Handlery Hotel San Diego
    28 Reviews
950 Hotel Circle North
San Diego, CA 92108  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 300
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (28)   Photos   Videos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.3/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.2/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.5/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.4/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Marissa 1 Reviews
The Handlery Hotel was a wonderful venue for my wedding. It was very beautiful and everything was done well. The event planner was wonderful and very helpful. The food and service was amazing!
Handlery Hotel San Diego responded with the following comments:
It was our pleasure to be part of your Wedding. We're thrilled you and your guests enjoyed our venue, food and service! Thank you, Marissa!
Wedding: 05/10/2014
Services Used: Catering, Wedding Planning, Lighting & Decor, Travel, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

candi 4 Reviews
everything was perfect until the end and we discovered we had left a silver oblong basket and a pair of shoes in the event room and possibly some earrings and a necklace in the changing room upstairs. your employees know where the items should go, to Anne Marie so she can call us, obviously they don't belong to you. The earrings and necklace could have been in a bag and thrown out. What I really would like to get back is my silver oblong basket. Also sound system needs replaced which we didn't know we could have brought our own.
Handlery Hotel San Diego responded with the following comments:
Thank you for your review Candi. We're very pleased that you enjoyed your wedding here at the Handlery! We're geniunely sorry that we were not able to find your missing items. Our team members are generally great at turning everything into our lost and found department. We'll be sure to contact you right away if your basket turns up.
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The Handlery Hotel was the first venue that took me seriously when I said I wanted a wedding and reception with 15 guests. We grew in size to 23 guests and we were accommodated every step of the way. Ann Marie Schmidt was fabulous. Since it was a small affair, I was both the bride and the wedding coordinator. I didn't have much time nor desire to read bride magazines and Ann Marie was great in giving terrific tips for many aspects of the wedding and reception. For instance, on her suggestion we had guests sign a picture mat -- and I would have forgotten about a guest book entirely. The staff was wonderful. They were all very professional and quite pleasant. The outside private wedding ceremony venue was perfect (and it would have accommodated a lot more guests if needed). The food was very good as well. Ours was a small affair but as beautifully put on as if we had hundreds of guests. I can't recommend the Handlery Hotel and Ann Marie Schmidt any higher. It was a perfect day and much of that was because of the great venue. Thank you again Handlery and Ann Marie!

P.S. Full 5 star ratings are rare for me but it was definitely earned.
Handlery Hotel San Diego responded with the following comments:
We're happy to accommodate all weddings big or small and so pleased you selected us for your wedding! Thank you!!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Maya 1 Reviews
The Handlery was a great venue for a wedding reception. It was the best of both worlds with a outdoor garden and ballroom combined. If you don't like the traditional 4 wall ballroom (BORING), this alternative is very nice. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. They strived to make our day the best it could be.
Handlery Hotel San Diego responded with the following comments:
Thank you, Maya! We're pleased to have been part of your special day and so glad you enjoyed our venue and staff!
Wedding: 07/27/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
Ann Marie and the staff at Handlery were very helpful and flexible. The entire time, we felt as if we were the most important clients. On the day of the event, we had some last minute changes which were accommodated with what seamed to be no trouble at all. Chef made the most fantastic meals and was very gratuitous to meet some of the dietary needs of a few of our guests. The venue was beautiful. I would definitely return to the Handlery for other needs.
Handlery Hotel San Diego responded with the following comments:
Thank you for having your special day here with us at the Handlery! We take pride in our food and service and are so pleased we were able to accommodate your special requests and make your wedding day spectacular!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Carlin 1 Reviews
I could not get over the exceptional service Ann Marie, Chef, and staff provided. Not only were my husband and I impressed, but our guests raved about the food, beautiful room we were in (Crystal Ballroom), the venue in general, and especially the accommodating staff. Everyone went above and beyond to make this day perfect, and they succeeded ten-fold. I couldn't be happier with every minute we spent planning and celebrating with the Handlery Hotel, San Diego. Thank you!
Handlery Hotel San Diego responded with the following comments:
Thank you Carlin! We're so pleased we were able to meet all of your expectations and make your wedding day unforgettable!
Wedding: 06/15/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Carina 5 Reviews
Ann Marie Schmidt the wedding coordinator negotiated a fair price.She also handled the fine details.The food was excellent as was the presentaion
Handlery Hotel San Diego responded with the following comments:
Thank you, Carina! We're glad to hear Ann Marie was able to assist you with all of your needs! We take pride in our food and happy you enjoyed it too!
Wedding: 01/04/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The attention we received from the Handerly was second to none. We received the kind of service you would expect from those fancy over priced venues. They made sure all of my guests had what they needed, and treated my husband and I like royalty. If you're looking for something special check out the Handerly.
Handlery Hotel San Diego responded with the following comments:
Stefani, thank you for choosing us for your special day! It was our pleasure to host your beautiful wedding!
Wedding: 06/23/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had 190 people!! And the courtyard is AMAZING in June!!! Best location, perfect weather!! Loved every bit of this day! :)
Wedding: 06/09/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The food was delicious and was positively commented on by our guests. The cost per person was half in comparison to the other hotels in the hotel circle area of San Diego and a third of the cost of some of the hotels in the overall San Diego area. The venue is a bit old and is not overly "glamourous", but the outdoor garden was beautiful for our ceremony. Great choice for those who are on a budget.
Wedding: 04/16/2005
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Amazing space (crystal ballroom), attentive servers, great reception area while waiting for us to arrive, Fabulous food!!
Wedding: 02/10/2001
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Jacqueline Sy 1 Reviews
Always a pleasure working with Anne. She's a great asset for handlery. Very attentive to details and helped my clients throughout the wedding process
Handlery Hotel San Diego responded with the following comments:
Thank you, Jacqueline! We agree, Ann Marie is great and does a fantastic job with all of our special events!
Wedding: 10/26/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Handlery was an amazing location to be married at! We had our ceremony there and everyone commented on how beautiful the location was, how nice and peaceful and private it was! The garden made all of our pictures (even candids) look even more beautiful! Julia, the wedding coordinator there was amazing to work with - on top of things, very fun and personable and helped us out so much. She went above and beyond the call of duty to really make sure we were comfortable and the wedding went smoothly and perfectly! It was the most perfect site for our wedding.
Wedding: 09/13/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 5 Reviews
Had a wonderful time at wedding only thing that was missing on that day was more lighting in the yard and the waite staff forgot to give my quest tea that came with the party dinner package. some of the waite staff was not kind but other then that evety thing went smooth,
Handlery Hotel San Diego responded with the following comments:
We're glad you had a wonderful time at your wedding! Our outdoor garden is a great venue for an evening reception. We can always add on our beautiful string lights to brighten it up too. We'll be sure to follow up with our team on your other concerns. We appreciate your review. Thank you!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 1 Reviews
The Handerly was a beautiful venue for my daughter's wedding. Ann Marie and her staff were great. Our guest did have some issues with the rooms. But overall it was a successful experience.
Handlery Hotel San Diego responded with the following comments:
Thank you! We're glad we could make your daughters special day a wonderful experience for you both!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

cheryl 1 Reviews
the hotel and the food were wonderful we were from out of town and conducted all business via phone the staff was very helpful and they were wonderful to work for Would highly recommend this hotel for your wedding and reception
Handlery Hotel San Diego responded with the following comments:
Thanks Cheryl! We're glad you enjoyed our hotel, food and service! Thank you for choosing us for your special day!
Wedding: 06/08/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 619-298-0511
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4
out of 5.0