Historic Whitehall Manor
    146 Reviews
Whitehall Estate Lane
Bluemont, VA 20135  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 350
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (146)   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
As soon as I saw this venue online, I knew I had to check it out and work it into my budget. The mansion is FANTASTIC and the surrounding area is GORGEOUS at the least. I loved the private setting and beautiful decor inside. It's very easy to decorate to any theme you have and its so spacious with all the separate rooms on the main level and upstairs it was the best decision I made for my entire wedding. Douglas was amazing the entire planning period and so incredibly responsive to alllllllllllllllllll my emails. He was always welcoming and to the point. After going to so many venues and meeting so many sales people it gets really annoying when they give you the whole pitch and schmoozing. Douglas gave me all the information I needed and had a smile the whole time.

Now on to the food. I am STILL hearing about how amazing all the food was. It was a Korean/Italian wedding so the food was going to be under much speculation and the kitchen staff at Whitehall did not disappoint. Everything was delicious and there was not ONE negative thing I've heard about any of the food. The event captain Francisco was superb along with all the other staff. Everyone was asking my husband and I if we needed anything from water/alcoholic beverage or food. They even saved us some hor douvres because we didn't get a chance to even step foot into our cocktail hour. The landscaping was perfect and I couldn't have asked for a better location and scenery. It was everything I imagined it would be.
Wedding: 10/17/2014
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Thanks to Douglas and the team at Whitehall Manor, we were able to have the wedding of our dreams. Every stage of the planning process was easy, detailed and professional. The venue is gorgeous, the food is incredible and the staff was wonderful. We have had so many guests tell us it was the best wedding they have EVER been to!
Wedding: 09/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
From our very first visit to Whitehall, my husband and I knew that it was the perfect place to host our wedding reception. Douglas gave us our tour and was so friendly and professional that we were immediately impressed. Throughout our tasting, site visit, planning meetings, and even pre-wedding drop off, he and his staff could not have been more courteous or attentive. He responded to every email in a timely and complete way, no matter how silly the question. He was also incredibly accommodating when my husband and I asked if we could have our engagement photos taken at Whitehall. His recommended vendor list is worth its weight in gold - every vendor selection we made based on that list gave us incredible service and value.

When we arrived at Whitehall after our church wedding, the grounds looked absolutely stunning. Our guests kept asking us how we had found such a perfect location. The manager on staff introduced himself to us at the beginning of the night and was very attentive, even bringing my husband an extra plate of appetizers to our table when he said how much he had liked them. The food was even better than at our group tasting, and the bar service was excellent. At the end of the night, everything was packed incredibly quickly and efficiently. My parents couldn't believe that they even sent us home with boxed up leftovers of the (delicious) food.

Overall, a wonderful venue which deserves every compliment. Our wedding reception was perfect and Whitehall was the perfect place to have it.
Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Absolutely stunning venue...inside and out with its panoramic views of the mountains!
Professional and delightful (not always the case in my experience) staff!
Food was delicious and there was plenty of it. We're still getting rave reviews from guests.
Beautiful grounds...simple, elegant--great photo ops for before, during and after, including staircases inside and out, a beautiful swing in the garden, porches, gazebo, old barns--we loved it all!

Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
The venue was beautiful, everything was clean, and the staff was exemplary. There was never a time throughout the day when DH and I felt neglected. Whenever we entered a room, there was food on a plate, drinks poured, and staff waiting on us hand and foot. Our food came out hot and quickly. Our glasses were always full. The speakers that Douglas provided, as well as the Bluetooth sound situation system functioned beautifully.

Several of our guests remarked on the excellent quality of the food, the cleanliness of the venue, the professionalism of the staff, and the overall warm, welcoming, wonderful ambience that Whitehall provided for us on our special day. In fact, our jeweler who owns Hunt Country Jewelers, located in Purcellville, said that it was the best, most enjoyable, wedding that he had ever been to. And there were several other guests who echoed his remarks. In fact, there was a couple who had their wedding there years ago, who remarked that our wedding may have been better than theirs.

As I reflect on the day, my only regret is that we have only one wedding because if I had to do it again I would without a doubt contract with Whitehall and Douglas.

They even held onto the top tier of the wedding cake that my mom forgot to grab at the end of the night. I picked up two days later, and the kitchen staff had it safely stored out of the way for me.

