Historic Inns of Annapolis
"Begin Your History Here"
    64 Reviews
58 State Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception, Rehearsal Dinner
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 200
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (64)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.7/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.6/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
10 out of 10 A+++. Michelle and her staff at the Governor Calvert House and historic inns of Annapolis are an exceptional crew that can accommodate any of your wedding needs. The staff was flexible and responsive, and we surely out them to the test, with a wedding of 200+ guests, and nearly all of their hotel rooms booked by our wedding guests. They ordered all custom tables, chairs, and place settings for our reception dinner, facilitated a decadent food tasting prior to the reception, and we're consummately flexibility to our every desire. During the weekend, we had full access to the facility and the resources of Michelle and her staff, and she truly goes above and beyond to make your wedding worry free. Would recommend again and again, and my only complain is that our reception seemed to go by too quickly as every detail was perfectly executed. -Ria and Wes
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Party Supplies, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Betsy 3 Reviews
I just had my wedding at the the Governor Calvert House last month, and I cannot say enough positive things about the venue, and the wonderful Director, Michelle Vellon. Michelle was so detail oriented and patient and made every last small detail we requested happen, from linens, to string lights on the porch, to cocktail hour food, special drink requests, picture and chalkboard layouts. She made us feel like family, and we always loved visiting her to get ideas for the wedding. At the end of the day it was such a beautiful looking event with a special charming feel. Our guests said the food and drinks were wonderful (slider bar and risotto stations were a hit!) and they loved the Inn's coziness and apple cider! It was all that we could want and more, and we will definitely be back to visit, stay and would reccommend this venue to anyone looking for charm, delicious food and special touches!
Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding at the Calvert House on September 7, 2013, and it was absolutely perfect! It definitely helped that it was in the upper 70s and sunny, but I think it would have been great in less-than-perfect circumstances, too.

We had cocktail hour on the gorgeous back patio area, which everyone loved. For dinner, we chose the rockfish, chicken with white wine leek sauce, and the filet. During the tasting, my husband and I thought that the food was overcooked, and I felt the same way on the wedding day, but we got great feedback from our guests, so who knows. My husband and I didn't get to partake in the cocktail hour food, but the crab balls especially got rave reviews.

The dancing area was big enough to hold our 8-piece band, and I appreciated that the bars were in the same room as the dance floor so that people weren't taken away from the dancing when they wanted a drink. Our guests also appreciated that they could find quiet places to talk (the back patio or the dining room) if they didn't want to dance. So, the layout of the venue is really perfect.

Michelle deserves all the praise that she's received from the other reviewers. She's very helpful and responsive and did so much work to make our day special. For instance, we wanted to upgrade some of the alcohol and needed props for the reception decorations, and Michelle took care of everything. It's amazing that her services are included in the venue fee! What's nice about Michelle is that she puts on weddings at this venue ALL THE TIME. So, she knows what works best and doesn't have to get acquainted with the space. It makes for a seamless event.

