Fifth Avenue On Location Hair & Airbrush Makeup LLC WeddingWire Black Badge Award
On Location Hair Artistry~Airbrush Makeup~Updos~Hair Extensions-Photo Matching
    220 Reviews
Parsippany , NJ  | map
Services: Body Art, Hair, Makeup
Consultations: Yes
Large groups: Yes
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (220)   Photos   Videos   FAQ   Map    
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.9/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.9/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.9/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Estefania 1 Reviews
Lara is such a doll! In addition to her beautiful hair and makeup, Lara offered a positive attitude and a smile to brighten the day. Lara caters to what hair and makeup YOU want done on the day of your event and does a flawless job. I would definitely recommend her for any event you have coming up that requires you to look fabulous.
Wedding: 01/17/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Cynthia 1 Reviews
Lara was friendly and made everyone feel at ease with meaningful conversation. She was amazingly fast at getting everyone ready, and each and everyone of the girls had a different updo hairstyle that she either replicated from a picture or created on the spot. The make-up was flawless. Lara took her time with the bride, giving her the personal attention and effortlessly creating the look the bride desired for herself. She was well equipped with everything she needed and I even got surprise hair extensions that matched my own hair color. Way to go, Lara! I love you for making my daughter's wedding the dream wedding we all looked forward to.
Wedding: 01/17/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was able to work with Lara, Kyla-Shae and Jordan on my wedding day. It was an incredibly stressful week, but somehow when they walked in with their smiles I felt at ease and knew that great professionals were there to help pull my dream bridal look together. Our hair looked amazing. They were able to re-create hair from pictures beautifully and even knew exactly how to style a few of the bridesmaids that weren't sure what they wanted to do. My makeup turned out beautifully and help up throughout the entire event (even though I'd shed many tears of joy). I am glad that I had the privilege of having them with me on my big day.
Wedding: 01/11/2014
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Katie 3 Reviews
Lara and Jordan were awesome. We stayed on Disney property and they were able to come to our hotel room to get us ready. Lara was able to give me a hair style that combined a few looks that I loved. Jordan did my makeup that lasted throughout the day and was exactly what I was looking for. Lara even redid my sister's hair after it didn't match what she wanted without any trouble. Both ladies were amazing and I can't thank them enough for everything.
Wedding: 12/30/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Wendie 2 Reviews
Wedding Wire was an incredible resource for me as my wedding was a last minute (3 weeks to plan) kind of wedding with the location in a different state than where I live. My friend found Fifth Avenue on Location Hair Artistry and Makeup for me on Wedding Wire and I called to get a price quote and availability. The receptionist was super sweet and accommodating and Laura (the owner) was AMAZING!! She was not only available but flexible when we changed our wedding plans last minute from Sunday to Saturday due to the weather. Laura was so sweet, professional, and did an outstanding job on my hair. I was more than pleased!!! THANK YOU, Laura for making my day go smoothly. Blessings!
Wedding: 12/28/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Lara was fantastic to work with! She made me look like I had the most beautiful set of hair...where in reality I'm always very self conscious about my thin hair. I truly believe that my wedding pictures are prettier because of the hairstyle she created. All my bridesmaids loved being pampered and having their hair and/or makeup done. Jordan was great too! She did a fabulous job on our make up and it made such a difference with the "close up" pictures. I would highly recommend Fifth Avenue on Location!
Wedding: 12/21/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 4 Reviews
Patricia was amazing!
There was a snow storm on my wedding day and she found a way to make it to my hotel to ensure that my makeup was done. She did a beautiful job and I am so grateful.

Thanks Patricia!
Wedding: 12/14/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5
Chelsea did my hair and makeup. She was super sweet and did exactly what I asked her. Thinking of booking again for my Rehearsal Dinner. Great service!!
Wedding: 12/14/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jenette 1 Reviews
Lara did an absolute fantastic job on my hair and makeup! Her services were absolutely perfect! I would highly recommend using them for any event!
Wedding: 12/13/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Let me say that her Lara's designs exceeded my expectations...and I am a very detailed and discerning person. I definitely would recommend her hair designs.

She was prompt, professional, and very sociable (in person). The time passed quickly and she acted like we had known each other for 20 years. All good.

The makeup was done by her assistant, Jordan. I give her good ratings as well. Prompt, professional, and personable.

I have shoulder length hair and didn’t think I needed extensions. I am so glad she talked me into them as they really made my hair SPECTACULAR.

While the quality of work was excellent, the business side of things was strained. I was planning a wedding from 3,000 miles away (LA) and did not get a chance to meet face-to-face ahead of the date. emails and contract were awkward. she was not easy to reach via phone directly to talk misunderstandings/upsets out. I wish my experience before the wedding was as welcoming as the day of my services.

