Down South Delights,LLC
1321 Murfeesboro Pike STE 655
Nashville, TN 37217  | map
Catering services: Buffet, Cocktail Reception, Family Style, French...
Bar services: Limited Bar
Maximum capacity: 1000
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (64)   Photos   Deals   FAQ   Blog   Map    
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.6/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.5/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.6/5.0)
Value:
 (4.7/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.8/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0

Private User 4 Reviews
They were awesome! I didn't have one issue with them. Their servers were so much fun at my reception. There was one guy who was so funny everyone wanted to take their pictures with him.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
There are no words to express how wonderful Rita's staff was to us and our guests. We had over 500 in attendance ... All I can say is that everyone loved the food and the beverages ... especially the fruit tea. It was important that the fruit tea be a hit because it was my deceased mother's signature beverage. She made fruit tea before fruit tea was a popular drink and everyone loved it ... People were happily standing in line for the refill of the tea and the food.

Also, the extra spent on the wedding night basket and cake cutting service was well worth it!
Wedding: 06/23/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Rita at Down South Delights was a pleasure to work with. She offered a lot of different catering packages for us to chose from within our budget. When compared with many other caterers in Nashville, she offered us the most food for our money. We scheduled a taste test where we discovered that the food was delicious which was surprising since the price per person was low compared to other caterers. Everything flowed smoothly on our wedding day with the food and I am so happy that we found Down South Delights!
Wedding: 06/02/2012
Services Used: Catering
0.0 out of 5.0
0.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  0.0
  • Responsiveness:  0.0
  • Professionalism:  0.0
  • Value:  0.0
  • Flexibility:  0.0
I HAD TO FIND ANOTHER CATERER A WEEK BEFORE MY WEDDING! STAY FAR, FAR AWAY! UNPROFESSIONAL! ZERO CUSTOMER SERVICE! THEY HAVE EVERY EXCUSE IN THE BOOK FOR WHY THEY ARE RIGHT AND EVERYONE ELSE IS WRONG! I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!
Down South Delights,LLC responded with the following comments:
Meghan had to find another caterer due to the fact that she did not pay for us to cater her reception as stated on her signed contract. We contacted her planner to offer an extension so that she could submit late payment even though her invoice was sent a month prior to her reception. They mailed us a post-dated check that was not valid and could not be cashed until after her reception.

We do not provide a product without payment and this was
all agreed upon when they executed their contract several months prior.

Regarding the customer service: Every email, text, and phone call that her planner sent was responded too each time during the process. Down South Delights also created a custom tasting for this couple and they attended several of our events where they sampled our food several times.

As I understand emotion takes precedence over reality when writing these reviews it is important to note that they did not pay or follow the contract which they signed. They cancelled their catering with Down South Delights when they not only missed their payment deadline, but went a step further to send a check which could not be redeemed.
Wedding: 05/12/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  4.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Down South Delights catered my wedding reception. Rita was easy to communicate with and returned emails quickly and was polite. Their pricing is pretty good considering all that is included, from what I have found, although the upgrade to real dishes as opposed to plastic dishes is a little overboard. The food is very good for the price and people at our wedding said they enjoyed it.

The only complaints I have is that the staff looked unkempt and slightly unprofessional (faded jeans and very untidy hair on one of the staff members - I've worked in the food business many years and this typically is a very important detail in presentation of food) and that the food was not the same at the wedding as it was the day of the tasting. At our tasting we decided on their lemon herb chicken and it tasted and looked very much like typical lemon pepper type chicken dishes. However, on the wedding night the chicken seemed to be just herb chicken. I had friends who attended the tasting with us and they agreed it was completely different. The chicken at the wedding was still good, although not as flavorful. But the problem to me is that planning a wedding is hard enough and you put your trust and money into a company with expectations that they will provide what you contract them to do. The chicken at the tasting should have been the same as it was the night of the reception, otherwise what is the point of a tasting?
Wedding: 05/12/2012
Services Used: Catering
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My wife and I felt catering was a major priority for our daughter’s wedding. We interviewed and researched quite a few providers in the Nashville area. Rita Rowland at Down South Delights won our business immediately after our tasting appointment. She had already impressed us in advance, but the tasting sealed the deal.

We chose a traditional menu with passed hors d’oeuvres (artisan pizza, ham biscuits, assorted stuffed mushroom caps, and shrimp shooters), a buffet with Italian Chicken, southern style vegetables, salad, bread, a Tenderloin carving station, and the obligatory mashed potato bar. Everything was outstanding. If you want the more contemporary offerings (pasta bar, taco bar, mac’n’cheese, meat on a stick, etc) she can do that as well.

Her set up and serving staff were great. We even used her licensed bartenders as our venue allowed us to provide our own alcohol. We had a major snafu with a third party vendor (only 5 of 30 cases of beer were delivered). Rita took it upon herself to make two trips to Kroger’s to buy the 25 cases of beer that were missing in action (she could only carry so much in one trip) ! She even used her personal credit card and invoiced us afterwards. I don’t know of many vendors who would voluntarily step up to satisfy a traumatic development that was not of her doing.

Countless people commented afterwards that the food was not only delicious but the presentation was beautiful. The value we received for our investment was outstanding. I don’t think you could go wrong by engaging Down South Delights for your event…be it large or small.

