them, even when they do so many weddings in a year.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I chose Whitehall Manor based on the dozens of overwhelmingly positive reviews on wedding wire and because the venue and the grounds are just stunning. We also liked that the manor house has several rooms, in addition to the reception room, for guests who wanted a break from the music or had little kids, and that there was enough space to hold the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception inside in case the weather didn't cooperate. Even with all the superlative reviews on wedding wire, the service leading up to the day and on the day of our wedding still managed to exceed our expectations. Douglas was extraordinarily helpful leading up to the wedding, answering our several emails in a timely fashion, and Jose went above and beyond to help us create a menu that incorporated Puerto Rican food. The day of, we were hesitant to have the ceremony outside as it had been raining all morning and the day before, but Douglas encouraged us to do so and it was the best decision we made. The food and service during the reception were excellent, and the day ran smoothly.
And the added bonus is that they allow you to bring in all the alcohol, which is a huge cost savings.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Whitehall Manor is a dream venue. As soon as we saw we did a tour, we knew it was the place for us!

Why it is better than other places:
-The location is beautiful- rolling hills, green grass, huge white house, beautiful porch, big trees. In addition you have choices- do you want to face a gazebo, or an arch, or the green grass?
-They are a full service venue- they provide all the linens, tables, chairs, staff, and catering so you don't have to wrangle so many vendors (yay)! Plus they set up and clean up!
-You can bring your own alcohol, which will save you a bundle!
-The food is equivalent to a fancy restaurant- no lukewarm, underseasoned wedding food for you! They are constantly updating their menu to reflect trends and offer items such as late night snacks and personal touches like chocolate covered strawberries at the end of the meal (we got this). My favorites were the mini beef wellingtons and sweet potato latkes....yum!
-Doug, the person in charge is knowledgeable, experienced, prompt in answering a bride's every question, and most of all works with the bride to ensure that she is getting the wedding exactly as she wants it!
-They have a fabulous rain plan. Surprise! It rained on our wedding day. Doug met me at the door on the day of my wedding with an hourly wedding radar in his hand. He gave me until an hour before the wedding to make the final decision in case the weather changed- how fantastic is that?
-The staff was amazing. Not only were they waiting for me to give them rain time decision, they also set up and tore down everything for us. Before the wedding, they offered us drinks, got a fan for us, and were constantly checking in to make sure everything was ok. During dinner, they served us first so that we could eat and then mingle with family. We gave them two mixed drink recipes that we wanted and they made them onsite for our guests. The cake people forget to provide a box for our top tier so someone at Whitehall wrapped it up for us.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Whitehall was the absolute best location for our wedding - once we toured the site we knew right away! The coordinator at Whitehall is super easy to work with and responds really quickly to emails. They pay attention to the tiniest of details to make sure you get exactly what you want. Their organization makes your planning easy and the one stop shopping is also great. The staff is friendly and very professional, the food is fantastic and the venue speaks for itself. We have only received positive feedback from our guests and I would recommend Whitehall over and over again!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 703-948-2999
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0