Historic Whitehall Manor
    130 Reviews
Whitehall Estate Lane
Bluemont, VA 20135  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 350
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (130)   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.8/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Whitehall Manor was the first place we visited when looking for venues in the Maryland/DC/Virginia area. And it was the venue that we ended up comparing to all other venues we looked at. In the end, Whitehall was the most beautiful countryside setting and we fell in love with it. And because our wedding was in December, the all inclusive pricing ended up being more affordable than the other places that charged separately for everything.

First and foremost, Douglas is amazing. He responded to my e-mails seemingly within minutes of clicking the send button and he was always up for skype and phone calls with us to work out all the details. Since our ceremony was indoors, I had a lot of decorating ideas to make the ceremony space feel special and Douglas was open to help making everything work out how we envisioned it.

We had our tasting in July and were part of one of the large group tastings. The food was incredible and impressed even my hubby (the most important detail of the wedding for him was great food!) On the day-of, the food was just as fabulous as the tasting and the catering staff made sure that the bridal room and groom's suite had sandwiches, drinks, and treats while we were getting ready. The event staff was 100% helpful and professional and there was always someone attending to our sweetheart table making sure that we got to eat and drink.

We had beautiful snow on our wedding day and Whitehall was the perfect backdrop for a gorgeous winter wonderland. I can't imagine having had our wedding anywhere else and we will recommend Whitehall to anyone and everyone!
Wedding: 12/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Whitehall Manor was the perfect ceremony and reception venue for our wedding. Having everything in one place made everything so much easier for us and the site was stunning. Doug was a huge help in planning the day. All of his suggestions were greatly appreciated, and he answered the multiple emails I sent quickly and thoroughly, even during the last few weeks when I was emailing him at least every other day. Doug definitely knew what he was doing and made the process so much easier for us.

The day of, the site was beautiful. Although there was a tasting at the site the morning of the wedding, by the time my guests were arriving, the site was spotless and had been transformed. It was also a slightly rainy/cold day, and I was able to decide whether I wanted to have the wedding inside or outside just hours before the ceremony start time.

The fact that the catering is done on site was also great- the staff was able to turn our buffet station around in record time, and having the dishes/tables/chairs/etc on site took a huge amount of stress off of us during the planning process. One less thing to coordinate made all of the difference. The food was also great the day of.

The staff was fantastic- they made sure that my bridesmaids and I received drinks and food while we got ready and while we were taking pictures. They did a great job of making the buffet for 150 guests move smoothly and quickly and they got plates for my husband and I to make sure we ate. They also made sure everything made it out to my parents' car at the end of the night, and although my parents stayed to help, they made sure that they were relaxed and enjoying themselves even after the wedding was over.

I could not have asked for a better wedding site. The site is beautiful and Doug and his staff were professional, prepared for anything that could possibly go wrong, and made sure that the day went off without a hitch so that we could enjoy ourselves.
Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We absolutely loved having our wedding at Whitehall, and would recommend it to anyone!! Planning a wedding in a short 7 months, we had concerns about finding an available venue in our price range, and were blown away with the quality, beauty, and value we found at Whitehall. Our day was a less traditional Sunday morning ceremony with brunch to follow. The Whitehall staff, including Douglas and the chefs, were incredibly creative and flexible with designing a brunch menu fit to our vision and budget. Douglas was exceedingly professional, responded promptly, and was accommodating to our needs and desires. Although he was not present the day of, the event captain and staff were exceptionally helpful as well. Overall, a magnificent experience we will treasure forever.
Wedding: 11/03/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 10 Reviews
Whitehall Manor was such a gorgeous venue for my reception. I had looked at a few other similar manor house venues but this one just took the cake. It was professional, grand, and elegant. Not to mention, you can use the in-house catering (Celebrations) which makes a lot of the planning and coordinating much easier because Doug just takes care of it himself. Doug was fantastic, he was quick to respond to emails and phone calls about any sort of detail. All we had to do is drop off everything we had (placecards, guestbook, favors, etc.) and they set up everything! I would definitely recommend Whitehall to anyone, all my guests loved it!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 6 Reviews
Whitehall Manor was a fantastic venue that was great to work with. Doug answered any and all of our questions, was very responsive, and was 100% upfront about everything including costs. The venue is beautiful and the view is breathtaking and my guests all enjoyed being there. We held our ceremony outside and reception inside and it was so easy to have everything in one place. Everyone at Whitehall was experienced, professional and helpful and still made it feel like my day was special to them, even when they do so many weddings in a year.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I chose Whitehall Manor based on the dozens of overwhelmingly positive reviews on wedding wire and because the venue and the grounds are just stunning. We also liked that the manor house has several rooms, in addition to the reception room, for guests who wanted a break from the music or had little kids, and that there was enough space to hold the ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception inside in case the weather didn't cooperate. Even with all the superlative reviews on wedding wire, the service leading up to the day and on the day of our wedding still managed to exceed our expectations. Douglas was extraordinarily helpful leading up to the wedding, answering our several emails in a timely fashion, and Jose went above and beyond to help us create a menu that incorporated Puerto Rican food. The day of, we were hesitant to have the ceremony outside as it had been raining all morning and the day before, but Douglas encouraged us to do so and it was the best decision we made. The food and service during the reception were excellent, and the day ran smoothly.
And the added bonus is that they allow you to bring in all the alcohol, which is a huge cost savings.
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Whitehall Manor is a dream venue. As soon as we saw we did a tour, we knew it was the place for us!

