Encounters
Premier Planning, Consulting & Coordination
    35 Reviews
Columbia, MD 21045  | map
Services: Full Planning, Partial Planning
Weddings: Civil, Destination, Double Weddings, Eco-Friendly /...
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (35)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Map    
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (5.0/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (5.0/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (5.0/5.0)
Value:
 (5.0/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (5.0/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 2 Reviews
My husband and I would highly recommend Peyton and Karin for any wedding planning services! They were so knowledgable on every aspect of the process and have a great repertoire with many different vendors. We honestly could not have pulled off our big fat crazy indian wedding without their help, especially planning from out of state (married on the eastern shore, live in NYC).

We had countless vendors that were so impressed (or relieved they were helping out with our plans) with Peyton and Karin and how well versed they are in the business.

Peyton / Karin were there every step of the way, from the very beginning to the end - they were instrumental on the wedding day dealing with all of the vendors (and our demanding family), so we could enjoy our wedding day!
Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Steve 8 Reviews
We recommend Encounters enthusiastically and unequivocally. We went with Karin and Peyton after a work colleague raved about them. They are calming and patient, very parental and caring, and complement each other and work wonderfully as a team. With both our parents up in NY and us in Baltimore, it felt like we had a constant ectopic source of support for our wedding. Whenever something came up, they had seen it before. Nothing phased them.

Karin and Peyton have decades of industry experience between the two of them and have run a successful joint event planning company for many years now. They've gained experience with hundreds of vendors in the Baltimore/DC/Annapolis area and every time it came time to choose a new vendor, they tailored a perfect, short list that took into account our style and budget. As the planning went on, they knew us enough to zero in on the one or two vendors per category that they thought we'd love, which we did. I can't say enough good things about all the vendors they helped assemble for us. They made for us a superstar team, with everyone on the team dedicated to making our wedding awesome.

In the end we had a beautiful waterfront wedding on the Eastern Shore with a wonderful ceremony, reception, photography, flowers, and a wonderful weekend planned in Annapolis complete with rehearsal dinner and Sunday brunch. Once again, they were wonderful in helping to plan and actually execute the weekend, especially the day of. They really took care of us behind the scenes and made sure we were fed and calm and enjoying ourselves! The wedding and whole weekend went beautifully and it is all thanks to Karin and Peyton.
Wedding: 05/11/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We highly recommend using Encounters for any event planning, they did an outstanding job for my wife and I wedding. They use their expertise to plan every detail to our liking and desire. I would recommend them to anyone and would use their services again for any future events I may have.
Wedding: 05/04/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Tiffin 5 Reviews
When my now husband and I began to plan for our wedding, we realized that the task was going to be too large to do on our own with both of us working full time jobs and me going to grad school. We heard about Encounters and sent an email for a meeting. Right away Karin and Peyton responded and were ready to meet and begin to plan. They continued that responsiveness throughout the 6 months we had together of planning. They always listended to what we wanted and gave suggestions based on our vision. They were more than happy to work with our budget (which wasn't a huge one). Based on our personalities, our budget, and our vision; Encounters created a wedding day that (one month later) I am still glowing over. The Encounters team is amazing and I will spread positive words about them to all planning for their big day!!
Wedding: 01/26/2013
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Jackie 1 Reviews
It was a pleasure to work with Karin and Peyton Craig, and I would definitely recommend them to anyone planning a wedding or other event. They always responded quickly to telephone calls and e-mails, recommended excellent vendors and provided helpful advice and input regarding everything from the dinner menu to the typeface on the wedding invitations.

