Historic Inns of Annapolis
"Begin Your History Here"
58 State Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (71)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
We had our July wedding at the Governor Calvert House and would highly recommend this venue to anyone who is looking for a venue with lots of historical charm and character! We had many out of town guests that stayed at the Historic Inns and they all loved the venue and the town of Annapolis.

We held almost all wedding weekend events at the Inns: we held a Friday night dessert reception at the Maryland Inn; held our ceremony, cocktail hour, and reception at the Gov. Calvert House; and also a farewell Sunday breakfast at the Gov. Calvert House -- it was the perfect wedding weekend! Michelle and her staff at the Inns were such a pleasure to work with. The weekend ran so smoothly and went off without a hitch. I had so many vendors tell me that I was in good hands with Michelle, and they were right! She was super responsive throughout the planning process, handled the rehearsal and day of coordination with ease, and was also super helpful during the planning stages by recommending many great local vendors that we ultimately ended up booking. If you go with the venue, would also recommend renting the cafe lights - makes for great photos and many guests told us they felt like they were "in a movie." We could not be happier with our venue selection!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I just had my wedding and reception at The Historic Inns of Annapolis at The Governor Calvert House. This venue was absolutely perfect for our small wedding ceremony and reception (55 people in attendance). We had a Friday evening wedding and the cost was very affordable compared to other locations we considered. The venue itself is beautiful and requires very little extra decoration although we did decide to go with stringing some overhead lights. The food was fantastic (heavy hors d'oeuvres), the setting was gorgeous, and the event staff were so easy to work with. Overall, it was absolutely lovely. I would highly recommend it as a wedding and/or reception location.

I also have to mention that Michelle, the Events Coordinator, was responsive, flexible, professional and helpful. I enjoyed working with her. She made sure everything was organized. I did not have to worry about a thing. As a bride, that is invaluable.

The only difficulty I ran into had nothing to do with the event planning side of things. Rather it occurred in securing the room block and making sure the reservation process went smoothly for my guests. Everything worked out just fine but you may want to be sure you are clear about the terms and conditions up front (especially about the two night minimum on weekends). Make sure you get your questions answered upfront even if it takes a little extra leg work. Overall, with extra communication, it all worked out and they did work with me.

It is also important to note that several of my guests were unable to make it due to cancelled travel. The front desk/managerial staff were accommodating and understanding. They made an effort to work with me and my guests regarding cancelled reservations. In addition, they were extremely helpful the day of the event.

Again, I would highly recommend the Historic Inns of Annapolis as a venue.
Wedding: 07/04/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Bridget 2 Reviews
Historic Inns was the perfect place for my vintage themed wedding! Michelle was amazing! She was very responsive. She replied to all my emails promptly and never seemed annoyed or gave the impression I was bothering her. She was very professional and great to work with. She handled all my requests. There wasn't anything she said no to. Historic Inns was very flexible and worked great with all our vendors. Michelle was also great at handling my last minute requests. The venue was perfect! It was beautiful and spacious! The flow was great between ceremony, cocktail hour and dinner. Parking can be a little tough for your guests but if you plan ahead this isn't to much of an issue since there are several parking garages and a local shuttle. I recommend Historic Inns for your big day or any other event!
Wedding: 06/06/2014
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
First off, we looked at multiple venues in Annapolis. We live in North Carolina and my husbands family was from Annapolis. So I thought planning a wedding from out of state was going to be super stressful and difficult.

Michelle made my wedding planning SO easy. Talk about being on her game, she was awesome. Professional, caring, and a good resource for information. She was fast to respond to all emails and get my answers for any questions that myself or my family had during the planning.

This is THE prettiest venue in Annapolis. It needs the least amount of flowers to make the space stunning, because it already it.
The prices per plate were actually reasonable as well. (about $95-100)
I will forever be thankful to Michelle for making my wedding day and planning run so smoothly.
Wedding: 05/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
Michelle and the staff were incredible! They made our day even more special with all their help. Amazing venue and team!!!
Wedding: 05/30/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
We held our wedding reception at Governor Calvert House in April, and it was everything we could have dreamed of, and more. My husband and I knew GCH was the venue for us during our first visit! We looked at each other and said, "this is the one!" The venue is in an amazing location in downtown Annapolis, and has the most wonderful classic atmosphere. Michelle is their coordinator, and she is the best! She is extremely responsive and organized; she was always exceeding our expectations. The rest of the staff is just as wonderful - every person we interacted with was so helpful and friendly. Our guests had a wonderful time, and the guests that stayed overnight had a great experience with the hotel as well. The food is so delicious! Our guests were raving about it, and the hors d'oeuvres in particular. Every part of the night was so amazing, and we were able to enjoy every minute of it because Michelle and the staff had everything under control. We highly recommend this venue! We wish we could do our wedding there all over again. :)
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I loved having my reception at the duke of Gloucester within the Maryland Inn. We had an intimate wedding of 40 people, and the place was perfect. The only complaint was the slightly small dance floor. Most everyone stayed at the hotels in this group of three hotels. I was slightly upset mr he coordinator, Michelle, never offered to meet with me to say hello. I know she is busy and I was busy, but to call and check in after someone spends a lot of money with your business is thoughtful. Otherwise, GREAT experience!!
Wedding: 03/22/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Jordan 2 Reviews
Michelle and Renee made my life so much easier. They left decisions up to me but otherwise they handled everything without questioning me 24/7. I got to focus on the more important details.
Wedding: 12/28/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
10 out of 10 A+++. Michelle and her staff at the Governor Calvert House and historic inns of Annapolis are an exceptional crew that can accommodate any of your wedding needs. The staff was flexible and responsive, and we surely out them to the test, with a wedding of 200+ guests, and nearly all of their hotel rooms booked by our wedding guests. They ordered all custom tables, chairs, and place settings for our reception dinner, facilitated a decadent food tasting prior to the reception, and we're consummately flexibility to our every desire. During the weekend, we had full access to the facility and the resources of Michelle and her staff, and she truly goes above and beyond to make your wedding worry free. Would recommend again and again, and my only complain is that our reception seemed to go by too quickly as every detail was perfectly executed. -Ria and Wes
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Party Supplies, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Betsy 3 Reviews
I just had my wedding at the the Governor Calvert House last month, and I cannot say enough positive things about the venue, and the wonderful Director, Michelle Vellon. Michelle was so detail oriented and patient and made every last small detail we requested happen, from linens, to string lights on the porch, to cocktail hour food, special drink requests, picture and chalkboard layouts. She made us feel like family, and we always loved visiting her to get ideas for the wedding. At the end of the day it was such a beautiful looking event with a special charming feel. Our guests said the food and drinks were wonderful (slider bar and risotto stations were a hit!) and they loved the Inn's coziness and apple cider! It was all that we could want and more, and we will definitely be back to visit, stay and would reccommend this venue to anyone looking for charm, delicious food and special touches!
Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding at the Calvert House on September 7, 2013, and it was absolutely perfect! It definitely helped that it was in the upper 70s and sunny, but I think it would have been great in less-than-perfect circumstances, too.

