Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa
    18 Reviews
9700 North Torrey Pines Road
La Jolla, CA 92037  | map
Services: Bridal Shower, Ceremony, Engagement Party, Reception
Catering: Offered in-house
Maximum capacity: 400
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (18)   Photos   FAQ   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.8/5.0)
Value:
 (4.4/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.6/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Imagine this: You're driving up a gorgeous green drive way to the valet, you take a deep breath and feeling of a calmness and relaxation come over you. That's what it is like to come to Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa.

After physically visiting 49 venues - yes, I typed that correctly 49 venues - Estancia was going to be my LAST tour, no matter what it was like, I was going to choose between the 50 venues I went to.

When my mother and I drove up the very first time, it was amazing. We were greeted by courteous Valet, lush green landscape, and a beautiful fountain. Within 10 minutes of being on the property my mother and I looked at each other and said this was it - deposit down, contract signed, DONE!

Once our contract was signed, I was introduced to the amazing, talented, and professional Brenna. Brenna helped us every step of the way with whatever crazy, insane, questions/ requests I had. Brenna of course was introduced as the Catering Manager, but by the end of my wedding, Brenna truly became my confidant, supporter, and friend. There were many emails I send to Brenna in a tizzy over the drama that was going on, she was able to support me and give me some compromising solutions to make things a little easier! Brenna really is the heart and soul of Estancia and the reason my wedding went off smoothly!
Fast Forward to the Tasting:
#1- The food here for a wedding is FANTASTIC! I've been to plenty of weddings and know that it's really difficult to mass produce food for lots of people at one time. Normally something doesn't taste the same as it did in the tasting. Well, I'll tell you PEOPLE ARE STILL TALKING ABOUT THE FOOD - 4 MONTHS LATER! The beef short rib and salmon are delicious and the lamb pops we had as appetizers were the crowd favorite! (I'm told there was a line at the kitchen door waiting for them to come out!).
The grounds speak for themselves - it's just amazing and the absolutely perfect place to have a weekend wedding.
Wedding: 08/31/2014
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We received nothing but the best of everything from the Estancia. Brenna, the valet guys, the front desk, service staff during lunch, Felipe at Mustang & Burros, everyone we met at the hotel was super professional and friendly. We had our ceremony and lunch on the Olive Lawn, which affords an intimate, private setting surrounded by the beautiful plantings and buildings. This place has a total "Santa Barbara/Montecito" ambiance tucked away across from UCSD. Like another reviewer, Ray, Sean, and the other guys on the valet team work their butts off and set the great tone for everything else at the Estancia! J&E
Wedding: 10/20/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
So beautiful! So accommodating! Beautiful lush greenery with a spanish feel. Very tranquil and pleasant. Brenna was amazing. She was very responsive and patient and nothing but joy to work with the whole time. Perfect setting for a dream day.
Wedding: 08/31/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Adrianna 8 Reviews
We had a lovely, serene wedding at Estancia and will always be grateful for the charming setting and terrific service.

We chose the venue based on the beautiful landscaping and intimate feel. We were thrilled to work with Adrienne Almario, who managed the event perfectly and is a tremendous resource for event styling and logistics. Adrienne is extremely professional, responsive, and thoughtful, and she answered our many questions patiently and thoroughly. She has an encyclopedic knowledge of event coordination and catering and addressed all the details of our wedding perfectly. Adrienne is a lovely person and an absolute pleasure to work with.

Estancia created a wonderful event and made our wedding party and guests feel at home. We used three locations for our 40-person wedding: the Olive Lawn for the ceremony, the Caretakers Lawn for the cocktail reception, and the Hacienda Lawn for dinner. The catering staff transitioned from one location to another seamlessly, and they were all gracious, conscientious, and attentive. Miguel led the catering team and made the team’s hard work look effortless. The entire catering team was terrific. We are especially fond of Lydia, who served us at our tasting and at our wedding. She was a friendly, warm, and familiar face during our event.

The food was delicious and well prepared, and the bartenders did a terrific job creating a signature cocktail for us. We have eaten dinner twice at Estancia’s Mustang & Burros and breakfast once at Estancia’s Adobe El Restaurante, and we had great meals all three times.

We stayed at Estancia on our wedding night. The room was lovely and well appointed.

We want to give a special shout-out to the valet team, who are some of the friendliest and most personable guys around!
Wedding: 03/17/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Estancia is a wonderful place to get married. I really enjoyed the whole experience, and everyone (from the valet to the waiters, etc) really made you feel like you owned the place on the day of your wedding. The setting was amazing, and the whole wedding was absolutely gorgeous.
Wedding: 09/15/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My daughter was married at the beautiful Estancia Hotel in May. The wonderful Adrienne Almario was our event manager. Everything was perfect: the setting was gorgeous; the food delicious; the service impeccable. The staff, guided by Adrienne, were gracious, friendly, and patient. Nothing was left to chance, every detail was addressed. Adrienne always made me feel like my daughter's wedding was her top priority. Thank you to the staff at the Estancia for making my daughter's wedding magical. Pam S.
Wedding: 05/12/2012
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Gorgeous venue with a professional staff. A hidden gem
Wedding: 04/08/2011
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Ceremony & Reception Venue
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Working with Erica Davis at Estancia was an absolute joy. She and all the Estancia staff are extremely professional and go out of their way to make sure your needs are met. They worked with us till the end, making it so easy for us to make last minute changes. My wedding at Estancia was an absolute dream and it went so smoothly! I recommend this place to anyone and everyone.
Wedding: 02/22/2009
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We loved Estancia La Jolla Hotel & Spa. Our wedding was truly magical because of this amazing venue. My husband and I planned a destination wedding to San Diego, CA and choose Estancia on the recommendation of our wedding planner, Melissa Barrad. We couldn't have picked a more perfect venue. Our family and friends are still talking about our wedding and Estancia. The grounds were spectacular. We had our ceremony on the Olive Lawn and the reception in the Adobe Restaurant.
The staff was professional and so helpful. We had a brunch the day following our wedding on the same lawn.

