Glen Echo Park Partnership
7300 MacArthur Blvd.
Glen Echo, MD 20812  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Outside vendors welcome
Maximum capacity: 800
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (27)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.9/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.2/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 4 Reviews
We LOVED this location as our venue for our wedding and reception - we got married in the bumper car pavilion. The price was very reasonable compared to many venues in the area.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We had our wedding reception here this summer, and it was wonderful! Such a unique and fun venue! The staff is wonderful, they provided a ton of support before and during the event. They have about 7 caterers to pick from and we were very happy with the list. As others have noted, there are some restrictions because of the park's status as a National Park and A Historic Landmark, but the staff communicates these restrictions clearly and they really won't get in your way. Everyone had a tremendously fun time enjoying the carousel and the beautiful ambiance of the park. Cannot say enough wonderful things about Glen Echo!
Wedding: 06/19/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
We had an absolutely wonderful ceremony and reception at Glen Echo Park. Our guests are still raving about how unique and fun the venue was, perfect for us as a couple. We had our ceremony in the Cuddle Up Pavilion and moved to the Bumper Car Pavilion for our reception. We chose a carnival theme with games and candy which was so easy and perfect given the venue. Our table names were old rides that used to be at the park :) Our guests got carousel tickets which they enjoyed. We had a daytime wedding in the summer so if we were to do it over we may have rented more fans to keep our guests cooler, but everything was fine. People were having too much fun to notice the heat!
As others have said, there are restrictions (only beer & wine, no candles, no taping to walls) but they're totally reasonable given the awesome history of the park. Emily Mah Rogers was absolutely wonderful to work with. She was quick to respond to emails/calls and very helpful with details, small and large. I wouldn't hesitate to use this venue again, we had such a blast.
Wedding: 06/19/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Glen Echo Park was the perfect place for my daughter's wedding. The cost is very reasonable compared to other venues and the park is lovely. Emily Mah, who is in charge of rentals, was so helpful and found us an available date when it appeared that they were fully booked. The Bumper Car Pavilion where the ceremony and reception were held is so festive and attractive with fairy lights strung in the rafters that very little decoration is needed. We added only flowers. We had the carousel running during part of the reception and everyone had fun riding it. The park has a good selection of cateres to choose from and the one they recommended, Matters of Taste, was excellent.
Wedding: 05/29/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I have loved Glen Echo Park since my now husband took me to my first swing dance there. We looked at other sites for our wedding, but we knew that this was the only place that we really wanted to be.

From our first meeting through the end of the reception the entire staff was wonderful to work with. Emily, the rentals manager, was so prompt in her responses and just warm and helpful. She would pose questions that I hadn't even thought of yet and didn't mind my emails that were all over the place with small details!

The venue is unique, and by choosing it you are supporting a really great resource for the community. We had our ceremony and reception in the Bumper Car Pavilion and all of our guests were delighted with the setting, the access to a working carousel and the playground for the youngest guests. The only downside for us was that the bathrooms are not attached to the venue.

If you are in the DC area you should definitely consider this for your ceremony and reception!
Wedding: 05/16/2010
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
they were one of the easiest vendors to work with- everything was seemless. they should raise their rates- people would pay much more for such a cool venue
Wedding: 10/24/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
To be fair, Glen Echo can't be too flexible - as a National Park, there are certain non-negotiable restrictions on what sorts of materials can be used. They were very upfront and honest about these restrictions from the very beginning.
Wedding: 08/28/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5
We loved working with the Glen Echo Park Partnership! It was a beautiful place to have a reception and tons of fun for our guests and ourselves. Because it's a National Park there are some rules that might be a problem for some couples (no candles, only beer & wine, etc.) but we were able to work around anything and it was totally worth it! Working with Emily Mah was fantastic! She always responded quickly and was incredibly helpful and professional.
Wedding: 08/01/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
A truly memorable location for a wedding. Emily, the rentals manager, has the patience of a saint and was supportive throughout the process. She was quick to respond to emails and helped with ideas about the space work best for us. As with any National Park facility, there are limitations on what you can do (no open flames, no nails/tape, no liquor), but all of those restrictions are worth it for a ride on the carousel in a wedding dress. Whimsical, romantic, artsy -- Glen Echo is a fabulous location for a wedding!
Wedding: 07/25/2009
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  3.0
Our wedding reception at Glen Echo Park was absolutely PERFECT!! We had our reception in the Bumper Car pavilion and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in a venue that is very unique!! The staff we worked with were all remarkable and very helpful. We couldn't have pulled it all off without them! The only drawback to GEP is that due to the fact that it is a historic landmark, there are a few strict rules and regulations that you must follow (ex. no flames or candles). BUT with a little planning and creativity, I promise you that the restrictions will not get in the way!! Our guests had a wonderful time and they will always remember our wedding because of the beautiful and unique park! How many people can say they got married in an old bumper car pavilion? Too cool!!
Wedding: 11/01/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  3.5
Glen Echo is truly a unique and special place. I am so happy to have had my wedding reception in the Bumper Car Pavilion and I think my guests would agree!! I think the unique and laidback atmosphere really helped people have a good time and enjoy the party.

The reasons for the lower score on flexability have to do with the fact that Glen Echo is a historic landmark and a National Park. This means there are certain restrictions that need to be followed (no flames, for example) and that there are only 3 caterers from which you can choose. However, they were incredibly flexible in other ways: they allowed me access to the Carousel for pictures even though it had been closed for the season and let me store all the decorations and alcohol in the basement of the Spanish Ballroom the day before the wedding so it was all there for set-up the day of the wedding. Also, the staff was great and always responded to my e-mails and questions (of which there were many).

I would definitely recommend Glen Echo for a wedding reception location to others.
Wedding: 10/12/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
 301-634-2233
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook
 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7
out of 5.0