DJGreyhound DJ Services

DJGreyhound DJ Services

Professional DJ Services for Elegant Weddings and Upscale Occasions (most areas priced under $1,000)

MD, Washington DC, Northern VA, South Central PA
Genres: 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, Big Band, Classic Rock, Cla...
Liability Insurance: Yes
4.9
out of 5.0
Quality of Service:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Responsiveness:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Professionalism:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Value:
(4.9 / 5.0)
Flexibility:
(4.9 / 5.0)
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We had a Halloween themed wedding, and we asked Vern to keep the dance floor packed without being too over the top. He more than accomplished that! He also worked with us and the venue on a schedule of events. Everyone had a really great time at our wedding and Vern was a huge part of that!

  • Wedding: 11/01/2014
Services Used: DJ
Profile Picture
Jon
1 Review
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Vern did a great job DJing our wedding reception! We had two reception spaces- one for dinner and the other for dancing- so he set up a remote station for dinner music and had a wireless mic for toasts, plus had his larger setup in the dancing room. My mom's only complaint was that she spent too much time dancing and didn't meet everyone! He played great music that kept us dancing all night! Thanks Vern!

  • Wedding: 10/18/2014
Services Used: DJ
Profile Picture
Rachel
2 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Vern Shird, owner of DJ Greyhound DJ Services, provided music for my daughter's wedding reception on October 18. Held at Camp Greentop in Catoctin Mountain Park, Vern first set up in the Recreation Hall, yet managed to provide music in the Dining Hall next door as the guests enjoyed their dinner. Afterwards, when everyone moved to the Recreation Hall, the fun really commenced. Vern provided hour after hour of music the crowd loved. Unlike some parties that really take a while to get going, the guests danced from the beginning . . . and didn't stop until Vern did. Why get an expensive band that has to take breaks when you can get a reasonably-priced DJ like Vern? He's twice as much fun at half the price!

Thanks, Vern!

  • Wedding: 10/18/2014
Services Used: DJ
Profile Picture
Bonnie
1 Review
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

If you're on the hunt for DJ that is talented, professional, friendly, funny, and kind--look no further! We found Vern using weddingwire.com and he received top-notch ratings from over 90+ reviews. Now I know why. From our very first email exchange and in-person meeting with Vern, he proved himself to be organized, experienced, thoughtful, and EXTREMELY interested in making the music experience for our wedding EXACTLY how we wanted it. Our emails with questions or ideas were always responded to promptly, and even days before our wedding when we had to make adjustments, Vern made everything come together.

Not only did Vern provide impeccable planning and coordination before the wedding, he created the best possible atmosphere and implementation of our plan during the wedding day. Our goal was to have EVERYONE dancing (our friends, our family, grandparents, etc.) during our reception, and Vern created the perfect mix and timing of modern songs and older songs, fast songs and slow songs. We even did a surprise mash-up dance after my father-daughter dance, and Vern kept everything running smoothly.

Oh, and did I mention that he's an excellent MC? He double-checked the pronunciation of everyone's names in our wedding party (all 16 of them), made the announcements for toasts, dinner, cake-cutting, and sparkler exit, and even gave us a CD with 11 memorable songs from our wedding day.

I really can't emphasize enough just how happy and satisfied you will be if you choose Vern (DJGREYHOUND) for you wedding (or any other event). I give him my highest recommendation.

  • Wedding: 09/13/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Good music is essential to a great party. Vern did an impeccable job at our wedding reception. He accommodated all of our requests, and remained loyal to the genres that we had submitted during planning. He was also able to read our crowd and improvise to ensure that everyone remained dancing. There was not one moment during our reception that the dance floor was empty. He managed the schedule of events as we had planned and also was flexible enough to handle all requests that were presented by the bride and wedding party. Dj Greyhound played an intricate part in creating a outstanding and incredibly fun wedding reception.

  • Wedding: 09/06/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

So easy and kind to work with! I've never used a DJ for anything before so I had no idea how to choose songs, but he was so helpful and communicative. And then for the actual wedding, he was everything that I'd hoped for and all my guests enjoyed him as well. Highly recommended.

  • Wedding: 06/28/2014
Services Used: DJ
Profile Picture
Elisabeth
1 Review
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Vern was simply fantastic! We received a huge number of complements from guests on the music, and he handled introductions for toasts and other things perfectly (including mastering the pronunciation of some difficult foreign names). Otherwise he largely stayed out of the way, playing perfect, well-transitioned music so that everyone could have a great time, without being a distraction. I originally wanted to use a band rather than a DJ, but I could not be more pleased with Vern and our choice to use him. He was a large part of the reason that our wedding was so successful.