Pic: Hair, updo http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d79/ynot29cool/Wedding%202013/hair%20and%20makeup/120413LindaShawnPreceremony033.jpg

Pic: Makeup http://i33.photobucket.com/albums/d79/ynot29cool/Wedding%202013/hair%20and%20makeup/120413LindaShawnPreceremony047color.jpg

Author of the book 'Hitched...in 90 Days or Less. Every Girl's Ultimate Guide to Dating'
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KDY5Z1M/?tag=dt4m-20
for your single friends.

Wedding: 12/04/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Beth 1 Reviews
Chelsea was wonderful. Great at what she does, patient, kind, and helpful.
Wedding: 11/24/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  1.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 1 Reviews
i spent 450 dollars for my hair and make-up and it's sad to day IT WAS NOT WORTH THE MONEY. I printed out a picture for them to replicate and i did not get what i asked for… I ended up looking like maleficent from sleeping beauty instead of a bride with victory rolls… i had to tell her to fix it at least three times becuase it was just way off and it never got fixed properly and caused me to be 40 minutes late to my own wedding and had no choice but to leave it like it was. i was very embarrased because i just looked awful with that maleficent hair-do, not to mention the make up... the eyes looked good but she ways way off on my skin tone color and i didn't get to see it until she was finished I paid $150 dollars for make-up and all I asked was for it to be done right, after I complained she noticed it and no other choice but to airbrush my neck as well so it wouldn't be obvious the mistake she made… just saying I could have done a better job myself and would have saved 150 dollars. I didn't want to take pictures after the whole mess they did so therefor I went in my room and fixed my own make up after the wedding then had my mother in law fix my hair as much as possible so that I could look like a bride not an evil villain…. I WOULD NOT Recommend them!!! I didn't get what I paid for I literally waisted my money and not to mention she put hair extensions with bobby pins for 100$ dollars.. REALLY??? bobby pins???? it lasted me that night and that night only… wasted money!
Fifth Avenue On Location Hair & Airbrush Makeup LLC WeddingWire Black Badge Award responded with the following comments:
The the stylist stayed to take complimentary photos of the bride and was happy & smiling in every photo despite the rainy wedding day. The bride thanked the stylist for the photo matching apologizing for the quality of the chosen photo was poor. The day spent with the entire family was so enjoyable.The photos are available to share, we are sorry that we were an afterthought. The travel was a total of 6 hours for the stylist team and didn't charge & our work was right on point. The extensions were not placed chemically after the consultation when the bride shared her fears of past permanent hair extensions in an outside salon being a bad experience. We are the experts in retro hair & makeup matching hair & makeup tones to aline in the 40's era. We devoted 2 1/2 hours of complimentary time for touchups and left with thank yous, smiles & hugs.
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Beauty & Health
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Karen 1 Reviews
These ladies made me feel like a celebrity on my wedding day. They paid close attention to detail to personalize my look exactly as I wanted. They surpassed my expectations! I strongly recommend fifth avenue to anyone who wants the star treatment on their special day. It was a relaxing and wonderful experience!
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Liz 1 Reviews
An absolute pleasure to with Mandy and Chelsea. They are true professionals an their work is brilliant. They work their magic to make you look and feel like a princess. I look forward to these ladies being part of another special day for our family in the future.
-Liz Kapner
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Amanda 7 Reviews
My wedding hair and makeup turned out amazing!! I highly recommend Fifth Avenue. Lara was so nice and easy to work with. My extensions looked beautiful!!
Wedding: 11/08/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0

Cindy 7 Reviews
I contacted Fifth and inquired if they could do makeup with Halloween flair such as spider webs/gothic colors. They replied yes, they specialized in TV/film makeup as an art and could accommodate my request for $150. They immediately required $100 Paypal deposit in order to book my appointment. After receiving my deposit, they failed to send a contract and were slow to respond to emails I sent with questions.
I sent them images of makeup ideas with different complexity levels, some very simple. I made it very clear that the images were for ideas only, that I would be happy with just spider webs. After several weeks (and still no contract) they responded back that in order to match my images, the cost would be $500.
I asked what they had in mind when they quoted me $150. The reply was that they only work by picture and I would need to send a picture of what I wanted. Again I attached images of the simpler makeup styles. The reply back was that I needed to call them to clear things up.
During the phone call Lara told me that it was impossible for them to achieve any of the looks I had sent. She said what I was asking for was outside of what they normally do and she couldn’t find a specialist to help with this for less than $500.
When I asked why she couldn’t do spider webs she replied that this could not be achieved with the makeup that they normally used and they could not meet my expectations.
Later that night, I received an email stating that they could achieve the simpler makeup styles in the images I had sent. This was very confusing. Regardless, after what I was told on the phone I could not trust this vendor to do my makeup on such an important day. I replied that I would just like my deposit back since they misrepresented the services they could provide in the first place. Lara refused, stating that the $100 was just to book the appointment and was non-refundable.
Wedding: 11/03/2013
Services Used: Beauty & Health
 888-519-1118
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9
out of 5.0