Grand Prospect Hall
Where wedding dreams come true!
    23 Reviews
263 Prospect Ave
Brooklyn, NY 11215  | map
Services: Ceremony, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 2000
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (23)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.2/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.2/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.1/5.0)
Value:
 (4.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (3.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Omg. I loved my wedding at this venue it was the best.. Best service and the food was great..
Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
The professional staff brought our wedding day to a new height. We love them and we hope to see them on our tenth anniversary
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Rania 3 Reviews
Mrs. H was amazing. She was flexible, kind and professional. She did all that she could to make my family happy and make the wedding spectacular.
Wedding: 04/28/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had a spectacular experience with the Grand Prospect, and our sales contact, Denise Sullivan. We had a movie-themed wedding, and we had a lot of details that we needed Denise's guidance on. Throughout, the level of customer service we received was outstanding. She was always prompt and professional in her responses. In addition, the grand ballroom is simply gorgeous, and the food selection was fantastic. We were able to create exactly the type of wedding which we aimed for: one that was an expression of our love for one another and for doing something outside the norm. Denise was instrumental in fueling our creative fire, and helped to make our wedding unforgettable for us and our guests. On the night of the wedding, Tom, also made our night flow smoothly which was no small feat considering we had a wedding party of 14. The staff also coordinated well with our DJ, photographer, and videographer.
Wedding: 09/03/2010
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The hall is a magnificent venue. I am so glad that I had my wedding there. Great service, great food, great staff. Coordinators are very flexible and were willing to work with my budget. I had also ordered a cake from them and it was delicious.
Wedding: 10/11/2008
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Wedding Planning, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We felt they handled everything well, had experienced people working our wedding and serving. We had a large crowd from out of town and they provided food and drinks on the table when guests arrived as well as valet and coat check. They also provided a Hallal menu and made sure there was no alcohol as per our request. I felt like all my concerns were addressed.
Grand Prospect Hall responded with the following comments:
Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for choosing the Grand Prospect Hall. We look forward to a great anniversary party!
Wedding: 11/19/2006
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Great service and great attention to detail. Will look to make your dreams come true.
Wedding: 08/02/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
The Grand Prospect Hall is an awesome venue. Everyone that we worked with was friendly, especially Denise, who was unbelievably helpful, understanding and extremely professional. She was always willing to accommodate any of our requests and was always there to offer advice when needed. We believe that having The Grand Prospect Hall in as our venue is what kept us calm and happy not just during an entire wedding day but all 6 months of preparation!! We received a lot of compliments for both the venue and the food. They were even willing to add some special menu items that we requested (signature cocktail drink, etc) and not requested. Denise even made them run out to get the Red Bull for my husband from the grocery store in the middle of the evening.
The cake baker has created a beautiful cake. We have asked for the special design, and he made it happen! We loved it!
We can't think of anything that we would have wanted to or happen differently. They listened to what we wanted and actually made it happen!!!

Wedding: 11/13/2011
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Officiant
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
Grand Prospect Hall was not my first choice for our wedding; I know many people who have gotten married here and I wanted something different. But I would have never thought this would be the first and only hall I would look at when planning my wedding. We booked the Grand Ballroom and it was absolutely beautiful for our 300+ guest wedding. We worked with the owner Alice on all of our planning and she did a great job of keeping our plans together. The staff of Grand Prospect Hall is wonderful; the Maitre D' Thomas is absolutely great. He is definitely a professional at his job; he takes control of things and makes sure everything goes according to plan. My Bridal Attendant was another wonderful employee, she did so much for both myself and my husband. She made sure we were taken care of. Yes, the prices are a tad high but you get a very beautiful venue that needs little to no extra decorations. We had a gorgeous wedding and many of that was due to the Grand Ballroom.
Wedding: 04/24/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
They were great with everything. If you really want a beautiful wedding without a hassle, this place is great. The cake was beautiful and comes as part of the package. Food was outstanding and the cake was great too.
Wedding: 08/08/2007
Services Used: Wedding Cake, Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
OMG.... They absolutely do exactly what they say in their cheesy old commercial.
"make your dreams come true" they sure made mines. My wedding coordinator Eric went
far and beyond to give me and make everything happen, the food was great and the maitre d
Thomas ensure the night went smoothly. I couldnÂ’t ask for anything more.
Wedding: 05/29/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
We had a really great wedding. Denise took care of everything from the start and we felt very much at home. After reading some of the reviews I noticed some comments of the negative nature. My review is going to be realistic. Anything with as many moving parts as a wedding much have a glitch here and there. It is the nature of the beast. But throughout the whole process Denise took care of everything and we were pleasantly surprised with both her and Tom someone making it all go off without a hitch. As f as pricing they cannot be beat. The hotels are all a ripp off also. The food at GPH was unreal and cannot be replicated. I am a very difficult person to say the least but I felt they really take their jobs serious and do everything possible to make your day go off without any major issues. And remember they are there 24/7 unlike some other places we checked out. Overall grade A.
Wedding: 10/09/2011
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
This place is amazing for the price . They are dedicated more to old school vintage but are very flexible to whatever you want. The security the day of the wedding was a little off. We did have other people from another event that day crash a few minutes but it was taken care of.
Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
This venue was a dream come true on my wedding day. In the weeks before our wedding, Diana and Mrs. H worked with us on every detail of our Middle Eastern menu until my husband and I were satisfied. The maitre d's Michael and Thomas were so accomidating and were with us every step of the way on our special night. Because of the detailed work and effort that the staff put in, our wedding flowed without a hitch. The cocktail hour was spectacular, the dinner great and the wedding cake delicious. We took pictures on the hall grounds and the gorgeous architecture shows in every clip. It was a night to remember and we couldnt have asked for more.
Wedding: 11/06/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  2.5
  • Value:  3.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Grand Prospect Hall is gorgeous!!!!! The first day I walked in... I knew that it is where I would have my wedding... I would not take no for an answer... I was too much in love with place!!!

Everything up until the wedding day was great... everyone was very helpful and and nice. On the day of the wedding though... things were kind of starting to get a little out of control... we had a few more people than we had mentioned at first and the owner was literally chasing my husband around the whole place trying to get him to pay!!! Then, we had alcohol on the table and when people finished the bottle on their table and asked for a another... they were told that we had only paid for one per table... which is completely REDICULOUS!!! and we would never do that!!! My husband got angry with the situation and asked to see the contract... when it looked at it... there was an add in which was NEVER on the contract we had at home!!! They tried to play us!!!

Then when my rabbi came late... the manager had the nerve to yell at him for it!!! I understand that it sort of messes things up... but you should never yell at a rabbi (or priest--who I'm sure she wouldn't yell at)... it's just disrespectful!!!

Because he was late... we didn't have as much time and it felt like a lot of things were rushed... we weren't even offered more time for all the money we put in.

Other than management... the service was great!!! The waiters and bus boys were amazing!!!! Especially the waitress in the bridal suit. Our matr'd was also amazing and was actually telling management to cool off and leave us alone!! :)
Wedding: 10/24/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  3.5
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
This hall is amazing and beautiful. Where else in the city can you find a place this great looking for such a good price? It really was like a fairy tale. This renovated opera house still has its great original carvings on the wall. The staff wasn't as helpful as I wish they would have been. But this is defiantly a place to check out.
Wedding: 06/03/2007
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 718-788-0777
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0
out of 5.0