Fantastic venue, staff, and manager!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 3 Reviews
Whitehall is the most ideal wedding venue you can ask for. It is beautiful, it is versatile and every single person you deal with is a true professional at what they do. To be helpful, here are some facts that make them truly special:
- They only do wedding, it's in their blood and veins. They only do one wedding a day. It truly feels like having the wedding at your childhood home except it is insanely glamorous.
- Yes, you sign a contract an there are terms and rules set within but as long as you are reasonable, these people will work with you however they can to make your day perfect. Not only that, they're not yes-men either. Because they have so much experience, they will tell you if your suggestion doesn't work. They have an answer to everything.
- The food is incredible, our tasting was one of the best (and biggets meals) we've ever had and the food on the day-of is just as good, if not better.
- It's 24/7 service for the bride, especially the month leading up to the day (THANK YOU DOUG!)
- You don't need a wedding coordinator on the day-of because the captain is so with it that anyone else would just get in the way. If I was thirsty, water was brought to me in 2 seconds, if I was hungry, there was fruit, cheese and snacks immediately, if I was hot the AC was turned up before I know it, when the vendors came, things were set up immediately, when it was time to cut the cake, all the utensils and glasses were set up miraculously, when it was time for the sparklers, lighters were lit, 5 seconds later, there were already people walking around with buckets for disposing the sparklers. If the weather looks a little iffy, they set up the inside and outside chairs (with decoration, everything) in case your guests have to run inside at a moment's notice. All this, and they are pretty much invisible.
- They have great vendor relationships

Just trust them on anything that you are not sure of, they know what they are doing. It was a perfect day!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
So gorgeous. Had so many complements from guests on the beauty of this location. Also the coordinator is a breeze to work with!
Wedding: 06/08/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
My review is very late as we got married last May. We worked very closely with Doug and his staff and they were all fantastic. I can be a picky person and he always remained very patient and accomodating. Any phone call, email, or text I sent he promptly responded and always with a positive response or idea. The location was beautiful, a perfect mix of elegance and country. You feel very special because you have the whole place to yourself without the risk of outside people entering. We lucked out and had beautiful weather but they were ready just in case. He was present the day of our wedding and even stayed until the end to help my parents clean up because our wedding planner didn't. I really struggled in the beginning because I knew I wanted a wedding the country that didn't feel like stereotypical country. I also knew I wanted the reception inside. That is very hard to find in Loudoun County and for it to still be able to be elegant. If you are looking for that perfect mix, you should book them now. You will have no regrets and everything will be taken care of. Thank you Doug!! I don't think I said it enough!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Rehearsal Dinner Location, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Megan 3 Reviews
This place is amazing. Best place to have a wedding at. Beautiful location, wonderful staff and great food! Doug was so responsive and very helpful in the planning process. He was very detailed in everything that I had to do which made my job easy.
Wedding: 05/23/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 8 Reviews
Whitehall was an amazing place for our wedding. The scenery is gorgeous, inside and out. Despite the rain during on our wedding day, the staff at Whitehall were prepared and knew exactly what to do to set up the ceremony inside...and it turned out beautiful. All of our guests raved about how delicious the food was and how friendly and professional the staff was. Douglas was very efficient and easy to work with. I would recommend this venue to anyone.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Douglas and Francisco were both wonderful to work with. Douglas always responds to email or phone inquiries in a very timely manner and is flexible, helpful, and does a great job.

This venue speaks for itself. It is stunning. Classic, historical Southern charm. Beautiful. The event space is perfect, with options for indoor or outdoor ceremonies. The food is incredible - flavorful, cooked perfectly, and lots of options! Also, it is BYOB - which helps save costs and lets yo specialize your menu according to your guests!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't even begin to say how wonderful it was having our wedding at Whitehall Manor, it would literally take me ALL day! I began working with Douglas 16 months before our wedding and he was there every step of the way for me and down to the very last hr he was there if I had a question or needed to change a small detail. Douglas I can't thank you enough!

Tarek and I had the fairy tale wedding that we had imagined and hoped for. From the moment I entered the manor on our wedding day the staff made me truly feel like a princess and every single staff member catered to our needs from snacks in the bridal party rooms and drinks before hand... Our guests were wowed and we couldn't have been more blessed with the weather as well. We got a lot of compliments of how beautiful the grounds were and that the food was amazing!