  • Wedding: 06/21/2014
Services Used: DJ
Profile Picture
David
1 Review
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

As greyhound lovers and owners, DJ Greyhound was the obvious first choice for our DJ, based on the name alone. And then, Vern's brilliant attention to detail, solid preparation in choosing music, catering to our specific and slightly different needs, and rocking the party all night made it EVEN BETTER. He offered great suggestions to specific parts of our wedding and made sure all our requests were answered. Everyone had a great time and he fit into our greyhound-themed wedding, perfectly.

  • Wedding: 06/07/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We thought Vern did a great job on our music! He was easy to work with and our guests loved the music! He kept the dance floor full all night.

  • Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
Profile Picture
Private User
3 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Vern was amazing! The music was exactly what we requested and more. Everyone danced all night long. I highly recommend Greyhound DJ.

  • Wedding: 04/19/2014
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Vern was the DJ for our wedding in Alexandria in April, which was a small event with about 50 guests. Vern did a wonderful job. We were very pleased with his work. We felt that everything went smoothly, and all the transitions (intro of bride & groom, first dance, etc.) were done just as we asked. Vern asked us for a list of "do not play" songs in advance, and when one guest requested a similar song to one on our list he asked our permission before playing it. And, of note, Vern's price was considerably lower than several other DJs we contacted. Overall, he was very professional, did a wonderful job on our special day, and provided a great value. We would gladly recommend Vern to anyone looking for a DJ in the future.

  • Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
Profile Picture
Private User
4 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

DJ Greyhound contributed an essential part to our reception. Everyone had a great time. I gave him little direction and still all my guests had a great time. He is good at reading a crowd and follows your directions and manages them according to exactly what you request - either on the big day or during the planning stage.

Friends and family commented to us that it was the best wedding they had been to in a while, partly due to the amazing DJ Greyhound.

  • Wedding: Recently Married
Services Used: DJ
Profile Picture
Private User
3 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Vern was awesome. He's very professional and easy to deal with. He's not into high pressure sales tactics or telling you how your reception should be. He listened to exactly what we wanted and absolutely nailed it. We talked through exactly the type of music and style of DJ that we wanted and we confirmed everything the week before. He showed up on time and kept the party moving just like we asked. At the end of the night, we got a ton of compliments on the DJ. We could not have been happier. We highly recommend DJ Greyhound.

  • Wedding: 11/16/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

We used DJGreyhound (Vern) at my daughter's wedding at Woodend in Chevy Chase, MD. Vern was great! He really knows the venue and came early and was all set up and ready to go during cocktail hour after the ceremony. We got tons of compliments on the music and dancing - his choices were great. He also worked with my daughter and her fiance throughout the process to play everything they wanted to hear and also gave them a custom CD he made at the end of the reception. I worked directly with him by email prior to the wedding in secret from my daughter, because we had made a Father/Daughter dance slideshow that she did not know about. Vern took the CD from us when we first arrived, and took over from there getting the TV/DVD player set up and ready, and playing the slideshow at just the right time. He couldn't have been more helpful. He is very reasonably priced as well and gives you 5 hours for his price - many only give 4. I would highly recommend him!

  • Wedding: 11/09/2013
Services Used: DJ
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

Vern did a fantastic job DJ-ing our wedding! He played all our many requests as well as requests from the crowd, was very familiar with our venue, and kept everyone dancing!! He was very organized in planning with us ahead of time and offered a package to us that was a fantastic value. He really did a great job understanding the type of music we were going for and everyone had a fantastic time. Very highly recommended.

  • Wedding: 10/05/2013
Services Used: DJ
Profile Picture
Miranda
9 Reviews
5.0/5.0
  • Quality of Service: 5.0
  • Responsiveness: 5.0
  • Professionalism: 5.0
  • Value: 5.0
  • Flexibility: 5.0

DJ Greyhound is a consummate professional and was one of the easiest vendors to work with. We carefully vetted our other vendors and compared other options once we met Vern in person we knew right away that he was the one for us. We were happy to avoid having to meet other DJs and were confident that he would get the job done. He is priced competitively and provides 2 musical setups so that you can have music in 2 areas of the venue (e.g., ceremony and reception). He has a great selection of music, solid equipment, and is responsive and punctual. Other DJs seemed more expensive, pushy, and difficult to work with which was not our experience with DJ Greyhound at all. He provides documentation to ensure that all your questions are answered and makes you think about timelines and the music well ahead of time in the planning process before you are overwhelmed by other details. It was important to us to keep our wedding focused on family and have the DJ be low-key rather than the over-the-top DJs you often get at hotel receptions. Vern was happy to go with the flow and always had a wireless microphone available for all the speeches and announcements by the groom, best man, father of bride, etc. Most importantly, if you want a crowded dance floor at the end of the night, DJ Greyhound delivers. Are you still reading this? Seriously, just book him already!

  • Wedding: 09/14/2013
Services Used: DJ
Prev