Dori Anne Veils
4270 Seven Hills Road
Castro Valley, CA 94546  | map
Services: Bride, Bridesmaids, Flower Girls, Mother of the...
Accessories: Garters, Hair Accessories, Jewelry, Undergarments...
 
 
 
  Profile   Reviews (21)   FAQ   Map    
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
 (4.8/5.0)
Responsiveness:
 (4.6/5.0)
Professionalism:
 (4.7/5.0)
Value:
 (4.9/5.0)
Flexibility:
 (4.7/5.0)
 
Sort By:
 
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
The ladies at Dori Anne are a godsend! I was originally supposed to be married in December of last year. I walked in without an appointment just to see what they had to offer. I had been to another boutique and left feeling awful, so I didn't expect much, to be honest. Wow was I wrong! The boutique is beautiful. I was shown a gorgeous gown, from the clearance rack no less! Within ten minutes I was standing on the platform with my hair up, earrings and veil on. I was astounded. These ladies are less interested in making a profit than they are in making the bride's dreams come true. I am so grateful to the incredible ladies at Dori Anne Veils. I'll be calling them soon to schedule alterations-can't wait! To my fellow future brides, skip the expensive chains get on over to this wonderful boutique. You will not regret it!
Wedding: 04/18/2015
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
My mom and I walked into Dori Anne Veils without an appointment and despite being busy with another bride Debra greeted us right away. While we were browsing and waiting for her to become free she still attend to us by asking if we wanted to see anything in particular as she noticed us looking at the hair pieces. When the time came, Debra listened to what I needed (which was a birds cage), asked relevant questions, and made great suggestions. She allowed me to try on beautiful pieces. When she didn't have what I wanted she ordered it and had it shipped to my house to save m another trip. In the end I purchased and received a beautiful and high quality head piece and birds cage for a great deal! It was gorgeous and added the elegant, rustic, and vintage feel I was hoping for.
Wedding: 08/16/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  3.5
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  3.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  2.0
If you're going to here to just pick up a dress, then they do a fine job. If you're going here to also have your fitting down, I do not recommend it. The seamstress they have is not able to properly do wedding dresses. She ended up messing up my very expensive dress by making the bottom hem lop sided, the bust area too big, and the sleeves she made did not fit me nor match the dress as she didn't use the correct fabric. Even with tape and so forth, I had to wear a shrug over the top of the dress during my reception to properly cover myself which hid the nice design of the dress. You would think a good salon would hire someone who knows how to amend wedding dresses, especially since the dresses there are quite expensive, but apparently not.

It's because of this and their attitude in not wanting to fix the issue, that I am not giving them a favorable review. I also reviewed them on yelp and received an unpleasant phone call from the store owner. I rather people be honest about services, so I will not be taking this review down nor the yelp review. I sincerely do not recommend them for anything more than picking up your dress and going straight home to find a decent seamstress somewhere else.
Dori Anne Veils responded with the following comments:
We are so sorry you were unhappy Victoria. My seamstress tried several times to call you, your mailbox was full, it was never her intention to not make it right, in fact she did tell your aunt that she would be here, if you wanted to bring it back in. And she said that she would have you come in to have it fixed, so we are sorry if there was any miscommunication.
But again we are sorry this happened to you, and I did try to call you myself, but have not gotten through either, so if you would like to call me, please do.

Also Victoria, I did not leave an unpleasant message, I just wanted to speak to you, I thought we had a good rapport, so I am sorry you felt this way, I am sorry if I came across this way, it was definitely not my intention.
Wedding: 06/22/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Debra at Dori Anne Veils is amazing. She really knows what she is doing and this is the BEST place to come if you are feeling just a little bit uncomfy about trying on dresses. Debra made me feel at home, comfortable and beautiful. If you bring her a picture of your dream dress, she can find it for you or something similar.

Do NOT overlook this place. It is comfortable and welcoming.
Wedding: 04/25/2014
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Nicole 3 Reviews
Even though they ordered the dress a size bigger than what I had requested the seamstress was able
To tailor it to
My size
Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  4.5
  • Flexibility:  4.5

Private User 3 Reviews
Great find. A friend recommended this place and I was not disappointed.
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  4.0
Debrah the sales women helped me find the perfect dress. I got it for a great price, a similar dress at another store was twice as much yet not as fantastic as the one I picked out
Wedding: 04/05/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I'm located on the east coast and am glad I ordered my wedding gown and bridesmaids dresses from Dori Anne. The prices can't be beat, easily saved $600 by going with them (my dress alone). Received all the dresses within weeks, faster than I had imagined.
Wedding: 03/23/2013
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 5 Reviews
Got my dress here for a sample dress price due to a bride not wanting it because it was a corset back...size 2 dress, brand new, and best thing about it got it for the price of a sample dress!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Anonymous 6 Reviews
I had the dress, I had the shoes, I had the jewelry, but I could not find a veil to save my life!!! I searched every place in LA and must have tried on every veil in existence but they all looked so cliche and boring. Thankfully, my mom discovered Dori Anne's and it was like the missing piece to the puzzle. Debra was beyond helpful and had a unique selection of veils that I hadn't seen anywhere else. I'm extremely picky and wanted my veil to have a very specific look so Debra showed me something similar to what I had described but it wasn't the color I was looking for. I thought all hope was lost but she told me she could custom-make a veil for me to my exact specifications and in the color I wanted. I was thrilled! I completely trusted her and felt she understood my vision. When I saw my veil for the first time, I was floored. It was STUNNING! So meticulous and perfect, and better than I imagined. Debra totally nailed it. It perfectly complimented my dress and added such a "wow" factor. Aside from making me the most gorgeous veil known to mankind, I am also deeply indebted to Debra for introducing us to Maria, her seamstress, who is AMAZING and life-changing, but that's another review. In short, Dori Anne's has it all and I would highly recommend the store to other brides. Thank you Debra!!!
Wedding: 1+ year ago
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Invitations
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.5
  • Professionalism:  4.5
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Dori Anne Veils is amazing!! They were so helpful during the selection process along with directing me with what veil would look best with my style of dress. During my dress fittings everyone acted as though I was their only bride and were over the top customer service oriented!!!! Dori Anne Veils pricing was incredible compared to many of the dress shops I had been to and on top of everything they give all brides a veil discount for purchasing your dress through them.

