Gwen's Wedding Cakes
Serving Mongomery,Pulaski,Giles,Roanoke Counties, Virginia
3823 Surface Road
Riner, VA 24149  | map
Dietary options: Gluten Free, Kosher, Vegan
Desserts: Groom's Cake
Health license: Yes
Additional services: Consultations, Pickup, Tastings
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (24)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Gwen was great to work with and did a phenomenal job with our cake, both in design and taste. She was very easy to work with, coordinated a tasting for us, and was very helpful in recommending flavors, sizes, colors, etc. based on our discussion. She made a fantastic chocolate raspberry groom's cake with a fishing design that everyone loved at the rehearsal dinner, including the caterer! For our wedding cake, we asked her to mimic the complicated paisley design from our wedding invitation and she absolutely knocked it out of the park! We were blown away by her piping and attention to detail, and the cake truly was above and beyond anything we expected or dreamed of. Our guests (who included professional chefs and a catering manager/ wedding planner) continue to rave about how delicious the cake was, and there is heavy competition to join us when we unfreeze the cake top on our 1 year anniversary. We left 2 pieces in our fridge, and the cake still tasted incredible 2 weeks later. I honestly cannot recommend Gwen strongly enough. If you are getting married in the New River Valley, you absolutely MUST check her out!!
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a beautiful 50th Anniversary cake. It was with yellow roses on it. I let Gwen decorate it as she thought befitting the event. It was absolutely gorgeous. The couple never had a wedding cake on their wedding day. They both were deeply touched, especially the groom. Everyone asked us who made the cake. One friend from our church took a bite and said, "Gwen made this didn't she?" We laughed and said yes, even though we were in a different county than our home church, he still recognized Gwen's baking. It was delicious and the portion size was perfect. Needless to say, some of Gwen's business cards were given out that day.
Wedding: 03/15/2014
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Ronnie02 1 Reviews
the cake was very delicious and the icing was awesome. Gwen was great and kept us informed at all times, High recommendations for the blueberry cake!!!
Wedding: 08/10/2013
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 5 Reviews
I had a great experience with Gwen. I have never had such a delicious wedding cake. It was very important for us to get a wedding cake that we wanted to eat. I still can't believe how amazing the taste was. The only reason it is not 5/5 stars is because I thought the piping was sloppy and not very professional. I had asked for a specific design and I don't think we ever really got on the same page with what I wanted my cake to look like. But I wasn't as interested in looks as I was in taste, and that was dead on.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The entire process was wonderful she is very accommodating, easy to contact and work with. I requested rough icing and wildflowers. I took her the flowers and let her take it from there. The design was stunning, I couldn't have imagined a more perfect cake for our wedding. It survived the 92 degree weather that day and the taste was amazing. So delicious that my husband and I couldn't resist cutting into the topper and we hope to have Gwen make us a mini-cake for our anniversary!
Gwen's Wedding Cakes responded with the following comments:
To future brides with dates outside in the hot weather,
I have a buttercream icing that will withstand the heat.
Lots of cakes will melt down, the cakes made here have the extra
assurance that it will not melt down. I have a process of mixing that will allow this. No worries in hot weather, only suggest silk flowers, because the real ones will wilt and die way before your cake would have a chance to melt.
Wedding: 07/21/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
Gwen's Wedding Cakes was recommended to me by a friend and I must say I am extremely pleased. The cake was beautifully decorated, even better than I had envisioned and requested. It was also delicious. My family and friends are still talking about it.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 2 Reviews
Gwen's Wedding Cakes was recommended to me by a friend and I must say I am extremely pleased. The cake was beautifully decorated, even better than I had envisioned and requested. It was also delicious. My family and friends are still talking about it.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Gwen came highly recommended so we gave her a try and all I can say
is WOW, Her cakes are great in every way. They are not only beautifully
decorated but they are so moist and the icing was not over sweet.
We had a cake with a basket weave and fruit put on top of each
layer. (Strawberries, Blueberries, Blackberries Etc.). The guest loved
the fruit served with the cake it was delicious. It was all ate just the topper was left.. I also highly recommend gwen.
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
It was a very beautiful cake that was not only eye catching but very good. The fruits made it jump out at you and you could not wait to get to taste the cake. Most time the icing of cakes are way to sweet for me but this cake was very moist and very tasting.
Wedding: 06/16/2012
Services Used: Wedding Cake
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Anonymous 1 Reviews
Wonderful experience!!! Will use Gwen for future events!!!!!
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wedding cake was perfect! Exactly what I wanted and the taste was incredible. Many of our guests went back for seconds it was so good!
Wedding: 11/11/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Best wedding cake ever! The whole experience was great from the tasting to the final product. Gwen was wonderful to work with! The cake tasted great, looked BEAUTIFUL, and even tasted great over a week later. I can't wait 'til our anniversary to eat some more!!
Wedding: 10/15/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Gwen is amazing! She was nice enough to let me into her home to do a cake testing and helped me pick out the flavor and a design for my cake. I sent her a picture of what I had in mind for a wedding cake and it turned out even more beautifully than I could have imagined. She was always quick to respond to any questions I had via email. Everyone at my wedding wanted to know who made the cake!
Wedding: 05/07/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Gwen made two cakes for my sister's baby shower. Her blueberry cake is amazing! Everyone kept commenting on how great the cake was. I will use Gwen again and recommend her to everyone I know.
Wedding: 12/11/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
A friend recommended Gwen and I am so glad she did! The cake was exquisite and exactly what I envisioned. Gwen was so accommodating and easy to work with. My guests were so impressed with the cake and it tasted as good as it looked. But I was really blown away by the value of the cake; her prices are exceptionally reasonable. Thanks Gwen!!
Wedding: 11/20/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I got married on 10-10-10 and Gwen made my wedding cake. It was beautiful and it tasted great. I highly recommend Cakes by Gwen. She is amazing.
Wedding: 10/10/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake
 540-382-3135
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0