I highly recommend the Calvert House for your wedding. It's a great value and a great location. You and your guests will love it!
Wedding: 09/07/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The staff are wonderful and the location is picturesque. The filet mignon and other dinner selections were perfectly prepared. Our guests truly enjoyed the weekend.
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We just had our ceremony and reception at the Governor Calvert House at Historic Inns. It was everything we could have asked for and more. The atrium was absolutely beautiful. It made for a great backdrop of our ceremony and had plenty of space for dancing and cocktails. The food was great, I'd definitely suggest the crab crakes! Michelle was such a helpful coordinator. She worked with our every request and was quick to answer emails and phone calls. On the day of, she handled all of the details and made sure everything ran smoothly. The night went off without a hitch. Michelle, the catering staff and the valets were so kind and helpful, and our guests definitely noticed the hard work they put in. While I love this venue and would recommend it to anyone, my one reservation is with the room reservations. The majority of our guests were staying in the Inns, and we did have some trouble with some miscommunication - guests were falsely told our block was booked or there were two night minimums. They were very quick to correct any mistakes and were always very kind and apologetic. As with any hotel, I'd recommend staying on top of your room block and making sure you get the important details out to your guests yourself.
Wedding: 03/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Bonnie 1 Reviews
My husband and I recently had our wedding at the Gov. Calvert House and it was spectacular. We knew the moment we walked in to the building that this was the venue for us. Truthfully I didn't expect to choose this venue, only because I did not think I wanted a historic site. Was i wrong! I had a couple other venues in Baltimore already in my head, but after seeing the atrium of the Calvert House, i was sold! It is a beautiful room and doesn't require a lot of decoration to be breathtaking. It was the best decision.
Michelle, the event planner, is a joy to work with, as well as Tara from catering. Michelle is extremely responsive, not to mention friendly, and a true professional. She understood my vision and the day of the wedding, i was amazed at just how beautiful everything looked. She is there for every step of the planning and the day of. She ensures that everything goes smooth, she is a dream!
Everyone at the hotel is extremely accommodating. If you don't like something, they will change it, no problem. They will make sure you get your dream wedding. Not only is Michelle fantastic, but so is the hotel manager. He made a point to understand exactly what we wanted and any issues we were having in the planning stage. Any issues were quickly resolved. The wait staff and bartenders are also fantastic. They moved things along swiftly and were so friendly with our guests.
Also, for the bride, there is a nice big room in the back of the atrium to get ready the day of. It's really spacious and comfortable and has a nice huge bathroom with lots of mirrors.
All in all, I highly recommend the Gov Calvert House. If I needed to plan another wedding, i would choose it all over again! The venue, the staff, the price, the location, everything is wonderful!!
Wedding: 02/23/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I hosted both my ceremony and reception at the Governor Calvert House. Michelle, their catering and event manager, is amazing and did such a wonderful job helping to make my wedding perfect. The food at the Calvert House is wonderful, and as someone who is gluten intolerant, they did a perfect job putting together a menu that I could eat (without scaring off guests!). There ceremony was beautiful and the coordination of the wedding itself was perfect. I couldn't be happier with my decision to host my event at the Governor Calvert House.
Wedding: 02/14/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I were married 2/9/13 and it couldn't have turned out my perfect! I cannot not say enough good things about The Historical Inns of Annapolis and Michelle Vellon! They really do whatever they can to make sure that if you want something it happens. I was nervous about having to plan the wedding from another state (and me not being very good at things like this) and I can say having my reception there made it a lot less stressful. Michelle was very responsive and really did an amazing job of putting everything together. The venue is also just perfect. You really don't have to do too much as far as decorations becuase the place itself is such a unique space. Everyone that came to our wedding raved about the location and how great everything turned out. If you are not sure where to do your wedding/reception trust me just do it here and it will be amazing (and so much less stressful)
Wedding: 02/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Randall 1 Reviews
"I never really understood the hype. Now I know why people get so excited about weddings." This comment from our friend summed up our wedding at the Governor Calvert House. We wanted something simple and fun; we got the most incredible weekend of our lives! And it was all so effortless, thanks to the professionalism and tenacity of our wedding liaison Michelle and her staff. After just one meeting, it seemed like Michelle knew us completely and moreover, knew everything we wanted. From the candlelight on the back patio, to the fried chicken and waffles, to our grand exit, Michelle and her team nailed it! We think about our wedding almost every day. And when we do, our only regret is that we can't do it again. We love the Calvert House! - Randy and Hadley Leonard
Wedding: 02/02/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It was such a pleasure to work with Michelle. She handled every detail from our first meeting to the day of our wedding. She was always available to answer any questions that we had. We were so thrilled with how great our wedding was at The Maryland Inn. It was a dream come true thanks to Michelle and her wonderful staff...I would highly recommend having a wedding at The Historic Inns of Annapolis.... we want to do it all over again!!