Why it is better than other places:
-The location is beautiful- rolling hills, green grass, huge white house, beautiful porch, big trees. In addition you have choices- do you want to face a gazebo, or an arch, or the green grass?
-They are a full service venue- they provide all the linens, tables, chairs, staff, and catering so you don't have to wrangle so many vendors (yay)! Plus they set up and clean up!
-You can bring your own alcohol, which will save you a bundle!
-The food is equivalent to a fancy restaurant- no lukewarm, underseasoned wedding food for you! They are constantly updating their menu to reflect trends and offer items such as late night snacks and personal touches like chocolate covered strawberries at the end of the meal (we got this). My favorites were the mini beef wellingtons and sweet potato latkes....yum!
-Doug, the person in charge is knowledgeable, experienced, prompt in answering a bride's every question, and most of all works with the bride to ensure that she is getting the wedding exactly as she wants it!
-They have a fabulous rain plan. Surprise! It rained on our wedding day. Doug met me at the door on the day of my wedding with an hourly wedding radar in his hand. He gave me until an hour before the wedding to make the final decision in case the weather changed- how fantastic is that?
-The staff was amazing. Not only were they waiting for me to give them rain time decision, they also set up and tore down everything for us. Before the wedding, they offered us drinks, got a fan for us, and were constantly checking in to make sure everything was ok. During dinner, they served us first so that we could eat and then mingle with family. We gave them two mixed drink recipes that we wanted and they made them onsite for our guests. The cake people forget to provide a box for our top tier so someone at Whitehall wrapped it up for us.
Wedding: 09/21/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
Whitehall was the absolute best location for our wedding - once we toured the site we knew right away! The coordinator at Whitehall is super easy to work with and responds really quickly to emails. They pay attention to the tiniest of details to make sure you get exactly what you want. Their organization makes your planning easy and the one stop shopping is also great. The staff is friendly and very professional, the food is fantastic and the venue speaks for itself. We have only received positive feedback from our guests and I would recommend Whitehall over and over again!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The perfect wedding. The dream wedding. Douglas was the maestro orchestrating the event and Walter and Francisco were brilliant in making the magic happen. If we could give a rating waaay beyond 5 stars we would happily and eagerly do it! Superlatives fall flat in comparison to the actual evening. Beginning with the trays of cold drinks and champagne, hot and cold appetizers delivered to the bride and her attendants as they got ready, to the perfectly timed ceremony, cocktail hour and plated meal, the evening was flawless. People are still calling us to rave about their amazing meal, the attention to details and the impeccable service. Everyone was thrilled with the evening. Douglas, Francisco and Walter - you will always have a place in our hearts for making this day one of the most memorable in our family. Thank you.
Wedding: 09/13/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We were able to drop by on non-wedding days to bring our family to see the venue beforehand. Extremely flexible!