I seriously could go on and on but I can't thank you all at Whitehall Manor for being such a huge part of our special day, thank you from the bottom of our hearts!
Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Whitehall Manor was the first place we visited when looking for venues in the Maryland/DC/Virginia area. And it was the venue that we ended up comparing to all other venues we looked at. In the end, Whitehall was the most beautiful countryside setting and we fell in love with it. And because our wedding was in December, the all inclusive pricing ended up being more affordable than the other places that charged separately for everything.

First and foremost, Douglas is amazing. He responded to my e-mails seemingly within minutes of clicking the send button and he was always up for skype and phone calls with us to work out all the details. Since our ceremony was indoors, I had a lot of decorating ideas to make the ceremony space feel special and Douglas was open to help making everything work out how we envisioned it.

We had our tasting in July and were part of one of the large group tastings. The food was incredible and impressed even my hubby (the most important detail of the wedding for him was great food!) On the day-of, the food was just as fabulous as the tasting and the catering staff made sure that the bridal room and groom's suite had sandwiches, drinks, and treats while we were getting ready. The event staff was 100% helpful and professional and there was always someone attending to our sweetheart table making sure that we got to eat and drink.

We had beautiful snow on our wedding day and Whitehall was the perfect backdrop for a gorgeous winter wonderland. I can't imagine having had our wedding anywhere else and we will recommend Whitehall to anyone and everyone!
Wedding: 12/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Whitehall Manor was the perfect ceremony and reception venue for our wedding. Having everything in one place made everything so much easier for us and the site was stunning. Doug was a huge help in planning the day. All of his suggestions were greatly appreciated, and he answered the multiple emails I sent quickly and thoroughly, even during the last few weeks when I was emailing him at least every other day. Doug definitely knew what he was doing and made the process so much easier for us.

The day of, the site was beautiful. Although there was a tasting at the site the morning of the wedding, by the time my guests were arriving, the site was spotless and had been transformed. It was also a slightly rainy/cold day, and I was able to decide whether I wanted to have the wedding inside or outside just hours before the ceremony start time.

The fact that the catering is done on site was also great- the staff was able to turn our buffet station around in record time, and having the dishes/tables/chairs/etc on site took a huge amount of stress off of us during the planning process. One less thing to coordinate made all of the difference. The food was also great the day of.

The staff was fantastic- they made sure that my bridesmaids and I received drinks and food while we got ready and while we were taking pictures. They did a great job of making the buffet for 150 guests move smoothly and quickly and they got plates for my husband and I to make sure we ate. They also made sure everything made it out to my parents' car at the end of the night, and although my parents stayed to help, they made sure that they were relaxed and enjoying themselves even after the wedding was over.

I could not have asked for a better wedding site. The site is beautiful and Doug and his staff were professional, prepared for anything that could possibly go wrong, and made sure that the day went off without a hitch so that we could enjoy ourselves.
Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely loved having our wedding at Whitehall, and would recommend it to anyone!! Planning a wedding in a short 7 months, we had concerns about finding an available venue in our price range, and were blown away with the quality, beauty, and value we found at Whitehall. Our day was a less traditional Sunday morning ceremony with brunch to follow. The Whitehall staff, including Douglas and the chefs, were incredibly creative and flexible with designing a brunch menu fit to our vision and budget. Douglas was exceedingly professional, responded promptly, and was accommodating to our needs and desires. Although he was not present the day of, the event captain and staff were exceptionally helpful as well. Overall, a magnificent experience we will treasure forever.
Wedding: 11/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 10 Reviews
Whitehall Manor was such a gorgeous venue for my reception. I had looked at a few other similar manor house venues but this one just took the cake. It was professional, grand, and elegant. Not to mention, you can use the in-house catering (Celebrations) which makes a lot of the planning and coordinating much easier because Doug just takes care of it himself. Doug was fantastic, he was quick to respond to emails and phone calls about any sort of detail. All we had to do is drop off everything we had (placecards, guestbook, favors, etc.) and they set up everything! I would definitely recommend Whitehall to anyone, all my guests loved it!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 703-948-2999
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0