They also did an excellent job on the day of the wedding, keeping everything organized at the church for the ceremony and making sure the reception went smoothly. The Craigs are very professional, and selecting them as our planning team was one of the best decisions that we made in preparing for the wedding.
Wedding: 10/21/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Lindsay 1 Reviews
Karin and Peyton are absolutely wonderful to work with. They each have their own specialty areas troughout the planning but work together as the perfect team. They think of all the little, but important details that come up that you never even think of. Wedding planning can get really stressful! They lead you to the right people to work with based on their experience in the business that will get the job done right. The most important thing to me was that they were never pushy and listened to what I liked with open minds and helped figure out a way to make it work for us. They will do as little or as much as you need them to do. When my wedding day came and they showed me around the ballroom before the guests entered I was in awe of how beautiful and perfect everything was. When all the fine details and what seemed like the little stuff came together it was just stunning. I could never have done it without them! All we had to do on the wedding day was try to relax and enjoy ourselves, they took care of everything, and I mean everything else. Peyton even got my husband and I a drink when we were taking photographs during the cocktail hour. I have had so many compliments from guests that I don't even know how to respond anymore. Encounters helped me create the wedding of my dreams, it was a fairytale come true that never would have happened without them!
Wedding: 09/29/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Peyton and Karin were absolutely fantastic! We could not have done it without them. Our only regret is not having them with us from the day when we got engaged! They were prompt to answer all our questions, to give us fine recommendations, and they were spectacular during the day of the wedding making it enjoyable for us and taking all the worry away on our special day. The whole thing went so smoothly! We were really really happy with them! They also worked our friend's wedding and they were great as well, so I can say that by having them on my own wedding and watching them in action at another, I have no doubt that they would excel and would provide an outstanding service again and again and again!
Wedding: 09/02/2012
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karin and Peyton were there whenever we needed them. They provided quality resources and kept us moving to the next decision. Planning a wedding is an enormous undertaking but having the support of Encounters made the whole experience wonderful. The day was perfect, the memories are wonderful.
Wedding: 10/01/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karin and Peyton were awesome! We couldn't believe how smooth the wedding day was, all of the details were taken care of and we just had an amazing time. The vendors that they helped us choose were all 10's. If we ever get married again (joke!), we would definitely go with Encounters.
Wedding: 08/21/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karin and Peyton are an outstanding team and hiring them was the best thing we did for our wedding. Although we planned from a distance, everything went very smoothly. All the vendors they recommended were exceptional. Karin and Peyton worked very hard on the wedding day and it was noticed by all. We could not have asked for better planners. We felt very comfortable with them. The service they provided was personable, professional, courteous and accommodating. I would highly recommend them to anyone.
Wedding: 07/02/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I am not exaggerating when I say hiring Karin and Peyton was the best decision we made when it came to our wedding. My husband and I both work full time so it was extremely important for us to find someone who was helpful, responsive, flexible & organized since we were planning 170 person wedding over an entire wedding weekend. Karin and Peyton went above and beyond this and made our wedding the most memorable experience. If there were any issues that arose during the wedding, we never noticed because everything was perfect. It's been a year and half since our wedding and people still come up to my husband and I and say our wedding was the best wedding they've ever been too. I have to attribute this Karin and Peyton's expertise and service. If you are looking for a wedding or event planner you should definitely hire Encounters as your coordinators. There is no one more I trust!!! Thank you Karin & Peyton!!!
Wedding: 05/21/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
BRAVO!!! I absolutely loved working with Encounters. They are true professionals with years of experience. They attended to every detail, and have an extensive network of already existing vendor relationships. They were thorough, friendly, and just a joy to work with.

On the day of my wedding, they were there right there with me thinking about all of the things I didn't want to be thinking about so I could just enjoy the day. They made sure that every detail was accounted for. I was so blessed by having them there. I'd highly recommend them!
Wedding: 01/08/2011
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Encounters was the most important vendor that we selected to plan our wedding and they had the biggest impact overall on our amazing wedding day! From the beginning to the overwhelming vendor selection of band, caterer, officiant, florist, even seamstress for the bridal gown, they were there with top notch recommendations and we were so pleased with all their recommendations. Each vendor was outstanding and with Encounters referrals we were able to secure amazing vendors with much welcome discounts. Encounters developed a timeline for our wedding planning leading up to the big day, and event were there for any issues such as the mis-engraving on the wedding band, they had a jeweler that could help out to fix it last minute! They ensured the wedding day went so smoothly and most importantly they did a beautiful job of making sure always that the Bride and Groom had a very special day, and always put them first and ensured they were free to enjoy each and every moment. I can't recommend them enough to any future brides!
Wedding: 10/23/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I had a really bad experience w/ my first wedding planner. I am not a demanding person, but my venue was a blank slate and required complete planning and organization by someone other than myself. We hired Encounters on the fly, 2 weeks before my wedding. I have to mention it was in Pennsylvania and they are in Maryland. They were my life savers. They handled everything w/ patience and graciousness. Nothing was overlooked and the wedding went off without a hitch. These 2 professionals are worth their weight in gold!!!! If you need organization, professionalism and kindness Encounters is the place. I cannot say enough good things about them.
Wedding: 10/10/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Peyton and Karin are a topnotch wedding planning team whose services were absolutely indispensible. With incredible patience and forbearance they managed to have all tasks completed down to the minutist detail well within the appropriate timeframe. Their knowledge-pool of advice was endless, and provided a tremendous amount of comfort to all of us. Ours was a unique and rather complicated wedding but the Craigs took it all in stride. The end result was a wedding to be remembered by all for a very long time to come!
Wedding: 10/09/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Karin and Peyton were fantastic! They helped us plan a beautiful wedding in Annapolis in 5mos time. We made it even more difficult for them as we and all of our guests are from out of town. I was extremely busy with work, but they worked around our schedule. With one week's lead time and some discussion on my "vision" of the wedding, they arranged a power packed day for my mom and I to meet with our major vendors--we picked our reception site, flowers, photographer in one day.
They were great the weekend of the wedding as well, doing small errands for us to give us more time with our friends and family.
Our wedding ended up being 175 people and it was amazing. People danced all night and had a great time. They are still talking about it.
Although the initial price for the full wedding planning service seemed steep, I ended up feeling like it was a bargain. The Craigs are repeat business that we brides (hopefully) are not. They were able to barter prices that more than covered their cost. The headache and time they saved us during the engagement and the wedding weekend further added to their value.
Wedding: 07/24/2010
Services Used: Wedding Planning
 443-259-0982
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0
out of 5.0