Sincerely,

Eric & Susan Reichard
Wedding: 01/19/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Kristen 4 Reviews
The Historic Inns of Annapolis is the ideal wedding venue. All my guests raved for days about how perfect the location, food, and service was! Michelle Vellon is amazing and very easy to work with- she will make your days run smoothly and exactly how you planned it!
Wedding: 01/09/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Alyssa 2 Reviews
Beautiful venue, great value and extremely responsive, professional service in planning the wedding.
Wedding: 12/08/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
The Historic Inns of Annapolis (Governor Calvert House) was the ultimate venue for our wedding in Annapolis. We were having all of our guests come in from out of town and wanted a venue that could host our wedding and all of our guests along with providing our guests with a feel of Annapolis. We looked at the other hotels in downtown Annapolis and none could offer us the charming, historic feel of Annapolis until we visited the Governor Calvert House. The inside of this Historic Inn is just charming. The wedding reception takes place in the Atrium which provides such a cute historic feeling. There are hotel rooms that even overlook the Atrium. Talking about the hotel rooms - they also provide a cute, historic feel HOWEVER they also come furnished with new, soft, comfy beds and sheetings as well as flat screen televisions. We loved how they were updated yet historic!

Michelle Vellon (the wedding coordinator) is THE BEST!!! There is no question about it. She made the wedding planning process SIMPLE. She was extremely responsive throughout the entire process and kept us updated with what we needed to provide her. She will do anything to help make your day special. Words can not express how AMAZING she is.

Now lets talk about the food! We our foodies and wanted to make sure that we had great food at our wedding. We have been to many weddings where the food is okay. We actually took a gamble on the Historic Inns based on reviews and recommendations from people that have attended a wedding there in the past. When we went to the food tasting, we were certainly not disappointed! The food was AMAZING. Allison, the head chef, took time to meet with us - she is a great chef. She will also do anything for you. Our guests especially raved about the appetizers. I would strongly suggest that you try the crab cakes and beef wellington at your tasting. YUM!!!

Our wedding was everything that we hoped it would be and ALL of our guests had a wonderful time!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My husband and I had our reception at Governor Calvert House on July 28, 2012. It was absolutely perfect! We worked with Michelle to set everything up, and she was so easy to work with. She always answered any questions we had prior to the wedding very quickly, and set everything for our reception up beautifully. The food for dinner was absolutely amazing, and a ton of our guests commented on it. Everyone on the staff was so friendly as well. They constantly checked throughout the night to see if we needed anything. We recommend the Historic Inns of Annapolis to anyone looking for a reception venue!
Wedding: 07/28/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Very convenient spot for a reception if you're getting married at the US Naval Academy. I recommend the Crab Cakes.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
This venue is absolutely gorgeous and unique. We hosted a lot of out-of-town NYers, mostly from Long Island, who are used to big beautiful weddings! I can't even tell you how many people came up to me and said it was the most beautiful wedding venue they had ever seen.

We opted to have our ceremony on-site in the atrium of the Calvert House and it was perfect. I am thrilled we were able to give our out-of-town guests a real taste of Annapolis, for a surprisingly reasonable cost compared to some other venues in the area. There is a ton of space for the bridal party to get ready and relax, before and during the wedding. Our photos are amazing, most of them taken on the terrace or across the street at the State House. The food was EXCELLENT! (Get the lamb!) I was happy to have 3 entree options to offer our guests, as many venues in the area only offer 2.

Given our wedding size (120 guests) we only looked at the Calvert House so I can't speak for the other spaces offered by the Historic Inns of Annapolis, but do not judge this hotel by the outside. Once you walk inside you will be amazed at the space, character, and beauty of it!! I have lived in Annapolis and worked downtown for 8 years and never even knew this place existed.

Michelle is awesome and a pleasure to work with. She answers emails almost immediately and made everything seamless, easy, and stress-free! Very flexible to last-minute changes and really helpful beyond words.

I could not be happier that we chose to get married here!!!!
Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 410-216-6326
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0