A friend of mine also treated me to a massage at their spa. It was amazing! I highly recommend taking advantage of the spa while you are there.

We will return to Estancia in the years to come. It is truly a magical place.
Wedding: 11/06/2010
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Estancia has THE BEST service! I felt like a total princess the day of my wedding. They pay attention to even the smallest detail.
Wedding: 08/08/2008
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 3 Reviews
The Estancia is just as gorgeous as it looks in the photos. We got married on the Olive Lawn and it was perfect for the size and ambiance of our wedding. I also appreciated that the onsite coordinator placed all of my wedding party in the same wing of the hotel. We felt like we had the place to ourselves even though there were plenty of other hotel guests that weekend. I got a pre-wedding massage at the hotel's spa and it was literally the best massage I've ever had. I took off one star for quality of service because the food was great during the tasting, but not as good on the actual wedding day. That being said, I have no regrets and I highly recommend the hotel.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I loved getting married at Estancia! Even though my wedding weekend was packed with other weddings, we never got the feeling that we were just one more wedding. The service was attentive and caring, and the spaces are gorgeous! Estancia was very flexible with our requests and in the end, I had the perfect day! Brenna was especially great and so helpful throughout the planning. We look forward to celebrating anniversaries at this beautiful venue!
Wedding: 10/12/2013
Services Used: Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Billy 2 Reviews
Service is what sets Estancia apart from others. And by service, its not just the staff working the wedding (although Brenna Myers was absolutely outstanding!!), but everyone at the entire hotel. The valet are very attentive and always offer up a bottle of water. The front desk reception workers are uber friendly. Even the grounds crew and maid service would greet you with a smile.

As for our wedding, we had quite a production. 170 guests with ceremony onsite out on the main lawn, and reception in the large ballroom. We chose the venue after looking at 8 other San Diego/La Jolla locations. It stood out for its beauty and service. The ceremony felt like we were in some magical garden. The ballroom was beautifully decorated. And the staff as mentioned above went above and beyond. All of our guests were thoroughly impressed and entertained. They also loved the hotel and said just walking through the doors brought about a sense of calmness and relaxation.

My only slight knock is on value. We knew the place was going to be on the pricey side and that was fine. It was well worth it. I also know that there is an annoying wedding surcharge with every site/vendor. It got to the point where I thought of not telling vendors it was for a wedding because it felt like everyone added 10-20% to their normal rates. Its just that there were some charges that I thought should have been included with our package rather than added as an extra fee. Some examples include uplighting for the ballroom ($600+), copper chargers for each seat ($3.00 per setting), kids meals (chicken fingers and fries) that cost $45 when you include the tax and 22% service. Fortunately I was able to get them to include the cost of kids beverages instead of having to pay an additional $30 per child for those!

All that said, Estancia was worth the price and the value is good and I would definitely recommend as a great venue. Thanks for making the entire weekend so special!
Wedding: 08/24/2013
Services Used: Lighting & Decor, Event Rentals & Photobooths, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Miranda 8 Reviews
The staff was so wonderful! We felt like a king and queen all weekend. Everyone was very helpful. It really is such a beautiful location too. We got so many compliments from our guests. They absolutely loved the venue. We had our ceremony/cocktails in the courtyard and reception in the smaller ballroom. It couldn't have been more perfect :) I love that they provide the garden suite to get ready in. And all the food was so good! Very gourmet and they accommodated our all vegetarian preference. The only downside is that it is fairly pricey (at least for us using the courtyard for only 100people) but it really is worth every penny.
Wedding: 05/16/2009
Services Used: Catering, Favors & Gifts, Ceremony & Reception Venue
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Beautiful! Beautiful Property!
They have a great spa so you can treat the girls and yourself to manis/pedis the day before and so Bride & Groom can get a massage the morning of the wedding. The food is amazing and so is the attentive staff! I also had out-of-town guests stay here. Best place to stay and have your ceremony and reception. Several outdoor options for your ceremony and/or reception. Meticulous landscaping. Nice small setting, but I believe they can accomodate up to 200-250 for the ceremony & reception. WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!
Wedding: 09/10/2005
Services Used: Catering, Ceremony & Reception Venue, Unique Services (Other)
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  3.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Estancia La Jolla was a dream wedding venue come true for me. It is rather expensive which is why I gave three stars for value and we had to have a day time wedding in order to be able to afford it, but in the end, it was worth every penny. Our honeymoon suite was beautiful! Many of our guests said the venue was beautiful. We were married on the Olive lawn, and it was just perfect.
Wedding: 03/31/2012
Services Used: Beauty & Health, Ceremony & Reception Venue
 855-328-9660
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors Find Me on Facebook Follow Me on Pinterest
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0