We had cocktail hour on the gorgeous back patio area, which everyone loved. For dinner, we chose the rockfish, chicken with white wine leek sauce, and the filet. During the tasting, my husband and I thought that the food was overcooked, and I felt the same way on the wedding day, but we got great feedback from our guests, so who knows. My husband and I didn't get to partake in the cocktail hour food, but the crab balls especially got rave reviews.

The dancing area was big enough to hold our 8-piece band, and I appreciated that the bars were in the same room as the dance floor so that people weren't taken away from the dancing when they wanted a drink. Our guests also appreciated that they could find quiet places to talk (the back patio or the dining room) if they didn't want to dance. So, the layout of the venue is really perfect.

Michelle deserves all the praise that she's received from the other reviewers. She's very helpful and responsive and did so much work to make our day special. For instance, we wanted to upgrade some of the alcohol and needed props for the reception decorations, and Michelle took care of everything. It's amazing that her services are included in the venue fee! What's nice about Michelle is that she puts on weddings at this venue ALL THE TIME. So, she knows what works best and doesn't have to get acquainted with the space. It makes for a seamless event.

I highly recommend the Calvert House for your wedding. It's a great value and a great location. You and your guests will love it!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It will be hard to keep this review short -- the Historic Inns of Annapolis was absolutely everything I had dreamed of for my wedding. Michelle -- the coordinator with the Historic Inns -- was absolutely fantastic to work with. Throughout the entire wedding process, she answered every single stupid question that I had, and was helpful to make recommendations and accommodation. Once we got down to Annapolis the weekend of the wedding, she was on top of absolutely everything -- even with having another wedding the handle the day before. She helped coordinate all the decorations I had brought, and even re-alphabetized my seating cards when we realized there was a problem with what we had originally planned. She walked us through every part of rehearsal and helped us come up with solutions to getting my unique party down the aisle. By the time the "day-of" came, Michelle had a handle on absolutely everything that was going on, and even spent some of her time putting rose petals up and down the aisle for us. I don't think there is any way to thank her for all of the things that she did for us, and I cannot imagine having planned this wedding without her. Historic Inns of Annapolis truly know what they are doing. Also - I just want to quickly mention that absolutely every single one of our guests were enthralled with the wedding venue and the quaint beauty of the Governor Calvert House. Most had never seen a venue like that before and everybody complimented us on it -- as well as the food! Nobody likes bad wedding food, but the Historic Inns provided the exact opposite -- so wonderful. If there is anything that I felt even a hair of doubt about, it was that we did feel as if we were completely rushed out as soon as the 11:00 PM bell hit. However, with that being said, I do understand the need to get people out, we could have definitely hung around all night. Michelle did a great job of helping getting us everything that we had left - just A++!
Wedding: 09/01/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
After searching all over Annapolis for the perfect reception site, we finally found the one that had everything we imagined and more! The atrium was the perfect place for dancing and we loved how there were areas for our guests to go outside in the courtyard and the dining room was separate which was a bonus. Michelle was by far the best and most professional out of all the wedding coordinators we met with. She always had a smile on her face and ensured that everything was perfect for the day of our wedding. They have the best location and the historic charm of Annapolis can't be beat!
Wedding: 08/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff are wonderful and the location is picturesque. The filet mignon and other dinner selections were perfectly prepared. Our guests truly enjoyed the weekend.
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Our wedding reception was beautiful at the Governor Calvert House. The food was incredible and our guests have been complimenting it since the wedding!
The only downside is that we bought the open bar package, but they will not pour shots because of their liquor license...so be warned.
With all the taxes, it ended up being about $150-$160 a head, which was a little up there, but again, the food was great and the service was as well.
Wedding: 07/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Wonderful, wonderful place to have a wedding. Michelle V is incredibly responsive and helpful. We felt very comfortable knowing that she would take care of everything. All of our "personal touches" like photo table numbers, wedding favors and guest noes/cards were displayed exactly as we wanted and we didn't have to worry about a thing. The evening went like clockwork and everyone had a great. Not cheap but worth every penny!!
Wedding: 04/20/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 410-216-6326
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0