I highly recommend them to EVERYONE as they will make you feel like a queen on your special day!
Wedding: 11/09/2012
Services Used: Dress & Attire, Invitations
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Danielle 3 Reviews
Great experience! Got a great price on my dream dress!
Also ordered my bridesmaides dress here. Great service and value.
Wedding: 09/02/2012
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
I live in Texas and heard about Dori Anne Veils from one of my husband's co workers hoo purchased her dress here. She had nothing but good comments so I had to check it out. I was kinda bummed because I had found the perfect dress but was out of my budget. I called Dori Anne Veils and asked for the a quote and if the dress was available. Quickly I was given a date and price for the dress. I was skeptical because I was ordering it and not seeing my dress before it was ordered to make sure it was the rigt one, but it was. It arrived almost a month early, clean and air tight in a tiny box! It was perfect! Thanks Dori Anne Veils for helping me have the perfect dress for the perfect night!
Fatima
Wedding: 12/17/2011
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  4.0
  • Responsiveness:  3.5
  • Professionalism:  4.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0

Private User 7 Reviews
Debra really cares about her brides, I can tell from the exceptional value that she delivers. Unfortunately, the responsiveness was not as I would have hoped - I had to call in to find out that my gown had arrived - and when I initially went in to place my order, Debra was very busy ~ probably swamped from the move she was in the middle of. All in all, I am very very happy with my gown, and she offers 50% off veils with a gown purchase.
Dori Anne Veils responded with the following comments:
I am so sorry, truly, as I do pride myself on customer service. I would love to speak to you. I always try to be friendly, so I am not sure what happened. And I always email when a dress arrives, so perhaps something got lost or went to spam, I do apologize for that.
Wedding: 2+ years ago
Services Used: Dress & Attire
5.0 out of 5.0
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  5.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
LOVED working with Debra. Absolutely recommend.

When I first heard about Dori Anne Veils, I was on the hunt for a Paloma Blanca dress I loved, but couldn't justify spending $3,300 on. I wanted to know if there was someone selling the same dress at a better price.

To be honest, ordering from Dori Anne made me a little hesitant about the whole process: I called Debra with my desired dress and color, she called back with the prices. Her shop was in California, so I couldn't come check it out in person, and doing the whole wedding dress transaction on the phone made me a little nervous.

However, I am so, so glad I worked with Dori Anne. First of all, the price Debra gave me was made me want to take a chance-- I got a new dress for less than my local shops were selling used dresses at sample sales (I called about a dozen shops to find the best possible price I could). Debra also sent me the manufacturer's sizing chart so I could choose my size, instead of trying to get me to order a dress a size or two too big that would then need to be altered. By looking at the measurement chart, I was able to choose a smaller size than other shops had insisted I get, and when my dress arrived it needed almost no alterations-- very slight taking in at the bust, and adding of the bustle. My alterations costs were $150, which were a huge savings compared to friends who had to get their entire dresses taken in to fit when the dresses were ordered too large.

I also worked with Debra to order all my bridesmaids' dresses and rehearsal dinner outfits for myself and my sister. All told, we ordered 9 bridesmaids-type dresses in 5 styles/ cuts and 3 different colors. Again, things were easy and clear-- once again got to look at the size chart and make our own choices-- and the prices were astounding.

Dress shipping went smoothly, too. Debra called me when dresses arrived, and emailed tracking numbers so everyone could see where her dress was. Since my bridesmaids are located all over the country, I was worried that having so many separate shipping locations would cause problems, but everyone got what they ordered where they needed it. The bridesmaids dresses also came in almost 2 weeks earlier than expected, which was awesome.

I had an incredible experience with Dori Anne Veils, and recommend this shop to all brides who know what they want and want an easy experience and a good price.
Wedding: 06/18/2011
Services Used: Dress & Attire
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8/5.0
  • Quality of Service:  5.0
  • Responsiveness:  4.0
  • Professionalism:  5.0
  • Value:  5.0
  • Flexibility:  5.0
Debra was a pleasure to work with. My dress came early and it was just perfect! I also got my bridesmaid dresses from her also in a timely fashion and for a good value. If you are going to buy a dress, definitely check with Dori Anne Veils first!
Wedding: 10/10/2009
Services Used: Dress & Attire
 510-690-0100
Please let this vendor know
you found them on WeddingWire
 
 
e.g. xxx-xxx-xxxx
Best Time to Contact:
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8
out of 5.0