The day of the wedding was a breeze! The service and food were amazing but mostly the service! They really took care of the bride throughout the day and always had a smile!
Wedding: 08/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

sharon 5 Reviews
WOW! Whitehall Manor was the perfect venue for our daughter's wedding. Douglas, Francesco and the entire wait staff provide and outstanding venue along with the food of Celebrations Catering. Our daughter chose Whitehall because of it's natural beauty and history. The staff was exceptionally attentive to the wedding party as they prepared before the wedding. They were always close by to meet any and all of our needs. They set up the ceremony at the Gazebo turning a vacant treed area into a delightful ceremony site. After the ceremony, they quickly came out offering the wedding party some drinks and/or refreshments to freshen them up before taking pictures. While we took pictures, they attended to all the needs of our guests. I did not have to worry about anything. We were able to enjoy our daughter's wedding completely without any concern for our guests. The officiant's car battery died and the videographer's battery died and they readily had the equipment, willingness and availabilty to jump start both of their cars and get them back on the road. Our daughter's wedding was picture perfect thanks to Douglas and his extreme attention to detail. The food was delicious and the presentation was fabulous. This is a fantastic venue for any occasion, it is exceptional. The wait staff goes above and beyond!
Wedding: 08/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Arlene 2 Reviews
White Hall Manor was the perfect place for my daughter's wedding. We looked at many venues and White Hall was the best value plus the setting was beautiful. Douglas was so easy to work with - he answers emails almost immediately - and - we didn't need to rent tables, chairs or linens. The food was delicious, the staff was very attentive right to the very end and everything went flawlessly the night of the wedding.
Wedding: 07/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Whitehall Manor was absolutely wonderful for our wedding! Everything was perfect! We were slightly disorganized and the staff helped so much make it so we didn't lose our mind! They took everything and made our minds at ease! The staff was absolutely wonderful. They were always there to help with anything and were so flexible with the time everything went because we had late guests to the wedding. They really held everything together. Doug was our wedding planner and he was marvelous! Every question was answered in a timely manor and he was always there for any last minute changes. Everything about Whitehall made our wedding beautiful and wonderful! From the scenery to the staff! I would recommend Whitehall to ANYONE!
Wedding: 07/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
When we were looking for venues we were really concerned about finding a place that fit with our personalities but would also make planning the wedding a less stressful experience. Whitehall fit our needs perfectly! Working with Doug was a great experience and he made the planning process easy. On the day of, the staff was wonderful and super helpful and the food was amazing! All of our guests told us afterwards how awesome Whitehall was and what a great time they had!
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding was absolutely perfect and I'd say most of that credit goes to the staff at Whitehall.

This was the first venue we visited, and I fell completely in love with the grounds the moment we pulled up. We visited four other venues in Maryland and Virginia after Whitehall, but none of them compared to that feeling we got there.

While there are so many amazing things about Whitehall - the grounds, the historic home, the large windows in the reception room, the barns for photos - one of the best things was having a contact there who I felt like I could really trust. Douglas definitely knows how to plan for a great event, and we were very happy selecting vendors from his recommended list. There was never a moment I felt really stressed because I knew I could rely on Douglas and his expertise. Everything was always organized and under control.

Now on to the staff that was there for the actual wedding. The service was way beyond anything we expected! I didn't know that we would have sandwiches and drinks available in the bridal suite while we got ready. Nor did I expect the staff to come out during cocktail hour with drinks and appetizers as we took photos. I was so happy to get a chance to sample everything I knew the guests were enjoying. Once inside, our wine and water glasses were always full, and we felt truly taken care of by the Whitehall staff. Our guests felt the same way.

As for the food, I was pleased with everything that came out. I'll admit that I was not thrilled with the food tasting and my expectations were not that high for the meals afterwards. Thankfully everything was much better on our wedding day and we got many compliments on the selection. Especially the bacon wrapped scallops and crab dip served during cocktail hour.

When looking at venues, it's hard to get over the initial sticker shock. But we think the quality of service at Whitehall and access to such a beautiful venue was worth every single penny.

Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kerone 2 Reviews
Whitehall Manor was the best venue I could have asked for. The price couldn't be beat and the costs were always given up front. Doug, the main contact, was always responsive during the planning and on the day of. All of the staff were professional and accommodating the helping the other vendors. I felt very special because I was the only one to have my wedding there that day that I could tell. I was able to have access to the venue for a longer time than other venues allowed.
The venue was spectacular and Doug even allowed my request to move the brides room upstairs so the party could get dressed onsite. All of the guests loved the venue (and that the ceremony and reception were at the same place!) One of the best parts about the venue is that we saved money by bringing our own alcohol!
Wedding: 04/26/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 703-948-2999
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0