R Bruni, Birmingham AL
Wedding: 03/31/2012
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Down South Delights lives up to its name. Rita has the necessary Southern charm and sweetness to do so. Upon meeting with her for our tasting, we were sold. The food and drink was amazing. We bragged to our guests months prior to the wedding about how good it was. And she didn't let us down one bit. The food was so amazing that our guests made multiple trips as if it were Thanksgiving Day. We had 30 people not show up and STILL barely had food left over!

Great food aside, Rita went one step further. Her sister created a custom peacock feather display for the table that quickly became the topic of conversation among the guests.

Rita should be the most sought after caterer in Middle Tennessee and Southern Kentucky.
Wedding: 11/11/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Down South Delights catering has excellent food! Rita is able to whip up food that is very good, it was better then your average wedding meal. The wait staff was very pleasant to work with. My only concern was that the rolls were a little cold, but that is not a reflection of Down South Delights. I think any bride would be very happy with the quality of food and service if choosing this company.
Wedding: 11/05/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
We are truly thankful to you and your incredible staff! The servers took care of helping the rental company(who were late) setup so that our ceremony could start on time. We had to move the entire wedding inside and your crew made sure that it properly transitioned , thanks so so much. And what a great wedding we had! I liked the fact that they offer a complete package that included everything I needed for my wedding. The package was the only quote I got that was not confusing to me as there was no hidden fees or costs that other companies quoted us on. The food tasted just as yummy as I remembered it 8 months earlier when it was presented to my family and I during the food tasting for our entire wedding party and we had 350 guests. Several of my wife's sorority sisters have used them and so I've got to see their work at other receptions. All of my friends raved over how much they helped so I knew that I wanted to use them if possible. We had to pay an extra fee to our location as they do in house catering and it was so WORTH IT!!!!
Wedding: 10/08/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The bar setup, the tables, lines, from first to last detail, they really know how to execute a nice wedding. If you do a tasting, you will know that the food is amazing with no competition. Working with Todd and Rita we figured out what to hold back on, and see what our budget could offer. My husband and I hired a wedding planner to help take some of the stress off us so we could enjoy our special time, but you were the main vendor behind the success of our reception. I counted on Rita and team more than anyone else for advice, non biased answers, and sincere guidance with our plans. My event manager Belinda was so calm and professional that she even helped me get over my panic, bridezilla moments. it was just a really special time in our lives and greatful to have a group like this to help me so much.
Wedding: 09/24/2011
Services Used: Catering
4.0 out of 5.0
4.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  2.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Down South Delights catered my August wedding. The food is good and you get alot. My only complaints are that the setup did not look like what was in the pictures that were shown to me. The bartender opened all the bottles of wine when he was told to only open what was needed and we had to give away 6 large bottles of wine and 2 bottles of champagne.
Wedding: 08/27/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Down South Delight is an amazing catering company. Not only do they offer awesome food for a GREAT price but they also deliver GREAT service for that same price. All the employees at our wedding were very nice and very helpful. They went above and beyond the call of duty to help us prepare the day of the wedding. I cannot thank them enough for all that they did to help us. You cannot go wrong with Down South Delight!!!!
Wedding: 08/20/2011
Services Used: Catering
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.5
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Down South Delights catered my wedding reception and all the food was great. They were very easy to work with and respond very quickly with any questions you may have. They value for the amount of food you get is excellent and better than anyone else I looked at. They came in did their job and worked well with my coordinators. The only 2 problems we had were that instead of cutting the cake when people wanted a peice, the lady cut the whole cake and then when the pieces weren't eaten she threw them away. We would have liked to take home the uneaten cake since it cost $7 a slice. Also I heard from guests that one of the bartenders wasn't very friendly and she thew away all the tops to our liquor bottles and we couldnt take home the half full bottles that didn't have tops. That wasted more of my money, but other than that everything was great. I am very glad that I chose them as my caterer and would recommend them to anyone!
Wedding: 07/16/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I was originally referred to Down South Delights through a friend who said she had the time of her life at her sisters wedding that they had catered. Everyone was asking who provided the amazing food and especially the mouth watering filet Mignon which seemed to be the favorite of the night. Not only was the staff professional and courteous, but their food once again is top of the line. Outstanding company and people in my experience. They catered wedding of my dreams I didn't think it was possible, but they did it. I would recommend them to anyone they have great service, excellent food and best prices in town
Wedding: 06/18/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Many comments on how delicious the food was. The buffet tables looked great. We were very pleased with the meal and service.
Wedding: 06/11/2011
Services Used: Catering
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I can't tell enough people about Down South Delights. This company gives you so much for your value. They will work with you to create just the menu that YOU want. You think you are eating at a fine dining restaurant, the food is that delicious. Rita and her staff are so easy to work with and so professional while serving. I would love to have them prepare food for ANY event that I am attending. My daughter and son-in-law had exactly what they asked for at their wedding, it was perfect. Thank you DSD!
Wedding: 06/04/2011
Services Used: Catering
 615-513-9147
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
You've chosen the maximum (5) items in this category. Compare your items or remove and replace with another.
Compare Now
0 Vendors Selected. Select up to 5 vendors to compare in one of the following categories: Venues, Bands, Catering, Photography or Videographers.
COMPARE
0
Write a Review Save to My Vendors
 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6
out of 5.0